UNICO 20˚87˚ Hotel Riviera Maya

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    T

    This place is amazing! We?ve been to multiple resorts in the cancun area and would suggest this place.

    Reviewed by Tyler Ferguson on Feb 27, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    If you are looking for a smaller (for Mexico), relaxing getaway this is the place. The employees were good. Use their ?Butler? service as much as possible. It is expensive but well worth it.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2375 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Amazing Honeymoon!

    Reviewed by Mallory312(Chicago, Illinois) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Amazing hotel which great attention to detail. Everything from the food to cocktails to overall service was excellent. Extremely clean resort. I’m writing this review from the Atlantis in the Bahamas which is HORRID compared to UNICO! If you want an unforgettable, luxury all-inclusive experience stay at UNICO 20 87!

    Unico was fantastico!

    Reviewed by CarolynPM55(Cincinnati, Ohio) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My four sisters and I were looking for a warm, chill, safe, easy and beautiful place to get away in late winter, and we were so pleased with our choice. The rooms at Unico were clean and well appointed. The resort is easy to navigate and elegant - simple cool stone and teak everywhere. We loved the choices of pools, the exercise classes and the activity options - we weren’t looking to be super active and snorkling w the turtles was the perfect option. The beach was less of a draw - small and full of seaweed while we were there. But the water was warm and gorgeous. We were blessed with perfect weather our whole mid-March visit. Most wonderful about Unico were its people. We loved our friendly and helpful waiters Raul, at Cueva Siete and Juan Carlos at Restaurant 20-87. Monso was our adorable yoga teacher - zen and relaxing! And Sergio the salsa instructor was engaging and fun - and a very good teacher! We went back to the infinity pool several days because of its ocean breeze and view and because Poncho took such good care of us. We also appreciated the guidance and help of Alejandro at Travel Makers for the snorkeling trip. The restaurant options and food quality are well above a typical all-inclusive. Unico is definitely more geared to couples and low-key relaxing. If you’re looking for a big Cancun party, go somewhere else and leave this serene, beautiful place to us!

    Lovely resort

    Reviewed by ottobahn(London, United Kingdom) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This is a lovely resort, and I don’t regret booking it, we had a fantastic time at Unico. Rooms, as the whole property are beautifully designed, with a lot of thoughtful local touches. Housekeeping was perfect. We had one of the ground floor rooms, with the swim-up pool, which given the fact that there are plenty of beautiful pools to swim in we never used. I had booked the hotel about six months in advance and got an excellent rate. Service was excellent throughout, and the staff was absolutely lovely. The beach and pool service never stopped really. We spend most of our time at the quiet pool or the beach. The quiet pool was very beautiful, and never busy. The beach is a bit rocky in the central bit, and you have to go to the northern end, right at the boundary of the property, where it’s fine. The main pool was a tad too noisy for us, especially when the party got going in the afternoon – I suppose this comes with all-inclusive hotels, even at the higher end. The excellent room service always worked like clockwork, on days that we went for excursions, we ordered from the app and had breakfast delivered to the room. Overall the food was very good and having a choice of restaurants as always was a real plus. Booking was not an issue, but we normally booked a few days ahead, but I think they always keep table for walk-up bookings. We enjoyed Cueva Siete for the food, but found the restaurant lacked a bit atmosphere, and the outside patio felt a bit like an afterthought. The Italian was good, but not better than your good local pizzeria. The pan-Asian restaurant had excellent sushi and sashimi, but the hot options and the show cooking were average. The beachside restaurant made a good steak. All in all, the food was good, but somewhat overhyped on the website, it’s good but not quite a gourmet experience. Maybe we are spoiled but what we thought was really missing was a bit more of a fine dining option. Also, for lunch there is only a buffet at the beachside grill. I’d expect a la carte options in a 5-star. We settled for pool/beach service on most days, so not a massive problem. One thing we didn’t really liked was that the hotel was not really set up for outdoor dining, patio spaces felt a bit like an afterthought, and that apart from the grill the restaurants were away from the beach. It felt a bit like eating in a shopping mall at times. Same applies to the bars, we loved Bar Balam, but would have preferred to sip our cocktails by the beach. We did a number of excursions, and the signature excursions to Kaan Luum, Tulum and Muyil were superb. We also did the ziplining, one of the inclusions, which was great fun, but with a million other tourists. The spa is first class, and the treatments great value. The gym is also one of the best hotel gyms I’ve been to. The hotel caters for large events, which can disrupt your holiday pleasure. At some point during our 10-day stay, a very rowdy crowd arrived for a conference, and several loud parties went on in the block late into the night, something the hotel struggled to control, not worthy of a 5-star that wants to be a Leading Hotel of the World. All in all, this is a very good hotel with excellent service and facilities, and if you book it at the right price you won’t be disappointed.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great week at Unico!

    Reviewed by Navigate60652918324(Rochester, New York) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Went in February with my wife. Had an awesome week! The property is beautiful and the service was exceptional. Food was high quality and the drinks were amazing. Luis is a master mixologist and Oscar at the quiet pool has a few tricks of his own. I was told the beach was small and not spectacular before we booked it and found that to be true, but with the pools and the beautiful setting we didn’t seem to mind.

    Excellent Food/Beverage and Service

    Reviewed by ionx(Minneapolis, Minnesota) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Loved: No bracelets, no WiFi passwords, easy check in. Rooms are beautiful (the robes, mini bar and toiletries are above and beyond any resort I have stayed at)and the hotel grounds well kept. The spa tub on the deck is wonderful for a post pool dip or after dinner relaxation. Drinks and food thru out the resort are very fresh and above average. Nicolas at Mi Carisa, Nicolas at Mura, and Ricardo at 2087 were really a gems and made our dining experience excellent. Pool service was exceptional, Pancho and JC took excellent care of us. Like: There is pool staff to help find you a spot and also bring over an umbrella if you need it. The resort allows a bit of a towel game with people reserving the best locations and loungers without using them most of the day. The “local host” program has some inconsistencies. Some guests raved about all the extra touches they received. We were contacted thru WhatsApp but never met our host in person. He did help with confirming our transportation to the airport and asking the timeshare salesman to stop calling our room at 9am. Dislike: “Legends” only pool area. We booked this resort because there was no “premium level” and all guests are the same level of all inclusive. Only to find an entire section of the pool is off limits. We also felt that the conventions on site did impact our dining experience with large groups taking up entire seating areas and the attention of the whole staff (and the bartender). There were large tables set up off the lobby as well to coordinate the people attending the conventions. It all was a bit distracting and impacted the overall relaxed feeling of the resort.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX