Aston Islander On the Beach

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    G

    A great stay

    Reviewed by Glenn on Mar 09, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Spent two weeks at this lovely place and will be going back for sure. Great location & wonderful staff. Grab a free coffee or two between 0730-9am at the lobby. Nice pool area, simple & small, but that's all it needs. Poolside bar opens daily at 2pm and usually goes to at least 10pm. Lots of beach or lawn area to lay about. If you're staying more than just a few days, rent a bicycle to get around. You'll only need a car for two days to see the island. Make use of the taxi's, they are great and can take you out for a tour or day. Don't judge by 1st looks when eating out as there is some great food to be had. Paradise Deli, 5 min. walk towards the bridge, just behind the Shell gas station makes some great breakfast sandwhiches think omelette in a bun . Wahoo Seafood, 5 min walk towards Kapa'a, very friendly and great food. Bobby V Pizza, 10 min walk towards Kapa'a is one of the nicest thin crust I've ever had & they are planning to move into the Coconut Plaza when it's ready. Speaking of that, about half reno'd now with quite a few shops open. Don't forget the Lava Lava Club just down the beach or the Fish Market Cafe has more than fish just outside the main entrance. About 15 min drive to airport-$23 usd taxi ride.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1912 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Almost Perfect Location for Kauai

    Reviewed by rweaver01() on Apr 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The Aston Islander on the Beach is located just 5 miles from the airport and the town of Lihue. If you look at a clock face you can travel from 2:00 to 10:00 in Kauai, and Kapaa AISotB would be at 6:00. Easy travel to Northwest or Northeast, considering there is basically only one road around. As far as the Aston Islander on the Beach, there are Ocean Front rooms, excellent views from second and third floors and Ocean View rooms (don't recommend). Going all the way there, get Ocean Front. Basic resort, pool bar (no restaurant) although Lava Lava next door, 2 minute walk along ocean path. Provides beach/pool towels, as many as you want. $20 per day "resort fee" includes DVD's, whatever. We like the place because of the location, very clean with good rooms , not stuffy

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Kauai vacation

    Reviewed by LarryE335() on Apr 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This hotel is a bit dated, but very well kept. The main house is where you check in and it is gorgeous, with an open concept, allowing you to walk in and see the pool area just down the path from the lobby. The rest of the rooms are in buildings named after the islands in the chain. We were in Maui. Our room was clean and quiet. We even had a "limited" ocean view which could be seen from our balcony and the small dinette window. Staff was friendly and accommodating.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Kind Staff

    Reviewed by Amyf7738() on Apr 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I stayed at the Aston Islander on the Beach at the beginning of December 2018 for a business trip and unfortunately the company I booked through was more than a little shady and canceled by booking the evening that I arrived in Kauai. The staff at the desk was very reassuring and helpful assuring me they would get me a room and providing me with all of the information they had about the booking agent. She even gave me one of her ramen soups since it was so late and everything was closed. The property was beautiful and the coffee shop and market so close made this the perfect location for me. The buildings/rooms are a little dated but clean. I just booked another room for my return trip and I look forward to my stay :)

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Short stay

    Reviewed by Dennis K() on Apr 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our first time here. The reviews are similar to our experience. Staff is friendly. The room was so comfortable we slept 10 hours! The Farmer’s Market at Coconut Marketplace was a walk across the parking lot. Parking is tough here. Spaces are narrow and fill quickly. Our 3rd floor room had a nice view of the ocean and well cared for grounds but climbing to the 3rd floor with my knees was difficult. Nice amenities.

    Fantastic Location & Beautiful Property

    Reviewed by seasick36122018(Coral Springs, Florida) on Mar 30, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This hotel sits on a beautiful location on the ocean. The views are amazing and the hotel is set up in such a way that everything on property is very convenient. They also have a small shopping plaza behind the hotel that makes it so convenient to grab some food or shave ice. If I ever come back to Kauai I’m staying here again.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX