Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    G

    Great Stay.

    Reviewed by Great Hotel on May 30, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    It is a remote location, so if you want to travel 50 minutes or more to towns be prepared. If however you plan to stay on resort its perfect. Easy walk to all venues. The beach is not easily accessible if you are mobility impaired. That being said, the sand and water are beautiful. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, they take pride in the resort and Country.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    B

    Great value, fantastic beach, friendly resort staff and locals.

    Reviewed by Brent H on Jan 13, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    Our family 4 couples had a great vacation here from December 28 to January 4th. The weather was great, the hotel was good value and the beach was awesome. Westjet flights were pretty much on time and great service. Hotel is a solid 3.5 to 4 stars. Food was good, very good if you waited for freshly made and the New Year's Eve buffet was great! Service was great and a la carte restaurants were a nice change from the buffets. Nice pools and good overall resort. Catamaran excursion and Remedios/Santa Clara city tour were great.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    ce fut l un de mes plus beau voyage ...

    Reviewed by Diane on Mar 22, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Friends

    Nous avons aimé visité votre hôtel ..le seul commentaire c,est qu'étant donné les nombreux visiteurs ils fallait souvent faire la file pour aller se servir au buffet ,et au bar il manquait souvent de bière au début de l'après-midi ,mais en général nous sommes très contents de notre semaine de vacances et je le recommanderais n'importe quand ...merci aux personnel courtois et chaleureux..aux sourires et à votre belle humeur..vous êtes des gens sympathiques qu'on a le goût de revoir...Aux gens des spectacles BRAVO BRAVO BRAVO VOUS ÊTES EXTRA......vous avez beaucoup de talent....merci merci et merci xxxxx

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7638 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Had a blast for the 2nd time!

    Reviewed by mcp1232018(Quebec City, Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Wonderful week. Special thanks to Elaine from Customer Service! Excellent animation with Lisdania and the Team. Joice at the beer garden will make you enjoy happy hour and Ariana at the Asian restaurant turns a simple dinner into an animated happening!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Fun in the Sun

    Reviewed by Ilove2travel1970(Ottawa, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Our family of 5 (age range 15-68) stayed here from March 6-10. This was our second stay. We had two rooms in Bungalow 7 which is one of the Transat Distinction bungalows (0765/0773). We paid extra for an ocean view and it was beautiful. Our room was cleaned daily with fresh towels and restocked fridge. Plenty of bottled water. Showers were lukewarm which was disappointing. A/C worked perfectly. This is a nice size resort and easy to get around. Beach is beautiful. We took advantage of the free catamaran rides. We spent a lot of time at the fun pool. We had excellent service from Reuben who was always walking around checking to see if we needed anything. Pretty easy to find chairs even after 10:00 am. Activities by the pool were fun but got a bit repetitive particularly the fashion shows which just got annoying. The entertainment staff was great and have amazing energy and personalities. We got to know Lanys who had a great sense of humour and was lots of fun. We had no problems exchanging beach towels. We made daily rounds to the beer garden which serves beer in a bottle. Always a fun time and place to meet new folks. The gentleman bartender there was great as well. We ate at the snack bar and the little resto right next door which serves a nice lunch. We had dinner at all the a la cartes which we enjoyed if not simply for the fact that we didn’t have to fight the crowds at the buffet. Similar to our last stay, the line ups for the fresh cook stations are long and slow, making it difficult to eat as a family. If you wait it’s good, but sometimes we just opted to go to the precooked options which were limited in quantity and quality. The staff in the buffet however is incredibly hard working and always greets you with a smile. For breakfast, we frequently just ate at the snack bar which offers a nice omelette and great coffee without the crowds. Seemed to be a shortage of certain types of alcohol at times so we mainly stuck to beer. When we first arrived the resort was serving canned beer everywhere we were kinda disappointed 5 days in when the draught beer started flowing again. A negative for us is that we were all covered with little bites all over our bodies. They are not sand flees as we spent very little time at the beach. The resort fumigated every night around 6:00 pm but it seems to be having little effect. The resort is maintained and workers are always out and about but it really could use some deeper cleaning and sanitization. We loved the vibe of the lobby bar. We travel frequently and this is really one of our favourite lobbies. Always fun and talented entertainment, with the exception of the fashion shows (again)! Great coffee bar there as well. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and had lots of fun. I would recommend this resort for a laid back traveller who doesn’t need perfection. The staff is very kind and work so hard for so little.

    Loved it!

    Reviewed by Hugapalmtree(Summerside, Canada) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    It was our first time to Cuba. We were both afraid of the food and we have admittedly become resort snobs over the years. My husband decided he was ready. I told him that he was not allowed to mention the food unless it was with enthusiasm or humour. It was better than I had worked it up to be in my mind. If you see a line up...get in it because it is fresh and invariably better. We paid to go to the Cuban restaurant. For 9 pesos you get nice music in a quiet atmosphere, whit linens, better food, tasty drinks served by the sweetest young man, named, Omar. In our experience breakfast can be the highlight of the food. This place is the exception. Again, wait in the lines. PS the fruit is ALL from cans. Great staff. The drive to the resort was mesmerizing. You really get kicked in the head when you think about how we live vs the daily struggle in Cuba. Lived the drive. The Santa Clara airport was fast enough. They take a picture of you when you get there and when you leave. Check in was nice. We upgraded to the Montecristo package. That was worth every single Penny. No stops on the way to the resort, rum in the room, building are nicer and closet to he beach, an extra ala carte etc. Everyone else hot checked in and our luggage sat in the lobby for hours. I took this time to give away find if my humanitarian aid. I was not expecting the reactions. I had a big bag of black dress shoes that I bought and never wore. It was like the front desk girls won the lottery. I asked them if they knew anyone with a fix month old baby. One girl piped up that her aunt had one. I went over to my lonely luggage in the lobby and pulled out a Jolly jumper. They had no gentle idea what it was but they knew it is something great. I had bought it a fee days before I left because I heard they have no access to baby stuff. I brought 16 packages of baby wipes. This was like ?? come early. I chased ever pregnant woman down to pass these jewels out. Apparently, they are $15 pesos each ($20 Canadian) so no one could afford to buy them. Over the week I have out a mountain of goodies like bottles of Advil and Tylenol and baby meds, bright hair dye ( they like vibrant colours), chocolate bars and new clothes that still had tags because my kids never tried them on. A guy, Lazaro, cried a bit when I gave him a pair of brown leather boots in the box in this size. Please bring STUFF to these folks. They don't have access to things they NEEDS. Shoes were the #1 hot item and oddly chocolate bars. The room was great. Top floor of building 7 with an ocean view. The air conditioning kept the room like a meat locker. I was in heaven. Clean, staff was lovely. Nothing was dirty or even in rough shape. The beach is as clear as my bathtub. Warm, no rocks, no seaweed, no garbage and water was a colour that I didn't believe exists in nature. The sand is as smooth as sugar. Lots of chairs, lots of shade. Anyone who complains is mean to puppies and old people. The restaurants are better than the buffet so we tried them all. The seafood restaurant was a disappointment. We had to discuss this evening because there was no enthusiasm. The Adian- kinda loves it. The atmosphere was lovely. The food was delicious. We bought tickets on s nice bottle of wine. We won. I don't like red so we gave it to the waitress. She was so happy. You can gain some pretty amazing karma in Cuba. We went to this place twice. I never saw one mosquito until the last night. Not ONE until I went home the washroom at the Asia restaurant and the were 100+. The Italian- waitress was delightful. She recommended the lasagna. If I got this at home I was be sad. In Cuba...yum yum. Good experience. The Romantico- this was my 50th birthday. Elaine, in guest services arranged the reservation with a cake and champagne. Nice atmosphere. This was the first time I found a waitress to be not nice nor helpful. She liked my husband so when she brought me the completeLy wrong main I ate it. I was concerned I might get a spit sandwich if I complained. It was delicious. 15 minutes later she figured out the mistake because I saw the lady at a different table get my dinner. The waitress was very apológetic and we got to try the third meal. The one I got by accident was better to it was a win. The lobby was a happening spot. The staff there are brilliant and I want them all to be my best friends. The Cubans are the nicest people in the world. Canadians have a reputation for being nice. Compared to Cubans we are self entitled jerks. I was embarrassed by some of the behaviour of a few Canadians. Cubans love each other. These are my kind of peeps. We are lazy hermits. I have no comment on the shows because we never go to them. The pools looked lovely but I am a beach person. We walked by the many pools on the way to the beach. The lady in the ice cream bar was 8 months pregnant and still sweat her guts out waiting on all of our ice cream needs. For this, I thank you Kathy. My best friend is going to the same resort on March 22 and I am getting her to bring SHOES to my favourite girls in the lobby bar. PLEASE pack your back, then weigh it. The difference between the weight and 23kg/ 50lbs is the room you have for humanitarian aid. The airlines don't weigh the carryon so pack any heavier stuff in there. I would definitely return to this resort.

    My 50th Birthday

    Reviewed by GingBurke(Toronto, Canada) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    When my husband asked me where o wanted to go for my 50th Playa Cayo Santa Maria was the only place I wanted to go. There were 32 of us Oct 19-25 and we had the time if our lives. Roberto and Gari always had a table ready for us for all meals at the buffet and that was so appreciated. We missed Lisdania on this trip but she always gets us in the mood to have more fun. She is one of the reasons we visit this resort. The swim up bar is great a a whole lotta fun everyday from 3-5pm. God beach is breathtaking, the food is great and all the staff is amazing. Chino and the animation team are above any resort we’ Been to in Cuba. This place hasn’t seen the last of us.

    Friendly, fun & family orientated!

    Reviewed by ashleerobin() on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We went for an all inclusive family vacation at this resort for a week. The resort was great, the staff was friendly & the beach was beautiful! The entertainment staff made the trip so enjoyable, so a big thank you to Lisdania, Chino, Yordi, Susu, Mailu, Riko, Dino, Lany, Yadi, Calancha, Leo & Tito. A special thanks to Lisdania! She was so caring, patient & cheerful to my kids (4&6). They wanted to follow her around everywhere! They absolutely adored her & have been asking to go back just because of her! Would definitely recommend this resort!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX