Barceló Ixtapa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    V

    Love this resort!

    Reviewed by Vic on Nov 19, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Loved this resort. Staff are all very friendly with great food and drinks. Loved walking on the beach first thing in the morning. The evening entertainment was great. Within walking distance to the dolphin exhibit and tons of little shops and restaurants. The only downfall is you have to be up before the birds to save yourself a pool chair. The resort say they do not allow you to put your towels out to reserve a chair, but everyone does it.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4655 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Unforgettable and Amazing

    Reviewed by Happiness523825(Livermore, California) on Jul 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    From the minute you set foot on the Barcelo Property to the moment you leave, the staff throughout the hotel Pampers and Attends your every need. The food was amazing. Every one at the hotel takes a lot of pride in what they do. We will be back to this location and look forward to enjoying other Barcelo locations.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    20 years and counting

    Reviewed by Rizzo1711(Illinois) on Jul 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This is our home away from home. We found this little gem in 2000 and have been coming for 2 week stays ever since. Every year! Not an option! Our travel agent keeps asking if we want to try something different. Nope! We’ve found our place, and it’s Ixtapa/Zihua and the Barcelo! Main draws for us - the always predictable fabulous sunny, hot weather, smaller, super clean and well maintained grounds and hotel, great pool set-up right on the beach, great staff, gorgeous sunsets, beautiful clean, flat beach, and meeting up with the many great friends we’ve made over the years. People like us who come back to this same spot year after year. No it’s not the fanciest, newest or biggest. No I can’t say the food is a main draw, but it’s OK. Although we go all-inclusive premium, we love to venture out in the evenings to one of the many great restaurants. We always feel very safe in Ixtapa. See you this winter Barcelo Ixtapa. Counting the days. Can’t wait!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-4

    3 star 5 star hotel

    Reviewed by RealtorDaniel_S(Menifee, California) on Jun 30, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The good thing about this hotel is that its located in a good spot of Ixtapa. The bad thing is that the food was not what you would expect from a 5 Star hotel. I requested an extra bed in my room and had to ask 5 different times before I actually got the roll away bed. The hotel it self had a lot of potential to be a five star hotel but during my stay it felt more like a Days Inn than the Ritz. The staff is nice, the view from the rooms are great and the pool was nice and warm. I was really hoping this hotel would be better than it was. I do t think I would stay here again.

    Great Hotel

    Reviewed by evilbyneedle(Surrey, Canada) on Jun 29, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This hotel was awesome. The food was amazing and the service was incredible. The rooms and public areas were kept clean and comfortable. We had fantastic bartenders in the pool bar. They had our drinks ready for us as soon as we finished the previous one. This hotel is very close to the town of Ixtapa and you just have to walk across the street for lots of shopping and restaurants. We will definitely be back!

    Great family resort!

    Reviewed by nikoandmaia(Port Moody, Canada) on Jun 28, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Had a great time with our kids age 13 and 10. When we were there just before December high season, the resort was frequented mainly by Mexican families so the food and general ambiance had a more homey feel than I've experienced at other Mexican resorts. The beach here is gorgeous and impeccably clean--I was out around 7am one morning after a very high tide that swamped a lot of the hotel beachfronts and I saw one bottlecap and a shred of filament tangled around a tree root, that's it. The water is crystal clear and you can often see manta rays playing in the surf. There are a lot of activities throughout the day, the pools are excellent, and there is a pretty good gym and recreation centre. As for cons, I would say the rooms in the main building are small and on their last legs--get a suite in the separate building especially if you are a family, and ask to see it as some of the suites have a separate bedroom and some do not. Also, if you are not comfortable with waves you may find the wave action in front of the hotel can be strong at times. We love the big waves and had an awesome time boogie-boarding. It would be great if the resort had boogie-board rentals or high quality boogie boards for sale--it does not. You have to go into the street markets for boogie boards and you can expect to pay pretty exorbitant prices for the good ones, but whatever. We loved it here!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX