Senator Puerto Plata Resort

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    K

    Absolutely wonderful vacation. A gem of a place.

    Reviewed by Kelly on Mar 11, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Single

    Senator was a wonderful place. I would definitely go back again. Everything was done up just right. The staff were very accommodating and friendly. The food was really good and I highly recommend both a la carts, Italian and the the steak house. Cute little coffee hut where they make splendid coffee and have nice little treats. Te beach was very windy when I was there and hardly spent any time on it. Otherwise it would have been nice too. My room was lovely and cleaned very well each day. I traveled by myself and felt extremely safe. I would go back here in a heart beat. Beautiful place.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 211 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Well worth it and curious to see what comes next

    Reviewed by Rosa C() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My husband and i went away for an impromptu mini-getaway 4/14/19 - 4/17/19. I must admit I was a bit nervous from reading some of the reviews, and even though some did turn out accurate, the other reviews not written definitely made up for them. You can definitely tell the resort still has things to work out, but the effort from the staff is really amazing. It does seem that the staff were/are not trained as simple tasks seemed to throw them off. The sports bar was nice and the bartenders did really try. They definitely need to update their equipment, POS systems, soda guns, more variety in alcohol. Everything is dispensed from plastic bottles, which is good from a sanitary perspective, but not time efficient. Food - The buffet food was good. I do think they need more variety and maybe add more ethnic food. Definitely try to grab a table out on the veranda. Our first morning we wanted Mimosas, and were told they ran out, apparently 10am, is late. The following day we made it at 9, and the waitress said it might take a bit as they have to get the bottles from a different kitchen, but she hustled and made sure they kept coming. We made it to the sushi place, which was very delicious. We almost didn't make it, as we were told we needed to make reservations a day in advanced, but that is if you want to sit at the Hibachi station (only have one). We walked in and sat at the bar and enjoyed the sushi just as much. Again, this comes from lack of training, as front desk could have specified that and/or try to 'sell it' a bit differently. They had a BBQ by the Pool snack bar, which was great. Entertainment - Shows were good, beach party was fun and the staff definitely worked it. Pool bartenders, Betty especially, amazing. Drinks well made and they kept on top of it. Music at the pool was not too loud, but loud enough to enjoy the music and still relax. Maybe adding some Latin music, would give more flavor and make you feel like you're in the Caribbean. Resort - Amazing. Everything is brand new and nicely decorated. It has a very modern feel, so if you are looking to be in a true DR/Caribbean resort type place, this is not it, which were definitely fine with. The sister resorts, which are not even a 2 minute walk, are true to DR. We enjoyed having drinks at one of their bars and snacked on some food, so you are able to get the best of both worlds. Bathrooms were a bit far from the pool, so after one too many, it can get a bit tricky, but not a deal breaker. This is definitely not a party resort, but if you wanted to party, you could do a 2 minute walk to the sister resort and enjoy it there. Room - We stayed in room 313, with the swim-up. It was so nice and quiet. Our first morning we woke up and opened the shades to see a huge Cruise liner docked right outside. Great thing, we didn't hear a thing which was nice as it was not disruptive. We could definitely see the garbage burning, but couldn't smell a thing, and we sat right outside as it burned. Being that we arrived so late (10pm) we didn't notice the mini-bar was empty until the following morning. We called the front desk and about 20 minutes later, we had someone drop off two bottles of liquor and fully stocked the fridge. The following day, we lounged in the swim up for a bit, and around 11am, we got a knock on the door, with an employee with a bar cart, asking if needed a refill. Didn't have to call it in or anything Transportation - To save money, i booked us out of Santiago airport. The commute was about an hour, although our arrival was a bit longer as we caught a flat. I found our driver, based on other reviewers, and everything that was stated was true. Junior, was amazing and responded right away through Whatsapp, 809-868-0432. Once we caught the flat, he didn't pull over until we were in a well lit area to make sure we were safe. He tried and tried, but ultimately the tire just gave out. He was able to get one of his friends, who also provides transportation to finish our trip. He showed up within 5 minutes, and got us safe and sound to the hotel. We will definitely be reaching out Junior again. If you do and he asks for a picture, it is not anything creepy, but he got stiffed before and does it to make sure, he can see you coming, and he is wiling to provide a photo as well, for the very same reason. Overall, the trip was amazing, and we will definitely want to make it back. Although, I think by the time we do make it back, they will be fully up and running, and true to being a 5 star, that it might be out of budget.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-5

    Thanks! I needed that.

    Reviewed by Walter M() on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We arived very late, about 3AM. Staff had stayed around to get us all settled in. The place was all pretty much new, and some was not quite finished at the time. The construction never interfered with our stay. The rooms were very nice, and kept spotless. the beach and grounds were raked every morning, before everyone woke. we could not have had any better staff looking after us, nothing was too much trouble for them, they were ALL so friendly and accommodating, I'm sure everybody were always smiling! One girl, I believe her name was Maridania, was GREAT! When we return, I'm sure all the construction will be complete, and it will be even better.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Jail, not a vacation

    Reviewed by MB122092() on Apr 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    When asked to checkin in the morning, I was told that no one is allowed to check-in in the morning, only at 3pm. When I mentioned my family did, he says that’s because they were a big group. When I ask what constitutes as a big group, he said a bus. Well, there was so many things wrong with those statements Geronimo. First, everyone in this resort (I asked around), checkin in the morning. Second, it is unprofessional to blatantly lie just so you do not help your customers. Third, Geronimo, why are you discriminating against couples. WARNING, UNLESS YOU ARE A BUS FILLED WITH PEOPLE, THIS HOTEL DOES NOT WELCOME YOU! Stay away, this is not a place for vacation, but a jail cell. Not dealing with this because of my family. Stay awayyyyyyy!

    Terrible service

    Reviewed by Enid341() on Apr 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We just arrived at the resort and were told that we are unable to move around the hotel until after 3pm when checkin is, even though my parents checked-in in the morning three days ago. I have never been to a hotel in my life where you unable to roam the resort until your room is getting ready. Terrible service! I am not looking forward to my stay here.

    A wonderful surprise

    Reviewed by Ricksid3191() on Apr 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We decided at the last minute to travel this year. Our travel agent suggested the Senator. I was glad she did. This was our first trip to Puerto plata. We had been several years to punta Cana. We were so impressed with the scenery especially the mountains. We had read some negatives about this resort and after 7 days there were unable to find them. We had a junior suite in building 7. It was spotless . The room was always cleaned in the morning .we loved our view of the mountains from our deck. The tub and shower might be an issue if you had a mobility issue but I loved it. I am an amateur spanish student and the staff at the resort were very patient and helpful . It was wonderful to walk the resort ,I was so impressed with the view of the cruise ship pier. Although there are lots of options we usually ate at the buffet because of the staff and service. Rigoberto met us at the door every time ,called us by name and settled us in at a table. We had aqua and vino before we had found our dinners. I always found something I wanted and enjoyed especially for breakfast. After dinner we moved on for coffee with Alexander. I think the sweetest think was when we thanked him his response was I’m doing my job. The seven days there I watched the animation team work their magic. The water aerobic instructor was professional. He knew what he was doing. Barbie was amazing in her work. She actually had me up dancing with my husband. The star event of my trip. I’ve been working through three joint replacements and this year I danced at this wonderful resort. My only observation is that the shops on la calle necesito signs. We will be back. Hopefully next April. We loved the mountains and the beach. We were lucky enough to take the city tour .the view from the top of the mountain overlooking puerto Plata was breath taking.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX