Iberostar Playa Mita

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    L

    Pick another resort

    Reviewed by Louie on Feb 14, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    WestJet should seriously consider reviewing this resort and dropping it from their offerings. Definitely not a 5 star. Worst resort we have booked through WestJet over 14 years.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    T

    Never again.

    Reviewed by Thomas on Dec 23, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Watch out. They will try to upgrade your room at check in. Do not accept as the upgrade prices are outrageous. We got sucked in and regreted it. They give no other amenities with the upgrade at all. We paid over $3000.00 to be be upgrade to the Presidential Suite and all we got was a larger room. although it was very nice. Even the miniibar did not come with liquor as promised.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    J

    We love it here. This is our second time and it won?t be our last!

    Reviewed by Julie on Mar 17, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We absolutely love this hotel. Everyone goes above and beyond to make your stay a pleasant one. The food is amazing. The hotel and grounds are perfectly maintained. The pool is lovely. Rooms are immaculately cleaned daily and the turn down service is such a nice touch. I really cannot say enough about how friendly and accommodating all the staff are and I recommend the resort without hesitation. We will be back for a third stay!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    Amazing experience! Nothing bad to say.

    Reviewed by Nicole on Jan 14, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Honeymoon

    The staff were amazing, all amenities included - the cafe was amazing for coffee every morning. Cool billiards room to escape the heat every now and then. All restaurants had great food. Room service was fast. Amazing - planning our next vacation here already.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    First class all the way

    Reviewed by Angela on Dec 27, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    WOW!!! What A great place to stay..Everything N everyone was first class..

    A

    Can't wait to go back.

    Reviewed by Andrea W on Nov 18, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    I loved this resort. I feel like we got an amzing deal through Westjet. The flights and transfers were flawless. The resort is secluded and scenic.I was able to walk the beach for hours and see just a handful of people. The rooms are nicely furnished. Well stocked and very clean. We had fun everyday at the resort and felt no need to leave. The alcohol is "top shelf" and the food was fantastic. Even for vegetarians like me. If this resort is in your budget, do not hesitate to book! You will not regret it. I have to mention that the staff is amazing. Every single staff member was friendly and helpful.They will go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    Great place for all ages and totally worth the drive from PVR.

    Reviewed by Andrew on Apr 29, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    This is one of the few resorts we've stayed at where the hotel is better in person than it looks in the photos. The resort is large enough to have lots to do and lots of space, but small enough that it didn't feel like we were constantly walking a few miles to get anywhere. We travelled Thursday to Thursday. On the Sunday of our stay, apparently that was the start of a big Spring Break week in the US according to another guest from Chicago yet our hotel wasn't overrun with spring breakers, likely on account of the higher price and the distance from the airport. This resort is perfect for families of all ages. We had our two kids 5 & 3 with us and they had a blast at the splash park and kids club, and in the pool. It was a very good mix of people: families with kids, couples without kids, young, old. It was nice to have lots for our kids to do but the place wasn't completely dominated by families with screaming kids. We would go back here in a heartbeat.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3885 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    The entertainment and fitness staff were amazing!

    Reviewed by Danica L() on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We were there with a large group for a wedding and there were many different personalities and ages. There was so much for everyone to enjoy. I don't really drink and don't spend much time sitting still so this was a perfect resort for me. I did yoga, pilates, biked, and did circuit training. I ran many kilometres on the beautiful beach and used the gym. My daughter and I played bingo and took dance lessons. The staff made us feel so welcome, especially the entertainment and fitness staff. Cheers to Marcelo, Marco, Charly, Fatima, Johny, Victor, Christian, and the rest of you. The Star Band, Star Singers and the beautiful dancers put on great shows every night. The food was great. I am gluten-intolerant and was delighted to see signs on the buffet telling me what I could eat. There were so many delicious choices and I felt great the whole time I was there. There were many interesting birds in the area, too. Next time I will bring a bird guide. I hope to return some day!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Fantastic!

    Reviewed by fescue58() on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Went from Feb.10 to 17th.2019 for my Sons wedding. The staff was very welcoming, checked us in quickly and our holiday began. Our room was great, the beds so comfortable and the cleaning staff was always on top of things. Bottled water and beer in the room fridge always kept stocked. The resort is beautiful and well looked after. Most of our meals were at the buffets and only booked in one night at the Japanese restaurant. All the meals were fantastic with a great selection of food. My wife is gluten intolerant and she never had a problem finding things that she could eat. Again, the staff were very helpful and were able to answer all her questions. The nightly entertainment was amazing. The talent of the band, singers, dancers, lighting and sound was top notch. Make sure to check out the Rock Show, Beatles, 70's and Broadway musical shows that start at 9:30 and run to 11:00. The band performing nightly at the bar also does a great job. The pool is large with lots of seating and the beach is also a great place to soak up that hot sun. Once again I'm back to the staff, they really make your stay enjoyable. Always there to look after you and making sure that you have what you need. I highly recommend this resort and I will surely go back. Thank you Iberostar Playa Mita you rock!!!

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    we loved this resort!

    Reviewed by skelley89(Calgary, Canada) on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed at this resort from February 3-10, 2019. From the moment we arrived, the customer service was fantastic. Johnny at the front desk immediately changed our rooms to be adjoining upon learning that our two rooms had not been booked in the same building. Our rooms were impeccably cleaned and every day the housekeeping staff did a fantastic job of keeping them tidy and clean (complete with lovely towel animals that my daughter loved). The wifi was excellent. We loved the food at all the restaurants (the only we didn't try was the French one) and the selection at the buffet was amazing. One of the highlights was definitely the kids club. My daughter is 8 and has down syndrome. I was a bit disappointed that the kids club was under renovation when we arrived but we quickly learned that the kids' club staff were fantastic at gathering up the kids around the resort and entertaining them at the beach, the playground, the pool or the disco. Nancy in particular was excellent with her and even got her to participate in the talent show and the kids mini-broadway show (much to my surprise!). We were able to participate in a snorkeling adventure one day that had some bonus whale watching at the end. Overall we were extremely happy with our stay and will definitely be back!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    We went back again, again, again and again!

    Reviewed by realmexico(denver, colorado) on Feb 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Yes, we recently got back from our 4th visit from January 30 thru February 6th! What can we say when you find your beach and resort paradise why change?! Been blessed to go on cruises and beach resorts for over 20 years. The bar is set so high at this resort regarding everything we like why risk being disappointed going anywhere else? We were there for Super Bowl weekend and wow what a great party the resort had! My sister and brother in law joined us on this trip and they both had a great time and enjoyed the beautiful setting of the resort, junior ocean front room, great service and food. Both of them were totally amazed with the quality of friendly service, incredible evening live shows in the theatre. They have seen countless shows on cruises and in Las Vegas and said the entertainment here is superior to anything they have seen elsewhere. I cannot say enough about the shows at night! I think families with kids will enjoy the Broadway show night that included the Lion King and Beauty and the Beast. Watching the wide eyed children next to us was priceless! Costumes, sets, dancers, live band and the four lead singers are outstanding! Rock show and Pop night was also great. The resort hosted the Super Bowl party in the Disco where they showed the game on the large movie screen and set up several hundred chairs. They had five food stations that had all game food including nachos, wings, hamburgers, hot dogs and amazing decorated football deserts and a huge cake! They had the bar open and waiter service. Best super bowl party I have ever attended! This trip we got to know some of the entertainment staff including Fatima and Charley. Both very nice people and very personable. All the food was good as usual. If I can make one suggestion if you book this resort is to contact the resort via email about 1.5 weeks prior to your arrival to make your restaurant reservations. We made all four for our week long visit. Also, ask what the current schedule is regarding buffet theme nights and the nights which shows are going to be on. Helps with scheduling which night to be away from resort if you decide to venture away from the resort for dinner in nearby beach town or Rythems of the Night. The International seafood night was on Sunday and highly suggest making sure you don't miss out on the crab claws, large shrimp, oysters, clams etc. The only negatives: they continue to charge to purchase boogie boards instead of signing them out to the guests for free like the other area resorts do. I complained about this in my last review and apparently this is not important enough for management to fix. The only other negative was that the pools was cold getting into. This had to do with the time of the year (winter season). Our other visits were in May and November when the pool was like bath water getting in. The ocean was also colder to get into this time of year. My spouse solved this problem by taking a cold shower prior to getting in the pool or ocean. Once you get in the temperature is fine and was refreshing! In summary, we will probably come back again, and plan on bringing more family and friends with us to experience our paradise. By the way this is a very secluded and safe area. Resort is located in the Litibu community that has a good Greg Norman designed golf course that is inexpensive to play comparing to a US golf course with ocean holes and views. You have to pass two security checks to actually get into the resort. If you decide to leave resort for part of the day they record your room number, cab driver information and your destination when you are leaving the resort. Hope I provided you with some good information for your future vacation. Can answer any questions direct.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Amazing staff made this vacation memorable !

    Reviewed by jim g(White Rock, Canada) on Feb 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My wife and I just completed a 10 day vacation at this wonderful all inclusive resort. What made our time most memorable were the friendly helpful staff that made the trip so much fun. Each day around the pool "Alex" along with Marco, Marcelo, Edgar, Fatima and Johnny had us bouncing out of our seats and participating in an activity... water aerobics in the pool... water volleyball... penalty kicking soccer balls, salsa dancing... you get the idea. If you wanted to relax in the shade there were always great spots to just watch the action from poolside and chill. Don't miss out on the fabulous reservation restaurants... all were great.. along with the breakfast buffet where there were 2 stations for your made to order omelette. Service was excellent ... Anthony was one of the servers who always went the extra mile to make sure we were having an excellent experience. Endless choices of fresh fruit and pastries ... guacamole was the best I've ever had. The beach was a little rocky in places and we discovered it was best to go there at low tide for long walks or looking at the horizon for whales breaching. Don't miss out on the evening shows... we caught every one and they were all top drawer professional presentations. All in all had an excellent trip and would not hesitate to recommend this resort to friends and family.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX