Luxury Bahia Principe Samana

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 1175 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Quiet, nice place

    Reviewed by SLT1962(Burlington, Canada) on Mar 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We came here, booking last minute, because we wanted a quiet, adults only 5 star resort. I don’t think this is 5 star, but it’s very good and we got very good value. The positives are that it is clean, the staff are very polite and friendly, the food is good, the weather the first week of March could not have been more perfect. We saw whales swimming in the sea, there were the typical shows at night, and there was a great guitar player and singer one evening at the Sunset Bar. The negatives are the beach, which is still okay, but is very small, you can’t walk for miles in the sand. The sand is not the pure white sand, and the water is not that beautiful Caribbean turquoise, but it’s all still pretty. The staff at lunch and dinner are very attentive, but getting a cup of coffee at breakfast could take longer than what was acceptable (a couple of times, 15 minutes). Tea? It was so bad, I started bringing my pot from the coffee maker in the room because some days they just never got around to bringing me tea. But these are minor quibbles. Neither of those things can create a negative impression because this resort is a gem. Don’t come if you have mobility issues. There are tons of stairs. We are Canadian, and there were many of us and Europeans, and we didn’t talk to anyone who was disappointed (other than with the tea situation!) with their holiday. If you want to party, this is not your place, but if you want a quiet, relaxing vacation, I highly recommend this place.

    Masterful, elegant, superior.

    Reviewed by 89166(London, Canada) on Mar 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our first occasion at this excellent resort, (November 2018), and there is so much to say: I have read many reviews which comment on the stairs at this facility, and how this was an issue. Let me explain that this resort does have more stairs than most. However the stairs are distributed in many small stair cases vs. one or two long cases. Surely, if you are a person who needs machines or an apparatus for mobility, then this place may not be for you. However, you would be fine if you need a simple device such as a cane. I have bad knees, a bad back, and Fibromyalgia, and I had no problem whatsoever. Use your head. NOTE: The above is about the stairs ‘outdoors’. There is an elevator indoors to make sure you get to your room, and navigate the facility with no problem. Who should not go to this resort? If you are about beverage soaked, chest pounding, loud, vulgar, declarative, profane, non stop partying; then you should find an alternate resort. This destination is about being laid back, quiet, chilled to the max, and rejuvenated. The staff we’d encountered were quite a contrast to those in Punta Cana. They are even more humble, quiet, and perhaps a little shy, (essentially; country folk vs. city folk). What a joy it was to meet these individuals. However, anywhere you go in La Republica Dominicana, the people are always wonderful, and it’s our privilege to have been welcomed into their nation each year. As at other facilities; language can be a barrier from time to time. The staff work very hard to be understood, and to understand the guests as well. But you can help by learning a little Spanish before you go. With all the website and app tutors available, there is no excuse to arrive without some skill. Bring your best manners, patience, and complete respect for these lovely people who seem to have mastered the task of service excellence. About this facility: This resort is an amazing structure set into a postcard. It is clean, and impeccably manicured. The vistas are breathtaking. The restaurants are absolutely on point. Whether you go to the buffet, or one of their a la carte venues, you will be impressed by the food, the presentation, and by the staff. Front desk staff are all expert ambassadors for the resort and for their nation. Efficiency is always accompanied with a warm smile that conveys a real friendship. Rooms are large, bright, well laid out, and comfortable. The housekeeping staff works very hard every day to keep the rooms spotless and well stocked. Any issues, that might require maintenance attention, are resolved quickly and expertly. As I said above; the staff at large is laid back and a real treat. However there is an exception. The “Animation Team” is composed of pure energy. They make sure that guests are always involved in activities as well as interactive education about the Dominican culture. There is a perpetual supply of smiles and giggles available to guests. If you don’t have a great time around these people then you need to go back and try again. I never stopped smiling when they were around - which was all the time. The after-hours entertainment is as top shelf as any place we’ve ever been to. Being a smaller resort, the shows are more intimate, and often accompanied by local vendors who never push you to make purchases, (but you should buy from them anyway). The food service and beverage service staff are all warm and sincere people. Tableside service at the buffet or a la carte restaurants is very attentive and congenial. Coffee cups and water glasses are rarely empty for any length of time. Dish cleanup is expedient without being intrusive or imposing. Bar staff is professional, engaging, and second to none anywhere. Finally: The management at this resort is always visible, cordial, and accessible. One person of special note is Senor Astacio. Mr. Astacio frequently walks confidently among the guests, in order to introduce himself, and to ensure that each person feels welcomed, and is having an unforgettable time. I ask the staff to forgive me if I have missed anything of note at your resort. The following staff members are certainly worth special mention for exceptional service: (Por favor, perdona cualquier error de ortografía.) Front Desk: Murton, Jennifer, Alfredo, Daniel, David Pool Area Restaurante: Leonardo Pool Bar: Adonis, Ramon Buffet: Luis, Ingrid V, Eliu, Jose, Claudia, Leticia, Dileny, and Katrina (gracias por cuidar bien el "Cookie Monster"). A La Carte: Bianelli, Dileny, Wendy Room Service: Jose M, David (front desk follow up) Animation Team: Kamilka, Luis (a man of perpetual motion), Nell, Freddy Maintenance (front desk staff came to our rescue): David (power blip), Murton (safe issue), Alfredo (internet tutor). Housekeeping: Isobel Kitchen staff: Each person works tirelessly behind the scenes to provide massive service and quality, even though they never get properly deserved recognition from us guests. THANK YOU ALL. Management: Senor L. Astacio (Thank you so very much for everything) Special note to Luis – Animation Team: Me preguntaste muchas veces si hablo español. Sí lo hago, pero rara vez lo hago. Tengo muy poca confianza y temo ofender a mis anfitriones. Tu paciencia conmigo fue muy apreciada). Hints for guests: - Learn some Spanish – Manners and Salutations minimum. - Minimum gratuities @ $2 per drink round, $5 per table at meal (buffet), $10 per table (a la carte), and $10 per day for housekeeping. - Respect and dignity – This is their country, not yours - so behave properly - Patience for staff - Maximum consideration for staff and fellow guests. - Email me here if you need more detail.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Fantastic resort and staff

    Reviewed by desine(Pembroke, Canada) on Mar 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    A week here isn’t long enough. The resort is well maintained and the staff is professional and friendly. They make the effort to remember what you like and help with your Spanish. Our butlers were wonderful, the bar staff friendly and the service staff was very good. The views can’t be beat here and it’s amazing that the beautiful views are everywhere in the resort. The only inconsistency that we experienced was the cleaning staff in the room. Somedays it was perfect and other days the fridge wasn’t restocked or the bed made completely, etc. Small things in the overall stay just weird as the rest of the staff was so above and beyond. We will be looking at staying here again as it has been a pleasure.

    Quiet little resort, great for relaxing.

    Reviewed by weirdguyingreen(all over) on Mar 03, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Quiet little resort if you want to just relax. No kids, great food and evening activities. If you want to party it up this isn't the place for you...lights out by 11pm. Friendly staff, would recommend going

    Great Place wonderful People

    Reviewed by FozzieBear48(Bracebridge, Canada) on Mar 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We traveled here in November 2018 this place is Great from the people, food, rooms and the views. The Beach is small but there was lots of room. It was cool to see cruise ships sail pass. We would definitely would come back to this resort.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX