Posada Real Los Cabos

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    J

    We enjoyed our stay in this cosy resort!

    Reviewed by Joy on Feb 14, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    The room at the Posada Real are a little worn out, for sure, however, they are clean. The food at the resort was delicious, a good variety each night. The service was outstanding! We were well taken care of, staff was very friendly and helpful.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    M

    Great place if you are a senior

    Reviewed by McBride on Feb 13, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    THE GOOD. friendly staff, endless beautiful beach, very close to San Jose, 45 minute bus ride to Cabos. Rooms need updating however they were very clean. Staff friendly and helpful. THE NOT SO GOOD - Great hotel if you are 65+. Entertainment Was geared to the elderly. Very limited food options and I'm not a fussy eater basically, only the main entre changed each day we were there for 10 days . only one chef cooking morning omelettes or dinner pasta so line ups were long. Only cut fruit options were guava, pineapple and melons. Cocktails were made with syrup rather than fresh fruit. Two bars - one located in the lobby and one by the pool. Only downside is they were not open at the same time so if you were hanging out on the beach at night, you had to walk to the lobby to get a drink and vice versa during the day. No beach activity in the evening only music in the lobby. Only activities offered were darts and beach volley ball. No other planned activities in the pool or on beach. I hope this was helpful. Happy travels.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    k

    yes liked my stay

    Reviewed by kevin on Jan 24, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    yes going back

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Won't be back

    Reviewed by Donnyawesome on Sep 10, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: August 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    The Posada Real was built in 1982 and apparently was renovated in 2000/2001. You wouldn't know it. Cracked bathroom tiles, no fan in the bathroom, reports of mold, lack of electrical outlets, poorly fitting doors, excessive hallway noise, antiquated safes, dated furniture and bedding, an outdoor buffet, small dining area, stained bedroom tiles, dirty pool, toilet seats that won't stay up, poorly draining tubs, offensive odors, and years of general wear and tear attest to the fact that whatever renovations took place were pretty minimal in nature. This is not a 4 star resort, Not even a 3. I give it 2. The only redeeming factors were the poolside snack bar and the beach bar service.....which were both very good. And the in-room air conditioner, which put out the coldest, quietest A/C I've ever experienced in Mexico. The staff were pretty good.....you could tell they were trying to provide good service, and kept things reasonably clean. The buffet wasn't bad, especially the omelette station and the made-to-order grill...but the buffet was outside, it was cramped, there were long lineups, and it was incredibly hot and humid...38C and 80% humidity made it seem like a sauna. If you're looking for a low-budget, quiet hotel with average food and beverages, and you just want to relax by the pool, this is a good spot. Personally, I prefer a not-so-run-down hotel, with a mini-fridge, quiet rooms, and better dining options. In summary, I think the companies rating this hotel need to send a non-local to actually stay here for a few nights. If I owned a travel company, I'd be embarrassed to offer this hotel as a destination, no matter how good the price is.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    M

    Far exceeded our expectations. We would go back any time!

    Reviewed by Mom&Daughters23&25 on Feb 01, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2014

    Trip Type: Family

    My daughters and I loved our vacation! The staff, especially Jeremias, Jose, and Benito, were very welcoming and attentive. The garden view room had an oceanview from the deck and was a minute from the beach and pool. The pool was clean and heated, but the hot tub was lukewarm. There were always umbrellas and deck chairs available. We enjoyed the 15 minute walk to San Jose. The beach seemed very safe for swimming in spite of the warnings about undertow and was very clean. We saw newly hatched turtles on their way to the ocean on our first night. The hotel was older and small, but clean and had everything we needed including nightly entertainment. The food was plentiful and fresh, but not gourmet. Many of the guests that we talked to have been going back for many years. I would go back there rather than any 5 star!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    c

    We loved our time @ Posada Real

    Reviewed by cokecans on Jan 28, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    This is a great place to stay. It is right on the beach, kept clean & has great service by the team that works there. We would definitely go back. It is a 3 star so don't expect 5 star service but don't let that be a reason to not stay either.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    K

    Good value but restaurant food lacking.

    Reviewed by Kimberley and Doug on Jan 17, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    We were not impressed with the restaurant food, the snack bar was so much better but it wasn't always open. Free wifi was nice but always having to log on was a drag. The people were nice and the beach was beautiful but the maids threw out our only water bottles and never replaced our beach towel. We were surprised they did not supply any face cloths. We went to the Mega store and bought some of our own. We would love to go back to Los Cabos but we would probably stay at a different resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1501 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Old School Charm

    Reviewed by Nike P(Libby, Montana) on Jun 29, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I spent 8 days at this hotel. I had purchased the all inclusive (not just breakfast), and I am so glad I did. The variety & convenience were worth the extra money. It is buffet style, and as with any buffet, some items are better than others, but overall, everyone was pleased. It includes food at the pool too, which was nice. The service was wonderful, and the staff really tried to please. The bed was comfortable, and the balcony, which I could smoke on with the door closed, was great. The balconies are designed so nothing from them would go anywhere except out into the open air. I saw many a sunrise from it. Besides the balconies with doors to the room closed, there is a smoking area off to the side in front, and one on the south side of the beach chairs, and the rest of the hotel is non-smoking. The bathrooms were functional, which is all that matters to me, but in need of attention--not cleaning, just maintenance. Specifically the shower. It was so nice to have real coffee and a real coffee maker in the rooms. This is not a place to go & plug in a bunch of devices, which is fine with me, as I go on vacation to unplug. Posada Real was one of the 2 original resorts in Los Cabos San Juan, so older, but it has a wonderful Old School Hacienda atmosphere, which I enjoyed. There is different music in the lobby each night, and I like the Mariachi Band. Only once did it get a little too loud a little too late, and they killed it I when I complained. The courtyard cactus garden is perfect. They employee a landscaper who actually hand waters and trims the whole area, and it is beautiful. So nice to see people employed rather than some automated system. The hot tub was great with nice strong jets, and laying out on the beach chairs was so relaxing--I actually feel asleep, which I never do. There is a massage tent on the beach for those that want that service. All in all, if and when I go back to Cabo (without the grand kids maybe), I will stay here again.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    5 Stars for a 3 Star

    Reviewed by 0970mirandac() on Jun 28, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I’m writing this review super late, but better late than never. I stayed here with my friends and had a great time. Basically my review is like the others, if you go into this expecting a 5 star hotel you will be disappointed, if you go into this expecting a 3 star hotel you will be impressed. I’m used to staying in 5 star hotels, yet picked this hotel to meet everyone’s budget and I was still impressed. In my experience, stars have little to do with the quality of the resort, but basically the number of amenities, and of course with only 1 restaurant, a snack bar, and 1 pool it’s only 3 stars. The overall experience for me was definitely still 5 stars, especially for the price. I was only really annoyed at 2 things 1) they didn’t have mojitos and 2) there was no bacon and the “sausages” were hot dogs. But these things are not a big deal and easy to get over, especially for the price. The hotel is quite dated and a bit weathered but very clean and well maintained. The pool is beautiful and the hot tub is amazing. Had no problems getting chairs at 10/11am which is better than most resorts. The location was great and is a short walk to San Jose del Cabo. Of course it’s in Cabo and you know you can’t swim in the ocean, but it was still beautiful. The service was amazing, and the food and drinks were pretty good! I loved the snacks at the pool especially! The hotel was pretty quiet as well! There wasn’t loud music or a ton of activities, so it might not be the best for families with young children, but perfect for us. Would definitely recommend for people who can’t afford a 5 star resort but are still looking for a good hotel, you get great value for your money here.

    The staff are excellent!

    Reviewed by Jeffrey W() on Jun 27, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I recently spent a few nights at this resort. It is older but it is naturally gorgeous and has well established coconut trees and cacti. The natural beauty of it is stunning. The rooms are pleasant with large beds that provide plenty of wiggle room. Don't spend your day in your room because you will miss out on the the ocean the animals and of course the people. The breakfast buffet is amazing. With traditional Mexican foods and american styled foods along with plenty of fruits and cereals for the children and young at heart. The staff were amazingly friendly. I became fast friends with all that i came across and they were always ready and willing to accommodate my wishes. I'd like to give a special shout out and thank you to Valentin,Enan, Bernardo, Armin, Orleans, Ismael, Benito, José, Víctor,Ezekiel, Tania, Simón Onuel, Jeremias and others i didn't get to meet. Love you all See you soon.

    Los cabos Hotel Posada Real

    Reviewed by Miguel M() on Jun 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    One year ago me and my family visited Los cabos, and stayed in the hotel Posada Real a five star hotel, when we arrived my room was a disorder, trash in the floor, unattended bed, and dirty bathroom, we ask for a change of room but at moment all other rooms were occupied so we had to wait half an hour for our rooms to be ready, when we got back to the we realized the bathroom door was broken, which was a big problem when we took a bathroom because al the water would get out.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Best deal, amazing staff

    Reviewed by stephanii k() on Jun 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Me and three other friends stayed three nights here and especially with the price, we are beyond pleased. my absolute favorite part is the staff. every single one of the staff members were friendly and always made sure that we were satisfied all while having a drink in our hands. i am always wary about my safety, but it’s nice knowing there is someone blocking off the entrance of the hotel 24/7. the view is beautiful and although it is 30 minutes away from san lucas where all the party is- uber’s are cheap and there are activity people walking around. my friends and i did the ATV ride through the hotel and it was an experience like no other! i will admit- the rooms are outdated, walls aren’t the best, and some of the things such as desk lamps and mini fridge didn’t work but i do not at all regret staying here!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX