Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya by Karisma

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya by Karisma
    6. Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya by Karisma review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    N

    Of all the resorts and vacations in my lifetime (100+), this resort was the best!

    Reviewed by Nancy Polleis on Feb 11, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    The whole vacation was flawless from start to finish. I have to say that whoever manages this resort is someone pretty special because everything was as promised PLUS - right down to the finer details. The two of us felt completely at home because the staff was so friendly, humorous, accomodating, fun, energetic and playful. The activities were non stop and very well organized. The front desk management was extremely professional (especially Oscar!). The beach, bar and restaurant staff were SO much fun treating us like family all the time (especially Raul, Avolino, Enrica, Noel, Eduardo, Manuel, & all staff at Blue & Grill). The beach activities were lots of fun and well organized. The long walks on the beach were amazing. Snorkelling was wonderful. Spa was great. Food outstanding. Cleanliness abosolutely perfect. I can't think of a negative thing to say (and normally I'm pretty judgemental). So, my friend and I plan to come here 2-3 times a year now. There's no reason to search elsewhere. Everything we needed was right here. Thanks Azul for a great sunny happy vacation!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Best ever and loved it.

    Reviewed by Senior Gary and Mama on Jan 28, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    BEST EVER, Food awesome, service you could not ask for better, personal service, warm, friendly and safe. We started going 1 time a year now going 2 times a year and do not want to go anywhere else. We highly recommend this resort

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4144 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Azul Beach Awesome

    Reviewed by Sherpa400856() on Sep 17, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    As Grandparents, we couldn’t have picked a better place to bring our adult children and grandchildren, ranging in age from 40 to 8 months. Great food! Great staff! Great location! Great facilities! I highly recommend this resort. Even with a few rain showers during our stay, we were always entertained and taken care of.

    7 nights with wife and 7 month old twins

    Reviewed by Ryan D() on Sep 17, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Overall is was a great trip and a very enjoyable experience. Some of the positives included the swim up suite. This was great for my wife and I to take advantage of while the babies were napping, as well as bringing them in the pool without having to pack up all their stuff. The food at the restaurants was very good. We particularly enjoyed the Asian and Italian restaurants. The wait staff was extremely friendly and helpful. On several occasions a waiter or hostess would push our babies in the stroller while we were eating to help they stay quiet. Vincente, Nayeli, and Melissa were particularly great doing this on a couple of occasions. It's a small resort so that makes it very easy to navigate with small children. The only negatives to speak of were my wife ordered some champagne, cake, and decorations to be set up in the room for my birthday and we were told to be out of the room when they were coming to set up. They never showed up until later and my wife was disappointed that the surprise wasn't ready when we got back to the room. Also, at times certain items we requested when we got room service were forgotten.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Azul Beach Resort Riviera Maya

    Reviewed by sueheathcote() on Sep 17, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Absolutely fantastic hotel, gorgeous food in all restaurants, all the staff were friendly, rooms were beautiful, main pool bar was great location with the bar and beach, Cannot fault it one bit we loved it

    Finally a family resort we'd come back to

    Reviewed by Ryan S(Los Angeles, California, United States) on Sep 16, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our 5th time to Riviera Maya and 3rd time at a family all inclusive resort and third time at a Karisma property (two times were adults only). Every resort we've visited has had positives and negatives and we've always wished we could combine the best of each one and we finally found it. The resort is on the small side, which we love. It's not like a cruise ship. We stayed at one property that required dinner reservations months before arrival, we've stayed places with mediocre food, and we've been to family friendly resorts attached to adults only resorts and you feel like a second class citizen with restrictions on dining hours and options. Azul had plenty of dining options and even outdoor dining, which is a must. Some resorts only have indoor dining and you feel like your in an air-conditioned conference room. We met several other family and our kids (ages 2 and 4) had an amazing time playing, everyone from the staff to the other guests were so nice. The swim up room is a must, the pools are great but when can jump out your door and swim up to the bar 20 feet away it's a great feeling. Yes there is seaweed. Some days were worse than others. Deal with it. The resort is constantly cleaning it up (although they might be wise to invest in a rake to tow behind a tractor like we have in LA instead of their Bobcat, which doesn't do much). Take a stroll a half a mile down the beach and look at the other resorts that don't clean up the seaweed and you'll see how bad it can get. The dining is great. Is it Michelin star? No. But then again you can easily spend on a single meal what a week at Azul costs per person. Is it at the top of all inclusive that we've stayed at? Yes. The ocean is great, and it's all part of the National Park so you can hop on a boat from the hotel and be at a world class snorkeling spot in about 5 minutes. Overall it was hands down the best family resort we've stayed at and we're so happy to have found one we'd return to. We booked our trip through Trip Guy and they handled all the room logistics as well as flights and airport transfers, it couldn't have been smoother.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    An awesome getaway (even with kids)

    Reviewed by usasig(New York City, New York) on Sep 16, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We decided to take advantage of 4 day getaway out of states and enjoy a long weekend with family. Our travel agency recommended this place to be one of the best places with kids and very close to airport. We don’t love all inclusive however when there are kids involved we said “why not?” Hotel is very close to airport about 20 mins away and an easy ride. Resort is not so huge but offers everything you can think of from a resort. Many pools, 4 different cuisines, delicious food, staff is super friendly, and accommodating. Antonio at the blue restaurant knew what I like for breakfast next morning. Eating lunch with iguanas was priceless , our kids loved the whole experience.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX