Barceló Ixtapa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    V

    Love this resort!

    Reviewed by Vic on Nov 19, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Loved this resort. Staff are all very friendly with great food and drinks. Loved walking on the beach first thing in the morning. The evening entertainment was great. Within walking distance to the dolphin exhibit and tons of little shops and restaurants. The only downfall is you have to be up before the birds to save yourself a pool chair. The resort say they do not allow you to put your towels out to reserve a chair, but everyone does it.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4147 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great stay

    Reviewed by NorthStar40482101312(Milford, Illinois) on Mar 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The hotel itself needs a little TLC but for the price we can't complain. We upgraded to the premium club and that did not disappoint! Marcelino took special care of us and would get my drink ready before I even asked for it! He even took special care of me when we experienced an earthquake on our last morning there! The food there is very good as we have paid more at other resorts for food that was not half as good as this! The rooms need a little updating but you really aren't in there but to sleep, the room was clean and the staff made a couple of towel animals for us.The Japanese, Seafood and Italian themed restaurants were our favorites. The Mexican Themed restaurant was good too, I was disappointed because we were not offered a reservation there when we checked in, the staff felt sorry for us and let us dine there. We also enjoyed the adult pool (not enforced, we had several children in the pool). We made the best out of it and did not complain as they are on vacation and wanted to have a good time with their kids as well. I wish they would put a daily flyer in your room the night before so you know what activities you might like to do the next day. It is very hard to remember what is going on and what time. I did enjoy Yoga a few days. I would recommend this hotel and it was our 2nd time at this resort. Frank's bar across the street is s lot of fun and his brick oven pizza is excellant!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Great two weeks at the Barcelo

    Reviewed by Ashrlm1() on Mar 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We just returned from two weeks at the Barcelo. This is our second trip to Ixtapa and first at the Barcelo. I'm going to go over some of the highlights for us as most has been detailed on this site earlier. The weather was 30-35 degrees (Celsius) with barely a cloud. If you want guaranteed weather this is the place. The hotel is very clean, the staff are constantly cleaning floors, restrooms etc. The room is pretty standard but stocked everyday. One note, if you want a king size bed (not sure about premium service) you will not get a balcony, just the way the hotel is set up. We are beach people and never went down before 9 in the morning and never had a problem with chairs. On some days, you could get a pool seat by 9, but there were the regulars who I guess don't mind getting up at 6 to get a seat near the pool bar,that's just not my way of going on vacation. The food was good, we ate most nights at an ala carte and they were a great way to spend an evening. The buffet was good as well, lots of choices. One nice part of this hotel was that there were special things done each day, either special coffees in the lobby bar, or they would make a desert there as well. On our last day, the staff set up a tent and prepared a fresh fish dish from scratch for all guests to watch and then eat,nice extra touches. We only went to the entertainment a couple of evenings and it was very good. On Fridays they put on a massive Mexican night. We were there the Sunday of the Oscars and they put on a special evening for all guests to watch which we certainly appreciated. Our only one point we would like improved was the fact that wifi was not free unless a premium member, they asked for $12 per day if you wanted it. In this day and age and with service, you would like to think that this could be included. I understand that part of the upgrade to premium service includes this, but it would be nice if it would be included as part of the guest experience. Overall we were very satisfied with our experience. If you check my past posts you will see we are at an all inclusive each year at various locations and we would recommend this hotel. If we comeback to Ixtapa at an all inclusive, we would stay here.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Great stay

    Reviewed by dianeF4676JI() on Mar 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Nice hotel. Small enough that you did not have to walk a long way for anything. Pool area was bit noisy and crowded. Had to get up really early if you wanted to get a chair by the pool. The adult pool was connected the family/children pool so it was a bit noisy at times.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    amazing value

    Reviewed by robert c() on Mar 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    superb cuisine, super clean grounds and pools. non smoking a real asset.have stayed at least four times and it is better each time.new elevators and beach is immaculate.easy access to shops and buses or taxis to Zihuatenejo.

    Impressive

    Reviewed by Darlene H() on Mar 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Beautiful resort in a wonderful area of Mexico. Staff was friendly and treated you with respect and went the extra mile. I will definitely be coming back. I have recommended this resort to everyone I know.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX