El Cid Granada Mazatlan

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    M

    It was the worst all exclusive vacation I have taken. Guest are rated and treated in that manner!

    Reviewed by Mary-Lynn on Apr 23, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    It was the worst all exclusive vacation I have ever taken. It is a series of hotels called El Cid and it's spread over several kms. The beach is across a busy street and you have to go through another hotel to get to it. They put different colors bands on guest which rates you to the package you bought. Every restaurant we went though told us we had to pay although we had brought an all exclusive package. Upon talking with staff about up grading, we were told Westjet clients do not have access to those amenities. I have never felt so low in my whole life being rated by a wrist band. To make matters worst, the staff do not accommodate you with a list of amenities your package does include so you know where to go. Instead we were faced with being denied entrance to many restaurants which was embarrassing. The hotel did not care we were not happy. We left the hotel after one night

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1025 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Quiet Gem of El Cid

    Reviewed by crystala133(St. Albert, Alberta) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Granada staff very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and spacious. Location perfect. Our favourite spot was the pool which has lots of lounge chairs and no loud music. We were not all inclusive but did enjoy a nice dinner at the pool side restaurant which was a bit pricey for Mazatlan but included margaritas, dessert and Spanish coffee (420 Pesos a person). Golf is less than a block away and we had an Omelette or Eggs Benedict at the Club House for less than 95 Pesos each. There are so many great restaurants in Mazatlan to visit.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Home away from home

    Reviewed by RaeDarl(ShewoodPark Alberta) on Apr 03, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We “live” at the Granada for 8-10 weeks every year. Absolutely love our spot and all the staff. Polite and friendly from checking in to checking out and every minute in between. Of course we have our favorite staff but they are too many to single out - painters, maintenance, sweepers, housekeeping, waiters, front desk - we love them all. The activity director Leo kept the pool guests busy every day. We always look forward to another vacation in our quiet paradise. We have our dates picked out to return!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    True Mexican Hospitality

    Reviewed by Esther G(Calgary, Canada) on Apr 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    First time to Mazatlan. Booked a 2 week stay in El Cid Grenada and being that it was not directly on the beach, was the quieter part of the 3 hotel complex including the Castillo and the Moro all within one block. You stay at one and can use the facilities at the other El Cid Hotels in Mazatlan, which does include the Marina El Cid a few kilometres away, but keep in mind use of restaurants will be according to the all inclusive plan you buy. Grenada is across the street from Castillo and Moro which are directly on the beach, but there is a sky walk to use to walk over traffic safely from the Grenada to the Castillo and vice versa. There is an indoor walkway atrium from the Castillo to the Moro with shops and a coffee place called Rico's where you can have free wifi for the day if you make a purchase even just a coffee, then you can sit in the atrium and use the wifi with a code just good for that day. Otherwise you would have to purchase wifi from Grenada which would be costly. Castillo is where the main breakfast and supper buffet is located along with the beach buffet for lunches. We stayed in the Grenada hotel area for breakfast where they had El Patio for a made to order breakfast restaurant (I would advise using it if you prefer peace and quiet instead of a busy buffet) and at night it was an a la cart with reservations only. If you do have breakfast there, they will hand you a bill but its just for you to sign and not pay anything if you have the all inclusive plan. They have to do that to keep track of food usage. There are several a-la-carte restaurants you can book and they are located all throughout the hotels. The Grenada has its own pool and being senior we liked it the best as families with children tend to cross over to the other hotels for the beach which left the Grenada pool nice and quiet. There is bar service 11 - 5 and snacks you can order at the pool for lunch in Grenada, mostly burgers, hot dogs, nachos, and fries items, try the onion rings they are very good. Just wish they had salads too. Our room was large, pretty much ok, beds hard and some items dated, but they did keep everything clean and freshly painted and repaired. The staff are golden! The staff will assist any request and see to it that you are satisfied and taken care of. We attended the gym, a short walk from Grenada to the "country club" also where the Japanese restaurant is located. The gym is adequate. The spa is also there in the building and we used the small hot tub outside in the evenings. Our favourite a la carte was the Italian in the Castilla, you have to phone or drop in to customer service in the Castilla the day before the evening you want to attend an a la carte. They will advise you which one is open for the next night. The Mexican in the Moro was good, the El Patio Argentinian barbecue was at a the Grenada, excellent, try the flank steak if you want a soft tasty steak. The Japanese was also good, lots of sushi but I don't eat Sushi so they have several meat and rice dishes as well. All the a la cartes have appetizers and/or salad bars, choices of 3 kinds of meat and shrimps meals, choices for desert and the hotel complex does not have ice cream so you will have it at a the Italian, the Mexican and the Argentinian if you so desire. You will find real cheese at the El Patio and the Italian a la carte restaurants in the salad bar, otherwise you will not find real cheese at the buffets. I would return some day as there are many things to see in Mazatlan, the local buses stop in front of Castillo and you can hire a taxi or Pulmonia (open air taxi cart) on the street as well. If I returned it would be to Grenada once again, hopefully in November.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Great Vacation at this resort hotel

    Reviewed by Mobile13981881705(Alpena, Michigan) on Mar 30, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Room was spacious and the food was remarkable. We enjoyed our vacation and will return. The staff at El Cid Resort provide excellent hospitality checking in, dining, and activities. It was wonderful to walk the beach and enjoy ocean view sunsets in Mazatlan

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    A quiet place to relax

    Reviewed by Scrabble2008(Montreal) on Mar 30, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    El cid resorts includes el Castilla, Granada and El morro. We were living at Granda but we had easily access to others. El Granada is the quietest place to stay - no loud music and big activities. Hotel itself is smaller than others. Room are studio who include fridge, oven, microwave, and plates...all you need if you don't want the all inclusive package. It includes a balcony, it has a good size, but bathroom needs an upgrade. It is quiet, close to the golf and country club. It has an heated pool and you can shelter yourself from the windy breeze who is often a little too cold You have access to the sea via El Castilla. Food is generally Ok, you can find very good plates and some disapointing. Fish is generally overcooked, and margarine will never replace butter specially in pastry...but beef in ;general and shrimps are good choices. Hotel is close to buses who bring you directly to downtown - service is good and cheap. A good place to stay if you search peace but not too far from action if you wish.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX