Valentin Perla Blanca

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    S

    You couldn't pay me to go back

    Reviewed by Shirley on Jan 29, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    The hotel and pools are both nice but that's all they have going for them. They lacked staff and no management to keep things under control. We would never go again and was glad when the week was over. Toilet didn't work for two days and couldn't get it fixed, no toilet paper in any toilets in lobby's and doors didn't lock, food was always cold in buffet with long lines to get anything at all to eat, kept running out of food e.g. Bread, juice, fries, etc for long periods of time, double booking rooms (people coming in when you are in the room), fridge wasn't restocked, towels not changed and many more complaints.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    T

    Relaxing-could've been better

    Reviewed by Travelgurl on Jan 21, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    I stayed at the Valentin Perla Blanca for a week. It was a good hotel with a solid staff and fantastic beach. The hotel is relatively new October 2014 but a few tweaks can be made to make it better. For example, my friends and I signed up for the Privilege package which included a 30-minute massage, lobster dinner on top of the three a la carte reservations already included in the vacation package, and access to Privilege areas ie. special seating in the buffet area and a la carte restaurant, beach. Personally if I were to return to the hotel, I would pass on the Privilege part and save myself a few bucks as I saw no value for it. There were either none or very few areas on the beach or pool for the Privilege people. And we didn't get any special services by sitting in the designated Privilege areas for our meals. The food was ok-if you go the a la carte route, sometimes they didn't have items listed on the menus. So ask what do you have to save yourself the trouble. Lastly, If you go, I'd also recommend getting a suite far away from the theatre and 'party' pool-when there's something going on, it can get very loud.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    C

    Beautiful resort, fantastic service, will definitely be going back!

    Reviewed by Chris on May 11, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Me and my fiancee stayed at Valentin Perla Blanca from April 29th until May 7th of this year 2016 . Upon arrival at the resort we were thoroughly impressed with what we saw. They had a live dance performance happening in the lobby area, the view of the ocean from over the bar was breathtaking and the entryway and hall themselves were very open and spacious. The staff were excellent and very polite and accommodating and went out of their way to make the stay as pleasurable as possible. There was the odd language barrier but it's to be expected and it never really got in the way of us enjoying ourselves. The room was very comfortable and the air conditioning was as good as the A/C in our condo back here in Mississauga. The mini-bar is stocked daily at no extra cost with a few beers, pop and a big bottle of water, we had fresh towels and intricate designs laid out with the sheets each day and we had a surprisingly large selection of TV channels as well though we didn't use them much. If you want to party, use the main pool by the theater and if you want to just relax and be quiet use the pool around the back of the property by the staff area. You can also get a wi-fi card for 2 convertible pesos per hour at the internet cafe by the main desk as well as use the phones at a cost. Also be sure to hit up the buffet behind the front desk and the main bar after check-in if you're hungry or the snack bar by the main pool. All items are included at both locations. The a la carte desk is located down the stairs directly in-front of the main desk and to the right. Staff member at a desk with a computer. We are already planning our trip to go back next year and hopefully this review will be somewhat helpful as I hope to answer some of the questions we struggled with on arrival. Our WestJet rep Joel was very helpful but wasn't there until the next day at 9:30 am which we were informed about on the bus to the resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    Belle experience.

    Reviewed by Jacques.G on Oct 29, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Nous avons sejourne la derniere semaine d'octobre.Avons apprecie notre sejour.Plage et piscines superbes ,chambres et exterieurs propres .LE personnel attentif et accomodant.La nourriture de qualite.CEpendant si vous desirez manger quebecois il faut rester au quebec.Rapport qualite /prix gagnant.Nous recommandons

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Worth a repeat visit!

    Reviewed by Shaun Jessome on Sep 20, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    This won't be a long review, but, hopefully it says a lot. We are booking our second trip to Valentin Perla Blanca - we were there last January - because we want to experience the beauty, the beaches and, especially, the people, again. There were minor issues last time - the resort had only recently opened - but nothing that affected our enjoyment of where we were. Management was at the resort the 2nd week we were there and you could see that the new staff was working hard to improve. We are not world travellers, but we have been to other resorts. Some definitely were more professional in serving our pampered North American sensibilities - but none were more genuine about wanting us to enjoy ourselves. If you're not having a good time, I suggest the following: - go to the beach. WOW, that's beautiful! - hug the person you're with! We all don't do that enough and in Cuba, romance is in the air. - have a drink - they're great! - have something to eat. There's lots of it and it's not that bad. - talk to the person serving you. You will find them to be caring, proud, interesting, often very articulate and true about wanting you to enjoy yourself. Cayo Santa Maria was in a rural district before it was a resort centre. Good, hard-working, caring people. They welcome your interest in their country and themselves. We were even fortunate enough to "buy" our bartender a drink to celebrate the birth of his baby. If you can have all that, Plus, 30 degree temperatures in January; who's going to complain because the sheets haven't been changed in 2 days! Just saying......

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    C

    We loved the resort and will go back.

    Reviewed by Cubacouple on Mar 07, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    The resort had only been open a few months and was experiencing some growing pains, but overall everything was great. The staff was amazing. The beach was to die for and it was a great resort just to get away and RELAX....I would go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    A 3 dressed up as a 5

    Reviewed by Saskie on Jan 17, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    The hotel itself is lovely. Spacious and luxurious rooms on a stunningly beautiful beach. But aside from the beach and rooms, there is nothing here that you can't get at any other 3-star resort in Cuba. The service was poor, the food was worse. The staff were friendly and tried very hard, but it was just too disorganized, too many shortages, too many changes. I felt sorry for them. Given the price we paid it was OK value for money, but there was nothing to set the Valentin Perla Blanca apart from any other established 3-star resort. Maybe it will improve with time, but for now this is a 3 dressed up as a 5.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4421 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Would never go again

    Reviewed by Sharon J(Port Rowan, Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Asked to be moved after 2 daus, mold on bathroom wall, algae in the pool, buffet was very limited and most bins were empty, lots of cats running around and customer service was bad, lots of tiles missing in bar area, this was definetely not a 4.5, however they did move us to another resort and paid the fees for us

    Fantastic!

    Reviewed by garykj15(Enderby, Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Was there March 6th-13th with my 21 year old son. Absolutely no complaints, lots of bread, beer, and friendly people. If your going soon go say hi to Frank and Yoel at the beach bar best bartenders ever.

    It's Cuba - beautiful, but keep you expectations realistic

    Reviewed by TorontoAmber(toronto) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    First off - understand if you are travelling to Cuba you aren't going to get the same level of service or food that you would on some other islands. But, that isn't why you go. You go because the beaches are gorgeous, the weather is gorgeous and the culture and people are awesome. The resort is clean. You have a somewhat comfy bed to sleep in and all the alcohol and food you can eat. Is the food great? Nope. In fact, they will likely run out of a number of things while you are there. The week we were there (Jan 2019) they ran out of (at different times), bread, chicken, hot dogs, "meat", ginger ale, vodka and a sauce that resembles ketchup. Does that matter? Nope. Eat whatever you can and have a good time! Go to the little bar that looks like a tiki hut (take the path behind the "Mexican" restaurant). Jorge is the best bartender! Go easy on the resort staff when your hairdryer doesn't work...or when you can't get the restaurant reservations you want. Just chill - you're in Cuba!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Amazing Place; amazing people

    Reviewed by 794kimberlye(Ottawa, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We booked this adults only all inclusive trip in order to relax and recharge. It was all we asked for and more. Our room in the 25 block faced the activity pool but the foliage concealed our balcony and we loved the greenery and the muffling of the music and the slightly tipsy swim up bar folks... The room was spacious and well cared for by the wonderful Ilene...could not have asked for better care. Bar fridge was well stocked and filled whenever we wanted. Loved the service, the spacious resort, the beaches, the flowers and the guests—-extremely friendly and fun crowd—-virtually all Canadians on March Break! The lobby bar takes your breath away with a view of the ever changing colors of the sea. The beaches were astonishingly beautiful. You can walk for miles and the kite surfing was spectacular to watch...also, a very gradual deepening sand bar makes the beach very accessible and safe...just gorgeous. Food: Pay no attention to negative reviews here; if you can’t find something to suit your palate here, you should just dine at home. Every effort was made to prepare a sumptuous buffet to North American tastes with what they have. Grateful for the abundance! We took the Rum and cigar excursion and highly recommend it...lots of history and gave us a real appreciation for Cuban life and work...had an opportunity to tour the oldest city, Remedios, roll our own cigars, eat a formal Cuban dinner and try cigars while sipping aged rum. Bonus: everyone over 18 took home a 750 ml anejo rum. Can’t say enough positives about this resort and this vacation...thanks for the hospitality amigos and amigas!! Hasta in 2020!

    Just returned about 4th trip

    Reviewed by Gail B() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Well I just returned yesterday and want to share my experience. Valentin is one of my favourite resorts in Cuba. I travel twice a year to Cuba. I find the staff are amazing and this was proof for sure when I became sick last Sunday with sunstroke. They got me back to my room, had me check out, provided extra water for my room also checked in on me the following day. I usually travel solo and this was a solo trip. The beach is long and amazing. Great beach party one night. Farther to the right is more sand dunes. I ate manly at buffet and snack bars. The 24 hour snack bar by activity pool makes a wonderful ham and cheese omlette. Did not have any issues with the food and lots of selection. Too many wonderful staff to mention them all by name! The lobby bar is the go to place for Cuban coffee or cappichino. My favourite drink is pina coloda with chocolate tequilia. Amazing. Always great enterainment in lobby at night. I like the way they have internet now without a card to key in information. They give you a piece of paper with info and you have a account. I just went in a few times during the week and added time to my account. Info did not change so easier for me. I was in building 31 on the 3rd floor oceanview. Been in this building before and it is one of my favourites. The pool by the quiet pool is wonderful and booth to exchange towel is close by. I can not wait to return again. As a traveler you always will see some who overdo it or are not polite. I take it with a grain of salt. Maybe they don't get away as much or who knows how their life is. As a female solo traveler common sense. I get happy but never drunk. Always aware of my surroundings but have always felt safe in Cuba. Again I say the staff can't be more kind and service is amazing. I so much appreciate their help and assistance when I was sick. Hats off to you all at Valentin.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX