Rooms on the Beach Negril

2.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 2 and 3 stars. 2 star - Budget accommodation with limited facilities and services. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    What to expect (based on 633 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Homely, friendly and fantastic location

    Reviewed by Dreamer91666() on Oct 07, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Our second trip to Negril (first in Nov 2015; this time in Sept 2018), and to Rooms. We like it because it's homely, clean and very good value, and being breakfast only, you can eat out at any of the very good local restaurants on the boulevard. We also like that you can't be overly hassled by beach vendors in the walled private beach. The staff are so friendly and happy to help out. Big shout out to **Kelvin Robertson**, the bartender, who shared with us so much about life in Jamaica. Since last time, the addition of an egg to the breakfast is very welcome, as is the bar - it provides greater opportunity to meet fellow guests. Downside this trip was that WiFi was down for several days while we were there, which was a real pain, and it didn't work on the beach as it had the previous time.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Many positives at Rooms

    Reviewed by sunrayeh(Ontario's Near North, Canada) on Oct 05, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Great location on the beach. Very well kept grounds, rooms are clean and well kept. The staff are friendly and helpful. Security staff is diligent. The beach was groomed every morning, and the beach lounge chairs are in very good condition. While many of the smaller hotels in Negril appear to be struggling to maintain standards and appearances (in my opinion), Rooms is on the upswing! I have seen improvements since my last visit to Rooms. (two years ago). There is one unfortunate development. There is an establishment on the north side of the property that blares loud music until late at night, and this may present a problem for some guests. For some reason Woodstock seems to think maximum base is a good thing. The loud music might not be such a problem, if not for the absurd thudding of the heavy base. In no way is this Rooms fault, but Negril businesses need to work together for the good of all. Keep up the good work at Rooms, your efforts are showing!

    Budget friendly, close to everything, Location is great in Negril

    Reviewed by Iko N(Toronto, Canada) on Sep 13, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I just got back from Negril and I have to tell you there were pros and bad cons with the establishment: First, I want to highlight a few people that really helped us out. Kalvin (Bartender) - He is a GEM at Rooms Negril. A very good easy going staff who became a friend who always was there to lend us a hand. We left a water bottle for my 3-year-old at Mayfield falls and we told him and he went out of his way to retrieve it for us two days later. He kept the bar alive and brought the guests together for drinks. I would say that our vacation would have been dull if it wasn't for this guy informing us of places to go in Negril. Don't forget to reach out to him if ever you are at Rooms Negril. Alana (trainee) Front Desk- She is also a Gem at this hotel. All the front desk staff kept telling us the wifi was down. On the third day, Alana from the front desk helped and showed us how to set up the wifi. She took her time to explain the process to me so I was able to set up my toddler's iPad making him a happy camper throughout our vacation. She needs to be more at the front. Front Desk Staff- Who moved us to the awesome room at 2702 the next day. She was really nice. I forgot her name. Pros for Rooms Negril: Close to everything (Woodstock and Roots Bamboo is nearby for entertainment and chill purposes) Sweet Spot Mini Mar is across as the street (literally) Breakfast was great, and lunch prices were reasonable Spacious rooms, and balconies. rooms are cleaned and the resort is kept clean Towels and rooms were cleaned daily (you can always request clean towels no problem) Cons: Some staff are not forthcoming when you need help (they just look at you) The beachfront is not cleaned and raked early in the morning (unlike Woodstock next door who has a pristine beach that's cleaned every morning (swimming at 730 in the morning is soo much better and so it would be great if the staff cleans the beach early) a handful of staff are helpful but they have to do better. Loud up until 11 pm on some nights because of roots bamboo and Woodstock live music scene. Tips: Support the local establishments around the rooms Negril Woodstock is the best when it comes to burgers for your kids who are choosy eaters. Woodstock also has the best beachfront that's clean for a morning swim Do not exchange your money at the airport (we got robbed exchange wise) Carry JMD and US with you as paying by JMD might be cheaper than US dollars Room 2702 is the best suite if you want a view of the beach without paying beachfront prices Charlie from Woodstock Glassbottom boat is your guy for snorkeling along the reefs in Negril (you will find him at Woodstock bar and cafe hanging around. He will take you on a tour of the reef. Overall: I would return to rooms Negril just so I can hang and chill with friends that I met in Negril esp. Woodstock. if you are on a budget and you would like a small, quiet place to go then rooms is where is at. The beach vendors can be annoying and don't take no for an answer. Not all of them though as some vendors are nice and just leave you alone.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-4

    Another great vacation at Rooms Negril

    Reviewed by Kentworth() on Sep 13, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I stayed here In March, May and August this year. Everything went as expected this trip. I called three times to make sure I got my favorite room this trip. Unfortunately my request was ignored even though it was noted on the reservation. Eventually I did get my room. The server staff, security and lifeguards are all really friendly and greeted me with a smile each day. The only drawback is I'm allergic to cats. This trip they were more prevalent than past trips. Consequently, I was stuffed up and sneezing the entire week. It wasn't just Rooms which had a problem. Woodstock was even worse. The smell of cat urine permeated the air quite badly in seating areas in front of the stage. Since it was rainy season the skies clouded over after lunch and it poured each afternoon. No problem since we went shopping and had a late lunch. By supper time the sun popped out and we had lovely evenings. We took the One Love Pub Crawl tour twice. The cost was by donation and we saw 8 pubs in the cliffs. I recommend doing this adult only tour at least once. All in all everytin was Irie and I would stay here again.

    Centrally located on the beach but not overly impressed

    Reviewed by Dave H(Crossfield, Canada) on Sep 08, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    My wife and I stayed here in July. The hotel was clean witch was nice. We were not impressed with the breakfast it really lacked variety and substance. The lunch we ate at the restaurant was good and fairly priced we never had a chance to eat dinner there as it closed at two in the afternoon, something that would have been nice to know before we booked as adventuring out after dark in Negril is a sketchy experience. The blender at the bar broke down on Tuesday morning and by the time we left Friday still was not replaced, the ice machine was out of order but you could get ice at the bar until it closed. The housekeeping staff was great, the life guard had holes in his shirt and did not look all that professional it was also kind of annoying having the life guard pushing excursions on us. On the plus side at least the wall between the hotel and beach kept the other hawkers at bay. Overall not a bad place to stay though especially if your looking to walk the beach and explore the shops around Negril.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX