Iberostar Cozumel

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    C

    Great resort, food needs improvement!

    Reviewed by Cozumel chill on Apr 28, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    I have been to Iberostar in Jamaica and really enjoyed the accommodations and food. I was expecting similar in Cozumel. Unfortunately it did not feel like it was the same chain/resort. I have been to Mexico at various resorts over the years at least 7 different resorts . Experience has always been good. Not sure why Iberostar Cozumel failed to feel like Mexico ? Grounds are nice and well maintained. Rooms are decent, good size and sound proofed. Only issue we had is there was absolutely no humidity control. The bedding and our clothes felt wet to the touch for the entire week. As my wife would say "Ew!" Staff is wonderful, cheerful and always helpful. That's the good. Now the not so good. Food, all the meals got old quick from the buffets to the a la cart restaurants. The steak house didn't have a charcoal grill, all was cooked on flat iron soaked in corn oil. Italian restaurant meals were bland almost no spices/flavour. TexMex restaurant had nothing remotely close to Mexican flavours we were in Mexico right ? In closing, we will not be going to this resort again. Mostly because of the food. It's tolerable but not enjoyable for a 4 star rated resort. Nice beach but shallow sand. Careful when playing volleyball, you're playing on top of a giant rock.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5734 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Fun and Sun

    Reviewed by SunburnKansas(Kansas) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our third stay at Iberostar Cozumel and it was just as great as we remembered from the last time we stayed. The service was fantastic, I especially want to thank Wilbert for taking such good care of us at breakfast and lunch. Izzy took great care of us at the beach and around the pool. The food was good, we were disappointed at the Asia restaurant, we were expecting something other than mostly sushi. The choices at the main dining area for breakfast and dinner were great. The only disappointment we had was the building we were put in. Building 5303 is located right behind where they hold nightly shows. It was loud and went until late. I could of gone to the front desk and complained but since we have stayed in the past we thought we would of gotten a better building location, also we asked for our friends to be in the same building we were in and that did not happen either, but we saw others were in the same building. Since we had booked our trip April, 2018, we thought we would have a better chance at getting a better building location. I have a question for management, how can I request a specific building for 2020. We asked at the front desk and they basically told us to go to the Iberostar but the area on the web site to pick a certain building was broke. The young lady who cleaned our room each day was just a delight.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Wedding Ruined

    Reviewed by BrishelleLeigh() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I have stayed in Iberostar before and had a great experience. I choose to use this hotel for my destination wedding because the sights are beautiful. I made a mistake by going back. 15 of us booked with Apple Vacation (cheap Caribbean). 7 of us had several issues. My dad was told he did not have reservations despite the fact he had documentation showing he did. He stayed with my husband in our room and I was fortunate enough to stay in my moms room. Though he paid apple vacations for his full stay my husband and I was still charged for the first two nights of his stay. Our aunt and uncle were told they had to leave Iberostar because their reservation showed they were checking out days earlier then what they paid for. My mom and her friend were told they had to switch rooms because their was an issue with their reservation. The hotel never once apologized to me, my husband,or our guests for the confusion. We will not return.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-1

    Great resort!!

    Reviewed by Trip_Surmiser05(Birmingham, Alabama) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We absolutely loved Iberostar. It’s not a 5 star resort, but for the price it cannot be beaten. The food was good to very good, the service was excellent, and the entertainment was amazing. Nice sandy beach but with rocky entry. Some snorkeling but not too much. The only negatives for me are that you get 1 special restaurant visit for every 3 nights I think? (But the buffet was good) and the distance from town. Otherwise would stay here again in a heartbeat.

    Scuba Dive

    Reviewed by Blair A(Toronto, Canada) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Came to dive. Researched many resorts with dive shops. As i am still here for 2 more days i am not dissappointed. I,ve stayed at many places in mexico in the past and this is the best to date. Nice service people, great ambiance, nice rooms, have no complaints. Very nice resort with functional rooms. Love the shower, lol. Food is very good, am a picky eater and was lots for me. Good quality food. Dove with Dressel Divers. They are awesome. Best mexico vaca in years. I leave in 2 days :(. I am not a young chap, although am younger than santa clause, just to give u an idea of the reviewer Happy trails

    Wonderful Visit to Iberostar Cozumel

    Reviewed by Sciz_Milson(Smyrna, GA) on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We were 2 adults and a 5-year old staying at the Iberostar Cozumel from February 23 - March 2. This review will be geared primarily toward the Star Camp and Star Friends, with some additional thoughts at the end on the resort overall. We selected this resort specifically for the Star Camp for the little one and are very pleased that we did. Each day there was an itinerary of activities (water sports, arts and crafts, jungle treasure hunt, movies, kids bingo come to mind), for kids to choose from. My daughter went each morning to the Star Camp and selected the activities she wanted to participate in that day, and when she wasn't involved she would step out to the pool for some swimming and then go back in for another activity. I want to offer a special recognition to Elisa, Ismael and Erika at Star Camp for all of their hard work and attention to the kids. The Star Camp space is a small classroom environment, very playful and friendly, with plenty of supplies. Each kid gets a cubby with their name on it for their personal gear. There is a sign-in/sign-out sheet to ensure the safety of the kids when they are away from their parents, and a private restroom not accessible by other hotel guests. We posted up at the pool very close to the Star Camp so we were always nearby, but I would have felt very safe leaving the area with the Star Friends in control. The Star Camp also has a small playground adjacent, which can be used by all guests, not just those participating in Star Camp. Our daughter even got to participate in an evening kids talent show (and she nailed her song) - An A+ to Star Camp and Star Friends Elisa, Ismael and Erika. As for the resort overall, we stayed in a standard, ground-floor bungalow with 2 full-size beds. This was enough room for the 3 of us and was comfortable, clean and quiet. We were in room 3502, about middle way between the pool/beach and the lobby. We received excellent cleaning service each day. The staff, as many have pointed out, are outstanding. A special recognition to Francisco and Cristian in the dining room for their excellent service. We ate at each of the specialty restaurants - the steakhouse and tex-mex were great, although the asian style didn't appeal to all in our group. The buffets are themed each night and we found a lot of variety and never bored of the dining experience. The grounds and buildings are well-tended and the gym had an appropriate mix of equipment (enough for a vacation workout). We lost hot water one night and it was back on the next day. A couple of last thoughts. I agree with some reviewers securing a lounge chair is a tricky business. Although I deride the practice, there is simply no other way to ensure you'll have a place to sit, especially if you are in a group. The solution is to secure a chair and actually use it during the day. I think most reasonable fellow travelers will allow a small window of reserving a chair as long as you intend to use it. We didn't get to see the nightly shows - I wish they could have started them a bit earlier, but that is just personal preference. Overall, a great visit and we look forward to returning. Great Job Iberostar.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX