Royal Decameron Los Cabos

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    A

    Not a great experience.

    Reviewed by Amanda on Feb 13, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    Disappointed in the lack of services and amenities. Always enjoyed our WestJet vacations until now. There was no room service at all, we could not even have drinks for our room. No schedule of events to be found. Had no idea what was happening each day, and even if we asked there was always confusion. A beautiful fire pit... that was never used, even on cold evenings. Treadmills that didn?t work properly, and dirty. It seemed cutting costs was always the priority. Food was absolutely terrible, the worst in any inclusive I?ve been to. You couldn?t even get bacon for breakfast without asking for it because it was hidden behind the counter. The only good meal was the 1 A la carte and only at supper. The people here were friendly though and the room clean. I would really have loved a coffee when we woke up though let me tell ya instead of waiting for the buffet to open...

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    R

    Good hotel for the amount charged.

    Reviewed by RPearce on Nov 22, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    My wife and I traveled to this hotel at the beginning of November, it was nice but was small. It was good for one week but any longer would have been too much. The adult only was very nice and the price was right and because the hotel is small it does give you a chance to meet others. We went with the all inclusive plus and I am glad we did, the breakfast at Luna was nice the view was great and the service by Bruno was excellent. We also ate lunch at Luna the menu was limited like most meals but the nachos and the quesaburro were awesome. The Plus also gave us the option of eating at Luna for dinner without having to make reservations which was good. The menu was again limited but the food was good. We did also try the buffet on the night of BBQ, as it is suppose to be one of the better nights for food. The food was good and there was lots of things to choose from but on the other nights we went to check to see what was being served it all looked very similar to the BBQ night. The other bonus of the Plus was you had access to the upper pool area and another bar with what they call premium alcohol. The alcohol was a step up from the lower pool but I don't consider Smirinoff or Don Julio premium. They also didn't have any Crown Royal or Gibsons and for the number of Canadians there they really should have a better whiskey. Luis was our server at the upper bar and although he was very busy at times he always had a smile and was a great entertainer. He kept things lively laid back. As far as rooms go we were in room 156 which is great to be able to walk out your room and be right at the pool it also made trips to the bathroom very easy. The room was nice with a huge king size bed and the cleaning service was great the room was clean and the mini-bar was restocked every day. The only downside to this room was the carts being pushed past at 5am. Not sure what they were moving or if this happens on every floor but every morning they woke us up. Overall the experience at

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1747 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Very very BAD

    Reviewed by Msshink(Murfreesboro, Tennessee) on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    This had to be the worst experience of my life! When we checked in we were told immediately that we has All-inclusive but not All-inclusive plus! And we did not have WIFI! What in another country with no WIFI The room was terrible. We had outside facing door that had cracks all around it. You could actually see out side through the cracks. No security door latch. I pushed a chair to the door to secure it! Electricity went out while getting dressed. The room had cracks in the wall. The bedside table lamp did not work. Bathroom was dirty! I was very uncomfortable! This is a very bad resort, I actually hesitate to call it a resort!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Location

    Location-1

    Service

    Service-1

    No habla english!

    Reviewed by Keith Z() on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Very little English spoken here. Don't take American dollars. No AC except your room. Dated and going down hill. Food was OK with a decent variety, same with the drinks. The all inclusive plus is just ignorant. Very few benefits and very few takers. Mostly Mexican nationals and if you don't speak Spanish don't go here.

    Great Hotel But!!!

    Reviewed by Robbie R(Battleford, Canada) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    My wife and I love to travel and manage to make 3 destination trips a year, mostly to Mexico. This was our third trip to San Jose Del Cabo and second to The Royal de Cameron, our last was in Aug of 2014. Upon check in we asked how much it would cost to upgrade to Plus which would give you access to an upstairs pool with private bar, don’t have to make a reservation at the alacarte restaurant, a room closer to the ocean, breakfast at the alacarte restaurant, private check in and free wifi and safe. We were quoted a price from one fellow then more from another person working the front and we declined as there was to much confusion. The Wifi was 10 US a day and safe 47.50 pesos which in 2014 was free, also in 2014 you could use the upstairs pool and bar there was no Plus options available, everyone had the same privileges. How dare a hotel charge for you to lock your valuables up in a safe, they sort of got you there as I’m sure most people want to lock up there valuables and why not include the Wifi in the price of the hotel. Also when we paid for the Wifi they didn’t explain that the$10 dollars US was for 24 hrs, so if you log in then log out you are only charged for the time you were logged in. I asked Cynthia a girl working at the front desk if I could talk to her manager about the extra charges for the safe and Wifi but said the manger told her I couldn’t speak to her, I believe the Managers name was Africa seemed very cowardly of her not to talk to me, as far as Cynthia she never smiled the 2 weeks we stayed there. Was given a nice room cleaned very well and timely with a partial ocean view. Now for the staff bellboy names Cruz very helpful and full of advice. The animation team Rudy, Ever and Kenny Thank You for the great time always stopped and visited very friendly. Jorge at the swim up bar very personable and always had a smile. The staff at the a’la cartel restaurant Oliver, Jose and the Captain Dennis in all our travels one of the most funny yet professional waiters we’ve come across hope to see you again. One more fellow was Angel,we had him on his first day of work in the a’la carte he had lived in the US since he was 2 and was deported back to Mexico all the best to him. Also try the restaurant across the street Chiltepenos great food. Would probably go back if the price is right.

    Living like royalty

    Reviewed by 1971marcellod() on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Rodolfo and staff making us feel at home, property is small but cozy and welcoming! Pool is sparkling clean and large enough to get lost for minutes...lol Pool bar is large and no lines to wait for drinks

    Stay away

    Reviewed by Dozza1968(Houston, Texas) on Aug 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    My family and I booked to stay at the Royal Decameron last minute through bookit.com. We arrived at the resort and found it to be way below what we expected from an all inclusive resort. Entertainment was poor, rooms and general condition of the hotel was old although reasonably clean. Food in the one regular ‘restaurant’ was very poor. Overall a very poor experience. So bad that we stayed two out of 7 nights and left for another resort. When we checked out we were told that we could only process refund through bookit.com. The Royal Decameron refused to give me anything to show that we checked out. We contacted bookit.com after arriving home and they tried to get confirmation that we had checked out. Royal Decameron refuse to confirm our early departure. To summarize poor resort and dishonest hotel.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX