Golden Nugget Las Vegas

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    S

    Service could be strongly improved.. Please correct Televisions.

    Reviewed by Spencer on Sep 28, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: September 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    I've stayed on the Strip for my past several stays in Vegas at the Wynn, twice - and this was my first time staying in Fremont for a music festival. We chose the Golden Nugget because it looked appealing and had good reviews. A few minutes after entering our room we had a loud bang on the door. The housekeeping / facility workers were there and needed to come in to change some light bulbs that were burnt out. We hadn't even been in there for a minute before being startled by this. A minor inconvenience. The first night we tried to call to order Room Service, but after three attempts to call and being placed on hold, we gave up and went out to eat. I've given a lower rating because I feel Service should be number 1 priority. If a light bulb was burnt out, I probably wouldn't even notice. But if I am looking for Service, it shouldn't be impossible to call the front desk and speak to someone. The morning of our Checkout we went for the hotel's buffet. It was nice, and the food was tasty. We arrived back at our room at 10:55am. Most hotel check-out's are 11:00am. HOWEVER - The Television in the Room explicitly shows Checkout to be between 5:00am - 1:00pm. We received a reminder call, so I called back down to the front desk unwillingly, presuming nobody would answer like before . I was surprised when someone did answer this time, and I asked to clarify if the Television checkout time of 1:00pm was correct and if there was an additional fee. Like I mentioned before, I've stayed at the Wynn a handful of times and I've always been given late check-out extended to 1:00pm at no cost. The person on the phone was very rude and abrupt, and told me that it was impossible. I explained I am looking at the Television right in-front of me and it's showing Checkout 5:00am - 1:00pm. He responded very sharply, "I advise you to checkout IMMEDIATELY or else we will charge you for the full rate of the night." I was absolutely shocked. Very low Service quality.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11777 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    My favorite hotel in Vegas

    Reviewed by Kelly L() on Jul 16, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			4
			out of 5

    Vegas has been a hub on my travels every year, and my favorite hotel to stay at is the Golden Nugget. I appreciate that the rooms have always been clean and the beds are comfortable. The staff are always friendly and the pool is perfect to cool down. Where else can you watch sharks, while having drinks with friends.

    Much better than I thought it would be...

    Reviewed by Tom C(San Antonio, Texas) on Jul 16, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			4
			out of 5

    Wow - we all know the age of the Golden Nugget, but what a change from when I last stayed there in the 90's ! They have their whole Aquarium thing going on at the renovated pool area & the hotel interior has been updated. We stayed a week at GN & we most definitely will again ! If you haven't been in a while - well worth the money, you'll be surprised.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Our favorite hotel and casino in Vegas!

    Reviewed by Schlauberger1846(Castroville, Texas) on Jul 15, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			5
			out of 5

    We have been staying here each February or 20 years with 20+ family members, and we also stay at the Nugget as a couple in the Fall. We have always enjoyed the hotel and its restaurants, but we always book a room through their website. As a result, we have never had a problem with our reservations, and the deposit you pay when booking the room is fully refunded if you cancel the reservation at least 72 hours (3 days) prior to your schedule arrival. We stay in the Gold Tower, to be close to the gambling, and always ask for a room on a higher floor, on the street side of the hotel and away from the elevator. If you stay on the inside of the hotel, you will hear music from the swimming pool, especially if you are staying a lower floor. Be advised that the Carson Tower, which has the most economical rooms, is enormous, and your room can be a very long walk from the elevators. A loading dock for the Golden Nugget is also located on East Bridger Ave at the back part of the Carson Tower which is farthest away from the elevators. You hear truck noises early in the morning there. We gamble a lot here and we eat all of our meals here, so we usually get our rooms comped for three nights, but no comps on Saturday night. The “resort fee” popped up in 2017, but you do not have to pay the resort fee if your rooms are comped. When you arrive, go to customer service in the casino to get your Select Club card. You use this card in the casino to document your gambling. For example, you present it with the cash you use to buy chips at any table game. The employee who sells you the chips records the amount purchased and notes how much you bet each time. You insert the card into a slot in slot machines, and it records your betting. This is the information that is used to determine if you can get comps. If you gamble a lot at the Nugget and want to find out if you can have your room or food comped, you need to visit the hotel host in the office across from the Grotto restaurant the morning you check out. I usually play craps 5-6 hours a day, sometimes longer, and my wife plays three-card poker and slots, and we receive a new offer for comped rooms every month of the year. We also gamble at the Nugget for three days twice each year. I really enjoy playing craps at the Nugget. The boxmen, stickmen and dealers are great, and you can play for $5 a throw in the morning and early afternoon. The casino management allows smoking, but the casino has a great ventilation system, so you don’t smell it much. When you gamble, the casino hostesses offer you free drinks, including adult drinks. The casino has a great pool and gym, and the restaurants at the Nugget serve excellent food. We love the Nugget because it is the entire package. Oh yes, if you are tired of gambling and need a break, just walk out onto Freemont Street at night to experience the weirdness that is Las Vegas!

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Golden Nugget!!!!!

    Reviewed by Sbrownhere() on Jul 13, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			5
			out of 5

    I love the old style Vegas feel from this casino. I did not win but had fun. They also have the best pool in Vegas!!! There is also a more quiet adult pool if you prefer. Don’t forget to check out the huge golden nugget while you’re there!!!

    Vacation. Good place for Freemont st fun

    Reviewed by dannyswife711(Louisville, Kentucky) on Jul 13, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			4
			out of 5

    Took my older children to this location for vacation. The hotel was clean but dated compared to the hotels on the strip. As far as the other hotels in the area on Freemont street this one is the best. The pool is nice but small and seems to get very crowded. The elevators in the Carson tower seem to need a little work done to them they can be a bit scary. The restaurants on site are ok but the staff are not that friendly. The young lady at the cadalic restaurant acted as if we were a inconvenience to her, but the food was good. Getting her to bring any more drinks was out of the question so eating a spicy burger with no drink was not something I wanted my 13 year old son to have to do but he had no choice. Overall if you want to stay on Freemont street this is a good place but I would advise you to also stay a few days at a luxury hotel on the Strip for around the same price with all the extra fees included if that's an option. Try out both areas the strip and Freemont street.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

    This is the name that will be attached to your review.

    Our submission policy:

    XXXX