Samsara Cliff Hotel

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    R

    I loved Jamaica so much! My Trip was IRIE <3

    Reviewed by Rhonda on Feb 08, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    the hotel is definitely weathered and the location is off the beaten path, but the staff from the front desk all the way to the maintenance staff are so incredibly friendly and happy to serve you in any way, it was so refreshing to be treated so well. I was fortunate to have a cottage which included a nice sized porch to retire to after a HOT day in the sun, HOWEVER!!!! there are three (medium to large sized) dogs that bark all night long. the big dog lives on the compound on the other side of the resort and as I was informed, belongs to the resort owner. Terribly inconsiderate if that's the case. The sister resort, Legends, that the shuttle goes to every morning at 10a.m. is packed like sardines so kudos if you're able to grab a lounge or two...and if there is no place to park on the beach, you have to pay to get back to Samsara. OMAR, the shuttle driver is an absolute doll. He is a very safe driver and has the best disposition ever. Love you O!! Latoya, who is the WestJet representative for the Resort is a wonderful, happy lady who has an incredible memory for all the names of her clients! It was such a delight to see her every morning, whether it was just to stop for a chat. Her recommendation to go to YS Falls & Appleton Estates was very well received and the tour guide, Nicola and Jimmy the driver were an absolute hoot as well as informative! :D Would I go back? that's all I can think of is how to get back there!!! I have been many places and these people are just the happiest people I have ever encountered! The restaurant across the road - Ciao Jamaica's food was fabulous, but cost me aprox. $50USD every meal (salad, beer, entr?e) which is a bit much, but worth a couple meals for sure!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    K

    We loved it so much we are making this our annual vacation!! All around fantastic!

    Reviewed by Kim on Nov 09, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    If you are looking for a 5 star deluxe vacation, you are looking at the wrong hotel. If you are looking for a completely relaxing, fun Jamaican experience then you are looking in the right spot. The cliffs are spectacular with the sunset making them extra gorgeous, The grounds are kept well groomed and clean with a variety of vegetation. The rooms are just perfect and kept clean by a staff who are cheerful, helpful and very personable. There is not a staff member there that we did not get along well with and have a good time with even the bartender who has had previous bad reviews, well I can't wait to go back to see her and get another of her fabulous hugs. Sasha in the spa is the most darling lady and the rest of which are too many to name are just as great. The food is not the greatest but is ok but the staff in the dining area make you feel pampered as all get out. Don't forget to visit the island by using one of Peter's recommended taxis Garry especially for a personal tour of the island that your safety is guaranteed. I can't wait to go back again and again!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Loved our stay at this resort!!! The people were amazing... cant wait to go back!

    Reviewed by Lorie on Mar 07, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    Loved the location, it gave us an opportunity to meet the REAL people of Jamaica!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1474 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    First time visit and it was wonderful!

    Reviewed by Cassandra G() on Sep 17, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just came back from staying at the Samsara Cliff. It was my first visit ever to Jamaica and it was wonderful. My best friend and I went and loved everything. The only thing I wasn't prepared for was the 1 1/2 hour drive from the airport to the property. We were so ready when we got there. Once we did, we took the beauty of the nature and the people. It felt very authentic there. The staff was nice. The drinks were great. The food was awesome. We talked a lot of the staff and they kept us laughing. Larry from the gift shop was super nice. He was so helpful and made us feel comfortable. Maurice and OWayne definitely took care of us in the drinks department. We got massages there on the cliff. We visited Legends twice and got in the water. Bartenders Jennifer and Shenay also took care of us and gave a dancing lesson. All the people at the bar were having a good time. The only thing about Legends was the people trying to get you to buy something as soon as you hit the sand. The security there though was helpful. Samsara was everything I wanted and more and can't wait to go back. My ONLY thing is if I could buy the property and fix it up, I would. I would get new furniture, new paint, offer mimosas with breakfast (that's a personal request LOL), new shower heads, fix the outlets, get more secure locks for the doors and maybe some citronella candles at the bar and in the dining area. My bestie and I got ate up but it was all good. I loved everything. Thank you so much for showing us a great time!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Nice place to relax!

    Reviewed by Tami K(Winnipeg) on Sep 13, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Very nice place to stay! The views were amazing from our Ocean front room. Staff were very nice and helpful.Rooms need some updating but at least they are clean. Wifi did not appear to work well but who needs it on vacay? Have a restaraunt on site but did not try the food. Lots of local spots nearby to eat at. The cliffs were great to swim and snorkel around in. Definitely would stay again.

    Perfect Price. Location Location Location.

    Reviewed by drjaih(St. Petersburg, Florida) on Sep 03, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Room cost me $75 bucks. Blue water cliff diving, good food, safe. relaxing. well managed property but nobody at front desk from 10pm till 7am. Pool is fantastic. Smoking Ganga in Jamaica is almost never frowned upon. No problems here. Smoke away as you overlook the blue water and jumpoff the "hotel cliffs". Cliffs about 10-15 feet. Real cliff jumping right down the street at Ricks. $500 Jamaican cab ride like $3 US.

    A beautiful location, but management/service could improve

    Reviewed by Wiley1976(San Salvador) on Aug 29, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The location of this hotel couldn't be better- it sits on the cliffs of the West End of Negril, which makes it a perfect spot to lounge, jump off the cliffs into the beautiful water below, etc. Great sunsets, snorkeling, the whole nine yards. But...the front desk staff aren't well organized- they had to look for about 20 min to find my reservation details even after I gave them the booking code- and even though I checked in after 3 pm, the room was not ready, adding to the wait; the room didn't get cleaned at all on the first full day of my stay, I had to complain in order to get them to clean it the following day; there was essentially no internet service for the three nights I stayed (though this may have been an issue beyond their control- it seemed to be a local outage); the lunch/dinner food is not particularly good, thankfully there was Ciao Jamaica Restaurant across the street; additionally, one of the front desk staff was rude when I inquired about local transportation options for a friend, she didn't seem to want to be bothered with the inquiry. At close to $200 per night for the pillar house, not sure it was worth the cost- I really do expect a clean room, internet service and positive attitudes for that price. Without a doubt, the saving graces of this establishment were the location, awesome sunset views, and proximity to the water- on those counts, the place is hard to beat. Still contemplating whether to try it out again, or look for a different place in the West End.

    ...but the ganga is good

    Reviewed by Lmercier907(Anchorage, Alaska) on Aug 28, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    West Jamaica is a poor country with a poorer infrastructure. If you are looking for a first class experience this is not the place for you. The Samsara is very laid back, the staff friendly, the rooms clean and the pools nice. I felt the drinks were great but the food not as tasty as the street/fast foods in the neighborhood. We were in Negril during the raining season at with that came toilet issues and power outages. People were happy is sell us pot on our way to the hotel, share with us at the hotel and roll joints for us on a tour. Everyone basically openly smoke everywhere which may account for the poor infrastructure.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX