Aston Waikiki Sunset Condo

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    What to expect (based on 1581 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Convenient!

    Reviewed by chee2s(Los Angeles, California) on Aug 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This place is located near the beach. Walking distance from the city bus. It has 4 elevators some reviews said that elevators were always packed and took a long time, but I didn’t have no problem with that. The AC worked fine The kitchenette is fully stocked if you plan to cook. The pullout bed on the living room was a bit to squeaky the bed was comfy I was at the 11th floor

    Second Time, Same As First

    Reviewed by fred1140() on Jul 28, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stayed at the Aston Waikiki Sunset twice, the latest in April 2019, the first in September 2016. Both stays were pleasant, rooms were clean and quiet. The location for us was convenient, as I have family in Upper Manoa Valley. We stayed in the upper floor rooms, which all have great views. The 2016 room gave us an ocean view, and the 2019 stay a mountain view. I enjoyed the mountain/valley view as much as the ocean view. We learned from a maintenance worker that the entire facility was condos, with quite a few occupied with permanent residents. The only downside was the surprise "amenity" fee of $25 plus $1.18 tax per day. We reserved through Costco Travel, and I failed to read the fine print about additional fees. Parking of $25 a day was expected. If you drive, the traffic in Honolulu has gotten a lot worse. All in all, a nice experience at the Aston Waikiki Sunset, especially if you like to have a kitchen in your room.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Great Location and great views

    Reviewed by tonywV5794YR() on Jul 27, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stayed for 6 nights just been with our 2 year old. We stayed in a deluxe ocean view room which had an amazing view and were on the 36th floor. Positives: -Location close to the family part of the beach as well as the zoo -Kitchen was great to use -Staff were very lovely and really helpful -Mini Mart on site was super handy Negatives: -Only a few lifts so during the busy periods it can take a good wee while to get to the top - A bit dated - Loud air conditioning unit All in all it was a great pleasant stay. We knew it was going to be a bit dated so were prepared. Great location with only a 3 min walk to the beach and the Waikiki trolley stop just down the road. Also we used Aloha sitters for baby sitting and they were amazing, great for us to head out as parents and leave the boy with the sitters.

    Great location

    Reviewed by 614barryf(Tauranga, New Zealand) on Jul 26, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Positives are location, good sized room, excellent kitchen, comfortable bed, nice pool, DVD player, minimart and helpful staff. Negatives are loud air condition Unit, poor internet and the property is a bit dated. The resort fee was annoying. If it isn't optional, just put it in the price. Overall we had a good stay.

    Unsafe stay

    Reviewed by waltonmar(Hamilton, New Zealand) on Jul 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We booked here for a week as a family of 6 adults and a wee baby. As a family of 3 we had a nice room on the 31st floor, dated but appeared to have all we needed. We realised the air conditioning was broken, a maintenance person was sent to clear the build up of water. It then malfunctioned again and it was realised it needed a new part. We asked for a new room and was given one on the same floor. All seemed well again until the 5th night of our stay when there was a fire alarm early in the morning. However we only knew there was a fire alarm after my father climbed the fire stairs up to our floor to get us out of bed and get us downstairs. The fire alarm on our floor didn’t work! The rest of the family was downstairs and said there was very little instruction from staff on what was going on or what to do - why was there no specified fire warden ensuring everyone was out and safe and giving instructions to guests? I then got a message from mum to stay put as they said there’s no fire. Eventually (40mins after the alarm went off) a staff member came up to our floor to tell us to get out but by then my family downstairs had been told all was clear - very confusing! It was noticed that the other end of our floor was flooded from sprinklers (in our old room with broken air con) and the power was now off. We had no hot water, no way to heat the baby bottles or charge our phones so went out to find food and hot water for the baby bottle. We returned later on to still no power. Still no power at 4pm in the afternoon. We felt unsafe by the broken fire alarm, lack of support from staff and poor communication. We found accommodation elsewhere and packed our bags. On check out staff expected us to pay for that night we weren’t staying and didn’t want to refund the two nights including amenity fees we had now booked elsewhere. In the end they agreed but it was a battle to get to that agreement. Staff were still checking in other guests and they were being given flashlights!!! All guests should have been moved to another hotel at no cost to them, there was no power and fire alarms on some floors weren’t working! The hotel is in a great location, close to walk to the beach and international marketplace. A bus stop to Ala Moana is right around the corner too. The rooms are dated but roomy with a kitchen to cook at home. Unfortunately we felt unsafe there and until proper fire safety improvements are made, I wouldn’t recommend anyone stay there.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX