Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Cancun
    5. Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
    6. Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    L

    We very impressed. Very happy we choose the Dreams Sands.

    Reviewed by Lily on Mar 28, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    We loved our stay at the Dreams Sands Cancun. No wristbands need. No towel cards to worry about. Room was fine. Beds were very comfortable. Min bar was restocked daily with beer, bottled water and soft drinks. No dinner reservations were required. Never waited more than 20 minutes for dinner. Would go to the bar for a drink and our table would be ready when we returned. The food was well prepared and presented. And all the food was edible. We are not buffet fans and only ate there upon our arrival at the resort at 2 pm as our room was not ready. The rest of our meals were at the a la carte restaurants or the Barefoot Beach grill poolside. The Coco Cafe was open 24/7 and offered pastries, hot and cold specialty coffees, cupcakes and ice cream. The cafe also had an over night buffet for late night snacks. The pools were fine except the infinity pool was not heated and did not warm up until later in the afternoon. Fantastic swim up bar in the larger heated pool. Great beach with white sand. The ocean water was only three feet deep for several yards and the water was crystal clear. We loved our stay at the Dreams Sands Cancun. Smaller resort and everything is nice and close. Great location and close to the bus stop. Staff very friendly and always went above and beyond. Never seen such friendly, hard working staff. We made sure we tipped the staff for their great service.. We try a different place each year but would not hesitate to return. Almost called my travel agent to extend our stay as the week went by way too fast.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Armando Vega and Mauricio Barradas in the Preferred Lounge truly love their jobs and it shows !!!

    Reviewed by Shari Stashko on Mar 15, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    My husband and I have travelled to All Inclusive resorts for the last 15 years, but never have we returned to the same resort twice. We may be re-thinking this logic. The beach has been the best we have ever been on. The sand is like while powder and soft. We visited every restaurant they had on site, and each place offered very tasty foods (and I am a picky eater). The staff around the pools and beach were alreadys ready to help and there with a smile. But what made our trip the most memerable was when we stopped into the Preferred Lounge. Armando Vega (bartender) and Mauricio Barradas (concerige) were two of the best respresentatives of the whole resort. They are so friendly and open and I would advise any person looking for a relaxing vacation to go find these two men!!! They made our good vacation, exceptional vacation and I totally will be recommending my family / friends / or anyone thinking on taking a vacation to go to this resort. You will not be disappointed!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    T

    Avoid this hotel

    Reviewed by T Roberts on Dec 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    For the most part our week at the Sands fell short of being a 4 or 5 star hotel. The rooms were date and there was some construction going on that was not mentioned on the hotel web site. Our room was located right next door to the construction so all we heard was hammering from first thing in the morning to late in the afternoon. We were eventually given another room only to listen to kids roller blading up and down the halls. In addition the room frig was not restocked each day. Every couple of days we had to phone down and have some come up and restock it. Also people were allowed to smoke in non smoking area's and were even served drinks by hotel employees. We have stayed at other resorts in the cancun area which were much nicer and 30% cheaper. The one thing that the Sands has going for it was the beach area which was nice and the waiters in the restraunts were very good. In summery check around before you book here. I will not be back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    T

    Will not be back

    Reviewed by T Roberts on Dec 16, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    For the most part our week at the Sands fell short of being a 4 or 5 star hotel. The rooms were date and there was some construction going on that was not mentioned on the hotel web site. Our room was located right next door to the construction so all we heard was hammering from first thing in the morning to late in the afternoon. We were eventually given another room only to listen to kids roller blading up and down the halls. In addition the room frig was not restocked each day. Every couple of days we had to phone down and have some come up and restock it. Also people were allowed to smoke in non smoking area's and were even served drinks by hotel employees. We have stayed at other resorts in the cancun area which were much nicer and 30% cheaper. The one thing that the Sands has going for it was the beach area which was nice and the waiters in the restraunts were very good. In summery check around before you book here. I will not be back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6850 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Dream Anniversary vacation

    Reviewed by cheried492019() on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our first time at an all inclusive resort and we lucked out with Dreams Sands! The staff was so welcoming and helpful. At the gym Miguel was tops & at Bordeux Francisco became our friend. All staff ????

    Amazing hotel catering for vegans.

    Reviewed by Wanderer767214() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just left Dreams Sands and wanted to write our review to say how happy we were with the service. If you are vegan (or not) and want a wonderful stay in Cancun go to Dreams Sands. Before arriving we emailed the hotel to state we were vegan, the concierge Dolce responded saying to visit her when we arrived. Dolce was amazing and she supported us in phoning the head chef in the hotel informing him we were vegan. Every night we went to a different restaurant where they specially cooked a 3 course vegan meal for us. The restaurant managers would come over to us asking if our food was ok. Our favourite was the Italian restaurant called Portafino. Our waiter William was great and would inform us of the food the chef had made for us. Jorge Kauil continually checked on us to make sure we were enjoying the food. We would like to say a big thank you to Mario the chef who went above and beyond in making such tasty and beautiful looking vegan food. We went to this restaurant twice. The first night we informed them what food we liked which they delivered. The second time we let Mario prepare something for us which he didn’t disappoint. The salads were amazing, the soups were unique and tasty and the main (see picture) looked and tasted fantastic. We would like to say, Dolce made our holiday extra special by being so sincere, understanding, kind, considerate and friendly.

    I wish I knew. No more.

    Reviewed by Massimo C() on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We planned a nice family vacation in a beach resort in Cancun. We had experience in this type of vacations having spent years in various properties. We read reviews and studied the location and the activities promoted and went for it. My teenager son traveled with us. We arrived a little earlier and the front desk reminded us that check in was going to be at 3:00PM and we had to wait. He remarked that the hotel had free-alcohol beverages! The employee that greeted us was immediately trying to sell us a "promotional breakfast" and did not even offered us to tour the resort. We waited patiently till 3:00PM then, my wife kept asking about the room and nobody was able to provide an estimated waiting time. She got very upset and finally they asked "how many beds you need in your room" (obviously a very odd question). The building is old and the room did not have a power outlet for a computer. Funny that there is a coffee machine that you cannot use for that reason. The beach is beautiful but small as it is the resort. There was absolutely no activity for teens (in spite of website information) and the gym was really small and limited. My son was in a bad mood most of the stay. The adults in the resorts seem to enjoy the free-alcohol more than we have seen in other places. People drunk in the morning and wasted in the evening, even in the pool. Certainly not a place for family vacation. One day we had rain and the water almost flooded our room (I am sure others had similar problem) and there was roof leaking in the lobby! Nice restaurants and good food, suggest to stay away from buffet. The entertainment is ..well, that is for another review but, you get the idea.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Bad customer service

    Reviewed by MirelaC259() on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Picked the Hotel because we have been there before Dreams took over. Was so happy to go back, enjoy the beach and rest. This was ruined as soon as we got to front desk to check in. The GSA was so unprofessional and with no regard for guests that we immediately regretted our decision. Meeting other guests everyone had the same complaint. Beach is beautiful, Housekeeping was great, however our excitement went away from check in and aside from the beach the rest of our vacation was not what we expected. Please train the front office on Customer service and the Hotel will do much better. Extremely disappointed.

    Resort has good and bad points

    Reviewed by Evelyn G() on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Traveled March 30 to April 9. Pros: beach and water is fabulous. Water is Crystal clear and blue. The staff is very hard workers and very friendly and tries to accommodate your every need. The cons: Food was absolutely awful. Streak tasted like liver. Grasshoppers in stuffed mushrooms. Mexican food was not authentic. The buffet did not have any normal food. Pizza was awful not edible. The rooms were very small and showers were awful. When you turn shower on you have to step in shower and cold water hits you no way of turning water in then getting in shower. Rooms need updated. Only place for breakfast was room service or buffet. One sit down restaurant however only if preferred member can go there for breakfast. Their are beds in beach, however you must pay extra for this. Part of beach is roped off for preferred customers only. I travel quite often and this is my and the group with me opium s of this property. Only way I would return is if rooms were updated and better food. I hope this has helped.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX