Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    H

    Great location, beautiful beach, fantastic food, friendly and helpful staff.

    Reviewed by Happy Traveller on Feb 01, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    I had a wonderful stay at this resort. It's located on one of the best beaches in the area. The restaurants had great food and the staff were very nice. There are only 2 bars, the bar by the pool and a lounge in the main area so it was usually fairly relaxing. I don't think I saw a drunk person all week. If you're looking for a resort to party at this isn't it. Great resort for families, couples, singles. The gym was fairly small but had everything I needed for a good work out. I'm heading back to this area one month after my stay at Occidental Nuevo but the resort is full. I would have stayed there again if they had a room for me.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Immaculate hotel, amazing staff! Perfect vacation.

    Reviewed by SamlovedMexico on Jan 20, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Westjet made our travels stress free. Nice to have prearranged airport transportation. Our westjet rep was very helpful the morning after we arrived. We loved this hotel. The staff was amazing. Rooms, hotel, pools and grounds were immaculate. The beach was beautiful and we could walk for hours to the north. The hotel had free boogie boards kayaks and paddle boards. I recommend requesting a room in the south wing. The middle section was noisy with the lobby party/music until about 11 pm. Hotel needs to put felt pads on all chairs in the rooms and lobby. Check in was quick. Would have been helpful to be given more information about the hotel. There were generally always loungers available but it?s a good idea to lay out your towels in the morning. Dissapointing not to be able to use adult pool without upgrading. However main pool was never crowded. Our belongings were never touched on the beach, by the pool or in the room. We used the safe in our room mostly but found staff very honest. We had to ask occasionally for minibar refill despite leaving tips. Note the minibar is not filled by housekeeping so we left separate tips after we clued into this. Had to request water one day and they literally had it in our room before I got back up to our room. The al la Carte restaurants were amazing. The buffet had fresh diverse options. Seafood was excellent. It would be nice to make all restaurant reservations the first day. Servers were friendly and attentive. Loved having the option of having drinks brought to us on the beach! Bartenders were at times inconsistent. Main buffet was not always open at lunch just snack bar. I would have preferred the music at the pool in the lobby and in the shows be not as loud. The bass in the pool music was annoying. Entertainment was awesome. Very talented dancers. Beautiful costumes very synchronized and well choreographed routines. Note if you have children some of the costumes and routines are pretty sexy. 200 peso cab to town.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    Best vacation by far. Occidental Nuevo Vallarta was top notch.

    Reviewed by Joe H on Feb 07, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    We booked the Occidental Nuevo Vallarta through WestJet Vacations. From start to finish this vacation was amazing. We were picked up at the airport and taken directly to the hotel. Check-in was prompy, friendly and efficient. The resort is on the smaller side which makes it perfect for families. The rooms are modern and clean. Our room was within 100 steps to the beach and pool. The beach was beautiful with white sand and no rocks. The entertainment staff was there to ensure there was always something to do. There were boogie boards, kayaks, stand up paddle boards all available and free to use. The restaurants and buffet were all amazing. We never had one bad experience in ten days we stayed. The staff were all extremely friendly and genuinely there to ensure you had the best experience possible. The drinks were made with all the premium brands and the drinks made with juices were freshly squeezed. Try the Greyhound's! All in all this was a 10/10 trip for myself and my two kids. I will be returning to this resort again without hesitation.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    W

    Loved it! Want to go back.

    Reviewed by WENDY and Olga on Sep 25, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    Lovely property and great staff! Everyone from bellman Carlos, to check in Michelle, to Bartender Alfredo, to Servers Perla and Jesus and Angeles were all ready to serve and attend to our wishes! Alfredo kept saying..."it is my pleasure" to serve...and I truly believed he meant it! Location was excellent and food great....definitely want to go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Good hotel

    Reviewed by Leni on Nov 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2014

    Trip Type: Couple

    The hotel was great, food, service, clean, location... all good. Only a couple of complaints. 1 time share people. I had to be rude to them to get the off my back. 2 no balconies 3 rooms next to the elevator are very noisy

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4886 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Good quality and very friendly

    Reviewed by Garry K(Cochrane, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Very friendly staff and service throughout the stay. The location is in a very good spot and not to far to a small mall. Perfect sunsets and lots of beach to keep you active. Great place for the whole family nice quiet resort.

    Above expectations!

    Reviewed by Diane M(Edmonton, Alberta, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    All the Staff are great and make this resort! Beautiful location on the beach. Special shout outs to Gonzalo! and the team-Royal Level Restaurant. Rafael-Olivos Restaurant. Augustin! and the team-Royal Level Pool Bar. Rene!, Fernando & Jorge-Mexican Restaurant. But they were all wonderful. Upgrade to Royal Level was well worth it!! Room upgraded, modern & clean with well stocked fridge. Food at all restaurants was above our expectations. Royal Level, Olivos and Mexican restaurants were excellent. Royal Level Pool was great. Spa was surprisingly very reasonably priced and I enjoyed a massage and facial on special. We really enjoyed the Michael Jackson show and the entertainment team do a great job and work hard to provide something for everyone. Seriously cannot find fault with anything at this resort and we will most definately return!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Best Beach

    Reviewed by SeanGilliland() on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Never been to this hotel. Thought we would try it. Not big size wise, but excellent in all aspects. Food was great. Always something good to eat in the buffet. Booking ala carte restaurants was challenging to get any time before 9 pm. Too late for me to eat. But maybe others? Booking should be done when you arrive. The Sun to Sun booking week meant that we had to go back to book again. Japanese was okay. Mexican and Italian were excellent service and great food! The staff at the hotel were all so nice. I can’t remember names, but all were very helpful to us. Thank you. The pool was nice. Always a place to sit. Beach had sun and shade and always a place to sit. Activities were good and varied depending on what you want to do. Entertaining lobby bar. Shows also nightly in theatre. Great mariachi band one night. Lots of things to do outside of resort. Marina and mall, hospital close. Had something called Royal Club which had segregated pool and beach part and gave perks to people. But no info provided and we were not interested anyway. Only 2 things stood out as poor to me. 1. Coffee pot was cracked and leaking. We left note to replace. They left note for us to come and pay for the coffee maker. Talked to concierge about it. She said would let us know outcome. No further communication about it. Went to check out and were told that we had to pay 1500.00 mp ( 100.00 Canadian dollars) we declined and it took long time with poor explanations given. Gist is we did not pay. 2. Elderly couple not told lobster dinner was extra charge. It was printed( super small!) on the menu. But they did not see it. Both had glasses. Not my issue,but we have been other places that remind people of the fact even when it was on the menu. In short very nice resort!! I would go back! Despite the issues above.

    Can't go wrong here

    Reviewed by 456kenr(Sudbury, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    NV is a great resort to relax at, all the people are friendly and helpful, good dinning options, fair entertainment and a great beach. only real issue is the walls in the rooms, you can hear everything next door

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Occidental Neuvo Vallarta

    Reviewed by Carla F(Kentville, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is our second time at this resort in 2 years.........yes we love it :) The climate in the Puerto Vallarta area is great..........no rain in March/April & temperatures average 27 day & 18 night. This resort just does everything well. Clean /quite rooms , good food, great beach. Easy location to get to the airport or explore the area . Shopping center across the street. As this is a planed community it is very modern & not OLD MEXICO. But not far from old Mexico. Streets are safe to stroll around with lots of large speed bumps :)) You very quickly feel at home. We had lots of good food choices all the time. The evening entertainment is good & ther is live music at the bar every night at 10pm. Never a problem to find seats at a restaurant or at the beach. LOVE THIS PLACE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX