Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    A

    Love this place and plan to keep going back!

    Reviewed by Astrogal on Nov 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    We love this resort, have been there twice already and are planning a third visit. The grounds are beautiful, tropical, and lush with tame peacocks and a family of flamingos roaming around which we just love! There are enough restaurants that you could eat at a different one every night for a week, and the food is good - not necessarily 5 star chefs here, but really tasty and satisfying. We have never gotten sick there from the food, just got the runs from the water even though they give you bottled water and you brush your teeth with it, but it hasn't ruined anything. That's not the fault of the resort but the whole island. The biggest selling feature by far for us is the amazing pool. It's huge and winds throughout the resort, and it never feels crowded. Even on a full sunny day there are still quiet spots to be had. The shows are ok and I can't judge the beach as we were always by the pool. Can't judge the kids or teen clubs though the teen club looks pretty mediocre from what we saw. They have burgers, hot dogs and ice cream by the pool every day, as well as a fresh fruit stand. The rooms are clean and bright. The place is not highly sophisticated and not really 5 star quality but that's part of the island charm of it and they certainly try their best. It's fine and beautiful and you will love it! Because of the pool and the grounds we love it and would keep going back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    R

    Not really "Excellente"

    Reviewed by RT on Feb 13, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    Our families first time to DR. Have been to the Caribbean before-last year. Pros- Property grounds maintained well, some of the staff really customer focused-Luis and Ramon at the core zone kids/ teen area , Jessica Coco Cafe , Fior Spa , Emmanuel server World Cafe -great job Food was really good, lots of variety, clean, food displays were good, specialty restaurants were good. Good effort by the entertainment crew for the daily shows/performances-see attached pics Free WiFi in room- not well advertised. Beach was good, some rocky patches-beach shoes would help, water was clear, hardly any sea-weed, cleaned daily Hotel transportation company was good, the rep should have been closer/more visible as guests leave the baggage claim, several other reps approached us before WJ designated rep confirmed our arrival-very unorganized Cons- The hotel does look worn, the rooms clearly need an upgrade. They were clean, but the fixtures were coming apart, our bed post was separated from the bed, the built in safe key pad was cracked, the bathrooms had inadequate lighting, and the bath tub was really high to get in and out. Also there was half a glass in the tub no shower curtain , so most of the time the water was on the bathroom floor. Asked for a change of room- Building 3 given- the fridge was broken-however was repaired quite promptly DO NOT REDEEM RESORT CREDITS-complete waste of time. On check in you are given a card which you take to a set of tables to the left of the check-in desk for redemption. This is the Time-share staffs desk, so once you get there, they start with how beneficial this would be for you, quite persistent. The resort credit doesn't work for everything on property-least of all the spa-WJ should work with the property to have the credit given at the front desk itself. Most of the general staff were not very friendly-staff pass you by in the corridors and hardly say anything-house keepers included

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 13269 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Shame about the sunbeds

    Reviewed by Panickybarbara(Kent, United Kingdom) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Lovely grounds, nice people, great bedroom and fantastic beach. Only problem was that despite the hotel policy of not reserving sunbeds, most were reserved by 7am every day. Complained to the hotel twice but nothing happened. Surprised it’s not mentioned more as it was mentioned by so many people. Other thing worth a mention is that the very large pool is 3 foot deep all the way through so not ideal.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Excellente!!

    Reviewed by Passport16466538748() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    One of best destinations we have visited due mostly to the staff. Every staff member went out of their way to be helpful and cordial. Our favorite Entertainment Staff members were Pucca, Papa Smurf, Pokemon, and Scooby Doo. They all deserve a 5 star review. Joel, a waiter in the World Cafe also deserves a five star review. He served us at every meal we ate there and made sure we had everything we needed. There was a good selection of foods and was very well prepared. We never had a problem finding something that appealed to us. The specialty restaurants were all very good, Our favorites were the Steak House and Hibachi.Our room was very clean and our housekeeper Yeni did an outstanding job of keeping it that way every day. I would definitely go back but the next time I would upgrade to a swim-up room. The swim-up rooms come with two lounge chairs. Otherwise, to make sure you got chairs around the pool you had to go to the pool early and place towels on chairs to reserve your spot. Chairs went quickly and were sometimes it was hard to find any available. All in all, a very nice resort with everything you need for a great vacation. Thank you Dreams staff!

    Subpar

    Reviewed by Theresa C() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    My husband and I came here for my parent vow renewal ceremony. As soon as you arrive, there isn't an option to just go straight to your room. They share all this information with you upon arrival and then push you to a timeshare presentation the following day. But that's not what they call it. They say we have a special gift for you at this time tomorrow after breakfast. So you have no clue until you get to the location for the presentation. Now I will say the customer service is good until you become upset about something. We changed room twice. My parents arrived before us and checked accommodations for everyone coming so they could purchase the preferred club for everyone. My mother advised them that we should have a king not a double room since we were married. They said they give rooms based on availability not what you ask for. So the first night we were in a double room. This property has been here over 18 years so it could use some renovations. The room was ok, but not up to my expectations. The next day we got up to get the keys for the new room. There are no elevators on the property except for in the main building. We had to move our stuff 4 buildings over by ourselves. They don't have trolleys, you walk and climb everywhere. This room had a king bed but no working air conditioner or toilet. We had to stay a night there until another room became available. The next day arrives and we move to another building, the AC works but the toilet still doesn't work. They have a clothes line through the shower for hanging towels which is in all rooms. So everything seems to just be thrown together. Next, my husband and I paid the concierge, Genesis $110 for a sunset dinner with decorations on the beach. We arrived at the beach at about 6:30pm. There is nothing ready, apparently they didn't know we were coming. Sunset is at 6:45pm. The staff there were trying their best to get things prepared but I was already upset. They have us sit down at someone else's table, then a strong breeze came through and knocked all the drinks (water) down off the table and spilled all over me. They moved the table back closer to the walking path. And now they come with the heart that goes around the table. The heart was white but had red lights all over that never came on. After they placed the heart around the table and put salads in front of us, a huge rat came up on the side of us and sat on the heart which was about 8 ft from me. The only thing in the direction the rat came from was other restaurants. That was the last straw for me, I jumped up from the table and moved to the walking path. The photographer that was there saw the rat along with myself and husband. The staff acted like I was being unreasonable and should continue eating. They then moved us indoor to a restaurant. The food was horrible. It was so tough I couldn't even chew a medium steak. I had to request something off the menu because they wouldn't just let me not eat. I just assumed they were trying to make it right but no. If you eat the food to them, it meant that you enjoyed it, despite everything else that happened. That same night I went back to the concierge to ask for a refund since everything went wrong and wasn't what we requested. First she attempted to have us do the same thing the next day, but we had my parents renewal ceremony the next day and were leaving the day after. So there was no time to redo it. I asked for a refund and explained why. She told me hold on let me call to see what the wait staff says happened. Ok, no problem. Then she says well the wait staff says you ate the food so we can't give you a refund. So I asked to speak with a manager. She basically told me they were too busy to come talk to me about this. But she called them, they were just on the other side of the room, to ask what to do about the situation. They offered half back. I wasn't happy with that but of course I took it because they could have gone with her solution which was nothing. She was nice in the beginning, but her attitude changed when I began explaining how unhappy I was with the service. All the food options on the resort weren't that great. The French restaurants service was so slow. It took us over an hour and a half to get drinks with a reservation. And an order to get a reservation you have to be in the preferred club with a butler. Its $70 pp/day for preferred and $35/day for a butler. Everything seemed to be extra or a la carte from the all inclusive. The best drinks were in the preferred club. The drinks that were considered all inclusive were watered down and cheap. The world café was the pretty good. I suggest you bring your own seasoning though. They don't really season the food well at the resort. The hibachi restaurant was the best. The wedding staff was the best. If you get married here it is expensive but they are very accommodating. Everything on this side of the trip came out well. Thank you Jourberkys (I hope I spelled that right). You helped make my parents day special. If you decide to stay here, ask lots of questions because some things are halfway told to get you to do it. It was one thing when you paid but other when services are rendered. If you don't like something say so and don't accept it if the continue to try and work on things. Vacation is supposed to be fun and stress free. I hope that your vacation is better than mine. Oh one last thing....GET OFF THE RESORT. The Higuey City Tour takes you to meet the locals, eat real Dominican food and how to make cigars, coffee etc., That was the best thing we did was to see the countryside.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-3

    March Break at Dreams Punta Cana

    Reviewed by M W() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just back home from a great, great vacation at Dreams Punta Cana. Wonderful and very friendly staff, great resort, beach, pool and lots to do. Great food choices, fresh seafood. Did yoga on beach each morning with Daniel who was awesome. He was very professional and a great instructor in either Spanish or English. Recommend his classes for sure!!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Destination wedding

    Reviewed by honoretm() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    WiFi was horrible in my room which was a preferred club room, by the pool connection was terrible as well. Food variety was subpar which they had more seafood, for being a Dominican resort the mangu was hard instead of soft. Night club DJ played outdated songs... Outside of those 2 things resort was clean, friendly staff and great drinks at all bars.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX