Playa Mazatlán Beach Hotel

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    L

    Playa Mazatlan is absolutely beautiful and a fantastic place to stay...perfect for young and old and everyone in between!!

    Reviewed by Lori on Sep 29, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    I have been going to Mazatlan since 2000 and have stayed at Playa Mazatlan since 2006. I love this hotel!! It is one of the most beautiful hotels I've ever seen...especially at night!! The staff is always very friendly and super accommodating. The location is amazing and set in the heart of the Golden Zone close to tons of amazing restaurants and awesome stores to shop at.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    P

    Will always go back...special place.

    Reviewed by Pepsi and Memo on Dec 19, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Honeymoon

    We love this place, hadn't been there in 17 years and went there for our honey moon last April. It was as fantastic as before ! We are going back for another 2 weeks in Jan, next month and bringing a couple with us who have never been. Never disappoints and if there are any minor issues, such as a room change, they are right on it ! Food is great, walking distance to many good restaurants and shops. We could have stayed at a slightly cheaper place, but this is great value and so well run.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    G

    Good value for money when on sale, but don't expect much peace and quite.

    Reviewed by Gringotim on Oct 25, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Very noisy hotel, ceramic tile or concrete everywhere which echoes every noise. especially from rooms above/beside you, like drawers/doors slamming shut , chairs being moved etc. If you want to sleep at night, bring ear plugs. Rooms are accessed via outside corridors, so always hear people shouting outside, down the halls, doors slamming, rooms near pools are even worse for noise during the daytime. Ocean view rooms are the best thing about Playa Mazatlan, but can be noisy during the day from strolling bands playing for tips. Hotel caters mostly to Mexican families, so always lots of kids running around yelling and screaming, especially on weekends. Pools are very crowded, beach is small and can be crowded, especially weekends, waves break close to shore so not good for swimming or small kids, they can knock even adults over. Needs more staff with some English, especially housekeeping and the bar. Asked for bag of ice at the bar, guy mixed me drink. Location is so so, and for those wanting to save money by not going all inclusive like we do, its under 5 minute walk to Burger King, 8-10 to Mcdonalds, 12-15 to Carls Jr , plus dozens of non fast food restaurants within easy walking distance. 12-15 minutes to big Mega grocery/department store. Only hotel restaurant we ate at was the buffet, food was so so, but a bit pricey for our budget, $200 pesos each for dinner, $185 for lunch. Stayed here twice, only in ocean view room and only when on sale.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    d

    We loved our stay. The service is fantastic.

    Reviewed by dj on Feb 12, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    Our 4th time and each time the whole experience exceeds our expectations. Fantastic location and superior service. Can't wait to go to go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    T

    Never going back to that place

    Reviewed by Tracey on Jan 29, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We were not impressed with this place at all! My husband got food poisoning from their restaraunt, it was a battle with the front desk staff to get a doctor in, and they had the nerve to charge us money for the call. There is no Italian restaraunt and room service don't exsit for the all inclusive..nor did good service.. The broken glass on the beach was never cleaned up, I have a nice scar on my foot where i sliced it. The pedelars that roamed the beach were the best thing about the place. I am so disappointed that the one holiday we get a year was ruined' and not one person from the Hotel cared.. Not a great way to bring back consumers.. It to bad as the town is very nice.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2262 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Playa Mazatlan

    Reviewed by Bonnie M(Estevan, Canada) on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Just returned from this resort. Big shout out to Darynka and her crew for all the fun and games around the pool, and also to Erik and Ramon for the great waiter service around the pool! All of them were so friendly and cheerful!

    Much Better Than Expected

    Reviewed by Winnie211(Fort McMurray, Canada) on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Right from our arrival to our departure we experienced awesome customer service. We were upgraded to an oceanview. Our rooms were spacious and clean. The buffet was good and had a wide assortment of choices. We went to the Italian ala cart and it was good but the Brazillan seemed disorganized as we received our meat when we were finished our other food. The only negative I would have is all the loud music going on,(including some roaming band on the beach with the trombone-that was most annoying) and one night there was a wedding function that there was loud music late into the night. There was construction behind the pool during the week day that was loud. Other than that I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will return if I have a chance

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Love The Playa!

    Reviewed by Susan J(Winnipeg, Canada) on Feb 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our fourth visit to The Playa! We've made new friends, and meet up with old one's once a year. The food is just fine in the buffet. You'll always find something good at breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Fresh, hot, fried or scrambled eggs, omelets, and a ton of other choices. If something is cold: ie pancakes or waffles, they'll make you hot ones. You just have to wait that's all. The green juice at breakfast is amazing! I was told that it's cactus juice, celery & parsley. Panini's with Provolone cheese & onion; hola Mayra! Georgini's steaks were the best four years ago. The Caesar Salad was as well. The Parmesan encrusted holder of the romane was fabulous! The Mexican Platter at Casa Roberto was great with an icy cold bottle of Pacifico. Thank you Antonio for showing us that plate for another patron. We ordered the same thing & loved it! Thank you also for giving me the name of the song we heard, and also thank you to the guys at the Pool who played it for me; as well as all of my Mana requests! (Tigres del Norte-Golpes en el Corazon) We also had new bedding & mattresses in our room! A new sliding balcony door as well! We slept like babies! Thank you to Paula, the lovely lady who cleaned our room every day. Hola Paula from Susanita no pluma! We did not have our sheets changed for two weeks & that's what we prefer. Just put the sign on your pillow. This Hotel does it's best to be environmentally responsible. Straws are provided for your drinks if you ask for one. My friend & I were saying how nice it would be if they had a Bar on this side of the beach so the waiters wouldn't have to go all the way to the other side. Well, didn't one open the very next day! Conveniently located right below our room! Thanks go out to Luis the waiter on the beach, as well as Manuel at the cold pool bar. My favorite guys at the main bar who make me my Susanita Margaritas: Lamberto, Guillermo, Jorge. The Terrazza guys: Humberto, a true gentleman! Older Julio! Leonardo! (DaVinci, haha) The top notch entertainment! Hi Anel & Priscile! Thanks to Alphonso, a most friendly Security Guard! We enjoyed talking to you! To Guillermo, (a fine Artist) Javier & Jesus in the sports bar. I have no idea how you guys kept up with the drink orders when that make-up convention was there! You guys rock! A shout out to Jesus (Baseball guy) who worked the Terrazza. Please get well soon, and we hope to see you next year. We were wondering where you were this year. This is a wonderful Hotel, and we'd never stay anywhere else! Thank you for a great two weeks!

    Disappointing visit

    Reviewed by april494(St. Albert, Canada) on Feb 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I've stayed at the Playa Mazatlan 5 times now. This one was probably the most disappointing trip I've had there to date. First, I'll say the hotel staff are friendly and courteous. All staff work really hard at keeping the hotel clean and maintained although there are areas that are showing the age of the building. That being said, the rooms are in desperate need of updated windows, the noise levels at just about all hours is offensive. Newer windows would help so much in decreasing the noise. There's a window/vent in the bathrooms that let in a lot of noise as well. We closed the bathroom door to mitigate the noise levels along with the air conditioning to get a good sleep. I love live music, especially if the music is good. However, I don't personally enjoy live music or loud music first thing in the morning while eating breakfast. During our stay Feb 6-13 there were a few times while eating breakfast at the buffet at 9 -10 am there was someone singing. Plus the pool near the terrazza /buffet was competing against the music levels with the live music in the buffet. The beach is great, many palapas available to sit at. Many vendors do walk by, but a simple no thanks is good enough. Henry the hat man has an incredible memory for names.. a new thing since I've last been to Mazatlan is the beach "banda's" or at least the numbers of them. My last day there there were 3 competing bands all within feet of each other. The location of the hotel is good, it's close to the golden zone, and is a reasonable taxi ride to old Mazatlan and the Plazuela Machado. I personally think that the Playa Mazatlan is a overall good hotel, but it does need some updating. I would caution people who are looking for peace and quiet and to have some serenity to not stay here. If you don't mind hearing a lot of loud music everywhere and people coming and going at all hours of the night it's good.

    Good - Good - Good

    Reviewed by geodoctor(Morden Mb) on Feb 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This hotel is a very good place to stay. It has everything you need when on a vacation. We did the all inclusive deal and got it at pretty good rate so we went out on the town for a few meals during our stay. However there are a number of buffets and restaurants at this resort with a fair bit of variety you really don't need to go anywhere else. Its an older resort but constantly being improved and upgraded. The only negative thing I might say is that the rooms can get quite noisy if you have the patio door open. but when we closed ours it muffled the sound of music and pool noise quite well. We had pretty loud neighbors in the next room for a couple nights but a call to the desk took care of it ( for the most part). Like every resort there never seems to be enough beach loungers but it really wasn't a problem we could usually find a spot to relax. the entertainment was fun as well. The performers worked hard and made certain we had a great evening. Pretty good location on the edge of the golden zone and a long walk to old Mazatlan. Good food, good beds, good pool, good beach, good location, good staff, good entertainment = good times.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX