Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Cancun
    5. Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
    6. Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    L

    We very impressed. Very happy we choose the Dreams Sands.

    Reviewed by Lily on Mar 28, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    We loved our stay at the Dreams Sands Cancun. No wristbands need. No towel cards to worry about. Room was fine. Beds were very comfortable. Min bar was restocked daily with beer, bottled water and soft drinks. No dinner reservations were required. Never waited more than 20 minutes for dinner. Would go to the bar for a drink and our table would be ready when we returned. The food was well prepared and presented. And all the food was edible. We are not buffet fans and only ate there upon our arrival at the resort at 2 pm as our room was not ready. The rest of our meals were at the a la carte restaurants or the Barefoot Beach grill poolside. The Coco Cafe was open 24/7 and offered pastries, hot and cold specialty coffees, cupcakes and ice cream. The cafe also had an over night buffet for late night snacks. The pools were fine except the infinity pool was not heated and did not warm up until later in the afternoon. Fantastic swim up bar in the larger heated pool. Great beach with white sand. The ocean water was only three feet deep for several yards and the water was crystal clear. We loved our stay at the Dreams Sands Cancun. Smaller resort and everything is nice and close. Great location and close to the bus stop. Staff very friendly and always went above and beyond. Never seen such friendly, hard working staff. We made sure we tipped the staff for their great service.. We try a different place each year but would not hesitate to return. Almost called my travel agent to extend our stay as the week went by way too fast.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Armando Vega and Mauricio Barradas in the Preferred Lounge truly love their jobs and it shows !!!

    Reviewed by Shari Stashko on Mar 15, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    My husband and I have travelled to All Inclusive resorts for the last 15 years, but never have we returned to the same resort twice. We may be re-thinking this logic. The beach has been the best we have ever been on. The sand is like while powder and soft. We visited every restaurant they had on site, and each place offered very tasty foods (and I am a picky eater). The staff around the pools and beach were alreadys ready to help and there with a smile. But what made our trip the most memerable was when we stopped into the Preferred Lounge. Armando Vega (bartender) and Mauricio Barradas (concerige) were two of the best respresentatives of the whole resort. They are so friendly and open and I would advise any person looking for a relaxing vacation to go find these two men!!! They made our good vacation, exceptional vacation and I totally will be recommending my family / friends / or anyone thinking on taking a vacation to go to this resort. You will not be disappointed!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    T

    Avoid this hotel

    Reviewed by T Roberts on Dec 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    For the most part our week at the Sands fell short of being a 4 or 5 star hotel. The rooms were date and there was some construction going on that was not mentioned on the hotel web site. Our room was located right next door to the construction so all we heard was hammering from first thing in the morning to late in the afternoon. We were eventually given another room only to listen to kids roller blading up and down the halls. In addition the room frig was not restocked each day. Every couple of days we had to phone down and have some come up and restock it. Also people were allowed to smoke in non smoking area's and were even served drinks by hotel employees. We have stayed at other resorts in the cancun area which were much nicer and 30% cheaper. The one thing that the Sands has going for it was the beach area which was nice and the waiters in the restraunts were very good. In summery check around before you book here. I will not be back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    T

    Will not be back

    Reviewed by T Roberts on Dec 16, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    For the most part our week at the Sands fell short of being a 4 or 5 star hotel. The rooms were date and there was some construction going on that was not mentioned on the hotel web site. Our room was located right next door to the construction so all we heard was hammering from first thing in the morning to late in the afternoon. We were eventually given another room only to listen to kids roller blading up and down the halls. In addition the room frig was not restocked each day. Every couple of days we had to phone down and have some come up and restock it. Also people were allowed to smoke in non smoking area's and were even served drinks by hotel employees. We have stayed at other resorts in the cancun area which were much nicer and 30% cheaper. The one thing that the Sands has going for it was the beach area which was nice and the waiters in the restraunts were very good. In summery check around before you book here. I will not be back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7418 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great Resort

    Reviewed by shakiraC_12(Brooklyn, New York) on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was my second time visiting this resort. This is a smaller resort but we still had a great time. We had the Preferred Club access which included private check in/ check out, seperate area on the beach etc. Armando Vega in the preferred club is amazing! This was our second year there and he still remembered us. He makes any drink you want, and is very attentive. Last year the beach was clear but this time around there was a lot of seaweed in the water ( I did see workers trying to clean it up). They added a Restaurant called Gaucho Grill which was great. I would like to see more entertainment at night like other Dreams Resorts.

    Confirmed room types not honored

    Reviewed by 812vishalb(Jersey City, New Jersey) on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Prior to our visit we contacted the front desk regarding upgrading to a balcony room. They confirmed that we will be given a balcony room. At check today in we spoke to Gustavo who stated that they gave away all balcony rooms to other guests. I wanted to like this hotel but they made such a horrible impression upon check in. This is my first day here and Dreams Sands customer service did not deliver on their promise and made no attempt to correct the situation. Im disappointed by this choice in hotels.

    Honeymoon

    Reviewed by Amy P() on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We are extremely sad to be leaving Cancun today after spending 10 wonderful days in the dream sands cancun hotel. The service was exceptional from start to finish. The hotel boasts 7 restaurants from around the world, all of which have amazing and delicious food. The world cafe buffet staff are beyond helpful and accommodating, special thanks to Irving, for doing a “lovely jubbly” job in looking after us throughout our stay. Jorge helped on many occasions with our bags, room information and general hotel info! The spa is outstanding, we enjoyed a couple deep tissue message that made as way more relaxed, as well as enjoying the hydrotherapy circuit, including the steam room, sauna, jacuzzi and hot tubs! We will miss this place and can’t wait to visit again! Thank you for having us!

    Ann Frank woods

    Reviewed by Ambassador526818(Cancun, Mexico) on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Could not speak highly enough of this holiday, rooms spotless, staff are one nicer than the other, special mention to sandy that meet are needs on the beach, a beautiful person, veronica at the bar a funny lovely lady, Katrina always sa prompt service at breakfast abraham who looked after us for dinner, and last but not least our newly adopted daughter daniella who was everything u could wish for friendly courteous and a genuinely a beautiful person. Everything was exceptional so a big thanks to all the staff, for the food drinks and much much more xxxx

    Amazing beach-NO SEAWEED and a staff that goes above and beyond your expectations

    Reviewed by jchomeseller(California, Missouri) on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our 2nd stay at Dreams Sands. We absolutely love this resort. It is not huge but large enough to have many dining options. It feels more intimate and the staff remembers who you are. It's not a party a resort nor brand new. The rooms are comfortable, beds & pillows were perfect. We slept great and we loved sitting on the balcony watching the sunset. The location is excellent. It is a 15 minute walk to a huge flea market that is ideal for souvenirs, 2 level grocery store that has anything you need and 10 minutes from the ferry that takes you to Isla Mujeres. I highly recommend making the trip to the island. Playa Norte is gorgeous. Tons of shopping there too. Be sure to rent a golf cart and travel to the end of the island. The views are breathtaking. We had so much fun. The beach is fabulous. The best we have ever experienced. So many of the surrounding resorts are dealing with seaweed. Dreams sits in a bit of inlet and misses it. Gorgeous water and tons of sea life. We brought our own snorkels and loved discovering sting rays and beautiful fish. Be sure to take a ride with Marcos on the catamaran. It's free but be sure to tip. He does a great job. The food is fantastic. Olio was our favorite. If you choose the preferred club, Olio is a breakfast option. It is so good! We ate breakfast and lunch there the majority of our stay. Alfonso was a fantastic waiter and took great care of us. Truly, the entire staff is top notch. The Italian was fabulous as well. We met the chef who is actually from Italy. All the restaurants are great but if you get something you don't like, no worries. Order room service when you get back to your room. We absolutely loved the coffee bar and you can grab a crepe while you are there. The entertainment staff...wow. They work so hard to keep you having a great time. Big thanks to Tania for our Spanish lesson. It was so sweet of you to take the time to create a make shift "classroom". Mikhail made us feel right at home and we had a blast in the lobby bar singing along to our favorites. I wish I could remember his name but the gentlemen who talked my guys into playing volleyball was a lot of fun. Sharon in Desires kept our drinks coming and so friendly. The foam party on Friday was quite the experience. There is nightly entertainment and we enjoyed all the shows. The preferred club lounge was awesome. The concierge was so helpful and we found the best bartender in the resort here as well. We always found some great snacks or desserts waiting for us. We will without a doubt be back to Dreams Sands. Thank you for making a much needed vacation so wonderful.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX