Sunscape Cove Montego Bay

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    C

    Would definitely return in the future! Had a fantastic week!

    Reviewed by Courtney on Apr 06, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    all in all, it is a great well rounded resort, especially when traveling with kids! Would I go back to this resort with just me and my husband looking for a kid free vacation? I am unsure, it would really depend on how badly I wanted to get away from kids LOL They do a great job of catering to kids and have tons of activities happening throughout the day and evening for kids. And since this was a vacation more so for my daughter, it hit every check point that we were looking for. But this should be something to keep in mind if you are looking for a kid free vacation and thinking about this resort. I have been to the Caribbean multiple times, on resorts as well as cruises, and Jamaica is for sure on my top list of destinations to revisit. And at Sunscape Cove you definitely get very good value for your money!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    k

    Wonderful family resort

    Reviewed by kr on Aug 05, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    This is a great family resort, great beach, lots of activities. The waterpark was awesome.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    T

    A great hotel for families with a budget. The waterpark and pools for kids are fantastic.

    Reviewed by Travlgurl on Jul 28, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    The resort was well kept and rooms are very spacious. Really enjoyed the beach front room. The staff were very kind and did their best to accomodate.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    Really liked it

    Reviewed by Diane on Jul 26, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Wow I have to say that for a value property it was awesome especially for family I would definitely good back for sure

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Ocean View was Fantastic!

    Reviewed by Di on Jul 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    I loved this resort, it was very picturesque, there is something for everyone in a family, food was great, and the service was amazing.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    G

    Fun for the whole family!

    Reviewed by Globetrotter on Jul 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Wonderful family friendly resort. Great waterpark for kids. Clean and spacious room. Welcoming staff. Overall, great property.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    J

    Great value for families

    Reviewed by Jen on Jul 21, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    beautiful calm beach - great for young children to play in - access to the water park but can also have the quiet area as well-

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    K

    Would stay here again

    Reviewed by Kelly Anderson on Jul 20, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Great Value Hotel

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Family fun for all!

    Reviewed by Sue on Jul 19, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    This hotel was fun and friendly. Something for everyone.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1871 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    My grandad’s birthday trip... could have been better

    Reviewed by moniquegrammed() on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Sunscape Cove Resort I just returned from a 7-day family trip at the Sunscape Cove. I was originally set to stay at the Sunscape Splash, but after doing some research the Cove was definitely more our speed. So we upgraded to sun club ocean front room. First I would not have normally picked this resort but with a family of 20 traveling you need to meet the needs of everyone. My first choice would have been the Secrets next door but that would have eliminated the kids. Alas, here we are. PROS: Check in welcoming staff - seated cold towels, welcome drink and a courteous staff introduced us to butler staff gave us butler cell phone. Our room was immediately ready and we had a few items in room champagne & a fruit plate. Butler - Ryan was extremely helpful catered to our needs arranged a tour for the family which was majority on the Splash side. He brought a cooler to beach daily filled with whatever red stripe/soda we wanted. Made dinner reservations, reserved beach chairs, bought us towels, looked for us on resort if we didn’t request anything. He literally worked in a vest and long sleeved shirts dress slacks all day. He was EXCEPTIONAL. Room - we were in a sun club ocean front room with butler. We were on ground floor three rooms from Tourtuga Bar. (Perfect location). These rooms are updated. Walk in glass shower, updated amenities and furniture. Splash rooms do not look like these AT all. Also we got nightly house keeping turn down service, next day events calendar, pillow chocolates, more towels (if laundry available) and room is freshened up from beach sand. Only available at Sun club rooms. Beach - our room was the absolute definition of ocean front. I walked out from balcony — around the pavers/landscaping, across sand and into ocean. Water was perfect there were some rocks so if your feet are sensitive wear shoes. I’m the definition of a beach bum so this was all I needed. The sun/sand add the bar perfection. There were zero solicitors on the beach, not one. I loved that there weren’t randoms walking around trying to sell me items while I relaxed. WiFi - it’s free, ask for code upon checkin apparently at the splash it’s $10 daily for two devices. My husband and I had 6 devices between us (unfortunately we check in with work on vacation) this benefit alone was worth it. Drinks - I was pleasantly surprised that these drinks were not watered down, nor did I feel like they were refilling bottles. I’ve been to all inclusives where I’ve been unsure of the alcohol selection but not here. Coco Cafe: coffee ice cream shop, this was open 24-hours it was definitely a bright spot the staff was always friendly even if they were slammed with ice cream or latte orders. Ruddiae (not sure if i spelled correctly) was there every morning after I left gym she was alway nice and made great lattes. CONS: Food - there was only one restaurant open at the Cove the entire time we were here. It has four menu items for dinner and standard sit down breakfast. We didn’t eat here for lunch. After day three I was bored to death of the food (understand I get it it’s all inclusive food I’m not expecting the Fairmont or Four Seasons but this was BORING). We ventured over to the Splash, but they had too many random rules. Ex: no taking plates to rooms, buffet plates can’t go to beach stand, and the buffet was always out of things. Also, you must wear cover ups shoes and shirts in meals which I respect and agree with. However, I went over to the Splash buffet for lunch and a server Conrad asked me 3 times to close my cover up; meanwhile he took 15 minutes to refill plantains. He actually threatened to “fine me” to this I said why don’t you fine those Plantains sir. He didn’t say anything else, just returned with plantains, so I guess the fine was not real and he was potentially being a creep. Also this is the first all inclusive where the restaurants actually close in peak hours. Ex: buffet open 7-10:30, 12:30-3; 6-9. So there were windows where there was nothing open aside from beach shack that only serves burgers and occasional jerk chicken after 1pm. Coffee - blue mountain coffee is my favorite coffee in the world so far. I’ve traveled A LOT to some pretty awesome places in Europe for espresso (not South America yet so don’t judge me on that) but this brewed is A+. I do not believe one place on resort served Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee, HOW? Pools - there technically is no pool at the Cove seems like there’s space but there just isn’t one you have to go to water park which is in middle of two resorts or to Splash. This seems like an area that needs improvement. Also with the rules pools close at some times and open at specific times. I never went to one stayed at the beach. Fitness Center - ok i get it not everyone exercises on vacation it I do usually daily. This place has not been updated in 10 years and it never had towels to wipe sweat which is terribly gross. There were 4 treadmills, a stairclimber, possibly and elliptical, a bike one bench press with one barbell (ONLY one barbell in the entire place) a few machines and rack of dumbbells. There was a pretty nice room to stretch and for abs or for yoga if your a yogi but def bring your own mat. Towels - they clearly have a major laundry issue. They need to order more towels or hire more staff period for the both resorts. Towels not ready in fitness center. Only one towel given during cleaning. Beach towel shack often out of towels. If it weren’t for Ryan (our butler) we would never have had towels. Because my family at the splash never received enough towels in the daily cleaning.

    Sunscape Cove Montego Bay

    Reviewed by Sightsee285035() on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The staff was very friendly, accommodating and warm, the resort was somewhat dated. The location of the resort did not allow for an open beach area to walk as it was restricted with rocks piers, rocks blocking etc.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-3

    Find a nicer place

    Reviewed by mbalan(New York City, New York) on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I work for a company that put me up twice here. Thankfully only one night. I’m asking them to find something else. The cove part is so loud!! And so rundown. The beach chairs are old and filthy! The room is not bad it has been renovated but awful musty smell. Some staff are wonderful, others can’t be bothered helping you. I went to the towel hut and the girl said we have no towels! I said so we go to the pool or beach and you don’t have towels . Then I guess I guilted into calling someone asking for towels. I think that’s what she should have done in the first place! No customer service. My bellman Andre was very nice This reminds me of a place that May have been very glamorous in its day but it’s not what it once was!

    Ryan was the best Butler I’ve ever had’ the Butler along with his staff, a young waiter and maids were awesome.

    Reviewed by mrnielsen99(Novato, California) on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Go here if you want to relax. Friendly staff,great swimming, nice weather. The piano player was great. The food in the restaurant was good. The buffet is for kids. We would go back in a heart beet. Damian our driver among others was so nice, we bought all our drivers lunch,

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    ms

    Reviewed by Ambassador471515() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    The room we checked in on the arrive is in poor condition like motel:( It was not we were showed when we porches the UVC membership as we were promised. We are very disappointed !!! After a couple of hours we had checked in the bellman opened our door and brought the other family in to our room to check in, we were horrified :(... the room was double booked :( then a supervisor came to investigate, promise us will update our room next day @3pm... We have to ask for the towels all the time...the beach towels were short of supply, have to try 3-4 times to get them :( On the last evening, our room keys not working any more. They have to send the tech worked over an hour to fix the lock...my daughter and I have to wait outside all this time, was biting by the mosquitos...

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-1

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX