Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 4829 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Not worth the money

    Reviewed by athertoncalifornia(Atherton, California) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We first visited the Sheraton Maui 25 years ago and have stayed there more than 20 times. Even though we go to Maui often, we hadn’t stayed there during the past few years, and decided to visit again. Front desk service is pretty bad. When we checked in, we were told that our room wasn’t ready and we would be called when it was. When we didn’t hear till 3:30pm, we called and couldn’t reach the front desk. Finally the operator said our room was ready and we picked up the keys. After taking our carryons to the room, the keys didn’t work. When we called the reception we were told it would take security 10-15 minutes to open the door for us. We had to walk all the way back to get our keys. The room furniture has been upgraded and were ok. Sound insulation is pretty bad as you can hear the noise from next door room and the corridor. If there are kids running, you get a very early wake up call. There aren’t enough pool chairs (the beach was seasonally washed out) so you either have to rush in the morning to reserve them or are out of lock. If you can get one they are comfortable. During check out there was an error in the bill which took two more attempts to fix. Bell desk staff is good. Overall it seems the number of staff was seriously reduced after the Marriott takeover.

    The best spot on Kaanapali Beach!

    Reviewed by Lukesprouddad(Austin, Texas) on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We had a great first trip to Maui and a great experience at Sheraton Maui! We stayed in building two, fourth floor, right in the center. Our party included my wife and I and our two boys, 13 and 9. The view from the room was incredible. We could take in sunsets from our balcony and the luau that occurred twice during our stay. Beach: They have lost some beach to erosion but its still the best! Great body surfing and boogie boarding and of course, really really good snorkeling. We saw tons of different fish and a turtle on our last day. We also had plenty of whale sightings from the grounds and a few jumps off of Black Rock. Room: we would prefer two queens rather than doubles for our family, but our room was still a positive for our trip. The beds were very comfortable, the room and balcony were of good size, shower head was great! All around solid! Bars: they offer some very reasonable drink prices during various happy hours. The kids really enjoyed the virgin lava flow and we enjoyed the regular version. Pools: the pool and grounds are beautiful! Really well kept! But the pool water this time of year is too cool for many to enjoy. It should be heated. The hot tub was outstanding! It's in a really cool rock enclosure and has plenty of room for lots of folks. Food: the sunset bar was great and we never had an issue getting a table. Great service, outstanding views. The breakfast buffet was fine. Room service was very fast and hit the spot for us several times. I'm holding back the fifth star due to pool temp and breakfast options, but they are still so close to getting it anyway. When we go back to Maui, this would be our spot again! Great job to the staff in all areas!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Still a Winner

    Reviewed by SteveFromHenderson() on Mar 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Probably out sixth time at this hotel over the years. Clean, comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff. Best beach on Maui, and the entire United States. Breakfast buffet outstanding. Lunch limited; poolside food only. Visited at height of whale season and it was like a whale watch every day; sitting comfortably poolside or beachside and watching whales spout and breech all day, every day of our visit. Perfectly situated on beach/black rock for snorkeling, swimming, sunning, or just chilling.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Disappointed

    Reviewed by ladonnaf2015() on Mar 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    The hotel was ok and the room was clean - the food was really bad. Guy Fieri’s face was on the wall of the haut dog place and I’m pretty sure he would not approve of the brats that are not grilled (boiled) and cold. The mixed drinks were poorly made (the mai tai was gross). The beach was nice but very busy since it’s public. We will not be returning.

    Beautiful property, would stay again, this was our 2nd time

    Reviewed by dustietaylor(North Platte, Nebraska) on Mar 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was our 2nd visit, we also came 5 years ago. People gripe about the little stuff on here....look if you want the 4 seasons, then stay at the 4 seasons. This hotel is tropical, and has the best pool and gardens anywhere on Maui. Also best snorkeling right our your front door. We planned on building 6 but thank got they were full and ended up getting upgraded to a suite. Building 6 is a great view but way to far away from everything! Note: They do not heat the POOL and it is very very COLD. Like blue lips cold. Sad! Not sure the drinks around the pool have alcohol in them either, compared to Leilanis down the path has the best drinks and food! So take the walk. Rent a car get and get off the resort to eat! Go to Leilanis or Captain Jacks! We also went to these food trucks up the highway you will have to google it, they also had the best ice cream! A not miss! Monkey Pod was also good. The Resort is great! What the Resort can't fix is mother nature. The beach is 1/4 the size it was 5 years ago do to erosion from winter storms eating the coastline the last few years. Very sad. Also on this visit the island was very crowded. I would get 3X the people when we came 5 years ago. Pi'ah was so packed is was like overwhelming. Next time we will be visiting a new destination due to the new rush of the island. Thank you to Heraton Maui for another great stay. The staff and maids were top notch. Your the best.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX