Finest Playa Mujeres by Excellence Group

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Cancun
    5. Finest Playa Mujeres by Excellence Group
    6. Finest Playa Mujeres by Excellence Group review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    M

    Great for families

    Reviewed by Marie on Jul 05, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    This is a great resort for families. The pool and waterpark are great for kids. The pool is also divided and has an adult section. So you can put the kids in camp and have some quiet time with adults. The rooms are very spacious and clean. The restaurants are great. So many that we couldn't even try them all. The room service was a bit lacking. Food was bland. Overall, a great stay for all.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    T

    Not a 5 * any more! 4 hours for food! Musty stinky rooms!

    Reviewed by The Family Trip Planner on Apr 24, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    This is going to be a bittersweet review. I love Mexico and it's people. That still applies! But this was supposed to be a week at a 5 star, expensive property that came highly recommended. We have been terribly disappointed by Finest. We booked it August 2016 for a mini family reunion in April 2017. We had 3 swim-up suites booked with a request that they be as close together as possible. I realize there are no guarantees. The request was on file and I emailed the property who did email me back about a month before our arrival, as a reminder. The front desk clerk must've been new and did not know the property layout. He had us in the same building and assured us "07" and "08" are next door to each other and "04" is just three doors down, same side. Well, not so much! 04 and 07 were on same hallway, 3 doors apart but 08 was on a different corridor altogether. So, quite spread out and two of the rooms 07 and 08 are at intersections of pathways so quite busy areas -- not the best locations, for sure. Anyway, moving past that first let down! The rooms - all 3 - smelled severely musty/mouldy. To the point that allergies were triggered and headaches. Most noticeable when you left for a meal and returned. Housekeeping staff did their best with a lightly scented cleaner and I would think it was gone, 30 min later it was back. Horribly unpleasant. Way beyond that tropical scent that comes home on your clothes. This was nasty! The staff generally were great, just couldn't do enough for you, honestly! The problem is there's not enough staff! Where it's noticeable is in every single restaurant and bar. These men and women are run off their feet! The same person is hosting, clearing, taking orders, serving...maybe cooking, lol? I started to wonder when one night our meal took 4 hours! Not by choice!! Property is only 3 years old maybe. Corona contract ended 6 months ago so no Corona on site! New management perhaps??? Somethings wrong and it's not the staff's fault!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    Amazing family resort!

    Reviewed by Ang on May 01, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    It was the first time we took our children 7 and 8 years old on an all-inclusive vacation and it couldn't have been a better time. The resort was amazing and we loved that we didn't have to make a reservation for dinner. The staff treated us very well throughout the resort. Our room was spotless. We loved the free wifi throughout the resort and we didn't find it slow at all anywhere on the resort. The food was excellent...but just be aware that you you cannot dine with shorts, t-shirt and flip flops except at the buffet. The drinks were free poured and it was the first time we actually had waiters serve us pool side consistently! The beach had ample loungers and we didn't find it crowded at all. We will be back again!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    Beautiful resort. Great water park for kids.

    Reviewed by CBFreeb on Jul 21, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    We really enjoyed our stay at this resort. It is located in beautiful Playa Mujures which was approx 30 mins from the Cancun airport. There are two water park for the kids. One was for ages 3-6 and the other was for ages 7-12. The older kids' park was fantastic! There is also a playroom with pool, air hockey tables, etc. The resort had lots of live music which was fantastic. The night of the 'beach party' they had an amazing band and a colourful dance floor. The whole family had a blast. There were 8 restaurants and a few bars. The buffet was really good as they have chefs that will prepare your eggs, or grill meat for you right on the spot. Overall the food at the restaurants were really tasty. However, be sure to read the dress code prior to leaving. Men were required to wear long pants and closed toe shoes for the majority of the restaurants so be sure to pack those in your suitcase. They will request that you go back to the room to change. Also, plan to go to the restaurants when they open, otherwise the wait could be fairly long. The service at the restaurants were fairly slow potentially due to being under staffed. It was probably the biggest complaint of our trip. The rooms were really spacious - our room had 2 double beds and there is a pull out sofa. The fridge was well stocked with beer, pop and water. They also stocked the room with chocolate bars, cookies and chips. In addition, the hotel supplied bottles of vodka, rum, wine and tequila in the room...all included! The showers are really big but there are no drapes or curtains which would require coordination if you have older kids sharing the room with you. We will probably go back to this resort but may want to see if the service time improves over time. I hope it does because it was a beautiful resort, with friendly staff and great amenities.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    E

    WOW!!!!!!

    Reviewed by EK on Jun 15, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Beyond amazing! The rooms are beautiful and a great size, the staff are so wonderful and made sure everything was satisfactory when ever we came accross them. The Japanese restaurant was incredible and the Market Place Buffet was the best I have had in Mexico. I can not say enough about our wonderful experience at The Finest Playa Mujeres and will be back ASAP!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5176 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Amazing family vacation with great service!

    Reviewed by Curious41098027308() on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We were blown away by the amenities and the choice of food and beverage most importantly by the staff. We were well looked after the beach by Sean, Damian, Jose and Francisco. At the convenient beachside restaurant we were made very welcome by Felipe, Cesar, Inocencio and Apolinar. Our kids loved the Imagine Club and special thanks to all the team there including Lizabeth, Kimberly and Monserrat. We can’t wait to visit again.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Amazing all inclusive!

    Reviewed by AshRob2010(Greenville, South Carolina) on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I spent a week here and never wanted to leave. We have visited multiple all inclusive resorts and this one is top notch. Everything is so beautiful and clean. Staff is attentive and friendly. We stayed in the excellence adults only side in a swim up suite and it was amazing!! Room was huge and clean. We stayed outside by the swim up all the time and it was so relaxing! All of the restaurants were delicious. We loved not having to have reservations. Food was very good for resort! Love the piano bar, although there’s no piano! Was a fun nightclub atmosphere late night. Beach is beautiful with the best concierge at your every request! We can’t wait to return to Finest!

    Amazing!! Loved the spa.

    Reviewed by travelTIPS1234566() on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just stayed at Finest and it was amazing. Food was awesome and everyone in our party of 6 enjoyed it. By far the best kids club. So many pools so the people who just want some peace and quiet can get some. The beach is amazing. The staff is super friendly and unlike the people in the other reviews, they were able to English fluently. The shows were amazing. We went to the spa and they accommodated a kid in our group by giving her, her own nice robe. The heated water bed and rocking bed was great. The rooms are top-notch. Lives up to he 5-star rating.

    Second visit in 2 years

    Reviewed by Dilila65() on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We spent 10 wonderful days in the Finest Club side of the resort this past January, and although we had a few days of cloud and some rain, we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. After checking into our room, we decided to ask the Staff for an upgrade to a 2 storey room with plunge pool, there was nothing wrong, or lacking with the first room, we simply wanted the 2 storey... Martin took care of any/all requests in a timely manner, and would call our room periodically, to check if there was anything we needed. The beds and pillows were very comfortable, and overall the rooms are very well appointed, you can even browse the menus of the 10 restaurants on the TV in your room! The food at these restaurants was even better than we remembered, the portions and selection left little to be desired! The beach and pools were clean, and activities abundant. Los Dunas was a great place for lunch, but if you preferred a pizza on the beach, no worries the Staff would make it happen, particularly Francisco and Sean, their service was outstanding! We enjoyed participating in the cooking demonstrations with Alfredo and his crew, and the pool activities in the afternoon were a blast. There was even an amazing Rock band "Sweet Emotions" that played on the beach, IMO they should have been headlining the evening entertainment! Top notch musicians with an excellent selection of songs, a really fun band! We visited the Spa twice, once for a massage, and the next day for the Hydromassage, which was excellent. The entire Staff go out of their way to help make your trip here feel special, they were friendly and extremely courteous, and for that reason we will be going back.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Excellent First Visit

    Reviewed by Travel07884103384() on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had visited two resorts for our stay in Mexico and Finest was by far better. We had a great time celebrating our anniversary and Valentine's Day. Love the option of food being available 24/7 and the sweet corner was our favorite place to visit. Wish there was a larger beach, that's the only draw back but we still had a great time. Service overall was great and we will be back again next year.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX