Aulani, A Disney Resort & Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    w

    AMAZING best of both worlds for kids AND adults. Cannot wait to go back!

    Reviewed by woodlands on Mar 31, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    This was the BEST of both worlds for kids and adults to both have a great vacation, I cannot recommend this hotel enough and cannot wait to go back! During our week stay capacity went from 3/4 full down to under half, but at no time did we ever feel crowded or not get to do what we wanted to do. Aunty's beach house AMAZING. It is included in the stay, kids can drop in anytime to play no line up/registration. There are programs that you do need to sign up for which is where the line up is for the free ones. The programs that come at a cost you can sign up for before arrival but we got into all of them no problem once there and they were all outstanding. They are safe and secure- more the enough staff, GPS bands on kids, secure sign in / sign out, and we were fully confident in leaving our severe peanut/tree nut allergy child with them. Beach- always chairs and loungers available, white soft sand and a sheltered lagoon made it perfect for kids. There are toys to borrow and rent. Life jackets are free to borrow each day. Pools- Lifeguards everywhere. Enough loungers for everyone, and they do enforce the 1 hour empty chair rule. The pools are big and you only feel crowded once a day when the characters come out for a dance party. Lazy river and hot tubs were great, water slides and kids water park were nice touches. Beach/pool towels are provided. Rooms- basic and comfortable. fridge and coffee maker only. Food- get what you pay for, very good everywhere but not cheap Included activities- luau, movie nights, characters, something always going on. Rainbow reef- great for kids snorkeling as it is not in the ocean very good value Wifi very strong thru out the entire resort. Staff- WONDERFUL always 'on' Disney style Parking- you do pay per day did not like this, restaurants will validate Location- very nice and secure community, resorts to one side, real ocean beach to the other. About 30 mins from airport and 15 to Walmart and all amenities.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6409 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Disney Disaster

    Reviewed by LouGodley() on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We booked 3 nights here after amazing stays in Maui and Lanai. From the moment we arrived I knew it was a mistake. The whole experience was stressful, busy and unwelcoming. You had to reserve your sun loungers before 7.30 am, queue endlessly to get on any slide or lazy river and book months in advance for any experience with a Disney character. The hotel decor is old, musty and dark. Our room felt dirty, smelly and damp and the bed linen was grubby. We were paying a lot of money for the hotel as we had a suite and the price was in no way justified. It felt like a 2 or 3 star hotel. The majority of the staff were rude and basically couldn’t be bothered to help you. The whole resort felt tired and in need of an update. The whole experience was basically stressful from start to end and I was counting down the hours until we could leave. I definitely do not recommend this hotel- it is not a pleasant stay and not a good Disney experience.

    Just ok, not worth price

    Reviewed by 210darrenv() on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Stayed 4 nights, 5 days. Within an hour of being on property I realized that was way to much time here. Ideally 2 nights, maybe even 1 is all you need. I was nervous coming here based on the reviews but wanted to take the kids and see it for myself. All the negative reviews I read are correct. For one thing, it’s def way to crowded, especially for the price. The four seasons next door seemed so much more relaxing and more my speed. The grounds here are super slippery, I mean law suit slippery. Wife slipped on first day just walking. Daughter slipped next day while holding my wife’s hand. She got cut up pretty bad on face from fall. They were walking so slow too, scary. At this point, we wanted to just leave resort, it seemed dangerous and hazardous. There excuse is “we have resurfacing planned later in the month”. Well that does us no good right now at peak season and premium pricing. They should be closed down until resurfacing is complete . This is a major problem that they are waiting til peak season is over to address, sad. Super disappointed in managements handling of our situation. A few more negatives before I hit a few bright spots. As for the rooms and common interior areas, DARK. Lazy river, so slow, no current at all. Huge disappointment here because it’s a nice long journey on the lazy river but you just don’t move hardly at all. Beach is just ok, maybe it’s because we spent a few days at Lanikai beach before we came here. But the water and sand here was just ok. Pools were ok, nothing great. Hot tubs were a huge disappointment. Adult only hot tub jets weren’t working. 2 out of the 3 family hot tubs, jets weren’t working. The only one that was working was overcrowded as a result. No sense of urgency or transparency from staff on fixing the jets. This is not 5 star, this is 2 star stuff. Ok enough of the bad. Now some things we did find nice. One was the Hawaiian music playing all over property. And live hawaaiin music every night. That was something we loved. The sunsets were great, but we had to walk over to four seasons to see it set, but the sunsets and sky on the west side are amazing. The water slides my son loved, they were super cool. We did have to wait 15-20 min per ride, but we did it. But once again, one or two days of this is all you need. The Disney characters my daughter loved, she got to see Mickey, Minney, Moana, Goofy, Pluto, Donald, and Daisy. Overall I would not come back or recommend this place. I would recommend if you want to see some of the aulani stay at four seasons next door and walk over to see some Disney characters, ride a few water slides (they don’t check bracelets I wasn’t even wearing mine) and then go to dinner at AMA AMA and hear some live Hawaiin music. You will feel pretty fulfilled with that. Food is decent at AMA AMA. Best restaurant on property.

    Disappointing

    Reviewed by KatieM3045() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I had been looking forward to visiting the Aulani since it opened and was so excited to bring my kids there this summer. The resort is beautiful- the pool is awesome, and there was a lot of Disney Magic. That being said, our stay was a bit of a disappointment, especially considering the money spent. The resort was over-built and it was so crowded at every turn. For the amount of money i spent on my room I didn’t feel I should have had to fight for a pool lounge chair or get up early to wait in line to sign up for resort activities. 2 weeks prior to our stay I was unable to make any character dining reservations- I felt as a guest of the hotel that was unacceptable. Also given the base cost of the rooms I found all the extras to be out of hand- parking was $37 a day and even things like the kids club, which is “included” in the stay- offers “premium experiences” for an additional fee- so during those times kids club is not actually included. I felt the focus of the whole hotel seemed to be on the Disney vacation club and not on the guest experience. While there were some cool things there it felt more like a trip to a theme park than it did a high end resort. ( though at least when you go to Disneyland all the activities are included in your ticket price).

    Gorgeous resort!!!

    Reviewed by Bean-Buggles(Plumsteadville, Pennsylvania) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We spent 8 days at this gorgeous resort using our DVC points. The location is perfect as it is not near Waikiki. The lush greenery, design of the hotel buildings, and amazing views from the infinity pools were lovely. We enjoyed all that the resort had to offer. Our room was in the Ewa tower, and overlooked the lawn where the luau takes place. The show took place 5 nights while we were there and we could watch the show from our balcony. We had tickets to see the show later in our stay so it was annoying to not have the quiet time on our balconies that we wanted for those nights. However, we enjoyed the luau when we attended it (much better being in the event than watching from our balconies). We always travel with sound machines to knock out hotel noise and we’re glad we did for the nights the luau was performing as it was loud. We were able to make breakfast and some dinners from our large kitchen. The washer and dryer in our room were used several times. The bathrooms were huge with plenty of room to spread out our wet bathing suits to dry. We read many reviews complaining about the size of the rooms, but most people don’t realize that they have booked a standard hotel or studio room and not a DVC villa (the villa rooms are huge). This is a DVC property and 70% of the rooms are DVC with only 30% hotel rooms....though, while we were there, most of the guests were not DVC. The DVC guests receive wrist bands that say ‘member’ and are different colored. The resort was at 98% capacity while we were there and we didn’t feel like it was overcrowded. Our favorite part of the resort was the beach where we used boogie boards and SUP boards on the water while watching the sleeping Hawaiian Monk Seal on the beach. There is a marine agency that comes and protects the seal by marking off the area that the animal is on. They are critically endangered and only 300 on the island of Oahu. The seal was there nearly every day. In the cove next door (Paradise Cove), there was a mom and pup, which only 5 pups were born this year according to the marine specialists we spoke to. They had the entire little cove closed to leave to animals alone. It was a nice bonus to our stay seeing these animals. Other enjoyable items: Mickey shave ice, menehune hunt with iPads, making Mickey ears, eating at ‘Ama’Ama overlooking the ocean, and seeing the characters. Wouldn’t recommend the character dinner. Very high price (over $200 for a family of 4 including tip). We are Disney regulars and see characters all the time but were hoping to see Stitch since he is our daughters favorite. He wasn’t there and only Goofy, Chip and Dale arrived. There was a photo- op with Donald at the beginning after you check in and they try to sell you the photo at dinner. The dinner was not crowded at all so the characters stopped by several times. Overall, a wonderful resort for our family and we will definitely be back!

    An unforgettable resort

    Reviewed by dotcomsurfr() on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Despite Aulani is located some distance away from Waikiki, the airport and other tourist attractions, it’s still quite convenient for us to travel around the Island. We hired a vehicle but there were other options such local buses, excursion tours, Uber, and Lyft etc... As DVC members, we were provided with free parking upon check-in. Please note, free shuttle pick-up and drop-off services were NOT available regardless if you are a DVC member or not. Aulani’s lobby was grand in size with many soothing Disney touches. There were many “A”-shaped (as in Aulani) buildings and things all around the resort. Our arrival reception was similar to other 5-star Hawaii resorts/hotels, nothing too spectacular. We had a 2 bedroom suite; its space inside was enormous, with a dated-design kitchen, cozy dinette, and comfortable sitting area. Both bedrooms had large bathrooms and were cavernous for an extend stay as we needed the space to clean and dry many swimwear, floats and toys at night time. Overall, the suite was clean. We had some HVAC noise in our suite initially but was quickly addressed. Some of the kitchen appliances should be replaced due to over-usage, which was my only complaint. The resort was safe and fun. They used wrist-bands to identify DVC hotel guests, so we could enjoy all amenities, including free beach towels, floaters, toys and access to the beach. There was a lazy river, many decent size swim pools, hot tubs, tons of lawn chairs, DVC member photo sessions and lot of family activities throughout the day and night. My son’s favorite Disney activity was pin-trading and it’s available at many different shops and spots, so don’t forget to bring your pins :-) The themed restaurant was delightful, we met many Disney characters during our “scheduled” character breakfast and buffet. Book them in advance as they were very popular! The food was definitely better than average and the variety was plenty, you won’t be disappointed (for buffets). The Luau in Aulani was average... the entrance line was long and we were not allowed to take pictures with the un-enthusiastic characters at the entry (not sure why not for the price we had paid). The pre-meal shows were plentiful for both kids and adults. Our table was placed repulsively next to the garbage bins (again, I wasn’t sure why?!) and I had to make a complaint before they removed the garbage bins away from our table. As we were one of the last tables (in a random selection process) to line up for food, we were only able to access food one time because there wasn’t much food choices left (other than dessert) when we tried for seconds! The Luau shows were a highlight and we enjoyed to learn some of the history of Hawaii. Overall, the level of customer service was adequate but could be more accessible and friendly. Room service was good but they didn’t provide free slippers or extra amenities and we had to call for more shampoo and soup many times. We drank out from a tap and there was an ice-maker machine on each level of the building. I would recommend Aulani for family or business travelers. The Ko Olina golf club is just across the street from the Aulani resort. And don’t forget to visit the Four Season Hotel next door; if you walk towards the north-west part of the beach connected to Four Season, you are going to come across some of the most breathtaking views in Hawaii. (Hint: go at sunset and wear hiking type shoes to safely navigate around the rocks)

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX