Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    G

    Loved our stay, except the room needed a little fixing, will be going back, loved the entertainment staff and the barefoot cafe.

    Reviewed by Gramma loves to travel on May 03, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    When we first got there my husband who does not like change was not impressed. Once he was there for a few days though he loved it! Entertainment staff were awesome. In fact we will be returning in November.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Loved the resort but do not get laundry done there,go buy new clothes it will be cheaper.

    Reviewed by Mario on Apr 20, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Wedding

    I really enjoyed my stay at this resort,great staff,awesome service,excellent food, BUT my only problem is the outrageous price that they charge for laundry service. $87.00 u.s. they charged me for a 1 load of laundry. Lesson learned!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Entertainment crew supreme , I will go again and again.

    Reviewed by Susan on Aug 11, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2014

    Trip Type: Family

    It was the most incredible vacation. Six of us went and six of us loved it. The rooms were great, clean and sparking .drinks were always filled up. The entertainment crew was a bundle of energy, they even got me doing zoom a in the pool. Manuel and Freddy, with Brownie what a team. They always had things to do for you. The food in all areas was excellent no cpmplaints there, I came home 5 lbs heavier even with the work outs. My sister, and daughters and my friends would go back in a second. We went on several packages as well, would not do that again the van broke down on the where are you to the Dolphins missed more than half the show and couldn't get a refund. The snorkel park Xelha, Shellha was incredible would liked to have had two days just there .Swimming in the ocean was excellent,snorkeled out front of the hotel, warm water and white sand, awesome when your coming from the cold pacific. I would go back and do it again anytime !

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 9443 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Amazing trip!

    Reviewed by Leo P(Fairfax) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Now Sapphire was our second time staying at a Now Resort (Now Jade for our wedding). Overall we had an amazing time and would definitely return. Our Travel Agent Ruth Demuth from TripGuy Travel did another amazing job and I recommend them to anyone looking to travel to Mexico. We enjoyed the property, especially the size of the property. It was easy to get from one end of the property to the other. As we've noticed the last time we were in Puerto Moreles (January), the beaches leave more to be desired. The waters aren't that clear and seaweed is everywhere. We went to Isla Mujeres during our trip and it offered better beaches. We spent a decent amount of time in the Preferred Lounge where they had food and drinks. This was a great meet up place and also a place to have some quiet time but also still be close to the action. The food was good overall. The themed restaurants were excellent and the daily grill was great. The Coco Cafe was also very good and had Frozen Bailey drinks that everyone in our party loved. The only place we didn't really enjoy the food was the buffet, specifically for lunch and dinner. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. We did have a small issue with an Amstar rep at the resort who gave us incorrect information regarding the cost of our separate trip to Isla Mujeres. It seemed they were trying to sell us on the excursion rather than providing us the information we needed. Understand this is part of their job but it tooks us back since we've always had good experiences with Amstar. Our day trip to Isla Mujeres was great! We toured the island driving golf carts and spent time at Playa Norte which had the best beach I've ever been to. The resort did provide live music at the pool the first day which we enjoyed and also live music every night in the main bar area which was very nice. Thoughts are a little all over the place as I'm writing this review. Bottom line, we really enjoyed our time and would visit again!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great Pool

    Reviewed by lanan136(Wyoming) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The good was the pools. there are three one main pool is large with plenty of room for activities. The next is located by the children's club. I assumed more for kids. The last was in the preferred area and was very nice. The Staff was nice and attentive. both the pool and staff were excellent! The bad is that the property is a little dated. However, they take good care of it. the beds were very comfortable. We ended up having to move rooms twice. Not our choice. There was nothing wrong with any of them. They were overbooked. We probably won't stay at Now Sapphire again. We liked Now Jade better last year..

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Spring Break trip with Seniors

    Reviewed by nocsteph(Crystal Falls, Michigan) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We traveled with 19 people in our group. The resort is on the smaller side, which is nice because you can get from one end to the other within a 5 minute walk. Good entertainment staff that always had a smile on their faces. Best bartenders/wait staff is on the beach at The Sandbar. Antonio, Caesar, Pedro and Cristell are the most friendly and accommodating people we met. Loved visiting with them every afternoon. We had to split our group up for dinner, only the buffet could seat all 19 of us at once, otherwise the dinning was no more than 6 at a time. Unless we wanted to "purchase" the private dinning room for $600 for one night. The other option was to purchase a bottle of wine (Cheapest was $100) which allowed you to make a reservation, otherwise, it's first come first served. This wasn't a big deal because we would just put our name in and wait in the lounge bar with our pager. We stayed in a Junior Suite, which was a little dated, but still nice. Didn't spend much time in the room, so really not a big deal. It was our high school Spring Break, and the resort was full. 4 different weddings at the resort on one Friday, which was a little uncomfortable for us. We walked right past a ceremony being held in the Lobby/Lounge area while we were still in our swim suites. We had dinner that night at the Bluewater Grill (only seating is outside on the deck) and we had two different receptions/DJs/lights happening on both sides of us. All staff is very friendly, and food was good. We tried all of the restaurants and the CIBU (Mediterranean food) was our favorite, along with the waitstaff.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Be Prepared!

    Reviewed by Kpalmwoody(Stamford, Connecticut) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We just returned from our stay at the Now Saphire in Cancun and I wish we were more prepared, so I'm going to provide you with what you need so that you can be. First of all, this resort is absolutely gorgeous. Weather was amazing and the staff are super friendly. We booked preferred which included access to the adult only pool (but no food over there), 1hr daily at the Spa's aqua therapy room which was pretty cool but we only did it once, access to the preferred lounge which has snacks, drinks, computers where you can print and staff to assist you. So if you don't care about any of those things, don't bother with preferred because those are the only real perks. Food was awful. We are "foodies" so we expect a lot when it comes to our meals at resorts (especially with those prices) and the food here was mediocre at best. Buffet was the same culture mish mosh of food every meal, the two restaurants that we did go to (Cibu and Bluewater) were just eh. We heard that the Japanese restaurant was great however my husband got sick on day 3 which lasted the remainder of our week. Talking to other people we found that many of the men were getting sick there and the only correlation that we found was the local beer on tap. So try to avoid that at all costs. FYI there are only 3 types of beer at this resort; Bud Light, Carona Light and the local brew so if you are a beer drinker and don't like any of these I would recommend staying somewhere else. Some of the mixed drinks were ok, but anything with juice tasted like Kool-Aid, they use very cheap alcohol and the drinks are very weak! I ended up drinking champagne and wine all week because of that. We used the doctor on site and it costs $125 just to get examined and she has nothing available to do tests or any meds that she can provide. We received a prescription which we had to have filled by a pharmacy delivery service at another $60 (cash only). So to summarize, pepto, immodium, Cipro, zpack etc. Ladies, if you require conditioner for your hair bring it! They only provide a conditioning shampoo which was awful and when I requested conditioner we were told that the gift shop has it. It was $10 for a massive bottle which if it was the beginning of the week when I asked I would have purchased because my hair was DESTROYED by the end of the week. Also a warning to those who are animal sensitive; there are stray tabby cats all over the property. They are mostly malnourished and you are told not to feed them. By the adult pool there was a very young cat by herself, limping with face cuts and very malnourished, but they don't care about them at the resort. I've been trying to get a rescue agency in the area to work with the resort to have her picked up and taken care of but I haven't had much luck. Still trying although I'm now home. It really put a damper on my stay unfortunately.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Great week, amazing resort!

    Reviewed by Melissa M(Chilliwack, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We loved staying at Now Sapphire!! The staff were all great! We spent most of our days sitting at the pool and eating/ drinking, and we were very relaxed! My children enjoyed the kids club and the activities they offered. My only negative experience was the saving of chairs at the pool. If u weren’t out by 6:30 am u could not find chairs together. I would see some chairs sit empty almost all day with just a towel thrown on them. Was disappointing. The night time shows were fun, my family enjoyed the rock show the most! Also a lot of seaweed in the ocean, the staff worked hard to clear it, but was a never ending job!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX