Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 7084 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Included scuba diving with Sandals is a scam

    Reviewed by texastoast4(Columbia, South Carolina) on Sep 25, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I booked this trip with a friend specifically to go diving. I am in advanced open water diver with 14 years experience. When I went to register to dive they questioned my NAUI license and recommended that I dive with a PADI instructor for $300. Then they questioned my experience. My last dive was in March 2020 6 months ago in the Atlanta aquarium Pre covid. Then they gave me a nine page health questionnaire Longer than anything I’ve ever seen? The only thing I checked (being honest) was that I had elevated cholesterol and they told me that I could not dive without a full doctors physical examination and authorization? Since when is elevated cholesterol an exemption for diving? If that was the case 75% of the divers in the United States would be in eligible. I am actually a doctor. High cholesterol is not an excluding factor for diving. Unstable Cardiovascular disease is. I do not have unstable cardiovascular disease nor cardiovascular disease as of my last physical in June 2020? I have never had a cardiovascular event. I am extremely physically fit and very active. I contacted NAUI to inform them and they said it was absolutely ridiculous. I will not return to Sandals again. Oh and by the way. The rooms are OK but the entire facility is outdated. And its directly under the landing approach for MBJ airport. Planes fly over low with intense noise all day. The beach is a pitiful attempt at a quality Caribbean beach. It was tiny and awkward. There were local people in kayaks paddling all day like preditors at the limit of the swim area in front of us trying to entice people to buy drugs and tourist junk while we were sitting at the beach. If that’s your idea of a vacation you can have it!

    Best trip thus far with Sandals

    Reviewed by cmason2015(Wimauma, Florida) on Sep 23, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Review is long overdue. My husband and I stayed at SRC in August 2020 (22-29) for my husband’s birthday. We were there for our 30th anniversary in January so it was interesting to compare pre Covid-19 and post Covid-19 trip at this resort. We were scheduled to go to Ochi but because Ochi was not opening until September, we choose to go to SRC. This time we had a Royal Beachfront Club Elite Suite – BCS. The room was wonderful. Very spacious and a great view. Thus far, this was my favorite room. The only criticism was the bed was so high, I had to climb up onto the chest at the end of the bed to climb onto the bed and I am 5’ 6” tall. My husband is 6” he was just barely able to get in without jumping. But the bed was very comfortable. The room set up was perfect for us. So, let me start with some of the staff that made our trip so memorable and shows why we are still Sandals Fans. Ms. Dawn Smith, General Manager was delightful. We were the only Diamond guest that signed up for the Diamond lunch that week, so we were delighted to have her all to ourselves. Talking with her was the highlight of the day because she is so customer service oriented. We are thankful she had a special picture made for us to remember that day. I look forward to seeing her again when we return in November 2020. And the lunch was great. Kudos to the chef. His steak was better than we had at Butches. No kidding, food was exceptional. (Had lunch at Spices.) Our butlers, Jean-Pierre and Andrei were fantastic. Not only did they make my husband’s birthday special, they made the entire week special. All the little touches and special deliveries were just so wonderful. I would recommend them if you want to be pampered during your vacation yet not have them “hovering” over you. Kumar Smith, the Spa Manager, and his staff were wonderful. Kumar was great when we were there in January 2020 and again wonderful when we were there in August. The spa treatments were fantastic. And although I bought way too many spa products, I love them all. I cannot wait to go back to the spa because they treat you like royalty. The entire staff was great, but Roy at the French restaurant and Shanna-Kay in housekeeping both went above and beyond in their duties to make our vacation very special. Romario, our Cabana Butler was the best. He delivered a cupcake for my husband and to this day my husband says it was the best cupcake he ever had. Now granted, Romario did not bake it himself but if he had not sent it over to my husband, he would never had had such a treat. And he took such great care of us while we rented a cabana on the private island. So, the resort. It was as usual nice and very clean. We could not go to the other property at that time until that Friday, but we had other plans for Friday. But we didn’t feel like we missed out and the private island is always fun. We especially like renting a cabana for the day; and we like the middle one. More private and less windy or gets less rain coming through on rainy days. What a wonderful way to spend a day. Finally, as always, special shout out to Alicia Spence in the home office because our upcoming trip in November would not be our 19th booking without her support in the past with because let’s face it, there are times when there are issues and she’s always been there to help resolve ones we had. Happily, absolutely no issues on this trip. This by far was our best vacation at Sandals and it is because of all the staff that made it even more special. So the new General Manager, Ms. Dawn Smith is absolutely continuing the tradition of having all staff provide great customer service. If “you’re on the fence” about going to SRC, you definitely won’t go wrong booking a trip at this location. The resort and staff will make for a really great vacation.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Worth the headache once you get to the resort!

    Reviewed by RachL007(Telluride, Colorado) on Sep 23, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Once you book your trip you better hope you don't need to change it or ask about price. Do not expect to be able to communicate with Sandals about your trip. The wait times are horrendous. My friends and I both had credits listed on our account but they "magically" disappeared after asking about them. Was hoping once I got to the resort we could resolve the issues but no one has access to this info and you have to call Sandals. Once we got to the resort I will tell you that the smiling faces that work there made it all worth it. If it was not for the staff here I would have still been frustrated. From the day we got there the 2 check in ladies (I apologize on names) were very attentive and even called us mid week to see how our stay was going. Ricardo with bar stocking always made sure we were fully stocked everyday and even gave us an extra case of water (stay hydrated my friends). We met Arlando our first day and he was outstanding. He helped answer questions for us, told us about the local area, where to shop that was within the corridor, told us about the candlelight dinner and even brought us menus, anything we asked he had the answer to and we were so lucky to meet him. We hope when we come back we will see his smiling face and friendly demeaner. At the bar we met Crystal who always had a smile on her face and made the main bar such a friendly environment to be in. Sammoy we met at the circle bar and he was outstanding. It was slower at the bar when we went over and so glad it was because we got to know him a little more. He was such a joy to be around and to learn about him and the local area was amazing. He had such a wonderful smile and warming personality. When we went out for water sports Mario hooked us up with answers on different activities as well as the scuba diving. Shannon hooked us up with tips on the Hobie Cat. I wish there was a test or a 1 hour session with these guys to learn more about the water so we could have explored more. The entertainment every night was exceptional and not to be missed! The first night we saw Crystal Champagne and she lit up the stage with her amazing voice and "bubbly" personality! Calvin was spot on for his sax, I could listen to him for hours. Our photo shoot was with Jason and he was the best! He was attentive and his photos turned out beautifully. We didn't make a res. for our last night but Mark at Bombay hooked us up and we were able to eat there for our last night. The staff at SRC make it worth it!

    SEPT 16TH TRAVEL DURING COVID 19

    Reviewed by SyrGroup() on Sep 23, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I can not say enough about this resort. The food - delicious, the drinks - amazing, the staff - beyond helpful and friendly. The staff was always cleaning and sanitizing all while smiling and making sure we were having a great time. Starting with our check in process - CECE is fabulous. She had to deal with our family of 8 staying in 4 rooms - which we were placed right next to each other AMAZING Cece checked in on us everyday making sure we had our reservations made and making sure we were having fun. She even offered to help us learn the Jamaican dance ;) The bar tenders were beyond entertaining. The entertainment staff are by far the best singers, dancers of all the Sandals I have stayed at. Our only disappointment is that we couldn't stay longer. A huge shout out to this incredible staff at the Sandals Royal Caribbean Thank you for a great visit. Renee'

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Sandals Jamaica

    Reviewed by 184katherinek() on Sep 22, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This resort was absolutely fabulous I cannot day enough how wonderful the staff is! We spent our honeymoon there and we could not of wished for a better vacation. If you are debating on going just go you will not regret it!