Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    G

    Great Place. Don't Let the Negative Reviews Deter You.

    Reviewed by Guest2223 on Apr 29, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    I read over quite a few reviews of the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum from various sources before deciding to book a vacation there. Here is what I thought of the resort while I was there. Food: Yes, the buffet is pretty standard and only has slight changes per day. That is normal for most of not all resorts. The food was excellent and had no issues during my stay. The A-la-carts are always difficult to book. What I noticed was that a number of people will book and not show. If you don't get the one you want, you can always take a chance and wait for an empty spot at the restaurant. But please, dress appropriately for them. Beaches: Yes, there was some seaweed when we first arrived. It was cleaned up in the morning of the third day we were there. There was no smell and you can easily walk over it to get to the water. It was no big deal. Animals: Yes, there are animals there. You are in the jungle and so there are lizards, birds, etc. most of the areas are open and so yes, the animals can wander in there as well. It is no big deal. Rooms: I was very surprized at how well the rooms were kept. The one we were in did not show it's age at all. Clean and all was functional. Overall, I highly recommend this resort and will definitely be staying there again. The staff was excellent and very helpful. Additionally, tip the staff! They work hard and deserve it. Many of the staff there went out of there way to help with directions, free rides, etc. Amazing how many people did not tip at all. Regardless of whether it is all inclusive or not, you would always tip in your native location. Why not there?

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    B

    We LOVE Grand Bahia Principe Tulum. The staff at the swim up bar always friendly and the waiters at the Internation Buffet were great.

    Reviewed by Barbie on Nov 27, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was our 3rd trip to Grand Bahia Principe Tulum and we will be back again next October with family to celebrate our 40th Wedding Anniversary. We Love Westjet and whenever possible we fly with them. The Resort was very busy this time but the service was still excellent. The location is excellent as you are close to sightseeing tours or perhaps a shopping trip into Playa Del Carmen..For the most part the staff was great, however, we didn't find the people on the reception desk to be very friendly..got more help from the fellows at the front that help unload your baggage. We were able to accomplish what we set out to do getting things arranged for next October and having an enjoyable vacation once again at the resort. Next year will be vacation Number 4 to this resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    We are going back. Loved it

    Reviewed by Mona on Sep 30, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    The staff were amazing. From the cart drivers, to the wait staff to the room cleaners. The staff at check in were fantastic and very helpful

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    This resort is awesome..staff went beyond what you'd expect to accomodate your requests. Best place in our view to stay in the Tulum area.

    Reviewed by Barbie on Jan 28, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    We LOVE the Grand Bahia Principe Resorts and have stayed at GBP Tulum 3 times and plan to go back again this October and again next October. Great location, the staff are very friendly and willing to help in any way they can. Lot of variety as far as food and beverages are concerned. Great location to go exploring ..Like I said we just love it there. Would hightly recommend it for family, friends or just two people. GREAT is all I can Say

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Home away from home

    Reviewed by Shanzsato on Sep 21, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    This resort is my home away from home. My whole family has been many times including my wedding in the Tulum Gazebo. Amazing staff and some of the friendliest people I have ever met. Before coming here we were the type of people who always tried new places and never went to the same place twice. Since our first trip here in 2009 we have not gone anywhere else and now are planning out 16th trip.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    C

    Families will love it here!

    Reviewed by ChristineK on Jun 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    This property has so much for families! I loved how clean it was, loved the pool and beach! Lots of watersports! Close to Tulum!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    Y

    If your looking for a nice resort, KEEP LOOKING. This is not for you!

    Reviewed by Yellowdukk on Feb 09, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    It all started within the first 30 minutes after arriving. We checked into the hotel and immediately went to guest services to book our A La Cart dinners. We did our research and decided beforehand what we wanted, but to our surprise there were no decent reservation times available anytime during our entire stay. We could have booked for a 10pm dinner but who wants to eat that late! We had to settle for whatever was left, which wasn't much. note: there were never more then 50% of the tables used when we walked by We soon learned that certain travel companies allow pre booking of meals but WestJet wasn't one of them. It just went downhill from there. 2 hours later we were settled into our room. Not by choice, but to find a room that didn't have 2 twin 4 post beds or a hole in the ceiling and water all over the floor. Front desk were little to no help in resolving this issue and persisted to try and make us stay in these rooms for a few days and then move. Not happening! Finally off to bed but to only be awaken at 2am with a room at 13 degrees. The A/C was broken and wouldn't shut off. We decided to just turn the unit off and on as needed for the week instead of moving again. Lets just say that this was just the start of our horrible holiday. It didn't get any better throughout the week but we did make the best of it. It's a safe bet that we will never be back to this resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    K

    not impressed!

    Reviewed by KelliHeikel on Apr 14, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Went for my best friends wedding, paid for an upgrade to a larger room to accommodate my small child. Only to find out that this is a scam and there actually is no upgrade and all 30 people that came with us had the exact same room and didn't need to pay. I notified the hotel staff and they simply said that yes we paid for it and everyone that was with us must have been upgraded for free. Then they told me to speak with the rep on site. He basically told me you pay for what you get and too bad.... The hotel staff were not friendly, rooms need many upgrades, lights not working, mold in the room and an awful smell. Some days we did not get towels even though we tipped everyday. We also did not get face cloths and always running out of toilet paper. We were there for 10 days and we were unable to book an a la carte which was included in our price. Eating at the buffet for 10 days became very tiresome as it was always the same food, it would have been nice to eat something different. By the last few days, my baby wouldn't eat anything and looking at the buffet literally made my stomach turn. I would like to mention that my best friend's wedding was absolutely gorgeous. The service was amazing, the food was great...I was very impressed by that as I am planning my own wedding at this time. Ceasar was fantastic and the service at the wedding was superb. This service would have been nice to have more than just one day. Also Jordan in the buffet was the best server there and we enjoyed him very much. The grounds of the hotel were well kept and beautiful. I absolutely love westjet but this trip has left a sour taste in my mouth and this make me very sad.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 14561 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    First class top rate holiday

    Reviewed by storageone() on May 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I've just spent 2 weeks here with my wife and friends you couldn't find a better place to stay staff made us all very welcome excellent service and very clean hotel nicolas augusto is a credit to bahia principe and thanks to restaurant staff Edwin and Imelda and bar staff Harry and Alun would definitely recommend this place highly Bacon family

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Terrible Tales of Tulum

    Reviewed by Ash2theLee() on May 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Let me preface this by saying I am not a fan of all inclusive vacations. I prefer quality or quantity and had my brother not get married at this property, I would have chosen to stay elsewhere. CHECK IN: I spent over an hour in the Akumal lobby just to be shuttled over to the Tulum property because Akumal could no longer accommodate my reservation. As a courtesy, they gave me $100 credit to spend during my stay, as well as the Akumal bracelets so I could still visit the property and use the amenities. They said the room rate difference would be taken care of at check out. Fast forward to check out... it was not. ROOM: other than the rock hard bed with stiff sheets and my toilet being clogged the entire time, the room was clean and the AC worked. STAFF: all of the service staff were very personable and hospitable. I cannot say the same for the front of house staff and upper management. They had a knack for making you feel like an inconvenience. They were quick to say "no" and briskly walk away from you. RESERVATIONS: if you wanted to eat anywhere other than the buffet, you had to wait in a glass hut to speak to a reservationist. More often than not, you walked away with a reservation for a different day and place than originally requested (and that's if you were lucky). This is where I first met, Nicholas. He thought it was appropriate to yell at me when I asked for a reservation night of. He raised his voice in front of other guests and let me know that the computers were down and there was nothing he could do for me. I then politely asked if he could call the restaurant directly in which he replied "no". This became the "norm" for the remainder of my trip... During check out, I asked to speak with a manager because my bill still reflected the rates of Akumal, not Tulum. Had my experience at Tulum been different, I would have just accepted the bill as is but it was far from enjoyable. And just my luck, Nicholas is the manager on duty. He said I signed an agreement that stated the $100 credit was for the difference in the hotels and he wasn't going to do anything for me and stormed away. I could go on for days but there's no point. I am home, happy, and you couldn't pay me to go back there. It's just not my cup of tea. TIP: don't bother waisting your time booking dinner reservations. Just show up and be nice to the hostess.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    First time in Mexico

    Reviewed by bradpnh(Sheffield, United Kingdom) on May 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Coming towards the end of a 11 night stay at grand bahia tulum,it’s my first time in Mexico and it’s been amazing strong drinks,nice food at the buffet I admit food would maybe get a little repetitive and boring if it wasn’t for the a la carte restaurants.i would reccomend the Japanese restaurant at coba and the Brazilian.theres a lot of seaweed on the beach what they work to clean up but it’s just nature don’t listen to the moaners who just love to complain.

    Amazing place

    Reviewed by cpd59(Cleethorpes, United Kingdom) on May 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We are still at the grand bahia principal tulum as I write this review. What a place location good all staff from managers right down to the janitors are fantastic they all want to help you and nothing is to much trouble. This is one of the few places we will definitely return to. Thanks to All the staff.

    Tulum May 2019

    Reviewed by RavenMan(Baltimore) on May 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Friendly staff, great service, with numerous pools and restaurants. Best AI program in Mexico or Caribbean. But due to the seaweed on the beach can only give it four stars!!! They try to remove the seaweed everyday but it's a losing battle.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX