Aina Nalu Lahaina by Outrigger Condo

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    B

    It sucked! Our entire vacation was ruined because of this.

    Reviewed by Beverly Berger on Mar 12, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    NEVER go back. 4th yr there. Wrong room. Asked for 582 which we always got prior. Husband booked through West Jet and said Garden View instead of Courtside. Hotel said the notified you that Room 582 was not in Garden View. Nobody notified us of the error therefore we had no option to correct it. We spent first week moving from room to room. Spent 2 days waiting to get into our room. Had cockroach in one room. All rooms face the sun. Could not use balcony (like we always did) as so frickin' hot. One room on lawn level; next one had huge tree that had branches rubbing on the balcony railings; thank God that was the one with the cockroach so then they moved us. Nothing done in this area of hotel. 1960's look. Not even drapes. Wooden barn door type covering over balcony doors. Hallways absolutely filthy. This is at 2:15 A.M. that we are hauling our luggage round. Also, with room changes on gift for someone had home "vanished" as did 1 blush and 2 eye shadows. Not impressed. So finally, I think this brings us to fourth room. It was good. Had go view but too hot to experience it as again we were place on the south side of hotel. We spent 1/2 of our previous 3 vacations on the balcony as was on north side of building. They should let people know of the disarray that part of the hotel is in. Obviously no updates since it was built. There was a shower in that room that I would have barely fit in to. I am 5'2" and weigh 134 lbs. My husband is a tall large man would have never even got in.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    b

    Don't stay if you are seeking relaxation

    Reviewed by bpenbert on Feb 24, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    Pros: Location, Beds, Bathrooms, WIFI, Cable, Washer/Dryer, Microwave and good Air Conditioners, but they are loud. TV's are HD but not large. Negatives: No seating, there are two big chairs and a couch with broken springs or something, need a pillow to sit on, the chairs are good for two people to sit and the bar stools face away from the living room and TV. No dining or kitchen table. Parking is 20.00USD/Day Very small fridge. Only one pot to cook in and all non stick frying pans stick, Small and Noisy Dishwasher. No Late checkout, you must vacate at 11:00AM, even if flights leave at 11:45PM. No Vacuum cleaner. The Pool is very close but always busy with children and babies, no solitude or relaxation. The BBQ are about 150-200' away and always busy, no table to eat at anyway. The upstairs neighbours were very noisy when we were there for 2 weeks.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1261 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    great location, bit run down

    Reviewed by cank(dubai) on Mar 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Although this is a great location, it is getting a bit run down. The rooms were not clean and the rugs smelled. The furniture is getting old and worn. The dishes were dirty in the cupboard so we had to wash them before we used them. Positives Location - you are right in the middle of town and easy to walk to most things. There are local buses that stop at back of Wharf if you need to go a bit further out - $2 one way or $4 for all day. Great front desk help No bugs in room Negatives - if at back - you hear roosters and highway non-stop Rude "concierge" lady who is only there to sell you trips. Freezing cold swimming pools and a hot tub that varied from tepid to extremely hot daily Not enough lounge chairs Garbages full around resort because guests are too lazy to take them out back Ridiculously high cleaning fee at end.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Cleanliness declining; condition disgusting; cannot secure evaluation survey from Outrigger! Wonder why?

    Reviewed by Jenny B() on Mar 03, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Our 6th stay at Aina Nalu; this last unit - A-106 Malia - was depressing and deplorable - both cleanliness and condition of unit. Very dirty when we checked in; MOLD ALL OVER SHOWER [I bought bleach and spray it down]; used Q-tip and band-aide under the sink cabinet; entire tube of lotion behind commode; toilet seat really loose; large purple comb under bed along with accumulated dirt from who knows how many months; large pan in kitchen coated with dried food; serving spoon with dried green food caked on it; moved chair cushion since I dropped something and chair under cushion was filthy; I was afraid to even check the couch; warning that if 4 pool towels not in room when we left, we would be fined - only had 3 pool towels in room when we checked in [had I not reported their error guess I would have been held responsible]; only 3 sets of bath towels when we checked in; dryer vent badly needed deep cleaning; louvered doors in front of washer/dryer were coated with dirt. Whoever paid $208.33 cleaning fee plus tax before we checked in was cheated. Condition of unit - numerous stains on carpet; tops of bedside tables severely cracked and peeling; padded covering around floor length mirror disgusting; glass broken in picture on wall in bedroom; chunks out of walls in several places; bar stools looked nasty; lampshades in living room and bedroom very insecure and DIRTY; full kitchen ? - not one bowl that could be placed in the oven for baking; smoke alarm began beeping one night at 8 p.m.- they could not get anyone to address problem until 10 a.m. the next day - so smoke alarm BEEPED ALL NIGHT!!; blind rod for turning slats in blinds in living room was disconnected and on the floor when we checked in. With the exception of 2018, every year the unit was a little dirtier and a little more disheveled than the year before. This experience made us rent through VRBO for next year and forego the joke of a clean unit through Aina Nalu. They used to claim they inspected after cleaning; the inspector must have been a graduate of the School for the Blind. Now Aina Nalu desk claims they have no control since contractor cleans.That makes it easy for them to ignore the major problems. We stayed 28 days and it would have been nice to have a clean unit with a little charm!!!!!!!!!! When checking out was told would receive by e-mail an evaluation survey from Outrigger. After two weeks I called the desk; no evaluation from Outrigger; well they didn't know why I didn't receive one and they have no way to send one to me. How convenient!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-2

    Aina Nalu Unit I202

    Reviewed by Karin94947(Novato, California) on Feb 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stayed in this 2BR/2BA unit for a couple of nights in January. This is a large complex and wasn't super crowded when we were there. The unit we had was nice, clean, and comfortable. Balconies are stamp sized, so it's not really for hanging out. The first pool area is very nice and easy to get to from our condo. Didn't spend any time at the other one. The complex is very near the Lahaina downtown and was great to be able to walk all over, although this unit is about as far from the entrance as you can get. I actually liked that. I would recommend this unit/condo to my friends.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Not the luxury it professes to be

    Reviewed by Duquesadiner(Glasgow, United Kingdom) on Feb 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We paid a lot of money (UK £) for 11 nights in this resort. I would certainly not describe the accommodation as luxury. The photographs on various websites make the rooms look bigger and they don’t tell you that there are additional costs until you arrive. You really need a car in Maui but parking one here overnight will cost $20 a night. We had a number of issues that needed attending to right at the start of our stay and while they were sorted I didn’t get the impression that there was ownership of our problems and therefore felt kind of let down. The air conditioning in our unit was essential but you couldn’t sleep if it was on - too noisy. Overall pretty disappointed with Aina Nalu.

    Great location

    Reviewed by michellemF4010WC() on Jan 26, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stayed at the Aina nalu last week. Most of the trip was fantastic. We did have a couple of issues... We had booked a 2 bedroom suite with one room having two twin beds and were given a room with a queen instead... That didn't work with the people we have so we ended up having to take that room the first night and put someone in another room. We were charged the cleaning fee for both rooms, which was really frustrating (my incredible travel agent did take care of that expense for me). There were ants in the bathroom and the couch beds were dirty when we pulled them out. We were told that a contractor is paid to clean so the hotel had no help with this. We also had to take out own trash, which was ok, just unexpected when we are paying $250 for cleaning of each room. The place was in a great location and we loved the pool and cabanas in the evening. It was a close walk to everything. Overall it was very enjoyable and we would probably stay there again. Just very disappointed with the cleaning situation and not getting the room we booked to start with.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX