Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    V

    Not much nice to say: great beaches.

    Reviewed by Viktor Madarasz on Mar 09, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    Ended up in a mold infested room. Slept on the balcony for 2 days before we were moved. The place is more and more rundown every year. If you are looking for a second rate motel atmosphere with ripped carpets, not working ancient elevators, 10000 times repainted furniture in restaurants, disinterested staff that only perks up for tips, boring same everyday cafeteria food and non stop sales pitches in timeshares than this is your dream vacation spot. The wi-fi is spotty at best { after you payed for it}. The "entertainment" would have been better if it was provided by a group of 10 year olds. The one and only thing going for this place is the beaches. If you can go anywhere else, do it.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    N

    It was my first time traveling to Jamaica but fell in love with the place.

    Reviewed by Nellie from Nova Scotia on Nov 03, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Wedding

    The staff were exceptionally hospitable and polite (with special shout-out to the Westjet rep Mama Charmaine).The beach was a little rocky in some areas, but was very clean and not crowded. I travelled with a group of 40 people and we all said we will return. The location was great, because it was big enough for the group to separate and do our own thing and it had something (activity)for the different ages in our group.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    More like a 5* for what we paid!!!

    Reviewed by ACsl8tr on May 29, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This is our 2nd time back to this property. My Fiancee and I love it. The price was Perfect for what we were looking for. Its definetly more a 5*. I mean we had marble/granite floors. Large balcony, the maids even wash and sweep your floors every day! Which is almost unheard of in many All Inclusive resorts. Everyone was So friendly there. Even the gardeners, they always had a smile for us. I am a picky eater and I ate at the buffet every day and didnt get sick once. The Beach had SO many extra loungers than the pool did so we made our way to the beach for the last few days. Check out the beach first. The only thing I didnt like was, they didnt have enough bath towels. We used our beach towels instead while we waited for the towels to be brought up when they had some fresh clean ones. There was so many new things there this time around. A kids water park, they re did the beach area so there are a few private areas on the beach you can sit down and relax on. I would definitely come back to this resort on my next vacation!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Unforgettable, and will return!

    Reviewed by Sacha on Apr 17, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    Pros: Staff were exceptionally hospitable and polite (with special shout-outs to the Westjet rep Charmaine, as well as the bartenders Joel, Damian, Vanessa, Jerome, and Evrad for going above and beyond.), the food and booze were plentiful and delicious, beach and pool areas were immaculate, room was only slightly dated but otherwise bright and clean. Cons: Paid $100 CAD to have Wifi that wasn't even remotely reliable, and there was construction going on directly beneath my balcony the entire time I was there, so I was woken up at 8am every day by belt-sanders.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Staff were awsome, they made us feel welcome. Good food. Love jerked chicken. Love the beach too, although Cuba beaches are better.

    Reviewed by Maisiena Vovinam on Jul 13, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    This is great resort, and very large. We read other comments and asked for buidling 17000/18000 where it's close to beach, and waterpark, and they give us building 17000. Thanks for all comments. We love this resort, althought some parts of beach are mossy, but that was a great spot for snorkling, my 2 kids loved it. ONE WARNING about Invitation to attend free breakfast of Privillege club - this is a trap - don't attend it. This is basically a timeshare program, waiste time and could be lots of money. My husband received this invitation at the door, and was exciting to go. We both went, but after all, they just want to sell their hotel timeshare, we ended up SPENT 14,000$ paid upfront $7000, no breakfast at LUXURY resort, late lunch. How stupid! What are the cruel people! we both got persuaded and signed, but so regreted afterward, want to get out, sale manager said WE CAN'T, we are doomed. I hated these people so much. This program would worth a total $6000. HOW STUPID!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    Poor service and unfriendly staff

    Reviewed by Jen from Calgary on Jul 05, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: July 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    I wanted to write a review to warn people about this resort. They claim to be a 5 star, but there is no way that can be true. Their staff are unfriendly and have no sense of urgency. The service is poor (when you can actually get service) and they are unapologetic and sometimes rude. The front desk rarely answers the phone and when they do they "accidentally" hang up on you or transfer you around to different people and then the line goes dead. The food wasn't very good for a 5 star, and the buffet was constantly out of plates, glasses, silverware, various soft drinks, etc. There was one day where the towel hut was out of towels at 11 am! You call this a 5 star resort?! They are a huge resort and definitely unable to keep up with the amount of people staying there. Keep in mind this is currently their OFF season... I would hate to see them at full capacity if they can't even keep up with their guests in their off season. I was really looking forward to going on this trip. Sadly, it was not the dream vacation to Jamaica that I had hoped for.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    V

    The combination of Westjet and Grand Bahia Principe is unbeatable :)

    Reviewed by Viktor Madarasz on Mar 04, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Breathtaking location. The grounds are just simply amazing. Very well maintained. Spacious rooms grandly furnished. Love the privacy of each balcony. I liked it that after a certain hour the only alcohol is available at the disco or your own room, I really did not miss tons of drunks wondering around at 3 am making everyone else's life just a bit more miserable. Great food. Very friendly staff. I just HAVE TO mention Keisha and Marlene, the Westjet representatives at the resort: if you need any help, these are the ladies you should turn to. They are the most helpful, friendly, professional, funny people you will ever meet. No problem is too small or too big for them. They are amazing, hope they will be recognized for it, because they made my good vacation GREAT. Had an amazing time, will be back next winter for sure.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    We loved our vacation there !

    Reviewed by Liz on Feb 03, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We loved the resort and the staff ,wonderful hospitality and very clean .we would go back anytime !

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    BUYER BEWARE!!! NO HOSPITALITY!!! DON'T WASTE YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY $$$$$$$$

    Reviewed by KINIJL9 on Apr 08, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Large group

    My family of 10 took our annual family vacation to Jamaica this year & we all booked at the Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica. 3 separate rooms to include 6 adults & 4 children. I booked the golden club with an oceanview & even called prior to inform them of exactly where I wanted my room to be located, the front of building H facing the ocean. Not long after leaving the airport to go to our hotel the driver named Kingsley called into his company dispatch saying he was having problems with the alternator. He had to cut the air condition off & drive about 20 miles per hour the entire way to the resort. It took us twice as long to get to the resort as it should have. Upon arrival to the resort no one was there to greet us as we were told it should be. No bellman to get our luggage! The driver took our bags off the shuttle & as we drug them up the stairs at the entrance of the hotel he pulled off. We waited about 30 min before the bellman came to put our bags on a cart. We tried to make reservations for our a la carte dinners that were supposed to be included in the package, but were told that they were told that they were booked & the only thing they had available was a 9:30pm reservation for the steakhouse the next day. Waited a hour & a half for towels & a hour & 45min for room service one day! Waited to speak to a manager for a hour & a half for him after making several requests for him & he could do nothing! What I expected was far from the vacation I received. After a month I finally received a response to this letter that I had to send twice to corporate basically saying oh well we are not going to do anything about it, we already have your money! I WILL NEVER STAY AT ANOTHER GRAND BAHIA IN JAMAICA OR ANYWHERE ELSE! If you want a vacation that is worth the money you spent on it I would advise you stay elsewhere! By the way if you lean over the balcony & pray you do not fall, look to the right to get your ocean view!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    D

    Great time, Would go back in a minute.

    Reviewed by Debbie B on Mar 07, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We really enjoyed our stay at Bahia Principe. The resort was large so you never seemed confined. We took advantage of that and each day we would pick a different spot. One day the beach, one day the pool and enjoyed all our spots. We are early risers so it worked to our advantage. We liked to run in the mornings and would reserve our loungers while on the run around the property. We could do about a 2 1/2 K loop around. The yoga and pilates program was an awesome way to start your day. Get to breakfast before 9 and there was never a line. Then when you are done you can get fresh towels and the day was yours. The activities were a lot of fun and so much to do for both adults and children. The bars were all great and the staff were all very friendly. The live entertainment was really good. We always went to the beach buffet to get the jerk chicken which is amazing and worth the wait in line and the daily bands were great to watch. The a la carte restaurants were nice but a bit of a pain to book, we did it as soon as we checked in. Yes the times are not always the best and there are many empty tables for there "club" members who never show up but it was a nice change from the buffet. Wish there was more Jamaican food to sample. Pool is awesome.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 12818 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Beautiful Hotel and property

    Reviewed by robert s(Innisfil, Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed at this resort for 7 days and enjoyed everyday .The swimming pool is huge and there are multiple private coves to swim/suntan/snorkel . There are numerous bars both inside and outside for our use. Security staff are watching guests 24/7 which is very safe and secure .There are stores located on site so there is no reason to leave the resort property. All staff was very friendly and helpful .The food was excellent in all locations . We would most definitely return to this resort !

    Below Below Average Resort

    Reviewed by hasman3009(Ottawa, Canada) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I was part of a large group attending a wedding. It is only fair to compare the experience versus other resorts in Jamaica. When going to an all inclusive resort, I look for very basic things; a clean updated room, courteous staff and reasonable food. The room quality and cleanless of the room is average. The staff are definitely the biggest challenge in the resort. Housekeeping staff literally yelling at each other in the hallway at maybe 8:30 am while the " Do not Disturb" signs are displayed on 5 or 6 rooms . They do not have enough stock of towels. To get enough towels you need to give a tip. We were in the furtherest building from the lobby area. My wife and I tested how many staff will say good morning, we passed about 11 staff, only one lady said good morning. I was with couple of friends enjoying a cigar around 10:00 pm, which I guess was end of shift for some of the staff. We experienced staff asking if we can give them a cigarette!! There is absolutely no sense of food safety or hygiene. We ate breakfast every day and dinner twice in the buffet area. No cook ever wears a rubber gloves. They work with bare hands and handle the food this way. In one of these two evenings I ordered a glass of red wine, 20 minutes later I did not get the wine and the server is no Where to be found. He finally showed up and apologized to me as he "had to go to the bathroom"! That is for sure lack of training and guest service skills. Ah yes, the beach is very good. Would I go there again, not in a million years.

    Wow factor....

    Reviewed by Cindy2013_13(Toronto, Canada) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Thank you, Andrea Holmes from Travel Agents in Action, for making my birthday arrival special. The banner on our door was such a special round along with the sparkling wine. Happy Birthday to me. This resort has the wow factor, when you pull up, we found the lobby area and grounds much better than the Luxury side. The rooms were beautiful and very clean. We were in building 18 on the second floor, which was an excellent location for the kids water park, beach buffet, sunset bar, near the Garden grill, main pool and the big beach to the left of the resort and The village. We were at the left beach every single day. Nice and big with lots of shade. A couple of bars, washrooms and on Fridays they do a big jerk chicken grill at lunch. The best on our trip. There is a couple of Jamaicans that come every day to the beach on a raft. It is quite hilarious to see but they are super popular. They serve Jamaican beef patties for $3 but get there early because they always run out. The also grill fresh crab and lobster. I am not sure on the price because we didn’t have any. Be prepared to wait 25-30 Jamaican minutes. Worth the wait from what we were told. These guys are private, so it isn’t included but they seem to have a great gig going and everyone enjoys when they arrive. Garden Grill, this is their steak house by night. We weren’t overly thrilled with the surf and turf, neither of us ate our beef but the shrimp was good. Also, this place serves breakfast in the morning. Much smaller and quicker especially for the omelettes. The 2 guys were always singing and smiling. Better staff here. BUT...there isn’t as much selection however more than enough, we ate here every morning. Sunset Bar, the hidden gem. We went here every night to finish our day. Nick(Nicholas) is the hardest, most friendly, smiling attentive server in the entire resort, very professional young man. Your glass was never empty and he always knew your drink. Small deck with limited seating to watch the sunset but we greatly enjoyed this part of the day with our processco. Opens at 5:30-10:30 during March sun sets. This place is behind the Dolce restaurant and you go thru the beach buffet to get to it down the stairs to the right on the water. Beach Grill has jerk chicken everyday. Super fresh vegetables for salads, good selection and awesome Pizza. Also, this place is open with hot dogs and burgers every night from 11-7am. Mikado Tepanyaki we went here twice. Very good but tons of food at the cooking table. Chicken, beef, sea bass and shrimp. Dolce Vita our favourite. Great food and friendly service with great presentation. French restaurant we did not attend. Main buffet was ok. Lots of selection but super busy and crowded. Staff wasn’t overly friendly here. Great for large crowds, I would think. Main swim up bar was always busy. Beth likes her shots at the end of the day. She never stopped but they could use more staff in this area. Flashing money works but do we really need to be tipping in order to get quicker service? You decide. Nightly entertainment at the village was ok. Michael Jackson was the best by far for us. Still nice to go as they have lots of shops here. Never pay ticket price, barter, they are willing to deal. You can get some great walks in at this resort because it is so large from end to end. I did use their gym facility but they could do a better job with the equipment. Being such a stunning resort you expect better equipment and a bigger space.

    Great Trip!

    Reviewed by Karen M() on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We traveled as s family of 4 to the Grand Bahia Principe from March 7-14th, 2019. There are many positives to this resort. First, it is a very family-friendly resort. There is a water park that is suitable for younger children and food options that my six year old preferred, although my son loved the curry goat and oxtail at the buffet. We did like to eat at the Garden Grill for breakfast, just to change up the scene. It was smaller but did not seem as busy. This restaurant turns into an a la carte in the evening. There is nothing better than starting your morning with Jamaican coffee! I emailed the hotel a week before we arrived and told them my son would be celebrating his birthday during our stay. When we arrived the door was decorated and as per request the hotel booked all a la carte restaurants before we arrived. I just needed to get a card printed for each restaurant. I thought that was very accommodating. The a la carte restaurants were all very good. I preferred the Japanese as there was a bit of a show when cooking the food. Not everyone was able to see the show, so perhaps you may need to request it. The Italian restaurant overlooked the ocean and the beautiful beach bar. My least favourite was the French restaurant as I had an interaction that I did not enjoy or appreciate. We liked the beach closest to the water park, as the other smaller beaches were very rocky. There is only one sandy entry to this beach however after you wade out there is a nice sandy bottom. If you are looking for a long, sandy beach this may not be the place for you. The rooms were spacious. I do want to point out the ‘pull out’ sofa is more like a daybed or couch. We requested a cot. It was comfortable and fit into the room with lots of space to spare. The housekeeping and mini fridge personnel are different, so you may want to tip separately. I would recommend this hotel. We would definitely return to Jamaica!

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Good but not great

    Reviewed by dybisl() on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Pros: - staff are generally very friendly; - buffet and amenities are excellent; - well maintained resort; - good views; - strong drinks; - great weather and beautiful city. Cons: - 50 usd minimum deposit on snorkeling gear; - unclear delineation btw the luxury and Bahia resorts; - rude hostess in at least one restaurant - don Pablo; - weak wifi; - lack of games room and hot tub in the non luxury side and no access to these facilities in the luxury side; - no basketball court or tennis amenities; - can’t access pool after 6 pm; - inconvenient dress codes for men at restaurants - can’t wear shorts even though it’s hot and you are on vacation; - snorkelling gear only available during short periods in day;

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX