Muthu Playa Varadero reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating

3.5 Very Good

  • Cleanliness 3.5
  • Location 4.0
  • Rooms 3.5
  • Service 3.5
  • Value 3.5

2127 TripAdvisor reviews

TripAdvisor users rated this property 5 out of 5

Great vacation!!

guliyam2023 on Feb 01, 2023

We had a wonderful vacation again at the Muthu Playa Varadero Hotel. Every staff members we encountered, from the check -in to the cleaning staff were delightful and eager to help. The room was clean with unforgettable ocean view , the sandy beach is amazing , the food was good. Every night the show and the live singers. Clean and relaxing place to be and relax. Thank you for the great vacation and do hope see your again!

TripAdvisor users rated this property 5 out of 5

Happy to be back!

daylea2014 (Emo, Canada) on Jan 29, 2023

We have stayed at the hotel before and keep coming back. The hotel is older and smaller but our rooms are clean and we think the staff are the best! We did bring a couple extra towels, travel mugs and ketchup. This was our first time back since January 2020. We could tell that the number of tourists are down, never had any trouble finding a chair at the beach or a line up to get an omelette for breakfast. We are already dreaming of returning next year!

TripAdvisor users rated this property 5 out of 5

Loved it and will do it again.

Kim A (Edmonton, Canada) on Jan 24, 2023

Had a great time. Went with family and friends and we had a blast. Beach is beautiful. Excursions were great. Food was good. Will do it again and again. Entertainment was great, enjoyed everything I did.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 4 out of 5

Overall very good experience - again :)

LovetheSun86 (Ottawa) on Jan 24, 2023

We are repeat guests at this hotel for over 20 years and will keep returning each year as we love the hotel property as well as our friends we have made over the years with the hotels wonderful staff. From our room maid Teresa, to the entire bar staff, including front desk and guest services folks we are happy and satisfied with our experience. Lets not forget Allen who works in the hotels A La Carte restaurant as he is outstanding and goes out of his way to make sure the guests are happy. Our most recent visits to this hotel include April 2022 and Dec 2022 and thinking of heading back sometime this March! We find the food and drinks overall decent for the price point to stay here at this hotel. This combined with the beach front, weather, great staff and the price to visit here for us its perfect. My final thoughts here are for those who visit Cuba need to understand Cuba before going. Having travelled to DR, Mexico, Jamaica also in the past, there are no nicer and warm people then the Cubans. Well done guys, see you soon! Ottawa, Canada

TripAdvisor users rated this property 1 out of 5

Worst resort in Varadero

Elizabeth S (Ottawa, Canada) on Jan 21, 2023

The worst resort on Varadero stretch, even by Cuban standards. Does not come close to 3 stars, not to mention 4. Was built probably 40 years ago and never been renovated, everything falls apart and nobody cares. Same lousy food every meal - 5 bowls of lettuce, 2 bowls of cucumber and 3 bowls of cooked carrots - every lunch and dinner, for 7 days - sounds ridiculous, so see the photos. No towels, not in the room and not beach towels. And that's just the way it is, nobody is surprised, "yes, we don't have towels". Even better, the don't have bed sheets! Imagine sleeping on 2 or 3 pieces of small bed sheets and waking up on bare mattress to search for them! See the photo, it's unbelievable. But then you think, ok, nevermind, I came that far, at least I'll have some famous Cuban rum. Guess you hear from a bartender: "No. I don't have any glasses" And that's it, he is done with you, nobody will try to make an effort and actually bring the cups. Don't waste your money, there are plenty of good hotels

View All