VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    M

    Concierge, bell men, and Juan were wonderful. A truely enjoyable holiday. We recommend the quiet residence and pool there.

    Reviewed by Michelle on Mar 17, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We spent 2 weeks at the VH Gran Ventana and had a relaxing holiday. I would definitely go back. We met so many repeaters visitors there.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    F

    Fantastic!

    Reviewed by Fe on Sep 30, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    We went back there for my son's birthday on Sept, 2016. It was even better than the last lime we were there in May, 2015. The place was renovated. The entertainment was improved. I loved the nightly display of bright costumes of the dancers. The pool exercises, the food, the rooms, the staff were all fantastic. We even went to the Paradise Island this time. What a wonderful experience it was! We are planning to go back this January.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Loved our stay!! would go back in a heartbeat!

    Reviewed by Sandy on Feb 08, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    This was a fantastic place! I always said I didn't think I would go back to the same resort twice but I definitely would go back here. People were great, food was great and the a la carte's were fabulous. The Italian a la carte is a definite must!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Very good time for the dollar value

    Reviewed by Mark and Karen on Jan 08, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    We enjoyed our stay here.. The A la carts were great, and the buffet was average. The buffet did have a lot of repetition, but they have some healthier food choices and good salad bar which we liked. The animation team always had something on the go and were very friendly. Our rep. super Juio, was great... he was wonderful to deal with. We did the VIP Paradise Island trip and was a day to remember - the staff was top notch and we had a blast!!! The beach was nice, but not always calm. There were lots of merchants on the beach that we found very annoying, even when trying to relax. Juan is the BEST bartender - order once and he remembers - always a smile!!! Maid service for rooms was great - no complaints there. Overall, we had a good time and would recommend it and return ourselves.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    P

    Never a Dissappointment.

    Reviewed by Papa Stan and Mama Carol on Mar 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was our 5th time to the Gran Ventana. What keeps us going back is the Wonderful People. The cleanliness of the hotel and the Great food. It was a little different this year with the new services that were offered for more money but I did not see a whole lot of people really going for the extras. The Fidelity Club supper at the quiet pool was absolutely excellent. Blondy, Carlos,Shorty,Delphi, Chupi Chupi,Cocoa and Allan. Chakalaka who is no longer there. So glad we were part of your last evening there. Miss you all and the resort is very lucky to have wonderful entertainers as yourself. Hugs to all of you. Franklin and Louis who are great Bar tenders at the pool. Wally, Awesome waiter. And Our dear Friend Franchesca who is now waitressing. The Lion King show was Really Really good. We had the opportunity to be judges for the Grammies. I have not laughed that hard in ages. Chupi and Delphi as Women. Hilarious. As to whether we are going back ? Good chance.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6374 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Excellent Service

    Reviewed by Nomad67606() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My family and I (total of 4 adults and 2 kids) felt very much at home with the friendly staff always willing to go the extra mile and treated you with utmost respect. I would like to take the opportunity to thank FELIX MARTINEU in the dinning area he took great care with us. Thank you buddy!!! We will be looking forward to another visit soon. Regards Annette Harbajan

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Nice Vacation!

    Reviewed by GregS4035(Orange, Connecticut) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    My wife stayed at Gran Ventana at the end of January for 5 days. The resort was well kept and very clean and as most people have said the staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. We were here just to relax so we can’t speak much for entertainment and other things to do, we spent all day at the beach, sat on our balcony and had drinks, went to dinner and then bed. Again, the staff were all excellent. From the guy who stocks the fridge (gave him $10, put enough beer for the week in it) to the housekeeper who continually let us into our room because I had de activated the key again to Aquilino, the waiter at the private beach area, who never let our beer glass get empty. They were phenomenal. The food was ok. The a la cartel restaurants were better than the buffet. Don’t know if I could eat that food for an entire week, in fact we ate off property on our last night at Passatore (excellent). The WiFi was spotty and frustrating but who cares your on vacation. The only reason I wouldn’t go back is the mattresses were the absolute worst I have ever slept on. My wife and I both did not sleep well and woke up with sore backs every morning. We wouldn’t have lasted a week on them. We upgraded to the premium package and it was totally worth it. Private beach with a waiter, nicer lounge chairs and less crowded there, also the private club upstairs with really good coffee and top shelf drinks. Absolutely worth the $30/day. Again it was a great, laid back relaxing resort, I would love to go back but can’t due to those mattresses.

    Great experience

    Reviewed by CANADIANLIN() on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just spent a week at this resort with my girlfriend and it was amazing on every level. Food was good, place is clean and staff are amazing. A special thank you to Randolph who works in entertainment for ensuring we were taken care of all week. We will definitely be back.

    First resort I have ever stayed would consider returning to and likely will next year!

    Reviewed by Jenny S(Saint Thomas, Canada) on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My son and I travelled couple weeks ago and stayed in room 1103, nice updates, lots of space for our stuff, well maintained, beds comfy enough, brought my own pillow (always do lol). Bathroom great, with hair dryer too. Yes have to pay for safe, I have in many places in Dominican, Mexico and Cuba so no biggie. Wifi worked daily for me in the theatre area, yes it is slow. And from what I heard, paying got you the same wifi so.. not worth it. As a single mom felt safe and small enough resort comfortable enough to let my son off to play with his new friends at table pool while I was by pool. Food at buffet better than others in Dominican area. The staff were amazing, sincerely, Andreas and Rosa in dining room took extra care of us and my son made special friends with couple of entertainers Randolf and Luis Coco Loco!!! Thanks for making him smile. Getting up at 5am to get to"reserve" umbrella by pool or beach only complaint. I have travelled alot, and I mean this. This my 6th time in Dominican and I will be back to Gran Ventana. Italian restaurant was the best of the a la cartes for my tastes and my son never went hungry either. Yes evening entertainment nothing to write home about, but once over things quieted down quickly so not an issue having a room around the pool for us, and our was right across and on the path for many, would ideally want further down.. BEST SIDE TRIP EVER.. went on the buggies.. had soooo much fun!!!! Highly recommend. Try the Jackie special at the bars!!!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Don’t let the good reviews fool you

    Reviewed by FrequentTorontoEater(Toronto, Canada) on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The staff here are not as nice as other resorts I have been at. They all expect tips for everything and stand there and stare at you and get mad if you don’t ! We were tipping the maids 5$ US a day and one day went to the pool early and stayed out and forgot to leave a tip and they didn’t put pillow cases on our pillows or give us any fresh towels and then were rude after we called down and asked to have towels brought to us and pillow cases. The food is mediocre.... I could go on and on about more little things that are annoying at this resort but I will not to be nice. Moral of the story don’t expect amazing service.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX