Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    B

    Would not recommend

    Reviewed by Brenda on Mar 08, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    Would never go back to this resort!! The food was terrible. Service was terrible. Rooms were outdated and needed upgrading. We were moved 3 times, at best the last room was mediocre.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    F

    Great for kids! Would go again.

    Reviewed by FM on Dec 13, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    We really enjoyed our stay here. Our 4 year old and 20 month old had a great time in the pirate ship pool, the heated pool and at the beach. The room was clean, had a recent bathroom reno and had a great view of the pool and ocean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. My only other all inclusive stay was at a 5 star and this resort definitely seemed to be in line with it's 4 star rating. We are thinking of doing the same trip again next year!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    c

    Very Disappointed

    Reviewed by chris403 on Mar 15, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Other than the kids play area, this hotel should never be rated more than 2 stars. The service was mediocre at best and the food was absolutely horrible. The rooms are so outdated it's ridiculous. All that being said, the location is great

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    U

    Been to Mexico 5 times and this was the worst experience so far.

    Reviewed by U.S. tourist on Jan 18, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    We arrived at the resort around 10pm on a Sunday night to find several 15+ Hispanic family's arriving from the street with no one at the open front to check for wristbands or validation. The front desk was very "old school", no computers and only paper tracking information. Once we arrived to our room we were extremely disappointed. Immediately, we noticed the room was very outdated with old furniture and a black mold substance on the walls. We were on the 3rd floor with an alley facing balcony that was about 3'x4'. The door to the balcony didn't have a lock and the next morning I noticed the balcony also overlooked some type of landfill. I immediately went to the front desk to contact my travel company to notify them of the situation, they were glad to allow me to do that for $3/min and of course it needed to be cash? Long story short I had to stay the night and get with the travel company after 9am. This resort is south of the airport which I found out later it was in the downtown area and was also why I heard sirens all night along with loud trumpet like music. In the morning we ate at the breakfast bar which was ok. I transferred to the Riu Jalisca and had zero issues the rest of my trip.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    C

    Wouldnt go back

    Reviewed by Canadians on Sep 28, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: September 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    The location was great, there was so much for little kids to do but the overall quality of the hotel was poor. First off this was the only hotel I had ever stayed at that wasn't gated it was just free for anybody to walk into the main lobby. The hotel was filled with all locals. The Japanese restaurant was great but all the rest were not very good and the buffet was terrible. At some points the snack bar only food available in the afternoons had no food available to feed to your hungry kids. The pool smelt like sewer water and the beach was covered in debris. There were no servers around the pool which made for a long walk to the bar. The pools weren't cleaned very well because In the mornings I would find myself stepping on cups in the water from the day before. Pool cleanliness is very important when you have a ton of kids swimming in them everyday if you know what I mean. I'm sure there were many accidents in the pools and I'm not so sure the chemicals were well maintained. Daycare staff were nice but times for childcare were not accommodating. West jet representatives were very nice and helpful.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2634 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Funtastic!

    Reviewed by Departure21463509978(Kitimat, Canada) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The staff were helpful when needed. The rooms cleaned well every day. The gardens were well maintained and beautiful. Pools close too early. Especially if you had a busy day off site.I had a beautiful view couldn't ask for more.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Mixed Feelings

    Reviewed by Martin S(Edmonton, Canada) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    For the price we paid it was fine, I suppose, but it was all... underwhelming. The Room Ours was a regular room facing the pool with a partial ocean view. It did not smell bad (which was a relief as I was really worried by what I had read in some of the reviews). There were some peculiarities though. One, the bathroom doors do not lock. And there are large gaps where the hinges are, so there can be no privacy whatsoever. Just odd. The room showed its age, as did the entire resort. The construction next door and across the street is ongoing. I was REALLY glad we did not have a family room. The Grounds As I had mentioned, the property is showing its age. The pools are fine, but need some updating/upgrading. The beach is nice, I found. Plenty of beach chairs, as most people seem to prefer the pools, although the beach chairs seem to be all taken by 10am. Plenty of shade on the beach, NONE by any if the pools. The local vendors DO go past the little rope which (I think) they are not supposed to cross, and they are always there, but I never once felt uncomfortable or annoyed or in any way inconvenienced by them. Just smile and shake your head, and they move on. There is a small play area, with a rather rickety swing/slide combo. It has a most peculiar design, where the two swings are DIRECTLY below the monkey bars, so you cannot have kids use the swing and the monkey bars at the same time. It's obvious (or should be - I have my doubts about the person who designed it) to adults, but not so much to kids. On two occasions, my 6-year old was swinging, when another kid decided to use the monkey bars, spooking my kid/making him worry that his swinging could hurt the other kid, which resulted in a scraped knee on one of those occasions. Weird and STUPID. The Food The one reason I don't think I would be coming back to this property. It was kind of sad. I realize it's a buffet, and buffets often serve slop. I expected a bit more. We only tried the French a la carte (reservations were a pain in the A), but it was kind of sad, honestly, bordering on pathetic. The buffet and the snack bars were basically cafeteria quality. The chicken they served was basically all drumsticks (which is my favorite, but still). Nothing was cooked property. Stewed meats were tough, grilled meats were kind of... boiled... you know when they weren't cooked on high enough heat. It did not appear that any real butchering was done - LOTS of gristle, fat, etc., to the point that half the meat the cook would put on your taco, for example, was simply inedible. Forget about having ANY sort of premium cut of meat, or nicer type of seafood - things that you get all day, any day in a 4-star in Riviera Maya for example. Ah, and the shrimp. Of course no one bothered to devein them, which fine, you don't really have to. But they were overcooked into oblivion. . The ice cream station was tiny and JUST. SO. UNSANITARY! Ugh. Desserts were pathetic. Dry, unappetizing, just terrible. We took a day trip to Las Caletas, a beach that apparently can only be reached by boat. The buffet lunch we were served there was on an entirely different and much higher level. If they could do it with limited resources, what in the heck is this resort's excuse. Really, really disappointing. Breakfast was good, however. Omelettes especially. We did have a good time, to be fair, and the staff were great. The majority of guests were Mexican, which was a welcome change from the places we usually go to. The ones I spoke to raved about the buffet, so perhaps it's just geared to their tastes. I am not judging - I myself come from a culture/country where we cook the heck out of meats, for example. Just trying to make sense of it. It's also a bit annoying that lunch starts at 1pm, and you can't have a decent meal between 11am and 1pm.

    Family vacation

    Reviewed by rosalindp300(Puerto Vallarta, Mexico) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I'm not super picky about about accommodations, clean with amenities this place meets it. The biggest thing for me is the people and Neyra at the pool was amazing, she is super friendly and helpful. If you come for a visit definitely seek her out. She even helped us with the Spanish as we were a bit rusty.

    First PV trip

    Reviewed by Dawnelle414(Milwaukee, Wisconsin) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We enjoyed our stay at the Crown Paradise. The restaurants were very nice as well as the buffet. Very helpful, friendly and accommodating staff. For a couple I would suggest a king suite or stay at the Crown Golden. Most rooms only have two double beds.

    Great experience

    Reviewed by Quest01566536066(Cold Lake, Canada) on Apr 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Had a wonderful time with our extended family. Very clean and polite and friendly staff. The food was always well prepared with great variety and service. Was also nice that there were the other restaurants on the resort that you could book to try something different each night.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX