Solmar Resort Los Cabos

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 2101 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Mixed bag of Customer Service

    Reviewed by Alan K(Berwyn, Illinois) on Feb 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The Good: Manny at the pool was fantastic! Went above and beyond our expectations getting us cocktails and various food items. Very attentive and very personable. Natalie and Theresa who handled the poolside activities and resort entertainment were equally fantastic and so enthusiastic about getting the guests motivated and involved. Thank you for making our stay fun! Now the bad: We purchased the Daily Breakfast Buffet and daily Wi-Fi. We were never able to get the Wi-Fi to work anywhere in or near the room. Discovered there was no breakfast buffet and we were issued a $50 "Breakfast Credit." Wi-Fi Only worked in lobby and poolside. Went daily to complain and we were told a "ticket" was being created. Never fixed and no credit was given...I was given an apology but no credit for bad Wi-Fi as I was told my package pricing really only covered the $50 breakfast credit and the Wi-Fi. Not true. Room only when I booked the package was $75 cheaper. I also had to fight for my $50 breakfast credit as they even charged me for my breakfast. Sorry, didn't remember the names of the 2 female desk agents and male manager on the AM shift. Terrible service. Folks, check your bill before you leave. 2/3/19 to 2/9/19. We Will not stay here again. Hopefully Manny, Natalie and Theresa get plenty of tips and a raise.

    Don't be duped!! Do NOT book here over any type of peak season...

    Reviewed by 1000travelgirl(Calgary, Canada) on Feb 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    So, here's what happened to my husband and I over New Years 2018 with Solmar Resort. We were staying next door to Solmar, at the Terrasol Resort from December 15 - 28th. We decided to book Solmar Resort from Dec 28th - Jan 1/2019. Now, we booked this in JULY of 2018...so a full 6 months ahead of our stay, AND they took FULL payment for that 4 day booking at the time we booked, so in JULY. (and given that it was over New Years, it was not cheap) So, we check out of Terrasol, and walk over to the Solmar resort (they are side by side). Walk up to the front desk, where I provide them our reservation number. They say, "ah yes, we see your reservation, welcome to the Solmar Resort. Now, please read these resort rules and sign on the bottom", so we do...expecting that they will give us keys to our unit. NOPE! The guest agent then says "hey, given that your such a great client, we have decided to UPGRADE you to a beautiful suite" and he begins to show us pictures on an IPAD of some lovely suite, and we are assuming that it is at the Solmar. NOPE. Guess what? They tell us, "oops, sorry, we have no room for you here, so we are going to shift you to our brand new, sister resort, 30 minutes out of Cabo towards Todo Santos"...are you freaking kidding me? We say, NOPE, sorry, we paid for this stay IN FULL 6 months ago, and we want to stay here at the Solmar, as it is walking distance to the Marina, the nightlife, downtown, etc...that is exactly why we booked at Solmar. But nope, they say they have no room. They are fully counting on you not making a scene, and just being so wowed by this new upgrade that you will just go with it. Also, you really have NO choice, because since we were there over the Christmas/New Years window, where else were we going to go, as everything was booked. Total scam. So, long and short of it is, they totally screwed us...took our money in FULL, didn't not contact us at all to tell us they overbooked, and proceeded to send us out in the middle of nowhere to some new resort that they are trying to attract people to (Grand Solmar Rancho San Lucas). DON'T book with Solmar in any type of peak season, no matter how far out you book...they will take your money, and screw you over...lessoned learned from this seasoned traveller, have a plan B or don't book at all here.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-1

    Excellent Service

    Reviewed by CaboGirl21() on Feb 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Stayed at Solar for 6 nights and can’t say enough wonderful things about this fabulous small resort. Alberto greeted us with a warm hug and remembered my husband and I from our stay two years ago. He went above and beyond to see that every detail of our stay was attended to with a genuine friendly attitude and smile. Thank you Alberto for everything. We look forward to our next visit.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Incredible service!

    Reviewed by gsanfilippo14(San Francisco, California) on Feb 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My friend and I visited Solmar Resort in October 2018 for a week and our stay completely exceeded any of our previous expectations. Our studio was a great size, very near to the front desk, a pool, and snack bar, as well as close to the main pool and restaurant. This was also our first time at an all inclusive resort so we had read that food options could perhaps be limited, however we never tired of the options and absolutely took advantage of the all inclusive in the swim up bar! Our experience was really topped off by the fantastic service by the bartenders, Tavo and Frank in particular, who remembered my and my friend's names, room, drink, and lunch orders. Though we couldn't swim in the ocean, time flew by the pool. Warning to blondes though: our hair turned green from the chlorine in the pool (we used ketchup from the restaurant to remove the green). Next time I travel to Cabo, I may consider staying on the Sea de Cortez facing side, but I will absolutely consider staying at Solmar again first.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Excellent customer service

    Reviewed by yahoo325() on Feb 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We extended our vacation and needed 3 additional nights in Cabo, we were at Dreams for 7 nights, unfortunately dreams would not work with us for additional nights, much to our pleasure we arrived at solmar, they upgraded our room at time of arrival, and the hospitality was very professional enjoyed our stay!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX