Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
    6. Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    W

    We made the best of it. We worked with what was offered and had a great time.

    Reviewed by Westjetter RLang on Mar 04, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    After visiting numerous 5 star and 4.5 star resorts this certainly isn't a 4.5 star as rated by Westjet. That said we made friends and did our best to enjoy our time there. The staff were awesome, no complaints there. We booked for the cove and idea of snorkling off the beach. There was so much seaweed that was impossible. There was 20 workers daily trying to collect it but it just sat in piles and stunk up the place. There was also a pond on the far side that was supposed to be "amazing" but it looked like a dirty pool of disease and garbage..ummm NO! I suppose this was just seasonal, so take your chances. I've heard it was nice in other months. There is a nice pool, though a bit small and not enough chairs, that said, if the beach didn't reek, more people would have been on the beach. Based on experience of other resorts, I wouldn't pay the same to stay here and not likely to again. it is not up to "dreams" standards.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    T

    We stayed at the Dreams Puerto Adventuras from November 20-27, 2017. We were extremely disappointed with this resort in general. We have tra

    Reviewed by Travelaround on Dec 01, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Horrible, won't be back!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    H

    Amazing Dreams comes through at DREAMS!

    Reviewed by Hector on Sep 10, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: August 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Our 8 days at DREAMS Puerto Aventuras was fabulous. Beginning at check in, where we were greeted with drinks and a cheerful staff, to our room overlooking the pool, beach and sea. Breathtaking! All staff encounters were friendly and courteous; great service. We enjoyed three nights of dining on the beach viewing performances, including the big fight between McGregor and Mayweather. What a sight, white cloth covered tables and chairs in the open air on the beach with the sea right there, astonishing; considering that there were hundreds seated. The kids Explorer club was fantastic. Chock full of activities for the kids both day and night. All Night time activity ends at 9:45pm, truly a full days worth of fun. Plus Dolphins are on the premises. Also Dreams is close to local attractions which we visited, Xplor, Xenses, Dolphins, etc. In conclusion, we took full advantage of the facilities; pool, beach, restaurants, games, aerobics, cardio exercises. This resort gets top marks mainly because of exceptional services that were provided by their staff.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    Overall a great experience, would recommend.

    Reviewed by Chris on Dec 21, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Very nice resort, most staff were friendly, drinks were good, although they seemed to be made differently depending on which bar you visited. Our first experience without an adults only resort. Nice to have an adults only area totally separate from the rest of the resort. Food was just ok at the buffet, A-la-cartes were much better. Beach was very nice, but a lot smaller than the pictures represented.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    H

    Not very appealing on the outside but rooms, beach, pool is good.

    Reviewed by Honest review on Aug 30, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    This is definately not the Bahia or Iberostar....if you are looking to enjoy the beach and pool with your kids not worrying about the long walks to eat or swim then this is the place. Not a 5* more like 4* in Cuba this would be considered a 5* I've been to Cuba....Resort not so appealing on the outside but tbe rooms are spacious and clean. Bathrooms are very large with up to date decor. Hotel lobby not very appealing, pictures in the website are probably from when it was new. Furniture up to date. The rooms are not mouldy as some reviews say and the AC and elevators are fine. Food is ok. This is an honest review. If you pay maximum of $3000 Can. for a family of 4 then it would be worth it........I wouldn,t pay more. If you have never been to a 5* resort you will like this one as there is nothing to compare it to. Overall, its ok though. Service is good. Would I come nack? Not if i can afford a 5* expérience.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Great service, great food. Can't swim. Tiny pool.

    Reviewed by SS20 on Apr 20, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    It was a bit of a challenge to rate this resort. Good things first. The staff was fantastic, going overboard on every occasion. Most of the restaurants were great- Oceana, El Patio and Portofino. Buffet , Seaside grill were OK. Shows and entertainment were good. You can snorkel right from the beach. Theme dinners on a beach Caribbean, Mexican are great. Bad things. The beach is adjacent to a reef. The basin of water is tiny and shallow. So you can walk waist deep or sit in the water. Access to the sea is blocked by the reef. Shallow, plenty of fish, rocks and sea urchins under them. Bottom line is you cant swim properly. Pools are small and shallow. One of them with adjacent area is designated for adults only - an odd management decision for a family-friendly resort. The other is packed with families and drinking adults at the wet bar. You can barely stand there without touching another person. On a wedding day pretty much every day the volleyball field and, sometimes, the Barracuda bar get hijacked by wedding planners. Should they coincide with a theme dinner at the beach - you have almost no space for anything. Our room was dated and a/c was circulating wet cold air. Everything inside the room was damp and smelly. Bottom line is - service , food and entertainment are great,but barely compensate for the missing beach and pool areas along with dated facilities.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5979 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great Vacation

    Reviewed by AlexisAimeeAliya() on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our family (3 kids 2 Adults) spend 7 days and had a great time at Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort, thanks to the non stop, energetic, funny and awesome Entertainment crew (Giovanni, Maria, Brenda, Eric and young Roberto). The food was great and the hotel staff was very accommodating and friendly. Swimming with the dolphins at the resort was very convenient and memorable. The one and only negative thing was the seaweed, the hotel crew did their best to clean it everyday but it's mother nature and we totally understand. The energetic and hard working entertainment crew made it fun and memorable, and we highly recommend this resort!!!! THANKS AGAIN GIOVANNI AND THE ENTERTAINMENT TEAM!!!!!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Family Vacation August 2019

    Reviewed by nascoleycole(Oak Forest, Illinois) on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I am an Unlimited Vacation Club member & I was highly disappointed with this resort & my experience as a member. This was my first experience at a Dreams resort, & I didn't feel they were as good as Secrets. I was excited to visit a family resort because I had only visited adult only resorts, but the experiences at the adult only resorts were so much better. My check-in experience really set the tone for this entire resort. I was escorted to the members lounge & told to go eat since our rooms weren't ready. We waited over 3 hrs for our rooms & then I was given the wrongs rooms. I asked about my upgrade & that was never acknowledged. They literally ignored what I asked them & I was too tired to even address it further. The service in that lounge was horrible from everyone. I should have paid attention to their names because 2 of them were extremely rude. Overall the staff with a few exceptions were not very friendly & welcoming. Giovanni was excellent & the most memorable. I felt the wait staff around the beach & pool area worked extremely hard to please everyone & they were also amazing. I had a bad experience with a rude waiter named Freddy at Seaside Grill, he barely spoke to us & seemed very bothered that we decided to dine there. Our last night there on 8/16/19, we went to Portofino & had another bad experience. We spent over 3 hrs there waiting to eat. They had to be short staffed in the kitchen because after waiting 40 min for a table, we waited another hour for salad which they ran out of causing us to select a different salad. Needless to say my 1 & 4 yr old children were restless & my 4 yr old fell asleep at the table & missed dinner completely. I felt the coffee shop also got annoyed when we would come in & order our drinks. It is not welcoming when you have rude waiters/waitresses rolling their eyes & making their body language show they are annoyed with your presence. Once again, overall highly dissatisfied with the resort's service. Room service was always on time & friendly. Now for the resort itself, the beach is horrible. They should have never built a resort on this beach. Between the rocks, glass & constant seaweed, it was horrible. Now because the beach is so bad, the pool is extremely overcrowded. I was so disappointed with the pool size & beach. The buffet should be open all day!! Closing at 3pm is not conveinant at all, especially for families with small children. I was excited one day because their board said the buffet would be open until 5pm, but when I arrived it was closed at 3pm. I made a compliant & took a picture showing it said it was open till 5pm. I was highly upset with the taco fest!! We did an early morning excursion & when we arrived to the beach at 1:55pm, the taco fest was ending & they were wrapping it up. Why couldn't you have it all day?! Or at least until 5pm?? I looked forward to this all week & didn't get to experience it. Almost everything at this resort was a disappointment. I will never return & I will not be recommending it to anyone. Given the fact that I've spent almost $25K on becoming a member, I expected so much better. They called me in for a "welcome package" which consisted of a free excursion if I attended another presentation during breakfast or lunch at their Tulum resort. They said it was not a sales presentation, but an opportunity to hear their updates. I decided not to waste my time & declined their patheic offer along with their resort coupons for wine & spa services. Being a member did nothing for me or my family. Such a waste of my money!!??I'd also like to mention that everywhere you go to dine, even the damn bar is extremely hot. It's like they don't even put on the AC. It was so uncomfortable. I would also like to add that I am not just some miserable hard to please patron. The resort had many nice features, the rooms were pleasant, comfortable, & I did enjoy myself. However, when I'm spending over $5K to take a vacation I have high expectations because I can vacation anywhere & I chose a different country causing me more time & headache to travel to. I should be enjoying every second of my vacation & having a resort where the staff wants you to return. The service standards should be high & the experiences should be memorable & consistent. If you took the time to read this review, do yourself a favor & select a different resort. I plan to visit another Dreams resort in the future, but I will make sure I do my research on their beach, pool options, & overall reviews prior to booking.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-2

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    The Wedding of Our Dreams

    Reviewed by theritaproject() on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    All I can say is WOW!! WOW!! WOW!! and THANK YOU!! THANK YOU!! THANK YOU!!! We had our wedding at The Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa the week of July 21st – 27th, 2019 We decided to have a destination wedding as both Chris and I LOVE to travel. We decided on this resort after reviewing many resorts online and decided upon a Dreams resort as they offered a Dulha & Dulhan Wedding package. Chris and I decided to have a traditional Hindu wedding (Gujarati style) as I am from a Gujarati background. At first I was a bit nervous as I think any bride would be leaving it in the hands of someone else to execute their wedding. I started communicating with Claudia Garcia the Wedding Manager months before the wedding and within a few email exchanges I felt completely at ease and confident that she was going to make my day exceptional. Now to fast forward to our arrival at the resort….. We arrived fairly late in the evening and were greeted by staff and many of the 70 guests that were attending our wedding week!! The resort had a sign along with a photo of us posted welcoming us and congratulating us,,,, very special feeling from the start! I met Claudia the next morning after the Meet and Greet I arranged for our guest so that they could put faces to the names that they had likely heard a million times. I instantly felt a connection with her, more so then the email exchanges that we had had over the past several months. She showed us around so that we can see where we were having our events which was very helpful, especially the timing of the wedding since it would be outdoor. She is amazing!! I knew right away that my Wedding festivities were going to be wonderful! Claudia and her team Brenda, Zaira and Erick worked to make every moment special and that was apparent as the days unfolded. THE MEET & GREET / PRE-WEDDING GAMES: Claudia offered suggestions and locations every step of the way!! Places where our large party could meet to have a few pre-wedding events were carefully suggested/selected, each time, each location/venue suggestion was perfect! The hotel staff were always willing to help as well, even to step in and assist with our Group photo the first morning where I had planned a meet and greet. We were able to give our guests the give-aways that we had brought along for them with ease. That afternoon we had pre-wedding games planned, the suggested venue, the Barracuda Bar could not be more perfect!! The location was amazing, the Barracuda bar is located near the Ocean, it has an amazing view, and the cute swings added a fun element to the event. We had the best time there with our guests, our bartender Lennin was awesome and so much fun! SANGHEET / MEHENDI: All I can say is WOW!! When I arrived at the location I had to take a step back and take it all in, was this for me? WOW WOW WOW!!! The Location was set on the Main beach near the Gazebo, the spot where the volleyball is played was transformed into an outdoor setting like no other! Claudia and her team really set the stage, they had set up a stunning colourful back drop with twinkle lights and a white couch with matching accent pillows made to seat royalty, there was traditional style seating with colourful pillows on wicker mats to match the rest of the décor. The attention to detail for the guest seating was exceptional!!! The Team had set up circular tables covered with stark white table cloths accompanied by tiffany style chairs, each place setting was set with a glass and colourful napkins that tied all everything together. The food we had chosen was a BBQ style menu, once again ABOVE my expectations,,, my guests could not stop talking about how AMAZING the food was, to accommodate our vegetarian and non-vegetarian guests can be quite challenging particularly when dealing with a BBQ style menu but Claudia’s suggestions made this a success. We ate and drank, danced our traditional garba! Every detail, from the venue location to the outdoor open bar was perfect! Even when the weather turned on us, the team was prepared to relocate our guests and continue the festivities. THE WEDDING DAY: SPECTACULAR!! We had our ceremony at the Gazebo, could not have picked of a better location. Claudia and her team once again thought of every detail. The decor was simple but breathtaking, the Gazebo was transformed into an Oasis without losing it’s natural beauty. The little details like the shoe rack for the guests made it extra special. The DJ did an amazing job as well, playing all the music as planned for the my Groom, my bridesmaids and my arrival. Claudia worked well with our pandit to ensure that the mandap space for the ceremony was conducive to all the requirements of the pandit. Mr. Bernardo Soriano was our pandit (Hindu Priest – Hare Krishna Maharaj) who performed our Hindu Ceremony (Gujarati style), he performed the ceremony with such detail. He even incorporated my children into the ceremony which was very touching and personable. After the ceremony we had a cocktail hour on the beach with hot and cold hors d'oeuvres and an open bar, this was an amazing suggestion by Claudia. We were so pleased and the guest thoroughly enjoyed this. Once again the set-up, presentation and food…..AMAZING!! THE RECEPTION: EXTRAVAGANT!!! When Claudia initially suggested the theatre as the venue for the reception I was a bit hesitant as all I could picture was the evening show being performed in there, LOL. Even when she showed us the space, I could not visualize what it would look like for our reception. It wasn’t until a few hours before when my Bridal party and I went to set drop of a few things that I saw the witnessed the magical transformation. I was in Awe!!! Simple yet elegant is how I would describe it, perfect for my theme!! The lit up dancefloor added that panache to the simplicity, so awesome!! The Indian food we had asked for was well beyond my expectations!! Our guests could not stop raving about it, many stating that it was some of the best catered Indian food they had had. The DJ did a fantastic job as well and kept the party going and the dance floor filled the entire night!! Everything from the ambiance to the cake cutting was in perfect order and special with a personal touch!! What a memorable time! My guest cannot stop speaking of the wedding and all the beauty that Claudia and her Team created and how special they made it. Thank you!! Thank you!! Thank you!! To Claudia, Brenda, Zaira, Erick and all the people behind the scenes at the Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa from the bottom of our hearts for making this so special and unforgettable!! THE RESORT: Wonderful resort, I loved that it wasn’t huge, it felt very quaint! Great service, friendly staff, food was impressive as well!! Unfortunately Mother Nature did not bode well with the Ocean and the seaweed situation but the resort staff worked tirelessly to handle the situation … NOT THE RESORTS FAULT!! My only complaint would have been that we got a better room then we did, many of our guests rooms were much nicer and spacious compared to ours, one person even got a hot tub, but we did not complain as ours was fine. Overall,,,,, what an amazing experience to all the brides and vacationers I give this 2 thumbs up!!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Great Vacation

    Reviewed by Sbeasley85() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This review is coming from someone who read the reviews (bad ones) and was terrified i chose the wrong resort for my family. We flew in and was greeted with drinks and a warm welcome at the desk. They took us to our dolphin view room and already had a roller bed accompanied for my children. The room was great spacious and very clean. The restaurants were great. Food was good and the staff was very accommodating and friendly. My children are extremely picky eaters. They loved the food !!!!trust me i was surprised!!! The swim up bar was the girls favorite. Special kids drinks and great adult drinks. Mango tango was by far my favorite. The dolphins experience was so cool. The picture were extremely expensive for only a few great pictures. The only negative thing on our trip. Over all I’m so glad i didn’t let the bad reviews scare me away. Bc this resort was one of my favorites!!!

    The best vacation i’ve ever been on

    Reviewed by jpiccininni() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I’ve went to the bahamas before but i tell you it was nowhere near as good as this. When i got here i was grumpy because i got no sleep the night before so i was on no sleep. I was grumpy and picky so i didn’t like the food. So i was walking in the lobby then Brenda drags me to dance which made me realize i can learn a thing or two on vacation. My cousin was a bit shy to dance but that didn’t stop me the food to me got a lot better. 24/7 service and they mean it every thing was perfect. So I dance a couple nights with María and Brenda which helped me improve on dancing. I feel much more confident and comfortable dancing. Thank you to all the staff for letting me have a great time.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX