whala!bavaro

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    J

    We truly enjoyed our trip and stay at the Whala Bavaro and the WestJet staff are the best

    Reviewed by Jack on Nov 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    The vacation package was great. The locals were very warm and friendly, Staff looked after us with great respect couldn't ask for any thing more, Check in was quick and easy. We only had one bad experiance " Do Not Order The Lobster Special Dinner It is unacceptable and uneatable

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    N

    Wonderful Week at the Whala

    Reviewed by NSJanet on May 06, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Friends

    Stayed at Whala the first week of April to celebrate my birthday; we had no issues with the hotel. We stayed in the suite section at the back, no issues with the room. Bar service is hit and miss, coffee is terrible not Dominican coffee but drinkable. Food is basic but good, hotel is only 147 rooms so there is not a big selection but you will not go hungry. Beach is a short stroll down the street. If you are used to 5* treatment and 5* resorts this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a basic hotel with good food, no loud entertainment to annoy you and want a quiet place to relax and meet new friends around the pool this is the location for you. We would return and would recommend the Whala without hesitation.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    W

    We love the Dominican People but the resort needs some better organisation

    Reviewed by Wolfgang : Halifax N.S. on Apr 18, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    My Wife and I went for 10 days to the Whala Bavaro Resort The customer service Roberto and Jose were very helpful and very efficient ! Our Maid Carmen a very pleasant hard working women and helpful to . In the buffet and in the bar a very happy and helpful waiter is Julius,always on his toes to please the guests. The bad : The coffee was the worst we ever had in any resort in the Dominican Republic and we were 18 times visiting other resorts. Overall it is a small quiet place and the price was not bad. But we would not recommend it to any of my friends. And we would not return to this resort

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    5

    Website misrepresents Hotel - Did not believe bad reviews. Check out travellers pics instead of stars - my new lesson learned.

    Reviewed by 50 in the DR on Mar 02, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    Worst hotel I have been to in 20 years. My passion is the DR!! Travelled with a family of 6 adults. HAD to change rooms for unsafe or unsanitary reasons 3 times and only on the 4th day after they insisted they had no rooms or wanted funds for an upgrade. Drippings from the ceiling-still don't know if condensation, air conditioner or toilet water. Had no phones in the rooms, so could not contact front desk or people we were travelling with. No entertainment at all-could be my mistake, thought I read there was. I have never met a Dominican that could not look me in the eye...I did this trip. Instead of admitting to the issues and trying to find a work around, they ignored you told you to come back hours later, days, later, then changed shifts...it was a game to them to survive all the complaining. I finally asked for our WestJet rep, who admitted issues with hotel and tried very hard to accommodate...but still 4 days later. We were only there for 7 . False advertising on the website: This hotel charges for their better rums - found out the hard way. 6 shots Anjero Rum 22 USD. Go offsite to BAM and purchase a large bottle for $16USD Bar is only open 10 AM to 11 PM = this is not an all inclusive-nor does their site give the hours. You pay for what you want after 11 pm - which is there disco on the beach. They give towels out only Monday-Wednesday and Friday's. Very low on loungers everywhere. The coffee really is a coffee machine, and there is no real juice's or tomatoe for Red Eye's-SAD. Saw a rat near the buffet tables and pool, yep no lie. Heard of 1 inch thick bodice spiders in other rooms by two different people...but I personally did not see them. Do have salt water showers!! First time for me. Did not have hot water twice - but not an issue for me. Did not have water once - said the pump broke - can happen. Upon leaving they had sewage issues - explained the week Positives: Food is tasty, you won't starve. Only 1 fish one meat selection daily.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 244 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    10 fantastic days.

    Reviewed by HankRo77(Yonkers, New York) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Took my wife here for our annual break. Impressed overall and enjoyed it. Room was clean, good bed and shower worked well. Location by the beach was a winner. Did use a couple of the swimming pools but went to the beach more often than not. Amazing weather and great overall atmosphere at the hotel and the area. All staff were friendly and welcoming from the day we arrived till we left. All inclusive food and drinks were high quality too and we definitely didn’t go hungry. Great hotel for couples.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Clean, friendly and affordable!

    Reviewed by Chanda C(North Carolina Mountains, North Carolina) on Aug 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Clean, friendly and affordable! The staff (especially Pedro) was welcoming and would get whatever needed to make the stay more comfortable. The snack bar, restaurant and buffet were all very good as were the cocktails, we loved the cafe! The pools were very clean and the seaweed was cleaned up off the beach daily. Please note, depending on when you go to Bavaro, there may be seaweed in the water. The really warm and rainy months, it is present all over the island. We had massages by Linda, she is excellent! We would definitely go back.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Vacaciones

    Reviewed by R1622() on Aug 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We was there for 5th time and for the first time since the renovation. And they're incredibly, very good services and very good rooms also the housekeeping was very nice and very friendly. And Miguel give us a special and personalized service that was Awesome.. The food could be better but is not bad. The quality of service is very good for the price.. I really recommend a economic and effective place....

    Fun trip

    Reviewed by Cindy R(Woodville, Canada) on Aug 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We had to change rooms 3 times. First time the TV didn't work, 2nd time the shower head was broken - 3rd time was a charm. This place is very clean. The staff do a wonderful job. Our room was spotless. The bar servers, ala cart and snack back servers were very good. The staff in the buffet however didn't seem to want to make tips. The never asked if you wanted a beverage - you had to get them yourself. We tipped anyway but they would have received a better tip if they had asked if you wanted something. The staff at the lobby were also excellent. The beds were comfortable. We ate off the resort many times. If you go down the to beach and turn left there is a restaurant called TOC which was very good.

    Beautiful Place

    Reviewed by Anniedttmix() on Aug 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Stayed with my husband at Whala Bavaro all inclusive. We had two weeks of pure joy, in the most beautiful place I've ever been to. Palm trees, white sand and huge cocktails, I was so spoilt. The room was nice, sea view and meals at good times, the food was actually really good, my husband is vegan and had no problems either. Will think of traveling further again, as this holiday was so much more. Would come back to Whala and Dominican Republic.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX