Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca

2.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 2 and 3 stars. 2 star - Budget accommodation with limited facilities and services. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    M

    AMAZING stay, wonderful people, beyond stunning beaches!

    Reviewed by Mparragh on Feb 13, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    LOVED LOVED Club Amigo! Awesome value for your dollar. absolutely STUNNING beaches, very clean, friendly staff, relaxing atmosphere. Would definitely make this my annual vacation spot!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    j

    great staff / great beaches /great food & entertainment

    Reviewed by june on Dec 15, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    staff is excellent --my personal thanks to Pablo (westjet rep) for helping find my luggage & suggestion for excursions, also Inglvis (reception) very knowledgeable, always smiling and helpful & to Elias (reception) for helping me find my luggage --all staff goes out of their way to help and beach is superb--water pressure in main bldg is low at times but many reno's going on so am sure this will be fixed--i will be back

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    P

    2019 is my 7th year would not go if its no good

    Reviewed by Patricia Cotter (muma) on Oct 28, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    It does not matter the location Everything you need is there

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    W

    A place to return to - year after year!

    Reviewed by Wendyni on Jun 05, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Friends

    Great value, unbeatable beach with the added bonus of the public beach right beside it, also other smaller, private beach areas gave beaches a 5** truly deserved way more , several pools with no lack of poolside chairs to choose from, there were enough choices of places to eat we found our favourites and stuck with them, weeded out the places we didn't care for as there was definitely different levels of service and quality of food , hotel staff friendly and most more than happy to accommodate our requests we wanted rooms side by side with friends who arrived a day later than us - the staff made it happen , rooms basic but clean we stayed in the bungalows which were very quiet away from main resort area however steps away from the beach AND the PIRATE BAR. This bar, and it's charming bartender Riggo, was without a doubt the main highlight deserving their own 5**** plus....., many activities at the resort and close by there were two separate places to go for a horseback ride - lovely well kept, well mannered horses With a guide who took the time to explain safety and the basics to my two inexperienced friends, this was exceptional value. This resort, although older, and it's staff deserve better reviews than some I have seen, the number of guests that return year after year cause they love the place, are the real proof - some having stayed 20+ years or more. It was hard to leave, I will return and stay longer next time.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Think Twice Before Booking!

    Reviewed by Mel_L on Mar 20, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    I visited Club Amigo Atlantico with 3 other people for our March Break. We weren’t expecting anything fancy, as we knew it was a 3-star when booking. However, when looking through the photos on Sunquest and anywhere else, we were extremely disappointed with the first room we were given Standard upon our arrival. The room can be compared to a military bunker or worse . It wasn’t clean, it smelled of mould and it was extremely old. I believe these are the first buildings. Some standards look great on the outside new paint job . It simply wasn’t sanitary and I don’t know how this hotel can place anyone in these rooms. We then asked for another room and were put in their tropical section, which was better and cleaner. Still not like the photos online. Unfortunately, the resort charges per day for any room changes as it is considered an upgrade. We then upgraded again and ended up in the villas #9, to be exact . Now this room was what they showed in the photos. Beautiful room compared to what else they give travelers . The food was pretty good, all things considered. Yes, it’s bland, but they please every palate this way. Add some salt & pepper, bring your own spice and make it enjoyable for you. They offer à la carte options Mediterranean, Italian, Cuban, Seafood , which all have great options. However, those who chose Italian weren’t very impressed. I do recommend the Cuban; it was really good. We also did Mediterranean and if it wasn’t for my overcooked and dried out chicken, it was delicious. If we had to choose a destination in Holguin, Club Amigo Atlantico would not be on our list. Although we had a lovely vacation after changing rooms, we were extremely disappointed with the amount we had initially paid for this hotel only to get a dirty room . We ended up having to pay an extra $300 approximately, to get the room we expected to get the one shown in photos . We would have booked elsewhere had the photos properly reflected what we would receive as a room.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    A

    Far better than many reviews !!

    Reviewed by A happy vacationer on Mar 05, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We had always avoided this resort as there were so many bad reviews but this year the price was so good for a 2 week vacation we decided to take it. Well it was great value, yes its certainly not a 5 star but I would certainly book it again. Food was good and the staff friendly,if you expect the food to be as it is in your home then stay home. Its a third world country with hard working friendly people that are happy to see you visit their country.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3246 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    VERY pleasantly surprised!

    Reviewed by Desmei(Ontario) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had a very narrow window to travel this spring; we normally travel closer to actual spring (aka no more snow), but had to go during Ontario and Quebec's March Break due to family reasons. Due to this, prices were CRAZY high everywhere. Even the most brutal hotels in Varadero were sky-high (like $1300 pp for Club Karey lol). We rolled the dice and chose this hotel, mostly due to the very helpful reviews. Flight: nothing to do with the hotel, but it was fine. Ish. Sunwing on a 737 Max 8. VERY tight. Wish the seats were incapable of reclining because there isn't room. Slight delay, as we had to be de-iced, but we landed pretty close to our original arrival time. Airport: we arrived at the same time as a Sunwing flight from Montreal. Immigration took forever, but there are nice clean bathrooms on the left-hand side of the hall. Toilet paper AND seats! Once we had our luggage, we were loaded on our bus and shortly on our way. Transfer: we had a great guide, who pointed out interesting sights along the way. We've never been to this part of Cuba, so it was really great that we got to do the drive in daylight. Beautiful countryside. Hotel check in: Only four of us got off at our hotel. The lobby was pandemonium (I soon found that's what it's usually like) but checkin wasn't too bad. We were brought refreshing rum punch, and got our room key, and sent on our way. We were surprised and pleased that our room was ready for us, as it was only 12-1:00 pm. Room: Because of the pricing, we just booked a Tropical room and hoped for the best. It was mostly okay! Great central location, on the ground floor. The air conditioner was either brand new, or had just gone through a dishwasher, as it was immaculate. Our room did not smell musty or moldy. It was small, but functional. We had a shower only (no big deal as I don't "do" tubs) and it took me a few days to figure out how NOT to fall out of the bathroom (there's a random step up) but once I did, it was great. The ONLY major complaint about our room was the acoustics. They were either terrible or fantastic, depending on what you were going for. The Russian couple who decided to fight at 3:30 am could have been outside our door, or in their own room, or even in the lobby. The guy hawking up snot every day could have been in HIS bathroom, or ours. The doors also SLAM shut, so if you have partiers staggering back at all hours, you'll know when they arrive safely back to their room. We did get some vengeance on our last day, when we went for a 5 am coffee. ;o) Entertainment: It was great. There was a beach party on both our first night and last night, but we just couldn't. We went to everything else. The house band is really fabulous, and they were followed by dancers or the aqua ballet. Everything was great. We didn't get to any of the daytime activities, as we were at the beach. Disco: I went one night, and it was a blast. If it weren't for the fighters and door-slammers, I'd have gone more than once, but alas...I needed my beauty sleep. Beaches: there are three. Guardalavaca beach, the pirate ship beach, and Playita Benny. We really preferred Benny. It was quiet and less people looking for handouts (not bad at the pirate beach, either, just the musicians and the peanut seller). The beaches are public, so do be careful and look for glass and other hazards. My husband stepped on fishing line equipped with three hooks. Bars: they're whimsical. Drink quality can vary, even with the same bartender. One daiquiri will be great, the next will be virgin! LOL We didn't even get to try the bars, as there are so many. You will NOT go thirsty. The coffees are amazing, and Ashley Cafe has some really nice concoctions. Food: it was really good. We ate at the big buffet only one night, as the acoustics were terrible. It was very busy, and very loud. We usually ate at the smaller buffet in the Bungalow section. SO much nicer. We had breakfast at Benny More twice and the rest of the time at the 24 hour snack bar. It was SO nice to be able to eat these meals outdoors, watching the ocean. We didn't book an a la carte, but did get treated to the repeaters' dinner, which was fantastic--lobster by the sea? Yes please! Important to note, for those that care: there was bacon EVERY day. Tomatoes, too. The staff: everyone, absolutely everyone, was just amazing. SO hard working, attentive, friendly, and playful. From the front desk staff to the wait staff and custodians...just wow. Very professional. The grounds: beautiful resort! Well-maintained with gorgeous flowers and trees. I loved the carvings here and there, and all the little hiding spots and patios. I love a resort that I can walk around, and this one did not disappoint. We WILL be back. Thank you so much.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Another fantastic 2 weeks!

    Reviewed by 359marianneg(Petawawa, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Just returned from Club Amigo and once again had a great vacation! Breakfast at the 24 hour bar was delicious. Service a little slow at times but hey, I am on vacation and not in a rush! The buffet in the bungalow section is very tasty and staff is great. (Thank you, Mayorvis (sp)!) Thank you to all the bar staff every where. You kept us in stitches! Never laughed so much in my life! To name a few: Eddie, Norge, Luis, Racielle, Pacho, Rudolpho, Alberto and many others. Our room was always clean and the ground keepers are doing a great job! Can't wait to go back again to see everyone again! Will be back in December with my grandson!

    Some rooms are to be avoided

    Reviewed by Martina69(Vaudreuil) on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I can't really complain on the overall as the price I got for this trip was really cheap BUT I have minimum standards. Some rooms should not be attributed to guests such as #434. Many people had the same problem I had. No light in the bathroom (and there's no window!), a/c not functional or very noisy, beds not comfy, room configuration was bad (tv on the same wall as the bed headboards, etc. Food was the worst I ever experienced. I know it's Cuba nut as I said before I have minimum standards... you'll either eat rice, pastas, pizzas, fries or burgers... as for the fruits, there were bananas, oranges, papayas and guava. No pineapple unless it was canned, same for the juice... canned pineapple juice. If you don't pay much for your trip, you'll get your money's worth...

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    One Of the Best

    Reviewed by LGGz() on Mar 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I’ve been two times in the hotel with my husband and to be honest is one of my favourite !! Before we had visit many hotels in the beach around cuba, until we arrive there and we discover the fantastic coral reef!! To people who like to snorkiling is going to love the beach because the coral reef is healthy and is quite close and with many fishes! The workers in the hotel are very kind and always trying to help somehow The rooms are good and we love the pool specially because we can stay sweemming until a little late witch in other hotels is not aloud. Another thing that we really enjoy was the party on the beach !! My husband and me don’t used to go to many parties but that Friday night we deside to look around and we had so much fun on the beach dancing with good and different music !! The restaurant El Beni is very good with fantastic food as well as The International, however El Todo Incluido it wasn’t so good as the rest of the restaurants but that was last year when we went so I’m wandering that it got better now? I think that we will repeat our visit:)

    Awesome staff

    Reviewed by Rhonda R() on Mar 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This place is so friendly and clean. Food is eatable, some meals better than others but you wont starve. Bar staff are amazing and accommodating.beach is good and water clean. No complaints other than a few rude quests but management deals with them quickly.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX