Paradisus Rio de Oro

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    E

    We enjoyed our stay with you and cant wait to be back at your truly beautiful resort.

    Reviewed by Ernie and Julia on Jan 26, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    HELLO My husband and I have just come back from staying a week with you. Unfortunately I wasn't well and we had a lot of rain but that didn't stop us from enjoying the warm hospitality and care given to us by all your staff and management. We loved everything from the food choice, rooms and above all the great many sitting areas you had under cover. The landscaping and gardens were beautiful. We were picked up many times by one of your buggies to take us to lobby or back to our room, which helped us enormously. In fact we cant fault anything and today booked two more weeks at the end of September through to October 15 of this year. So will look forward to seeing you all again. Ernie and Julia

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6263 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    A place to return to!

    Reviewed by missmeds17(Toronto, Canada) on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My boyfriend and I came to this resort by fluke as we booked a last minute deal off of redtag. I must say though it really does make sense why this is one of the top return resorts in Cuba. For one thing everyone talks so poorly of the food in Cuba but this place did not disappoint. We had different options every night and we were not disappointed! We did the a La cartes which were awesome! The Cuban was our favourite. The grounds and the beach was just beautiful and the resort itself was so peaceful, the first night I thought there was no one there because it was so quiet. We honestly loved it and were not surprised as to why people return to this resort so many times! The people and the whole vibe was really something we loved. I don’t usually say this about resorts but I would certainly go back to this place! Thank you to the staff for taking such great care of us while we were there!

    A great holiday!

    Reviewed by DAH91990() on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We arrived by private transfer and our checkin was quick. However, the facilities, entertainment and al a cartes etc were not explained well. The map was basic and quite difficult to understand and follow. We were taken to our room which was clean and very large; much bigger than we have received in 5 star luxury in other resorts. We haven’t visited Cuba before and we had heard horror stories about the food. However, the food was brilliant. We particularly enjoyed the option to dine from a menu at the pool and beach bar which enabled us to pick fresh options made to order. The main buffet had fresh stations, for example: meat, fish, pasta, salad and flambé (our favourite) the service was great! The resort itself was immaculate and very beautiful! One thing we would suggest is having the pool a little colder! We love the heat and sun but my word, it was HOT! Dipping into a freezing pool is just what we wanted but we were disappointed to find it was luke warm. The drinks were good. We didn’t like the cristal beer but we preferred the Bucanero (ask for it). The resort uses a lot of plastic cups, which allow your drinks to quickly go warm, and are not good for the environment. We suggest that you bring your own thermos! Our drinks stayed cold for hours! The entertainment was good but again not explained well. There is a timetable which stated, ‘meet in the lobby’ but we didn’t realise that on a Wednesday, they take you to a foam party and carnival. We sadly missed out on this. We particularly loved the music bar, which is air conditioned! We booked a tour into Holguín which we would definitely recommend. Not only do you learn about the history of Cuba, but you also meet locals and get a sense of how they live. You come away feeling very appreciative of what we have at home and how hard the Cubans work in order to survive. We would say that this hotel is one of the friendliest resorts we have visited. Everyone says hi and wants to have a chat with you! We made some brilliant friends and we would definitely return...we may try RS next time ;)

    Amazing place. Even better staff

    Reviewed by AdamB3124() on Aug 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    You will not be disappointed. It has everything we needed for and amazing honeymoon. The staff become friends more than just staff and for some reason the people that visit this hotel seem to be nicer than any hotel ive ever been to. Can't recommend it enough

    Would recommend and would return

    Reviewed by Beautiful_Beaus(Norfolk) on Aug 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We spent our honeymoon here and were greeted by friendly staff handing us a glass of bubbly upon arrival. Every member of staff were exceptional in their customer service. Our room was clean, large and airy. We only used room service once for breakfast in bed and the choice of food sent to our room was amazing. We tried all the different restaurants, used the day spa and just totally enjoyed our time between the beach and the pool. We swam with dolphins on a day trip which i also recommend. My husband went scuba diving which he enjoyed whilst i stayed by the pool for the morning. I like to visit new places each holiday so never return but this place, i would love to revisit one day. Thank you to each and every member of staff who work long hours and made us feel so welcome.

    Honeymoon

    Reviewed by Alana A() on Aug 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    What an absolute amazing honeymoon location unbelievably breathtaking. Incredible staff, and overall amazing service everywhere you go. Amazing weather, and Husband Loved the food. I'm quite picky...but i still Managed.We will be back 100% time and time again.<3

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX