VH Atmosphere Adults Only Resort and Beach Club

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    A

    Not your typical all inclusive resort- over rated

    Reviewed by A on Apr 03, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    My partner and I were quite disappointed with our experience. Our westjet representative was no where to be found during his hours of operation 1130-1230. We had to rely on the assistance of other representatives from other companies however, they could only help so much. The rooms are about a 10 min walk to the lobby and pool. The beach is about a 10-15 min walk. You have to walk through a couple other resorts to get there which is awkward. There are too many hecklers on the beach.. some of which do not take no for an answer and do not give you a minute on your own to sit and just chill. This hotel is primarily for older couples and the entertainment is catered to the older crowd. The night entertainment is very boring and we were usually in bed by 11pm every night. My partner and I got sick on a few of the days as something was going around the resort many people shared similar symptoms- the cups are not washed in a sanitary way. We were unable to leave the room a few nights and they refused us room service even if we paid an additional fee. Being sick, having no energy and walking 10mins in the sun just made things worse. The "beach club" is small, not on the beach and exclusive for people with black wrist bands.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    _

    Great trip and with a few tweaks I would rate 5/5. Also I have tips for vegetarians/vegans

    Reviewed by _lawlipops_ on Mar 09, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    I have a lot of great things to say about this resort, but I will start off with my suggestions for the resort to improve. The bathtub in our room had a lot of discolouration; though it was clean, there were a lot of blemishes that made it off-putting at first. I was not happy with how many vendors there were on the beach. We were interrupted every few minutes by people trying to sell us massages, excursions, hats, photos with parrots, cigars, etc. Our WestJet rep helped us book an amazing excursion to Paradise Island. The resort entertainment was good but I felt sometimes the staff got too pushy when encouraging people to participate. Once, a staff member actually tapped my shoulder when I was napping in order to invite me to play a game. These are my main concerns but otherwise we had a great trip. Wifi is excellent in the lobby as well as my room (1109). Thank you to Tobias at the gym for leading us in some good exercise routines. Martha in customer service was very helpful. I also want to thank a landscaper who kindly retrieved my husband's glasses after they fell from our balcony into an eavestrough. TVs have a lot of channels. The pool is fantastic; though it looks small in photos, it is actually rather spacious. ATTENTION VEGANS/VEGETARIANS: They had a reasonable amount of veg options including beans, chick peas, pastas (build-your-own pasta with tomato sauce), fresh fruit, salad stations (including bean salads -- some with cheese, some without), squash, and pumpkin. At the a-la-carte restaurants, you can talk with them about modifications. For example, they did a nice grilled veggie dish for me. I was told their rice is cooked with soy oil and salt (no butter). Their guacamole and salsa are phenomenal. Pro-tip for vegans: bring your own milk alternatives because they only have dairy milk there.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    Affordable First Class Experience

    Reviewed by Apple Lady on May 06, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    This is the best resort I've ever been to and I will return again. It's small, quiet, clean, beautiful, great food and staff. I would feel very comfortable traveling to this resort on my own for a peaceful escape!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    d

    Relaxing stay

    Reviewed by deb on Mar 14, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Quiet, relaxing oasis. Newly renovated hotel that's still working on making things perfect. The staff are friendly and customer service is number one. Rooms are beautiful and the resort is immaculate. We definately would return.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 460 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Super relaxing vacation

    Reviewed by mcbidge(Milan, Italy) on Aug 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We are really enjoying this vacation. The resort is super cool and the staff is friendly. I really recommend it if you want to relax in a quiet place, eat very well prepared food and enjoy cocktails on the pool ??. It's different from the other resorts in the zone, because is placed in the middle of a golf club, which leaves space to admire the landscape. Rooms are clean and the animation team is funny but not "invasive". E.g Delphy, our main animator, is super cool. You are going to enjoy your vacation here ??

    Best resort for relaxation !!!

    Reviewed by Kinsy B() on Aug 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This resort and everyone were so welcoming !! I loved it there the food because there was many selections. the resort was very clean and the people we met made it that much better. The staff Delfy and Angel were very friendly and the pool is so beautiful !

    Great Reviews vs Actual Experience

    Reviewed by chelem_2000(Titusville, Florida) on Aug 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Food, wine, distance from beach ....all so disappointing! We chose this hotel because of ratings and wish the ratings matched up to our experience. Several of us were ill after eating chefs’ pork chop specialty and overall the food very underwhelming. We overheard other guests talking to manager about the poor quality of the food. On the weekend some nationals arrived and the food quality improved as the menu was local cuisine with stewed meats, rice and beans and cabbage salad. We love local food! The all inclusive wine, 1 red and 1 white house wine were, for me not drinkable, so I chose water and did buy a bottle of wine. Bring your own mint if you like mojitos as the bar is very basic and doesn’t have mint etc. After several people asked for diet soda someone from the hotel went out to buy 2 liter bottles for us. Don’t look for handrails going up to second floor dining room and you won’t find them in the shower area or pool either. Bed very firm. Juice offerings great, coco ice cream delicious and the beach bar has excellent cooked to order food. Tv large, AC great, pretty lobby. Very, very hot walking from our room to the lobby, coffee shop, restaurant, pool and beach pickup drop off area. Hope your experience is better than ours. The Dominican Republic is a beautiful country.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-2

    great trip

    Reviewed by sibreaker69(Staten Island, New York) on Jul 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    So I just got back from there yesterday and spent 4 day 3 nights. When i first got there with my companion at around 2 PM the room was not ready but after checking in they put our bracelet and and told us to have lunch and when we get back the room should be ready. We went to the buffet and the food and choices were pretty good. As I found out lunch/breakfast are the buffet and the restaurant would be open for dinner. During lunch I was telling my companion when we get back to the lobby I was thinking about upgrading to the VIP black bracelet. She told me to hold off and see and I agreed. After lunch (like 10 minutes later) we went back and the room was ready. I made reservations at the restaurant for that evening for 8:30. They loaded our bags on a cart and drove us to the building (the 3rd build of building 18) we were on the 3rd floor and the guy carried our bags all the way up. My surprise the room was pretty big and looked like the pics I saw. It had a balcony with a table and 2 chairs. We settled in and since it was only 3 by now it was already a long day so we napped. I woke up 1st and went exploring now from my building to say the gym,cafe lobby is like 2 minute walk you pass the"VIP Pool" which was empty . I wanted coffee so I went to the cafe. I must have passed like 3 staff members on the way and each with a smile said hola, which is a good feeling. I got to the cafe ordered a coffee with milk and the girl there (and I apologize) Rose or Rosby very friendly greeted me with a smile and made my coffee. The thing is the coffee to go cups are small so I returned soo many times night and day that by the time I left if she saw me coming towards the cafe she was getting it ready. And I want to thank her before I left but I could not so please thank her soo much for me. So at 8:30 we got to the restaurant very nice food was great , but almost empty. This is low season so not their fault. We ate there for 2 nights and on the 3rd night it was closed so we ate at the buffet. Again low season and not many guest so I understand. Food was still good and I enjoyed it. Now getting back on me going VIP, it didn't happen low season barely any people and would not have been worth it. Now during high season I probably would. On a different note I think many people that were there felt the same cause all I saw was white bracelets. The pool was nice quiet, entertainment from the resort was only 1 night were they played music trivia which was fun. The resort is located in a community with other resorts. In the community there is a shopping plaza where you can get cash, make reservations for things to do. pharmacy and a cab service . There also there is like almost like an Applebees there and next to that a bar/disco. The disco was DEAD ( went there at 11) but pretty much I expected cause again low season. We sat outside and the bartender told us that its gets busier like friday and saturdays with the locals and people from the resorts.This plaza from once you get over the little bridge is like 5 minute walk. Now lets talk about the beach. If you take the cart they provide you have to go pass the buffet,pool and over the little bridge then the cart takes you to an Sunscape grounds and drops you off at a walk way which is like a minute. Then you walk thru this passage way for like 5 minutes and your there. It was clean, pretty much empty so lots of chairs (again low season). We went around 1:30 and it was nice windy but that is puerto plata. You will get sand blasted but not bad. No seaweed on the beach, but what did notice as I got closer to the water before jumping in it looks like all the surrounding resorts put a net a bit out into the water i guess to catch the majority of the seaweed (good idea). They have a bar/grill which is nice and the vendor not many out, was approached once in the hour I was there. So pretty much service,food, cleanness of the resort was excellent and would go back. The WIFI work not only in the room, but in the lobby, by the pool, in the buffet and restaurant, just not at the beach but as stated beach not on the resort itself. My only CON: the 1st is not a lot of outlets , There is 1 in the bathroom or 1 on the floor as soon as you walk in by the closet. We plugged in the whole time in the bathroom.the 2nd is about this is the cleaning service and here is why: The 2nd day they came around 2 or 3 and replaced towels and restocked the fridge. The 3rd day I had to go to the front desk and request they come to the room. Which never happened. The cleaning staff is out doing their job and I saw them. So I asked 1 of them for a replacement of refreshments like water and soda and exchange my towels. Day 4 I left at around 12 and had to use the towels from the day before . May be it was me but when I was there I showered after breakfast and then right before dinner (to get off the pool water or the beach). Other than that I had a great time, with excellent food, excellent and friendly staff. I hope the resort reads this and if they do please give the staff my warmest thanks especially my friend Rosby at the cafe!!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Great place small private pool

    Reviewed by 2017-sun(Toronto, Canada) on Jul 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We totally enjoyed our visit in April . The service was good and the rooms where great . The private dinners where awesome The only negative if you call it negative comment would be the VIP pool was very small when the windy on the beach forced you up to the pool Definitely geared to seniors We are early 50’s

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX