Occidental Papagayo

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    T

    3*** at best!!! don't waste your money

    Reviewed by Traveler on Feb 16, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    This resort is not worth the money. In its day it may have been 4 star but not anymore. You have to wait in line for a half hour just to get to the buffet. The staff is doing a great job with the tools they have but the place is in need of a make over. The food is reheated from dinner to breakfast to lunch. The food is not bad but NOT 4-5 star. The whole place needs money bad. Deck chairs with worn out cloth, pealing paint, roof ties falling from the roof to Toilet paper holder falling off the wall in our room sliding door doesn't fully open. They all maybe small things but they should be charging 2 star rates for what they are offering. Go down the beach to Riu beach palace you will not be disappointed !! We booked with west jet travel, they are a great airline but they don't check up on the hotels they send you to. One last thing, when you get to the hotel they push hard to get you into a time share at the hotel. Looks like they are begging for cash to fix the place. This is the first revue I have done, so take my advice don't go, save your money!!!

    What to expect (based on 4153 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Nice but not Spectacular

    Reviewed by SanKrisP(Manahawkin, New Jersey) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The resort is nice but nothing to really rave about. Our trip was just last week - 9th to the 16th. The people are very friendly and the service was very good. This is the smallest resort we have stayed in and our first time to Costa Rica. I guess it is the wrong time of year as far as the landscaping. It is not plush and green - there are no leaves on most of the trees, so that makes it look bare. Not a very nice beach so spent the week at one of the 2 pools. Pools are mostly in the sun - trees all around but no leaves equal no shade and no umbrellas available or provided. The rooms could have been cleaner - extremely low water pressure in shower - bathroom and floors very dirty - coffee pot in room looks like it was never cleaned - gross!. Most mornings no coffee available until buffet opened at 7 - a small 10 or 12 cup pot set up in lobby - gone immediately and no refills. People must feed the raccoons because every night they were trying to get in our room - building 4. Friends in building 6 had skunks outside their room and smelled them each night going to and from dinner. Hotel staff just kept saying "they wont bother you" Who wants to be sprayed with skunks? Food was good but expected more seafood - not alot of variety. Got stung by bee on the eyebrow while walking in lobby, eye swelled severely and needed medical attention. Big ordeal with trying to get transportation and kept saying how expensive it would be. Paramedic who doesn't speak English on site but didn't get a warm and fuzzy feeling when she barely looked at me for 5 seconds. Eventually went to a clinic in Coco Beach. (cost was only $200 - expected alot more). Bottom line - will not go here again - it is the little amenities and cleanliness of rooms. We met some nice people and had a great time with friends! Oh--loved seeing the monkeys!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Service

    Service-5

    Very good

    Reviewed by DayTrip36676723999(Texcoco, Mexico) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Very good. We enjoyed it very much. It was a good opportunity to rest an enjoy the company of our friends. We relaxed and rested. We were six of us and liked it a very much. Thank you. What else can we say?

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Beautiful Small Hotel

    Reviewed by colleeng333(Evansville, Wisconsin) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This hotel and property is beautiful. Our friend slipped on the tile floor in her room and needed stitches. The hotel was absolutely great about getting a physician to come to her room and taking care of her needs. She had the stitches taken out during our 10 day stay and the resort paid for everything! This is a gorgeous place to relax, especially if you want a very low key vacation. Other than a small Disco they did not have nightly entertainment and not many activities at the pool during the day. We booked excursions from Roberto at the Beach. We loved the rainforest excursion and our fishing trip, however we were disappointed with the Volcano trip. We went to a beachside seafood restaurant about 2 miles from our resort and had lobster (stuffed with seafood) dinner which was fantastic and so cheap around $30 Per person (It was huge and could be shared by 2 people)! Then we also ate on the beach one night at Father Roosters in Cocoa Beach which was delicious also. The taxi's to Cocoa Beach were $12 per person round trip if you booked with the resort. If you book a private one with Roberto it was only $10 Per Person for our group of 10. The cab to take us to the seafood restaurant around 2 miles away was $50 round trip without tip. Overall Costa Rica is a beautiful Country!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Excellent Service

    Reviewed by Fivehorsegranny() on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The resort was very nice with great views. The buffet food area was very small and congested, lacking in variety, but adequate. The a la carte restaurants were excellent, but again very small and you had to line up each morning to book for that day only. The rooms we nice and the beds were fabulous! Had an issue with the cleaning of the room, not getting towels replaced, but overall we enjoyed it. There were many stairs, however they would send a shuttle to pick you up and bring you up to the lobby if you didn't want to walk. If you have a mobility issue you may want to look elsewhere. Some of the lobby lounge furniture was very uncomfortable, but provided a wonderful view of the pool and looking out over the ocean. It would have been great to have a coffee bar right in the lounge, but you could go into the bar or very small disco for coffee and drinks and take them out? Entertainment was provided by a different single musician most evenings. The two pools were on the small side, but had lots of lounge chairs. Unfortunately, for me anyway as a freckled fair skinned individual, there was very little shade. There were bases for umbrellas, but no umbrellas. The best thing about this resort was the staff. They are all very friendly and efficient, working very hard to keep you happy. My biggest disappointment was not with the resort, but in having the expectation of seeing lush green countryside. This is their dry season and except for the resort, all of the surrounding trees are devoid of leaves and the ground looks burnt. Trips to the rainforest are 3-6 hours return travel time, not including the actual excursion. The beach is public so there are locals selling jewellery and pottery, however they are not aggressive. Lots of jellyfish! I'd like to go back to Costa Rica again, but will look into the Gulf side. However the on plus side the resort didn't seem overly busy. We travelled though Airtransat and their representative Benoit was wonderful.

    Casual and Relaxing amidst Nature

    Reviewed by Helliott1230(Severn Bridge, Canada) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was our first visit to Costa Rica and we found a budget friendly resort without the overdone hype and activity of more luxurious resorts. We wanted to enjoy Costa Rican nature and this resort was great for that! Everyday we saw monkeys, iguanas, beach crabs and many birds on the resort! My favourite time of day was sunrise when the birds and animals were most active. We were a bit concerned about the food after reading bad reviews but the food (buffet and a la cartes) was wonderful!!! I avoid dairy and gluten and they were very accommodating! In fact, the restaurant manager, Enrique, met with us to discuss my meals and he went out of his way all week to make sure that I had the best food available with my restrictions. My husband ate regular and was very impressed with the variety and the quality. If you have any food questions or preferences, ask for Enrique. Our room was spacious and clean and the bed was comfortable although we did have issues such as a broken shower head and phone lines getting crossed. We were quite disappointed to not get coffee in our room every day. We asked but still it was only set out sporadically throughout the week (4 of our 7 mornings) On the plus side, the room location and view were amazing! We could enjoy the sunrise and sunset skies right from our terrace. Building 21. Some people mentioned the lack of night life but we found that an early bed time made it easier to enjoy the awesome morning before the heat set in. Drinks at both pools were good. If you like a sweet mojito go to the small pool bar. The beach was not crowded at all and had lots of lounge chairs, shade and, of course, a beautiful breeze. We recommend this resort for those who want a quiet, laid back, HOT vacation surrounded by nature.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX