Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya by Karisma

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

Average ratings from our guests:

Cleanliness

Rated5.0 out of 5

Value

Rated5.0 out of 5

Service

Rated5.0 out of 5

Hotel Amenities

Rated5.0 out of 5

Food / Restaurants

Rated5.0 out of 5

Beach

Rated4.0 out of 5

Pool

Rated5.0 out of 5

S

Best ever and loved it.

Reviewed by Senior Gary and Mama on Jan 28, 2017

Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

Would recommend

Travel date: November 2016

Trip Type: Couple

BEST EVER, Food awesome, service you could not ask for better, personal service, warm, friendly and safe. We started going 1 time a year now going 2 times a year and do not want to go anywhere else. We highly recommend this resort

This traveller's ratings:

Cleanliness

Rated5 out of 5

Value

Rated5 out of 5

Service

Rated5 out of 5

Hotel Amenities

Rated5 out of 5

Food / Restaurants

Rated5 out of 5

Beach

Rated4 out of 5

Pool

Rated5 out of 5

What to expect (based on 3596 reviews):

Cleanliness

Cleanliness-4.5

Location

Location-4.5

Rooms

Rooms-4.5

Service

Service-4.5

Value

Value-4.5

5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

Great resort but a few irritating flaws

Reviewed by KGworldtraveller(Toronto, Canada) on Jan 15, 2018

		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			4
			out of 5

Just got back and had an awesome time with the family. Good beach for little ones especially when the ocean is calm and there isn't seaweed. All of the great things previous reviewers have mentioned are accurate, incredible staff, really good food, great bars etc. We really enjoyed the "no wristband" requirement and also liked the way beach towels were handled. No towel card required and plenty of towels were always available. We also loved the size of the resort...compact but didn't seem small. Unfortunately the minor flaws we experienced will stop us from returning in the future: 1/ Sewage smell. We were in villas 10 and 11 and the sewage smell at the rear of the resort was quite disgusting at times 2/ Noise through the doors between adjoining rooms. It was quite loud at times and noise from the other room woke us up on more than a few occasions. The solid wall on the other side was virtually soundproof but the adjoining room door might as well have not been there. 3/ Maid service. The maids did a great job when they finally showed up. Our room was cleaned most days between 4 and 5:30, just as we were trying to get ready for dinner. Calls to the front desk didn't help as we were told their policy is to clean between 9am and 6pm and they wouldn't offer to change our time. I've never encountered this on a vacation in the past and found it to be quite an inconvenience. Seems the maids were also responsible for replenishing the bar fridge and this was hit or miss as well. 4/ Beach loungers. Not sure what it takes to purchase an extra 50 or so loungers but that would solve the problem of a lack of chairs on the beach and around the pools. Unfortunately we had to play the 7 am reserve the chair game which left a number of families that didn't get up early enough without chairs....sigh, so easy to solve and it shouldn't even need to be mentioned given that this is supposed to be a 5 star resort. All in all a great holiday and if management can solve the above minor issues then the resort will deserve the 5 star rating they advertise.

Individual ratings:

Location

Location-5

Rooms

Rooms-4

Service

Service-5

Great hotel but with flaws

Reviewed by Val-Louise(Copenhagen, Denmark) on Jan 14, 2018

		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			4
			out of 5

We spent 5 nights with our family - a group of 14 - celebrating New Years Eve and my husbands 50th birthday. We have 2 girls of 3 and 5 and looked forward to a quiet stay at this family friendly hotel. Our room was unfortunately located just next to the bar, and the first night VERY loud music started at 9 PM. So loud that we could hear it even with earplugs, our girls were scared and wanted the noise to stop. I went to reception asking how long it would last for and I was told 1 hour - it only stopped at 10.30PM. They also told me it was only that night we would have to listen to it. Unfortunately, it started again next evening and lasted 1 1/2 hour again. After that I requested them to move us to another room as our holiday was being ruined by our girls not being able to sleep well. I even tried to make them take a nap at noon - but that's where the water gymnastic starts - again with VERY loud music just in front of our room. The staff at reception was in no way helpful - the only solution they could give us was to offer us a suite if we were willing to pay an extra 50 USD per night - which I refused, but after I told them I would make sure to review the hotel on tripadvisor, they suddenly found us another room. Rather sad, I had to fight for so long for us to be able to enjoy a quiet stay as expected. None in our group staying in rooms near the bar (aged 3, 5, 21, 23, 30, 42, 50 and 76) appreciated the loud music at night time. The rest of the group had lovely quiet rooms. The Concierge Iñaque was very helpful and serviceminded - he helped me getting a birthday cake for my husband. The staff in the Main Azul restaurant is also very helpful and serviceminded. The food is fantastic and the drinks are to die for. They also have a Kids Club which our girls loved. The loud music issue just ruined the overall experience for us.

Individual ratings:

Rooms

Rooms-5

Service

Service-4

Value

Value-4

Great First Visit to Azul Beach

Reviewed by chocolatemonkey001(Oakville, Canada) on Jan 14, 2018

		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			5
			out of 5

My husband and I with, our 2 year old twin boys traveled to Azul Beach from January 1-7. This was our first family holiday, and found ourselves excited and anxious as to what to expect for our first time. Luckily, we survived and are happy to thank the wonderful staff at Azul Beach for making this possible. Upon arrival, we were greeted in the main lobby with refreshing towels and a welcome drink. We were then introduced to our butler, Berni. Before I go any further, Berni was beyond wonderful. He always went out of his way to make sure that our holiday was going to be memorable. He was extremely friendly and cared for our family. As we entered our room, we noticed 2 cribs were waiting for us along with the toddler amenities that we had requested. What a great welcome Azul Beach. Restaurant accommodations were provided to us upon arrival with 2 days in which we were allocated a cabana on the beach. We stayed in a swim-up room in building 7. Great location, only suggestion is that we felt the lighting was very dim and the room could have had some repair work done to it (e.g. toilet had a slow leak in the tank, vinyl pillars where peeling and ripped). The dim lighting is something we have noticed in other resorts, but still felt it necessary to mention it here. The staff at the resort were outstanding. Our boys were having a difficult time adjusting with food, thus making it a difficult time for all of us. I must point out that this resort does not have lunch and dinner buffets (food display). When deciding to come to Azul Beach we thought that it would be manageable but found it difficult once we arrived not being able to select food items from a buffet. Once the kitchen and restaurant staff was aware of our challenges, they were so accommodating that they would ask us at breakfast what to prepare for our children for lunch and dinner and then would ask us for what time they should have the meals ready for at the Blu restaurant. Truly amazing service! They really went beyond anything we could have ever imagined at a resort. A big thank you to Chef Julio, Freddy, and Daniella along with the amazing and attentive wait staff in the Blu restaurant. So many to mention, but I’ll try my best: Noel, Antonio, Carlos, Isaac, Irwin, Felipe, the restaurant manager Avelino, and the rest of the gang. A BIG THANK YOU to you all from all of us. We spent a fair amount of our time in the Azulitos (play centre) with our boys. The ladies in the centre were so friendly and great. As our boys were under 4, they needed parental supervision. Andy, Azy, and the rest of the ladies (I’m so sorry I forgot the other names) were pleasant and truly knew how to make children be children. Thank you. The grounds at Azul Beach are beautifully attended to. In the 6 days we were at the Azul Beach, the detail and care that was taken to the grounds was never seen before and we have travelled to many resorts in Mexico and the Caribbean. Excellent job! A special thank you to Frank who always kept the walkways and stairways clean and always greeted us every day. Our room was cleaned daily by Leonardo. Thank you for doing such a great job, as our room was always spotless after his visits. The Azul Beach is an absolutely beautiful boutique resort which we will definitely return to when our boys are a few years older. The staff, food, service, and grounds make this resort a must go to! I hope this review helps with your future travels.

Individual ratings:

Cleanliness

Cleanliness-5

Service

Service-5

Value

Value-5

Prestige Member Holiday Trip

Reviewed by John C(Dix Hills, New York) on Jan 13, 2018

		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			5
			out of 5

We had another amazing trip to Azul Beach... We have been here 5 or 6 times and can’t say enough about the wonderful staff and the great food at Chil.... Jose Luis the bartender at Bubbles Pool Bar was amazing... took great care of us...

Second time visiting Azul Resorts

Reviewed by Lauren D(Indianapolis, Indiana) on Jan 13, 2018

		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			4
			out of 5

My husband, daughter and I visited Azul Beach in the winter of 2015 and said that the only thing missing was going with another family. So, this year we did just that. There were seven of us in total (4 adults and 3 kids - 4yrs, 3yrs, 1yr) and we all had a great time. All the staff were so welcoming and kind often times going out of their way to make sure that our stay was going well. Here are just a few examples: We were originally assigned separate rooms in different cabanas, but after talking with the front desk and our concierge Rodrigo, we explained our situation and we were given adjoining rooms which made nap times and bedtimes much easier. The bartenders, especially Mateo and Armando, were always accommodating and friendly. When they saw us on our patio they quickly learned that meant the kids were napping or in bed for the night, so they would regularly check on us and bring us food/drinks to our patio since we were unable to leave the kids. Adrian who works at the cabanas was always exceptional at servicing us, and taking special care with our children. We reserved the cabanas closest to the playground and few days, and then were able to utilize the gazebo- first come first serve- a couple days as well. I admit I did not partake in the tequila bar as I typically relaxed on the patio once the kids were in bed, but my husband did and loved it. Wilbur, the bartender, even remembered my husbands name from our visit 2 years ago!! Last time we came, our daughter was only 1 and the weather was much more rainy, so I spent a lot of time with her at the kids club. This year we had beautiful weather, so we hardly even used the kids club. We did utilize a sitter 2 nights for the older kids though, and they had fun. My daughter even said to me after the second night, "Mommy, thank you for my teacher." (I apologize as I did not get their names. Shame on me.) The kids LOVED the beach of course, and having cabana/gazebo access right next to the playground was ideal. The kids also loved the kids pool, which also gave us some ease as they could stand in it. While my daughter didn't want to get up close to the characters, she did love seeing them around the resort. The food is amazing for little kids and adults alike. (The ceviche at Blu is my favorite item by far.) They have a wide range of food and were always very accommodating to bringing kids foods quickly. The only reason I am giving this property a 4 instead of a 5 has nothing to do with the staff, but more to do with just policies that have changed since the last time: You now have to pay for cabanas after 2 days - 2 years ago they were free. Daycare/Sitters were more expensive than 2 years ago and policies were more strict in regards to when you could hire a sitter. Towards the end of our stay, it seemed to become a lot more crowded and tables at dinner time were reserved for members only, which caused a long wait time for everyone else while the tables sat empty.

Individual ratings:

Rooms

Rooms-4

Service

Service-5

Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
Please give us your feedback.

Required fields

Write a hotel review

Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

How was this hotel for:

Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

We will not post reviews that include:

  • Mentions of specific travel companies
  • Profanity and inflammatory comments
  • HTML or URLs
  • Pricing information

Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

Add photos/videos:
*You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

XXXX

This is the name that will be attached to your review.

Our submission policy:

XXXX