Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    M

    We are going back. Loved it

    Reviewed by Mona on Sep 30, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    The staff were amazing. From the cart drivers, to the wait staff to the room cleaners. The staff at check in were fantastic and very helpful

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    This resort is awesome..staff went beyond what you'd expect to accomodate your requests. Best place in our view to stay in the Tulum area.

    Reviewed by Barbie on Jan 28, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    We LOVE the Grand Bahia Principe Resorts and have stayed at GBP Tulum 3 times and plan to go back again this October and again next October. Great location, the staff are very friendly and willing to help in any way they can. Lot of variety as far as food and beverages are concerned. Great location to go exploring ..Like I said we just love it there. Would hightly recommend it for family, friends or just two people. GREAT is all I can Say

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Home away from home

    Reviewed by Shanzsato on Sep 21, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    This resort is my home away from home. My whole family has been many times including my wedding in the Tulum Gazebo. Amazing staff and some of the friendliest people I have ever met. Before coming here we were the type of people who always tried new places and never went to the same place twice. Since our first trip here in 2009 we have not gone anywhere else and now are planning out 16th trip.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    C

    Families will love it here!

    Reviewed by ChristineK on Jun 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    This property has so much for families! I loved how clean it was, loved the pool and beach! Lots of watersports! Close to Tulum!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    Y

    If your looking for a nice resort, KEEP LOOKING. This is not for you!

    Reviewed by Yellowdukk on Feb 09, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    It all started within the first 30 minutes after arriving. We checked into the hotel and immediately went to guest services to book our A La Cart dinners. We did our research and decided beforehand what we wanted, but to our surprise there were no decent reservation times available anytime during our entire stay. We could have booked for a 10pm dinner but who wants to eat that late! We had to settle for whatever was left, which wasn't much. note: there were never more then 50% of the tables used when we walked by We soon learned that certain travel companies allow pre booking of meals but WestJet wasn't one of them. It just went downhill from there. 2 hours later we were settled into our room. Not by choice, but to find a room that didn't have 2 twin 4 post beds or a hole in the ceiling and water all over the floor. Front desk were little to no help in resolving this issue and persisted to try and make us stay in these rooms for a few days and then move. Not happening! Finally off to bed but to only be awaken at 2am with a room at 13 degrees. The A/C was broken and wouldn't shut off. We decided to just turn the unit off and on as needed for the week instead of moving again. Lets just say that this was just the start of our horrible holiday. It didn't get any better throughout the week but we did make the best of it. It's a safe bet that we will never be back to this resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    K

    not impressed!

    Reviewed by KelliHeikel on Apr 14, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Went for my best friends wedding, paid for an upgrade to a larger room to accommodate my small child. Only to find out that this is a scam and there actually is no upgrade and all 30 people that came with us had the exact same room and didn't need to pay. I notified the hotel staff and they simply said that yes we paid for it and everyone that was with us must have been upgraded for free. Then they told me to speak with the rep on site. He basically told me you pay for what you get and too bad.... The hotel staff were not friendly, rooms need many upgrades, lights not working, mold in the room and an awful smell. Some days we did not get towels even though we tipped everyday. We also did not get face cloths and always running out of toilet paper. We were there for 10 days and we were unable to book an a la carte which was included in our price. Eating at the buffet for 10 days became very tiresome as it was always the same food, it would have been nice to eat something different. By the last few days, my baby wouldn't eat anything and looking at the buffet literally made my stomach turn. I would like to mention that my best friend's wedding was absolutely gorgeous. The service was amazing, the food was great...I was very impressed by that as I am planning my own wedding at this time. Ceasar was fantastic and the service at the wedding was superb. This service would have been nice to have more than just one day. Also Jordan in the buffet was the best server there and we enjoyed him very much. The grounds of the hotel were well kept and beautiful. I absolutely love westjet but this trip has left a sour taste in my mouth and this make me very sad.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 13940 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Exceeded expectations

    Reviewed by Mrsjewitt() on Oct 14, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just returned from 2 weeks with my husband. The hotel and grounds are spotlessly clean, the staff are hardworking and friendly. The food is very good. This hotel is excellent value for money. We had a very relaxing holiday and spent our days by the pool and on the beach, there were no issues with sun beds or people reserving them, the beach was very clean and 95% clear of seaweed - there was a lot on our first two days but the staff worked so hard to clear it and did a great job. Thomas cook reps on site every day in case of issues (we had none) and to assist in booking trips. Can highly recommend Don Pablo restaurant it was excellent - men need long trousers for this restaurant - can wear smart shorts in the others. The teppanyaki and Italian portofino in Coba restaurant were also very good. The only negative point for me was the drinks - these were more like a European 3star all inclusive - plenty available but lacking in quality. Overall a great (huge) hotel and really enjoyed our stay - do not be put off by negative reviews.

    Fantastic 11 night stay in a stunning location!

    Reviewed by Lisa B() on Oct 13, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The transfer time for us was about 1 hour and 45 minutes, with 1 drop off at another hotel. Check in was speedy as we were second off of the coach. We didn't receive pool towel tokens upon checking in, but this was quickly rectified after speaking to the reception. The room was decorated as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary throughout our stay. They left chocolates and champagne as a gift which was a lovely touch. The room was a good size, the bed was large and comfy, there was extra pillows if needed in the wardrobe. The mini-bar was stocked with beers, water and soft drinks, and there was tea and fresh coffee making facilities In the room. The room also had a TV with access to a good selection of US channels. There was ample hanging space for your clothes, and an ironing board with iron for your use as well as, a big golf umbrella. The room was clean had no problems, we did have a large unwanted bug in the room at one point, we reported to housekeeping on the app, and within half an hour somebody arrived to remove it and later fumigated when we had left the room. We thought there was a very large selection of food in the main buffet restaurant for adults and children, there was something for everybody. Everyday they had a different speciality. There is two sides to the dining room either side of the food area, one has air- con and the other side just has ceiling fans. Service was excellent 95% of the time with attentive waiters and table clearers and they were friendly and some are happy to chat. We did visit some of the a la carte's, for our 11 night stay we were allowed 5 visits. This included The Don Pablo which was my favourite with an excellent choice of high quality food and good service. We also visited both Mexican a la carte restaurants, one was in the Coba. Both restaurants served good quality food with varying menus. The mariachi bands play in both, but if you want them to play at your table get an early reservation as they may not be there all night. The Brazilian a la carte had a good selection of meats, don't fill up on the salad bar first. Thomas Cook offer a free trip that takes you to a jewellery making factory and a tequila shop. You also get the chance to go shopping in playa del carmen for a few hours after. Word of warning if you go on this trip it is quite high pressure selling, but if you don't want it just say no. Also, in Playa Del Carmen some of the areas can be quite seedy and in some places when they see you're British they want to sell you drugs. We also got a taxi and visited the Tulum Ruins it cost 500 pesos for 6 people, but the taxi driver gave us really good advice before we went in about the DO'S and DONT'S. It was 70 pesos per person to get in to the ruins and there was some fantastic views. From the ruins we walked to the Tulum town centre which took about half an hour. We found a Traditional Mexican bar where we got food and drinks. They had an offer for a burger and drink for 150 pesos, which tasted amazing! We caught the local bus back to the hotel which cost 35 pesos each, which are more like taxis which seat up to 15 people. It was very clean and very regular. The beaches were beautiful and clean with little seaweed on our visit, but they still worked hard to keep it clean. There was plenty of choice of sun loungers and bars where you could get refreshments. There was also a good selection of pools to suit everybody's individual needs, all very clean. As in other reviews about this hotel, I have to agree that the timeshare people can be rather pushy. We agreed to go on a tour with one of the representatives who offer us $70 in Thomas Cook vouchers towards excursions. We went to have a look, and it was a hard sell offering you various destinations but mostly their private island in the Dominican Republic. But, when it comes to the facts and figures this does not include the private island. Once we said no we weren't interested, they abruptly asked us to leave.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Mrs Robertson

    Reviewed by FrequentFlier392515() on Oct 13, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Currently staying at the hotel. It’s a very nice place but the service within the hotel is shocking. Having been to a few resorts in Mexico this has by far been the worst. Going for breakfast lunch or dinner we have had to stop waiters every time to ask for water or drinks, The Bar just as bad sat for over 45 mins waiting to be served and the bar was empty!! It starts to fill up then everyone gets served befor us. Total joke! Ended up walking out Extremely unhappy seems there is not enough staff on or if there is they are not interested in serving quite shocking for a £5000 holiday. Wish we just paid the extra and went back to the moon palace.

    Highly recommend 5 star hotel

    Reviewed by Erin A() on Oct 12, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We first came to this hotel in august 2017for our honeymoon despite it being hurricane season we had an amazing time. Staff were really helpful and accommodating and very friendly. It truly was like waking up in paradise every day. Rooms cleaned daily and fridge refilled. We arrived to a on honeymoon banner on our door, rose petals in a heart on our bed and champagne on ice. We were treated like royalty with romantic meals and love heart cakes especially made for us and daily treats left in our room. We are so excited to be returning on the 25th of april 2019 for my husbands 50th birthday. I could notrecommend this hotel more especially for a truly magical honeymoon

    Wonderful. Relaxed. Fun.

    Reviewed by Wiganal21() on Oct 12, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Had a great time at the Tulum resort. Rooms are large, clean and cool. Staff are fantastic, never too much trouble to help you. Highlights are the beach, the lobby bars and the hacienda. Special note to the Don Pablo restaurant, amazing food, respectful staff and a fantastic dining experience

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX