Barceló Maya Beach Resort

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    K

    The beach in front of the tropical we found the beach the best, as well the pool area was good ,service around the pool was just ok.

    Reviewed by KD from Calgary on Jan 31, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    would go back,service in the Italian restaurant in the mall was the best and would rate a 5 ,The Japanese was good.Alfredo Bacob was great in the main restaurant for breakfast and lunch

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    M

    We love Barcelo! Been in each section and love them all! Best beach on the Riviera!

    Reviewed by Matt on Aug 31, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    The location is fantastic. The resort is almost perfect, huge, with lots for everyone to do. The buffets are decent and restaurants are wonderful. There are newly renovated sections. The beach is amazing... lots of palm trees for shade, so big that you can have a section all to yourself. A nice pier in the middle for swimming or boat tours. This is our favourite Caribbean location. Having said all that, I have to admit, the front desk services are about as bad as it gets, lol. The cleaning staff, waiters, bartenders, maintenance people and activity coordinators are all great, never an issue and always smiling and helpful.... but the front desk, for whatever reason, and for just about any service, is painfully slow and usually disorganized. It would never stop us from going there, but you asked for an honest review!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    B

    Something for Everyone

    Reviewed by Beckie on Jul 03, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    So many things to do at this resort!! The Hydrotherapy was my favourite for sure!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    s

    The resort is very large. There is so much to do, that you would never be bored or your could just relax. The beach is amazing!

    Reviewed by sr on Jun 30, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Great Resort, with so much to offer for everyone!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    Loved Hydratherapy water was the best

    Reviewed by A C on Jun 29, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    I had issues trying to get a bathmat, hand towels and beach towels to our room in Tuluum room 11111. They did not replace them after cleaning. Our sink leaked too, but when we called down to have someone come and fix it, someone arrived right away. Same with my calling Housekeeping to have those extra towels added on our first night. I didnt bother trying to call down every day as they were never replaced just taken. We did get bath towels. Just no beach towels, hand towels, nor face cloths

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    THERE IS SO MUCH TO DO AND THE RESORT IS DEFINITELY GRAND! HYDROTHERAPY IS WHAT I WOULD COME BACK FOR!

    Reviewed by K E on Jun 26, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    THE RENOVATED GYM AT THE BARCELO MAYA PALACE WAS STUNNING, I WOULD GO BACK JUST FOR THEIR HYDROTHERAPY, IT WAS REALLY NICE. I ALSO REALLY LIKED THAT THEY HAD A DISCOTHEQUE ON SITE WITH REALLY GOOD MUSIC AND IT WAS ALWAYS BUSY, AND BAR SERVICE WAS QUICK. THE PREMIERE LOUNGE IS SUPPOSEDLY PRIORITY CHECK IN BUT THEY WERE BUSY DOING ESCALATIONS AND RESTAURANT RESERVATIONS SO WE ENDED UP WAITING FOR AN HOUR AND HALF TO GET CHECKED IN...THAT PUT A DAMPER TO THE START OF OUR STAY, BUT ONCE WE GOT IN EVERYTHING WAS GOOD. OUR ROOMS WERE BIG AND SPACIOUS AND HOT TUB WAS AMAZING.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    D

    will recomend to families

    Reviewed by Delia on Jun 23, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    I like the location and amenities in this hotel and now with the new mall is a plus

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    All in all it was a fabulous experience. I loved the free hydromassage pool that came with our premium room!

    Reviewed by Shannon on Jun 23, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    The resort is vast and has many ammenities to offer. There was some issues during check in and our room that was a little frustrating, but considering the room was newly renovated I can give them a pass on those

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Something for everyone.

    Reviewed by Sue W on Jun 23, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    So much to do for everyone. Bowling, shopping, night life, swimming etc. The check in process could use some help but overall a great location and stay.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    c

    Something for everyone!

    Reviewed by christinek on Jun 23, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    This hotel has so much to do, from a bowling alley to shopping mall to fitness centre (nicest one i have ever seen) spa, spa for kids, the list can go on. Loved the resort, rooms are welcoming, lots of resturants to chose from. Something for everyone. If you are looking for a large resort you wont be dissapointed!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 10021 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Excellent Vacation with Friends

    Reviewed by Roving321207() on Sep 17, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We have had an excellent time at the resort. We recommend visiting as many of the restaurants as possible. However, our favorite experience for great food and excellent service has been at Mexico Lindo with our waiter Doroteo Hernandez. He is an excellent waiter and his recommendations were delicious!

    Great Place, Coming back regularly.

    Reviewed by Sofia F(Cleveland, Ohio) on Sep 16, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We just came back from another great trip to Barceló Maya Beach. We particularly love the Maya Beach among all the Barceló hotels and coming back regularly, several times a year. It was our sixth visit. Every visit we had great time. Combination of ~2 Km white sandy beach, and snorkeling with coral fish make this place real special. This time weather was not cooperating (rain and seaweeds) nevertheless we really enjoyed the visit. We would like to extend our special thanks to Mrs. Lorena Guerrero Rodriguez –Front Desk manager and her staff who warmly welcomed us with open arms and made us feel special and appreciated as repeat hotel’s guests. All our questions were answered promptly and addressed efficiently. Great customer service of chief concierge-Denys Khronenko, deserves a special acknowledgement. He made our trip really special. His help with booking restaurants and attending to all our needs made us feel welcomed and appreciated. Denys appeared as a very efficient and well organized manager keeping track of all the bookings and opportunities. His service and attention to detail is impeccable. Despite the bad weather overall experience from this trip was sunny due to excellent work of Mrs.Lorena Guerrero Rodriguez and Mr. Denys Khronenko. If possible we would like their efforts to be recognized by their superiors. We are sure that we will be back soon.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Wayne Hartnup

    Reviewed by whartnup(Greater London, United Kingdom) on Sep 15, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    What can I say about this hotel, was outstanding, there was 11 of us on our family holiday, hotel and staff was excellent a special mention to Jose in the quiet bar and Teresa around the pool who go over and above in the service department, hotel is very clean and the food was excellent,unfortunately we have a wedding in Cuba next year but we will return annually after that,my family and I could not find one thing to criticise, well done to all staff in the hotel and keep up the good work .

    Beautiful ??

    Reviewed by tyaya(England, United Kingdom) on Sep 15, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stayed as a family with teenager in the premium level junior suite ocean view for 14 nights last 2 weeks in August. Our overall experience was fantastic and we would definitely recommend and return. The hotel is absolutely stunning and everywhere you look has been beautifully landscaped and decorated. The newer end of the hotel which is the Maya Beach and The Caribe are very modern with a less fussy feel while the Colonial & Tropical are more traditional as the names would suggest but none the less lovely for it. All the lobbies are lovely and as this is your first impression...it’s a great one particularly The Maya. Our room was great and very spacious, not much of an ocean view due to the palm trees but still very lovely with a great view of the stunning and enormous pools. There’s a jacuzzi on the balcony which is a nice touch and a novelty. Just for the record if you book the junior suite you automatically get the premium level which means you get several devices on your WiFi, all the restaurants except for the Palace and the premium brand drinks. They will check your wristbands when you ask for a branded drink and explain there is an extra charge if you still want it. We saw them do this. When you book a package from the U.K. with 2 or more kids in your room you are being placed in a junior suite and may well be on a different plan to your friends who may be traveling in a group with you but have less occupants in their room. I don’t think this is explained by the tour operators as some families were confused why they could have WiFi all day,top shelf drinks, mini bar topped up etc and their friends couldn’t. We didn’t book a package so we’re aware of this already. The drinks:- In truth nothing blew me away. The sparkling wine was nice, the red was ok, the white was good. There is currently no Rose wine but my understanding is they are working on adding it to the package. The cocktails never really blew my socks off but you could ask for a bit stronger and they would happily add some. The service at the Swim up bar was excellent. They work very, very hard and always with a smile. It was still full and serving at 7pm. The pools are really the highlight of this resort. They are absolutely massive and stunning. They don’t have parasols but a kind of structure which provides shade. This is excellent and they way forward as there was no ridiculous towel placing at 5am. My husband likes shade and I like sun so we were both happy and the thousands of sunbeds and plenty of space made this aspect of the holiday very relaxing and exactly what you want. The pools were the best of all the 6 resorts we have stayed in in Mexico. They also have a couple of 20 metre pools with lanes so if you want a proper swim you aren’t in the way of anyone. I loved this. The buffet restaurants are all very clean and the service is very good. In truth the food was very samey. We’ve been to about 6 all inc resorts in Mexico and the buffet food here whilst is was all very edible, was literally identical every day. Especially at lunch. No matter what lunch buffet you go to at the pool, even Captain Morgan’s, same food, same position, every day. I actually preferred the buffet at the Colonial & Tropical as it felt more like a restaurant with a better atmosphere and more choice. The bookable restaurants are a different matter. Food is excellent, service is fantastic (does feel a tad rushed at times but it’s really ok) environment is great and we enjoyed the variety. Our favourite was both the Japanese, the show is fab and really entertaining. The Steak and Italians were also really,really good. I can’t fault the a la Carte restaurants, the usual advice applies. Book early to avoid disappointment and men need to wear long trousers. The shows in the evening were ok. Mostly consisted of Latin singing which wasn’t really our thing. I’ve seen way better shows in other resorts. We ended up giving it a miss and playing cards. The bars were all lovely and beautifully decorated. Some were air conditioned and some were open. The aircon ones have a piano player for a while. But in truth they lack atmosphere and buzz. The beaches...really,really lovely. I am a huge beach fan and this aspect of the holiday was fabulous. BRING BEACH SHOES you will need them. The beach out front of the Maya/Caribe is lovely for swimming but not much to see. The beach out front of the palace is equally beautiful and the snorkelling is spectacular. I’ve seen more fish here than I’ve seen on some dives and certainly I’ve never seen that many turtles. If you’ve got your own snorkelling gear...bring it. You can hire it by the hour from the dive centre but you have to hand over a card and the gear is very basic. There are literally hundreds and hundreds of fish under the pier. Beware if you bring food you will literally be mobbed by them. I got a nip on the hand and didn’t get in with food again.....you don’t need it! The water sports centre is excellent. The spa and gym are literally spectacular and no expense has been spared. The gym is amazing. You have to be 26 to use it. As I said at the beginning I wouldn’t hesitate to come back but the following things really could be improved.... Evening entertainment at the theatres....it needs to be more upscale and varied to compete with other resorts there also needs to be an area where you can dance at the end of a show. People like to shake a leg at this point. The bars....whilst the piano is nice....it gives a stuffy feel. The bars lack atmosphere and there doesn’t seem to be a central place to kind of gather and meet up with the folk you’ve met during the day. The resort is so big that this aspect of it is a bit of a let down. The Maya Mall feels very sterile and the little bands that play there in the evening are kind of playing to no-one and yet the bar right next to it has nothing but a bit of piped music. The evening entertainment lacks punch and cohesion. The buffet food particularly lunch time needs masses more variety and some themed days. Beach BBQ, giant paella, pizza ovens. There is much that could be done with this and it really does fall far behind what other hotels of this price/standard are doing. The hairdryer in the bathroom....the cord is way too short and it’s attached to the wall, a real pain if there is more than one female getting ready in the evening. I hate to criticise because overall it was lovely but it wasn’t cheap and it could be so much better. Shout outs to Alex Paxtian the buffet manager. Thank you so much for your time and service. Arcangel and Maria you are both a credit to Barcelo and they are lucky to have you. Saul at the breakfast buffet, your lovely smile was a welcome sight each morning. Maurizio (the Cuban one) the food and beverage manager, thanks so very much for your efforts and consideration, you made a big difference to our holiday and we are truly grateful to you. Juan the front desk manager at Maya, once again many thanks to you. Also to Luz in the premium lounge for all your help with our many questions. We will be back for sure.

    Great hotel, but do your research

    Reviewed by arnald5(Edinburgh, United Kingdom) on Sep 15, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We stayed at Barcelona Maya Beach for 11 nights, and really enjoyed our stay. I’d have liked to have given a higher rating, but the stay wasn’t perfect. Room We had a room on the 2nd floor of the Coba building, with a King bed. The room was OK, and the bed was huge and comfortable. Mini bar restocked daily, with a coffee machine - and if you’re in when the minibar is restocked we were offered extra chips which weren’t normally left. The Coba building clearly hasn’t been “recently renovated” despite what the website states. The room was a bit tired, and we had a few maintenance issues (door to minibar hanging off, toilet cistern hadn’t become worn and wouldn’t flush) but these were fixed quickly. Housekeeping Not brilliant. Would take dirty towels and not replace them, this happened various times throughout our stay. When I spoke to the front desk they just called housekeeping and asked for service, something I could have done myself. Restaurants The food selection at the buffets was great. Breakfast had a lot to choose from and several dairy free milk alternatives. Lunch was good too, although we would walk to the Capitan Morgan buffet for lunch in Caribe as it was a nicer space. Dinner changes in the buffet every night and there wasn’t a night we struggled to find plenty to choose from. Mexico Lindo in this hotel was phenomenal - really tasty Mexican food. We liked it so much we tried to change another of our reservations to eat here again. The waiters and buffet staff were brilliant throughout our stay - if you tip at breakfast, coffee arrives as you sit down the next day! Front Desk We found the front desk team to be a little uninspiring and quite unhelpful, both at check in and throughout our stay. It’s a big busy resort, which I understand means they’re busy people, but they couldn’t even point us in the direction of our room at Check in. Do plenty of research yourself before check in, and ask for towel passes at check in. WiFi/Guest Services & excursions Frustratingly, WiFi is chargeable at this property unless you book direct (MyBarcelo members). I wouldn’t stay here again based on this; $35 for 7 days for something that should be included in my opinion isn’t great. We also booked our excursions through Guest Services (ATV tour at emotions, Cozumel catamaran tour and Coco Bongos) and I would recommend going to the Expedia local expert desk between Caribe/Beach instead. We’ve since worked out the price difference and it’s eye watering what we could have saved. The communal areas and Lobby Bar in Beach are beautiful, and really well kept. The lobby bar in particular is a really nice place to chill out.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX