Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    B

    This resort is awesome..staff went beyond what you'd expect to accomodate your requests. Best place in our view to stay in the Tulum area.

    Reviewed by Barbie on Jan 28, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    We LOVE the Grand Bahia Principe Resorts and have stayed at GBP Tulum 3 times and plan to go back again this October and again next October. Great location, the staff are very friendly and willing to help in any way they can. Lot of variety as far as food and beverages are concerned. Great location to go exploring ..Like I said we just love it there. Would hightly recommend it for family, friends or just two people. GREAT is all I can Say

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Home away from home

    Reviewed by Shanzsato on Sep 21, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    This resort is my home away from home. My whole family has been many times including my wedding in the Tulum Gazebo. Amazing staff and some of the friendliest people I have ever met. Before coming here we were the type of people who always tried new places and never went to the same place twice. Since our first trip here in 2009 we have not gone anywhere else and now are planning out 16th trip.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    C

    Families will love it here!

    Reviewed by ChristineK on Jun 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    This property has so much for families! I loved how clean it was, loved the pool and beach! Lots of watersports! Close to Tulum!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    Y

    If your looking for a nice resort, KEEP LOOKING. This is not for you!

    Reviewed by Yellowdukk on Feb 09, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    It all started within the first 30 minutes after arriving. We checked into the hotel and immediately went to guest services to book our A La Cart dinners. We did our research and decided beforehand what we wanted, but to our surprise there were no decent reservation times available anytime during our entire stay. We could have booked for a 10pm dinner but who wants to eat that late! We had to settle for whatever was left, which wasn't much. note: there were never more then 50% of the tables used when we walked by We soon learned that certain travel companies allow pre booking of meals but WestJet wasn't one of them. It just went downhill from there. 2 hours later we were settled into our room. Not by choice, but to find a room that didn't have 2 twin 4 post beds or a hole in the ceiling and water all over the floor. Front desk were little to no help in resolving this issue and persisted to try and make us stay in these rooms for a few days and then move. Not happening! Finally off to bed but to only be awaken at 2am with a room at 13 degrees. The A/C was broken and wouldn't shut off. We decided to just turn the unit off and on as needed for the week instead of moving again. Lets just say that this was just the start of our horrible holiday. It didn't get any better throughout the week but we did make the best of it. It's a safe bet that we will never be back to this resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    K

    not impressed!

    Reviewed by KelliHeikel on Apr 14, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Went for my best friends wedding, paid for an upgrade to a larger room to accommodate my small child. Only to find out that this is a scam and there actually is no upgrade and all 30 people that came with us had the exact same room and didn't need to pay. I notified the hotel staff and they simply said that yes we paid for it and everyone that was with us must have been upgraded for free. Then they told me to speak with the rep on site. He basically told me you pay for what you get and too bad.... The hotel staff were not friendly, rooms need many upgrades, lights not working, mold in the room and an awful smell. Some days we did not get towels even though we tipped everyday. We also did not get face cloths and always running out of toilet paper. We were there for 10 days and we were unable to book an a la carte which was included in our price. Eating at the buffet for 10 days became very tiresome as it was always the same food, it would have been nice to eat something different. By the last few days, my baby wouldn't eat anything and looking at the buffet literally made my stomach turn. I would like to mention that my best friend's wedding was absolutely gorgeous. The service was amazing, the food was great...I was very impressed by that as I am planning my own wedding at this time. Ceasar was fantastic and the service at the wedding was superb. This service would have been nice to have more than just one day. Also Jordan in the buffet was the best server there and we enjoyed him very much. The grounds of the hotel were well kept and beautiful. I absolutely love westjet but this trip has left a sour taste in my mouth and this make me very sad.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 13750 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    One of our greatest trips

    Reviewed by Gurl_In_Red() on Aug 13, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			5
			out of 5

    We loved the hotel. The food was good and the nightly entertainment was awesome. We had a lot of fun. We also enjoyed their restaurants. The waiters/waitresses were friendly and did a great job. We really enjoyed the hotel.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Fantastic

    Reviewed by Lisa B(Derby, England, United Kingdom) on Aug 13, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			5
			out of 5

    Fantastic staff ........concierge ladies Libertad.... and Diana, pool bar lady Leydi Lopez, sexy papi (entertainment staff) Alex by the VIP pool, the maitre de from the French restaurant...bar staff from VIP lounge, staff in the spa area........all made a great holiday ?? will definitely go back as we had 5 days rain in June this year. Need to see it again to appreciate the lovely surroundings. Lovely room and fantastic restaurants. 10/10!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    A nice place, but a lot of small issues, as usually in any other big hotels

    Reviewed by Al_Muzzy() on Aug 12, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			2
			out of 5

    The place itself was ok. Pros: - Good food quality and selection (except for the house wine - we could not drink it); - There were several GREAT waiters in the main restaurant with GREAT customer service skills - my special thanks for that! - Very nice, very well maintained ground; - Clean rooms; - Good live music. Cons: - One of the slowest and worst check-ins ever. Our room was not ready by the check-in time; - Terrible beach, probably the worst we have ever had, rocky and full of algae and flies; - Security did not do anything about drunk people yelling in the middle of the night, but rather watched for dress code in the restaurant (my 13 y.o. son was not allowed to come to the restaurant in a nice basketball shirt with no sleeves, but a woman in a light dress with no sleeves had no problem); - The internet service was one of the worst ever. They charged me for the service on four devices, but only one worked ok. When I tried to ask them to fix it, they told me that the service was provided by a third party, and recommended to call them directly. Seriously?! I thought that taking money for the service and not providing this service is called "fraud"; - The hotel is HUGE, and to get anywhere you would prefer to take a cart, not to walk in the heat.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-2

    Service

    Service-3

    no more Bahia for us in Mexico

    Reviewed by Martin C() on Aug 12, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			3
			out of 5

    My crew and I spend at least 10 days a year in all inclusive resorts. This year we decided to come back at the Bahia. The first time we were at the Coba(2016) and this year at the Tulum. It is still a good option if you like large resorts, but it is not as it used to be. The resort does not offer as much as in 2016 on every aspect. We also had different problems with our room. But the worst was the way we have been treated by few employees. When I say we, it includes my 6 years old. It was the first time that I had to fight to get my room change in 10 years of all inclusive. It was really hard for them to admit that the air conditioning was not working properly and that the leak we had in the room was about to become a flood. I also had to insist "angrily" to get my luggage myself switched from the first room to the other room. They promised 20 minutes...I gave them 2 hours and had to get them myself with employees of the front desk...and yes I was late for my reservation at the a la carte...I spent 4 hours fixing this problem. This is not something you want to do on vacation. Some of the staff was excellent in 2016 and it was the same that time! Fernely at the pool resto of the coba, you still rock! Edwin and Jordan at the Tulum buffet you really care and it makes me want to come back! Daniel at Le Gourmet is simply the best "mesero" we have ever met in Mexico! All the staff in the coba lobby bar, wow. As I said most of the people were nice, we tip a lot and we are easy going, respectful and would never return a steak for being overcook. So why was that zack... so rough and pushy with us at the Mashua. He could have had such a good evening as we wanted to have to. what did we do? The shows they had Lion king and "la reine des neiges" in 2016 and they were both very good to say the least. Now one of them is gone and the other is ?!? no comment. My wife and I have been fans of the bahias for years. We have promoted them with our positive feed back. We have visited them in Dominican Republic too...But that time something has changed. I am not saying never, but not in a near future. HO BAHIA" one bottle of tequila for a 5 stars rating" on trip advisor is a joke. Please stop it before spoiling your reputation.

    Free Wildlife Encounters at the Bahia Zoo

    Reviewed by MsHarryGoldfarb(Glasgow, United Kingdom) on Aug 12, 2018

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property
			4
			out of 5

    Stayed at BPT for 2 weeks in June 2018, primarily to celebrate my sisters 60th birthday ?? & also for a lovely holiday in one of my favourite places, Riviera Maya??. Travelled with sister & two nieces who experienced their first trip to Mexico. We stayed in 2 rooms on top floor of villa 10 & we can all agree what we all had a brilliant time at the BHT............& that was despite a 31 hour delay from Glasgow to get there, an 8 hour delay on the flight home and 4 days of tropical storms!!!!!! You just can’t beat Mexico ???? Rooms were as reviews say, spacious, spotless & well furnished. Do explore around the villa area as we discovers lots of short cuts to beaches, pool, restaurants etc. Golf carts were brilliant & zipped about all day, (look out for the disco ones!!) Hotel staff are all amazingly friendly & hard working. Huge appreciation for all the hidden workforce in the kitchens, garden, & beach workers who work tirelessly to make this place great. Particular thanks to the daily army of guys on the beach working in very hot temps (well, to us Scots anyway!!!) to keep nature’s explosion of sargassum seaweed under control. No mean feat, just google how this natural phenomenon is affecting the Caribbean. The scenery was gorgeous (if you can zone out the wave breakers....) the stretch of beach at the hotel was beautiful with absolutely no shortage of sun beds & palapas and also lots of beach bars along the way for welcome refreshments ??...... a big section of the beach was inaccessible due to numerous turtle nests, fantastic to see nature in action.?? Speaking of which, how many animals & marine life can you encounter without paying an entrance fee!!! Brilliant.....from the variable bird varieties to the onsite ?? Dolphinarium( although ethically I’d like this facility not to be there at all, but appreciate the animals are well cared for and respected). Walking to the hotel or beach you are bound to encounter something......be it one of the many massive iguanas who bask and roam??, cheeky coatimundis raiding the bins, guilty looking raccoons who were caught red-handed in our villa sneaking up the stairs to root for foodstuffs, signs for crocodiles, singing frogs in the evening, cicadas singing , agoutis scoffing grass and coconuts, pelicans & frigates flying overhead........not to mention the great clear views of Big Mike & the myriad of colourful fishes in the shallows( that was what we called the massive fish, Big Mike)????.....lots of wildlife!!!! We ventured out and about to various places, Tulum( tour booked via Bahia Tours at hotel) Playa Del Carmen($30 each way by taxi), we went to Cozumel for the day (did this trip ourselves, taxis, ferry, island tour via taxi($100 for 4 people on Cozumel), visited the Akumal Monkey Sanctuary( picture package $75) ; booked via Bahia tours (5mins from the hotel, minivan from sanctuary picks you up); did a Dolphin encounter, great experience but picture package extortionate( rip off at $225 come on Bahia!!!) When the tropical storm kicked in the fun just keeps on going, the whole hotel just adapts to the weather & carries on!!! What a lesson to learn about adaptability & service provision. The UK could learn from this. Mexico, we love you ?? ......will definitely be back to Riviera Maya

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

    This is the name that will be attached to your review.

    Our submission policy:

    XXXX