Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel and Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel and Spa
    6. Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Hotel and Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    C

    Ten out of ten every time

    Reviewed by Canadamaus on Apr 25, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Absolutely love this resort. This was our fifth time there and we can hardly wait to return. Staff members are excellent. It is truly hard to believe that anyone experienced staff problems there. Any issues we ever had have always been fixed immediately and to our fullest satisfaction. Love the fact that the resort has so much parkland around it. I love to walk everywhere I can. Always able to keep up with my excercises when I am there.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    B

    Would not recommend it

    Reviewed by Blues traveller on Feb 28, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Single

    Very pretty resort and immaculate grounds but once you scratch the surface not so great. Food was mediocre, leaking air conditioner dripping water on floor and created big puddle of water on floor in middle of night, room smelled like mould. Super noisy pool with staff using microphone all day for activities. Super uncomfortable poolside chairs (unless you have a membership- beware the concierge will try to refer you to their salespeople). Other pool did not have enough loungers and they did not fully recline. Very family oriented and might be ok for families.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    Y

    Lots to see and do!

    Reviewed by Yvonne on Apr 29, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    We enjoyed our stay. Beautiful resort and always clean. Food was not as good as at other resorts we have been to. Beach is great for snorkeling but not a typical beach that many would prefer.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    l

    Would not return to this resort!

    Reviewed by lynn on Jan 18, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Outdated rooms, short staffed around pool areas, hounded to do time share seminar, no carts available unless you were a Premium club member.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    j

    well compare every other resort to this one! and well keep coming back

    Reviewed by joe on Aug 03, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    we been to many places over the last 10 years and have come back to this resort as it is a 4+ resort and no other in mexico can campare for the value, the rooms, the spa, the douphins, the entertainment all top notch, great family and adult spots.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    Loved the lazy river!

    Reviewed by ChristineK on Jun 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    Lazy River, nice renovated rooms - nautical feel - not all rooms are renovated so put a request in! I would totally recommend this resort for first time travel to the Mexican Riviera.... you won't be disappointed

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Amazing! Can't wait for my third visit to this resort.

    Reviewed by Sisters on Feb 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    Amazing. Have visited twice. Can't wait to visit again!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    T

    Would recommend this resort.

    Reviewed by Ty on May 21, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    We recently travelled to this resort with 20 family members for my daughter's 10th anniversary vow renewal. We had a wonderful time! The staff were very accommodating, from the moment we checked in until we left. The servers in the restaurants were extremely attentive and the buffet servers were surprisingly wonderful, in particular Ramon Renterio who looked after us the 3 nights we had dinner in the buffet. My wife has mobility problems and when she had selected her food, he took it and escorted her back to our table and held her chair for her. Wonderful! The rooms were large and well appointed and were cleaned spotless every day. The bartenders at the pool bar, although very busy, did a great job of keeping everyone well served, including the youngsters who got a charge out of ordering their drinks just like the adults and the bartenders did not ignore them at all. All in all, from a service perspective, this was a great vacation. However, there were a few minor negatives. First of all, this resort is very large and spread over a huge area. The venues are spread out and for the elderly and those with mobility problems it was difficult because, although there is a shuttle service, there are not enough shuttles and therefore its hard to plan activities with other family members when you cannot be sure of getting to a particular venue at a specific time. Secondly, although there are several al la carte restaurants for which you must make reservations, it is difficult to book more than 1 or 2 couples because of limited space. The Japanese restaurant has only 32 seats and is one of the more popular and we were unable to book it. Lastly, a few members of our group went on an excursion off the resort and were over 2 hours late getting back and no one at the front desk could help us. Their answer was to call our tour rep, who had left for the day. The resort should have a contact number for the bus driver when guests leave on a booked excursion.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    L

    We loved our stay except for the beds and pillows and the smoking!!!!

    Reviewed by L on Feb 06, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    First of all I want to start by saying the staff at the Hotel were excellent, hard working, polite and top notch. The hotel and its grounds were very nice. The food was just average because it was usually was cold to luke warm, things like fish were swimming in sauces, lots of the meats were undercooked and bland dishes. Their barbecued hamburgers on the beach were very good. We really missed fresh fish, shrimp and seafoods. The hotel rooms were beautiful but the hugest problem was the very, very, poor, uncomfortable beds and pillows, if you can even call them that. We asked for more pillows and were there for 12 days but never ever got them. My husband snores so he had his own bed and his was like a canoe! It had huge stains on it and a skimpy mattress pad, mine was just as bad and my sister and her husband had a king bed and they said there was a huge ridge in the middle and it it was hard and like a canoe on both sides of the bed, pillows were also flat and tiny. The housekeeping staff was excellent! We also were disappointed that they allowed smoking all over the hotel and on the grounds. First thing we smelled when we arrived in the lobby was cigarette smoke. We could not even enjoy hanging around the bar and watching the entertainment in the lower lobby areas because of the smoke. The beach should also offer a smoke free area, nothing is more disgusting then being on the beach trying to enjoy the fresh air and being forced to smell and breathe in someone else's bad habit of smoking. We saw small children playing in the sand and their parents trying to keep the garbage from the cigarette butts out of their mouths, yuck! thank you!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 17681 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Good but not great

    Reviewed by s0ny2007(London, United Kingdom) on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Stayed here for 10 nights had a good time.This isn't a negative review but improvements are needed in dining areas. Lovely people massive complex, great spa wonderful massages and facials. Complex is very pretty and the wildlife is amazing. Beach does have seaweed but there is a team working tirelessly working every day to keep it to a minimum. We went to the quite pool and the beach most days. Beach party was the best entertainment of our whole stay teenage boys had the best time ever......... The golf buggies are brill to transport you around the complex special mention to one of the drivers called "Ever" what a lovely guy!!! Rooms were great however a mirror near dressing table would be a good idea. Negatives- OMG the restaurants were not air-con so you would go out dressed up and literally sweat in your dinner we rushed our dinner every night just so we could get out into the air it's really awful, eating out is a big part of a holiday but you really couldn't enjoy a meal and a drink without sweating. Also the food temperature of food in the buffets was always warm not hot!!!! This for us was a bit of putting and for that reason we would not return. The alacarte restaurants were really nice slightly cooler ,however food was much nicer and hot! We tried to book Japanese on our first day of arrival but was told there was no availability for the next12 days as some people had pre booked the restaurant before their holiday and some had booked it twice, not very fair! All in all we had a good time but would say this resort is more of a 4 star than a 5.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Fun time

    Reviewed by Rhys7oaks() on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I have a great time , the entertainment is great the activities are a lot of fun , the water polo game the beach volleyball the dancing lesson and the shows are amazing hervey is a great entertainer , I would definitely come here again because everyone here is so friendly and helpful. The night entertainment is great and everyone taking part is great. A huge thanks to hervey he helped me a lot and made sure everything was okay and that I was having fun at all times.

    Entertainment

    Reviewed by vacationpersons() on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The pool side entertainment is brilliant. Hervey is a very useful and puts on a variety of games such as volley ball, water polo etc. The games include everyone from any age and the swim up bar is great. The evening entertainment is also fantastic

    Water polo game

    Reviewed by Jake_orpin() on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The teams were very fair. And Hervey made sure that everyone was following the rules. He also made sure that everyone was getting involved and having fun. This makes everyone enjoy the water polo. I would definitely play water polo again if Hervey was running it again. Also the show last night was amazing I really enjoyed it. The weather is also great. I definitely came back

    Excellent resort

    Reviewed by Sue H(San Francisco) on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We had a really great holiday at Grand Sirenis resort. This was our first trip to Mexico and this resort didn’t fail at all. The team of workers were absolutely amazing. Every member of staff was friendly and extremely hard working. Massive thank you to Alberto and Jose who were our concierge in ACAT block - we couldn’t have wished for a better concierge team. They were extremely friendly, helpful and always made an effort to ask if we were enjoying our holiday. The food was nice. It’s what you would expect from an all inclusive resort, but there was always a good selection of food from the buffets. And with a choice of different restaurants during your stay there was always somewhere different available to eat instead of the buffet. The Italian restaurant ended up being our favourite. The bars are great! We had a good choice every evening of either the Sports Bar (with AMAZING air conditioning), Sky Bar, Tequila Bar and another Lobby Bar, which we didn’t visit and don’t recall the name. The pool and beach areas were really good. There is a choice of 4 pools which included 2 activity pools, 1 kids pool and 1 quiet pool. They are all excellent and there was only one day when we didn’t get a sun lounger, which was our choice as we decided to enjoy a lie-in that morning and went to the beach instead, where you would ALWAYS get a sun lounger. The drinks service from the staff on the beach and around the pools was excellent. They were there all the time asking if you wanted drinks. Excellent. The seaweed problem. Yes there is a seaweed problem in this part of the world, so if you want white sandy beaches and turquoise sea, you won’t get it in most parts of Mexico, so go elsewhere. But if this isn’t a major part of your holiday, then you will enjoy being here. The room was really good. We are a family of four, with two older teenagers, so we booked 2 separate rooms, which worked really well as the kids loved having their own room and we enjoyed our own space. The rooms are enormous and a really great space for two weeks. The only let-down in the rooms was storage space for clothes. There is a small wardrobe, but no drawer space at all, so we ended up living out of our suitcases, which I don’t like doing on holiday. But not a major problem at all. Overall, we had a really great holiday and I would like to thank everyone at Grand Sirenis Resort for all their hard work in making it an excellent place to stay. PS. There are many other things I haven’t mentioned that were also really good... lazy river, gym, spa, turtle beach, shuttle buses to take you around the resort, ice cream parlour, coffee shop, swim-up bars, the wildlife... wow, so many animals!!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX