Samsara Cliff Hotel

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    R

    I loved Jamaica so much! My Trip was IRIE <3

    Reviewed by Rhonda on Feb 08, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    the hotel is definitely weathered and the location is off the beaten path, but the staff from the front desk all the way to the maintenance staff are so incredibly friendly and happy to serve you in any way, it was so refreshing to be treated so well. I was fortunate to have a cottage which included a nice sized porch to retire to after a HOT day in the sun, HOWEVER!!!! there are three (medium to large sized) dogs that bark all night long. the big dog lives on the compound on the other side of the resort and as I was informed, belongs to the resort owner. Terribly inconsiderate if that's the case. The sister resort, Legends, that the shuttle goes to every morning at 10a.m. is packed like sardines so kudos if you're able to grab a lounge or two...and if there is no place to park on the beach, you have to pay to get back to Samsara. OMAR, the shuttle driver is an absolute doll. He is a very safe driver and has the best disposition ever. Love you O!! Latoya, who is the WestJet representative for the Resort is a wonderful, happy lady who has an incredible memory for all the names of her clients! It was such a delight to see her every morning, whether it was just to stop for a chat. Her recommendation to go to YS Falls & Appleton Estates was very well received and the tour guide, Nicola and Jimmy the driver were an absolute hoot as well as informative! :D Would I go back? that's all I can think of is how to get back there!!! I have been many places and these people are just the happiest people I have ever encountered! The restaurant across the road - Ciao Jamaica's food was fabulous, but cost me aprox. $50USD every meal (salad, beer, entr?e) which is a bit much, but worth a couple meals for sure!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    K

    We loved it so much we are making this our annual vacation!! All around fantastic!

    Reviewed by Kim on Nov 09, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    If you are looking for a 5 star deluxe vacation, you are looking at the wrong hotel. If you are looking for a completely relaxing, fun Jamaican experience then you are looking in the right spot. The cliffs are spectacular with the sunset making them extra gorgeous, The grounds are kept well groomed and clean with a variety of vegetation. The rooms are just perfect and kept clean by a staff who are cheerful, helpful and very personable. There is not a staff member there that we did not get along well with and have a good time with even the bartender who has had previous bad reviews, well I can't wait to go back to see her and get another of her fabulous hugs. Sasha in the spa is the most darling lady and the rest of which are too many to name are just as great. The food is not the greatest but is ok but the staff in the dining area make you feel pampered as all get out. Don't forget to visit the island by using one of Peter's recommended taxis Garry especially for a personal tour of the island that your safety is guaranteed. I can't wait to go back again and again!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Loved our stay at this resort!!! The people were amazing... cant wait to go back!

    Reviewed by Lorie on Mar 07, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    Loved the location, it gave us an opportunity to meet the REAL people of Jamaica!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1486 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    ONE OF A KIND

    Reviewed by Anita T(Cleveland, Ohio) on Nov 12, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was my first trip to Jamaica. Our room was a beautiful location overlooking the water! A view you cannot beat! You can jump directly in to the ocean! Fresh coconuts available to you every day! Staff was very gracious and accommodating! We had a small issue with a late night taxi driver suggested by the security guard. Other than that the stay was great! The Room: When first walking in it is a basic room no frills so don't expect any. Remember it's an island so there are no micro-fridges to store anything. The Wifi was spotty but worked over all. (You can't get wi-fi in the ocean and furthermore you're on vacation so unplug). The shower and bathroom could use a few updates due to rust from being on the ocean and a little paint here and there. The beds were actually very comfortable, clean quiet and affordable! Myself and two of my best friends went along it was a wonderful venue to unwind and not too crowded as we do not like the over populated touristy places. The little strip where the hotel sits is a serene slice of peace on earth and worth visiting again! Thanks Samsara!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    An enjoyable stay.

    Reviewed by pandtab(Edmonton, Canada) on Nov 08, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Samsara is an older, but lovely 3 star hotel in a beautiful location. We stayed in a garden room and quite liked it. The room was plain, but clean, quite large and equipped with a closet, drawers and a desk. The only bathroom amenity is soap - so bring the rest! We loved the deck out front. We opted for the all inclusive and I'm glad we did. As mentioned in other reviews, it is not so easy to move around in the night without getting a taxi. The food is very good, but the options are extremely limited. Most of the items on the menu were not available or sometimes available, but you had to pay for them. Seems to be a very strange "all inclusive." But the price we payed was excellent so we were mostly fine with things. The pool and sitting areas on the cliff are excellent. We also enjoyed our days at Legends (the sister resort on the beach). The staff at Legends were great. My only real problem with Samsara was with their staff. Most were just fine, but two were almost to the point of being rude. That did put us off and I'm not sure I would return. Other than that, though, it is a lovely place to have a restful getaway.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-5

    A solid three star, lovely location

    Reviewed by Rob_likes_2_travel(Cochrane, Canada) on Nov 05, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Lovely location on the cliffs right on the ocean (ladders take your right into the warm water for snorkeling or excursion pickup). We opted out of the all inclusive. Seemed to be limited in options and there are many restaurants near by to choose from. Warning: you can not walk on the road safely, especially at night as they are extremely narrow and traffic is fast. They have a driver who will suggest and take you to activities or restaurants for a small fee. Take a beach towel as they are not available. We were in a superior ocean view. Not fancy but clean and fabulous sunsets. Take a baba to save using one use plastic drinking glasses. I would not suggest taking young children as there are no guard rails on the cliffs. We would recommend and return.

    Nice enough

    Reviewed by lovedjamaica79(York, Pennsylvania) on Oct 31, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Just came home from 3 nights at Samsara. The cliffs are beautiful, but swimming was closed most of the trip due to large waves. The hotel was conveniently located. The rooms could definitely use an update. The beds were very uncomfortable, door did not shut without a huge gap, air conditioner was not as cool as I would have liked and shower head did not work well. Would have loved having a small fridge and coffee maker in our room. We did not do the all inclusive package, but did eat breakfast. Food was good, but the hours were limited. We are all early risers (up at 530 every morning)and were quite disappointed to have to wait until 8 am to get our morning coffee.

    Lovely Stay at Samsara

    Reviewed by KathyDrissel(Glassboro, New Jersey, United States) on Oct 25, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was our second time staying at the Samsara with an all-inclusive package. Our room was delightful, clean and furnished comfortably. I loved sitting on the balcony and had a lovely view of the beautiful plants and foliage in the gardens. The sea was only a stone's throw away, and I felt I had the best of both worlds in our cottage. I was treated with great courtesy by all the staff from the moment I made my way to the restaurant to get a first cup of coffee until I retired for the night. This year I took the plunge and jumped into the water from one of the terraces. The ocean is warm and crystal clear and the scenery surrounding the Samsara is very beautiful. I especially enjoyed sitting on the terraces and drinking my morning coffee while I watched the fisherman in colorful boats and the pelicans and other seabirds flying by. The pool is lovely and we made good use of it. We enjoyed every meal we had at the Samsara and this year we also sampled the excellent food at their restaurant across the street. Omar, the terrific shuttle driver, took us to the sister resort of Legends almost every day where we also very much enjoyed the atmosphere and the staff. It was especially good to see Kendrick of Legends in the dining area, and Michael the security guard on the beach. It's always so nice to see familiar faces when we make return visits. As with so many of our favorite places, the people are what make the trip a success, and this time was no different. Will I go back to the Samsara...oh yes, definitely!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX