Hard Rock Hotel & Casino, Punta Cana

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    t

    Hard Rock is simply the BEST!!!

    Reviewed by tatkinder on Jan 30, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    SPA - unbelievable experience, come one hour before your treatment to experience all the facility and services they have to offer

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 27742 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Wedding Destination

    Reviewed by customerconcern(San Jose, California) on May 21, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			4
			out of 5

    With 1,790 rooms, this resort is huge. It takes approximately 10 minutes to walk from the beach to the lobby. There are trams that run regularly, but since the resort is so big and the tram is also picking up other guests, it takes about the same time to walk to your destination. We are not Hard Rock members nor Rock Royalty level, just the 60 of us folks for a wedding. FOOD The food was average to good. They recently implemented dinner reservation requirement for 5 out of the 9 restaurants for dinner (contrary to their website stating they accept walk-ins). Prior dinner reservation are required for Isla (Caribbean – lobster at no additional cost), Zen (Japanese – max. 10 people/table for Teppanyaki), Toro (steakhouse) – delicious steaks, Gallos (Mexican) and Ciao (Italian). To make dinner reservations, you need to go to the lobby at the restaurant reservations desk anytime from 9AM – 5PM and make dinner reservations for your whole stay. This as an inconvenience and vacationers usually don’t like to be on a strict time schedule. We enjoyed the delicious brick oven pizzas at Pizzeto and how they open long hours, from 11AM-6AM. There are 4-5 breakfast buffets and they all serve the same breakfast foods. However, all the buffets throughout the day had a small selection and not many choices comparing to other All-Inclusive resorts we have been to. We appreciated that at all the restaurants the staff served water from a large bottle as opposed to water in pitcher. Room service food was good especially the steak, hotdog, fruit platter, chicken soup and spaghetti. It was available 24 hours, but limited menu depending on the time frames. Suggestion – Go back to the old policy of no dinner reservations required. BEACH Situated on the north-east, facing the Atlantic Ocean, the beach has rough waves thus making it challenging to swim especially for children. The powdery white sands, large beach and turquoise water are a beautiful site. There a plenty of loungers and palapas so no need to play the towel game, which were comfortably spaced out so guests are not packed in too closely. However, we were at the beach near the kids pools (Asia area) and beach service was non-existent. No towel cards required and you can take as much beach towels from the towel huts as you like. We rented the Bali Beds for a day at the beach area called “Asia” near the kids pool, 10AM-5PM for 200 resort credits + you pay $40 USD for the 20% service charge which includes a bottle of wine, an ice box with drinks, small portions of: shrimp ceviche, tuna tar and fruits in the ice box. However, our waitress for the Bali Beds did not provide good customer service. She was hardly around and when we did track her down, she was hesitant to provide more bottled waters and ice. Unfortunately, it was not worth it. Suggestion - have waiters/waitresses to take orders for drinks at the beach and staff to clean up the seaweed twice a day. POOLS We hung out at the kids pool (family area). There were 2 sections for kid’s slides: small one for toddlers and the other medium sized slides for children under 16 years old. There is a bar and snack area serving nachos, salsa and self-serve ice cream. About 1-2/week, there is a 1 hour foam pool party at the main central pool. It was exciting and fun! Suggestion – At the kids pool, serve pizza since kids usually love pizza, hamburgers, hotdogs, French fries, onion rings, etc.. like the adults pool snack area. SPA/MASSAGE Their spa is nice, large and had great ambiance. We booked the Holistic Relaxing Massage for 80 minutes for $315 resort credits + you pay $63 USD. As a tip, you can book your massages prior to arriving to the resort via email or on their website due to popular demand and their appointments fill up quickly. Be sure to arrive 1 hour before your massage appointment to take advantage of their hydrotherapy. Depending on which masseuse you get, some are better than others. Unfortunately, the masseuse named “Marisol” needs to improve her customer service skills - taking breaks during the massage when you think your guest is sleeping is totally unacceptable. :( ROOMS All the rooms have a hydro spa tub jacuzzi . The bed mattress is comfortable. I believe none of the rooms have an ocean view. We had the Caribbean Suite, which had double shower heads, double sinks and a spacious bathroom. In the shower stall, you can pull out the string to make a clothes line to dry your wet swim clothes. The difference in room prices were the rooms closer to the beach cost more and the rooms closer to the lobby cost less. We were in building 8A, which was close to the kids pool and beach. There were 2 robes, 2 pairs of slippers, iron with ironing board, umbrella, free safe and a small bottle of mosquito spray in the rooms. Remember use the mosquito spray especially at night. Suggestion – streamline check-in because it was long and inefficient. It was only our group that was checking in around midnight for 5 rooms and no one else was in line, but with 2 front desk staff, it took about 30 minutes to check in each room. ENTERTAINMENT We only saw one show, “Tropical” (Dominican dancing) at their indoor theater and it was entertaining for 45 minutes. The sound system and large stage were impressive. At the end of the show, they let guests take a picture with the dancers – really cool! There is a small free arcade that opens until 11PM, but a couple of the games where broken/out of order. The kids enjoyed playing there at no additional cost. Miniature golf also opened until 11PM. There was an additional cost of 30 resort credits per person so the 20% service fee is $6 USD/person. Oro Night Club was open from Wednesday – Saturday and free admission for females and $20 for males. However, you need to pay for drinks. Suggestion - Remove the fee for Miniature golf. INTERNET Free WiFi was available and coverage was actually quite good throughout the resort except for the beach. It was simple to use the WiFi – just turn on your WiFi and search & select Hard Rock. No need to sign in with your room # nor complete any website entries. There is free use of computers and a printer in the lobby. STAFF Just as any establishment, there will be some staff that stand out more. Besides the waitress at our bali beds at the Asia area and the masseuse Marisol who provided poor customer service, overall the staff did a great job. In particular, excellent customer service were demonstrated by * Andredis Jimenez @ Ipenema * Deiby, Henry & Osiria @ Pizzeta * Miguel Angel Avila, Rafael, Johan & Lenin @ Ciao * Stephanie @ Toro Obliviously management knows that it is their employees who provide outstanding customer service that results in return guests and these guests in turn recommend and refer their family and friends to your resort. This is much more powerful than marketing and advertising. Management, please treat your employees well and in turn they will treat your customers well. We always tip and tipped generously. Remember to bring a lot small bills for tip. We are grateful for all the hard work and commitment to excellence from the staff mentioned above. Thank you very much for making a positive difference in our vacation! :)

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Good but can’t say great

    Reviewed by Celeste B(Brooklyn, New York) on May 21, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			3
			out of 5

    A large group of friends and I stayed at this hotel for a wedding. We booked almost a year in advance through Liberty Travel. Normally I don’t stay in hotels this expensive but I did so because of the special occasion. But unfortunately I can’t say anyone in our group was 100% happy. The hotel itself was beautiful but looks aren’t everything. Check in / out - First and foremost, my check in process was a breeze...or so I thought at first. Being that I was a part of the wedding party I booked a room with another bridesmaid. We requested 2 beds in a Islander junior suite which was a step up in price and size from their basic room the Caribbean Suite according to their website. The islander junior suite is classified as a 815 square foot room while the Caribbean suite has only 715 square feet. However, after checking in and being directed to walk to my assigned room (bldg 8C) in warm NYC clothing I was pissed to find that the room type we confirmed was not what we were assigned. So I immediately called reception and instead of volunteering a room change it was suggested to me that if we didn’t want to share the one bed in the room one of us could use the pull out couch! To say the least I was further pissed off that after paying $458.00 a night one of their representatives would have the audacity to tell me that “U could sleep on a pullout”. I told the representative on the phone that this was unacceptable. Instead of addressing the issue I was transferred back and forth to several people who simply suggested the same option. So I marched right back to the reception area and spoke with someone in person. Of course the pullout sofa was suggested again but I quickly corrected the gentleman and informed him that was unacceptable at the price we paid and booking a year in advance we should have been informed that our room request couldn’t be honored. I even showed him my room confirmation which he took a copy of. Eventually he moved us to a Carribean Sand suite (bldg 8A) which had our requested 2 beds but was smaller in size compared to the 815 sq ft that we originally booked. So no I still was not completely happy with customer service. Later I learned that among our wedding party of about 30 people there were many room assignment issues. There were married couples who travelled together on the trip and requested the one king bed option but were assigned to 2 double bed rooms instead. Eventually the wedding attendees began switching rooms amongst ourselves. Checking out was worst than my experience checking in. Evidently there is a process for checking out but this was not disclosed to me when checking in or at any point during my stay. So on my check out day I proceeded to reception from my room with my luggage. I encounter a doorman when entering the lobby that stops me to tell me that my luggage was supposed to be pick up but “its too late”. I have a flight to catch so I ignore him and proceed on being that this resort and their staff dropped the ball so many times during my stay. When I get to reception I expect to pay my $40.00 spa bill and depart. But instead I am told that they do not identify who charges what to there room so I was told that I had to pay my balance plus my roommates balance which was much more than mine. Even worse the reception suggest that I “find” my roommate who could be anywhere on that huge resort and bring her to reception to confirm that she’d pay her own bill?? That made no sense to me being that we checked in separately so we should be able to check out separately as well. I have traveled quite a bit and have shared rooms with friends before but never encountered this as an issue. To say the least I left the resort pissed off with Hard Rock yet again because I had to pay the complete bill so that I could leave on time and catch my flight. I thank god that I traveled with enough to cover the excess because I would’ve missed my transportation to the airport as well as my flight. But I hated the fact that dealing with this unpredicted issue caused a group of strangers who were part of my group transportation to be held up from departing the resort as scheduled. The rooms - they were beautiful but some were in need of little repairs. For example, my second assigned room had a broken lock on the entrance door. We called and requested the repair but it was obvious that they don’t check room repair needs regularly. Hotel transportation - The hotel itself easily has got to be the largest resort in Punta Cana. After marching back and forth to complain to reception I eventually learned through the much helpful baggage room staff that there are shuttles that can take you from place to place on the resort. After visiting the reception desk several times you would think that they would have given this information upon check in BUT no the shuttle was never mentioned to me. To be exact I was told to walk to my room when I check in. Unfortunately the shuttles are not that dependable because they move very slow so sometimes you can walk faster to your destination rather then waiting for them. But for some with health issues they are necessary because the resort is so large that walking from my assigned room in building 8A to the lobby can be difficult for some. They also rent golf carts so that you can opt to have your own personal transportation. Food - the hotel boasts that it has 9 restaurants in total. Unfortunately, In my opinion the food should have been better. Most people in our group had an issue with some of the food. In my opinion the breakfast definitely needs improvement. On my first morning I went to the buffet at their Italian restaurant and wasn’t impressed. The omelet stations were producing some of the worst omelets that I have ever seen. At the omelet station I witnessed the cook place his completed creations on various customers plates but what I saw made me gag. Everyone’s omelet that he produced was blackened and scorched! I told him when to take my omelet out but he pretended to not understand then some repeated my request in Spanish to him he then asked why I didn’t want it well done. By the time I got him to take my egg out it was almost burned and didn’t resemble any omelet I’ve ever had. Instead it looked more like a hard cake like quiche. The waffle station didn’t cook the waffles enough because some where doughy in the middle. I have definitely experienced better breakfast buffets at 3 star hotels I must say. During my stay I also dined at Pizzeto, Isla, Ipanema, and Zen. My favorite restaurant was Zen which was a hibachi restaurant. But my only issue was that this restaurant didn’t offer options. The chef cooked a set menu so the vegetarians in our group had limited options. The dinner food options on this resort were much better than what’s offered for breakfast. Amenities - the rock spa was huge and tranquil. I visited the spa for a 50 minute massage which was decent. The resort also boasts 13 pools but they are not all available to everybody. Some pools were VIP and off limits to general customers but the general pools were great, as well as the staff. Rosa at the pools was very hospitable and tended to us most times our group was at the pool. She was great! Beware of the rewards program! When you try to redeem those points you will be charged a 20% tax on inflated price. Every person on the resort that I encountered was annoyed with this so called reward points system. I barely used my points because the 20% fee is pretty much the regular price that you’d pay for at home. Overall, this was the first vacation that I had that I won’t miss the luxury of living on resort. I have to say that this resort was more aggravating than relaxing for my group!

    Perfect Beach Wedding Experience

    Reviewed by brynnyt() on May 21, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			5
			out of 5

    My husband and I got married at this resort, surrounded by almost 50 family and friends, and we could not be more pleased with the experience all around. Our wedding planner, Inosca, made our dreams a reality and at no point tried to upsell or force us to spend more money than we budgeted. She, along with the beauty of the location, was one of the reasons our wedding was everything we ever dreamed of. Would definitely recommend getting married through this hotel. The food at the resort is really fantastic as well, but our experience was really made by the staff - they are all so friendly, helpful, customer-oriented. Every single one of our guests was raving about how much fun they were having the entire trip! My husband went to the cafe and got a gyro just about every day of our trip (twice on one day). But I really only have positive things to say about every restaurant on site. The ONLY negative comment I'd make is that the pools never seemed to have enough chairs, though there was plenty of room for more chairs. I feel like this is a pretty easy fix. Would highly recommend visiting this hotel - indulge in the amazing spa, it's worth it. Thank you SO SO much for making our wedding so wonderful!!!

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    HR Rocked My World

    Reviewed by Maria L(Boston, Massachusetts) on May 21, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			5
			out of 5

    My fiancé and family came here to scout hotels for our destination wedding. Our stay with HR was simply magical. From the first step into the lobby, all the way to the beach, HR has the WOW factor. Rooms: let’s start with the bed, because after a long day of drinking, eating and excitement, you’re going to want a good nights sleep so you can do it all over again the next day. The bed here is beyond comfortable. I’ve been to many high end resorts and I think this one tops them all. The pillows are little clouds of heaven, they’re super soft and come in a variety of densities. The rooms are pretty modern and up to date, absolutely no issues with any of the furniture or something not working. Bonus: there’s a liquor dispenser. Food: I couldn’t stop talking about the food and how incredible it was. I kept saying to the staff “how do you keep the quality so high with so many people at your resort!” I mean it was simply delicious and always always fresh. They have an incredible assortment of tropical fruit and the dessert bars are to die for. I would highly recommend making a reservation for Zen and trying habachi. The chefs are hilarious and very talented. The steakhouse Toro was pretty decent, not the best steak but still tasty. I recommend the filet over any other cut of meat. It was the higher quality. Pools: I still cant believe how many pools this place has. Each one with their own vibe and music. All filled with fun and awesome bars with great staff. The pools are always clean and well maintained. Entertainment: this place is an expert in igniting your senses! The place itself is a museum filled with outfits and signed memorabilia from the most famous artists all over the world. It also has a giant casino (not an overstatement) and a lounge AND night club which is huge, has great dancers and top 40 music. Note that the drinks at the club are pretty pricey and not included in the all inclusive package. There are dozens and dozens of shops as well as a theater, escapology game, and VR games, a spa and arcade games. Staff: last but not least I’d like to thank the staff for being so accommodating and demonstrating true hospitality. Every single person we encountered was extremely nice and helpful. EVERY. SINGLE. PERSON. I would highly highly recommend this hotel over others if you’re looking for a lively vibe and great food and incredible time.

    One of the best places ever !!

    Reviewed by 879pennye(Danbury, Connecticut) on May 21, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			5
			out of 5

    This resort has everything you could want and more. The staff is unbelievably wonderful. The food and service are incredible. You won't want to be anywhere else again. The beach is beautiful and the water is warm and such an incredible color.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

    This is the name that will be attached to your review.

    Our submission policy:

    XXXX