Golden Nugget Las Vegas

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

Average ratings from our guests:

Cleanliness

Rated4.0 out of 5

Value

Rated2.0 out of 5

Service

Rated1.0 out of 5

Hotel Amenities

Rated1.0 out of 5

Food / Restaurants

Rated4.0 out of 5

Pool

Rated4.0 out of 5

S

Service could be strongly improved.. Please correct Televisions.

Reviewed by Spencer on Sep 28, 2016

Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

Would not recommend

Travel date: September 2016

Trip Type: Couple

I've stayed on the Strip for my past several stays in Vegas at the Wynn, twice - and this was my first time staying in Fremont for a music festival. We chose the Golden Nugget because it looked appealing and had good reviews. A few minutes after entering our room we had a loud bang on the door. The housekeeping / facility workers were there and needed to come in to change some light bulbs that were burnt out. We hadn't even been in there for a minute before being startled by this. A minor inconvenience. The first night we tried to call to order Room Service, but after three attempts to call and being placed on hold, we gave up and went out to eat. I've given a lower rating because I feel Service should be number 1 priority. If a light bulb was burnt out, I probably wouldn't even notice. But if I am looking for Service, it shouldn't be impossible to call the front desk and speak to someone. The morning of our Checkout we went for the hotel's buffet. It was nice, and the food was tasty. We arrived back at our room at 10:55am. Most hotel check-out's are 11:00am. HOWEVER - The Television in the Room explicitly shows Checkout to be between 5:00am - 1:00pm. We received a reminder call, so I called back down to the front desk unwillingly, presuming nobody would answer like before . I was surprised when someone did answer this time, and I asked to clarify if the Television checkout time of 1:00pm was correct and if there was an additional fee. Like I mentioned before, I've stayed at the Wynn a handful of times and I've always been given late check-out extended to 1:00pm at no cost. The person on the phone was very rude and abrupt, and told me that it was impossible. I explained I am looking at the Television right in-front of me and it's showing Checkout 5:00am - 1:00pm. He responded very sharply, "I advise you to checkout IMMEDIATELY or else we will charge you for the full rate of the night." I was absolutely shocked. Very low Service quality.

This traveller's ratings:

Cleanliness

Rated4 out of 5

Value

Rated2 out of 5

Service

Rated1 out of 5

Hotel Amenities

Rated1 out of 5

Food / Restaurants

Rated4 out of 5

Pool

Rated4 out of 5

What to expect (based on 11273 reviews):

Cleanliness

Cleanliness-4

Location

Location-4

Rooms

Rooms-4

Service

Service-4

Value

Value-4

5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

Not impressed

Reviewed by Kelli G(Moorhead, Minnesota) on Jan 22, 2018

		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			2
			out of 5

When I made reservations on the internet, the room looked awesome. When I got there, they charged us a resort fee, would not give my dad his veteran discount and the room was horrible. The pool was closed and we could not even get into see the shark tank. Nothing like the picture it showed us. No fridges in the room and I was not impressed at all. Will never stay here again.

Individual ratings:

Rooms

Rooms-2

Service

Service-2

We stay here often.

Reviewed by Joseph C(The Colony) on Jan 22, 2018

		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			4
			out of 5

This is a great place to stay if you want to stay downtown. We stay here every year for March Madness and it’s a blast. I highly suggest renting a cabana at the amazing pool at the GN. You get your own private cabana w/ a TV and server. Well worth the $135. The only reason I didn’t give them a 5* is that the water slide was nonfunctional my last time there. Headed there again in two months and can’t wait.

BAIT AND SWITCH

Reviewed by robertbL8172IY() on Jan 22, 2018

		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			2
			out of 5

We booked the a premium king non smoking room online, we arrived and was told that room was not available(so much for reservations) or we could take a smoking room of the same status. We chose to take a non smoking room and quite the down grade at the same price of course. The check in staff was borderline rude and not interested in our concerns. The room was a twin double bed for me and my wife which as you know two people can not sleep comfortable so we slept apart. The room had a thin sliding door to the room next door, we could here every noise the people next door made all night long. The downgraded room was without a refrigerator or microwave, and that was a major let down because it cost us a lot more money than it should have. The food prices are inflated at the hotel compared to all the food places on Fremont street, or the strip. Overall we would not recommend or stay at the golden nugget hotel again.

Individual ratings:

Cleanliness

Cleanliness-3

Rooms

Rooms-1

Service

Service-1

New Years Eve Stay

Reviewed by ErinM22876(Castle Rock, Colorado) on Jan 22, 2018

		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			4
			out of 5

The room was very nice, the housekeeping service was good and not obtrusive. Great location right on Fremont street, and received free wrist bands to the Fremont Experience New Years Eve. The check in process was rather long, and not enough clerks at the front desk. There was a supervisor that jumped in to try to help out. Room service was great and received quickly. Food was warm and wonderful. Love the new claim jumper restaurant in the hotel with great food, although the restaurant needed a few extra servers as it seemed like they were over extended. My biggest complaint would be that the internet service was very slow, and very limited in how much you could use. We work a lot, and the hotel really needs to make the internet more usable for business clients.

Buffet

Reviewed by PearlGirl42(Edmonton, Canada) on Jan 21, 2018

		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			3
			out of 5

Honestly I was unhappy with the price on a Saturday I know seafood is extremely expensive but not many other choices /needs better dessert choices Food was Good /friendly staff Definitely go on a weekday if choosing this buffet

Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
Please give us your feedback.

Required fields

Write a hotel review

Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

How was this hotel for:

Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

We will not post reviews that include:

  • Mentions of specific travel companies
  • Profanity and inflammatory comments
  • HTML or URLs
  • Pricing information

Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

Add photos/videos:
*You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

XXXX

This is the name that will be attached to your review.

Our submission policy:

XXXX