Iberostar Grand Hotel Bávaro

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    J

    Luxurious Getaway

    Reviewed by JR on Jun 16, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Nautical with old world style. It sort of reminds me of the Venetian in Vegas in regards to the d?cor. The food is excellent with the highlight being the Italian restaurant. La Tentazione. The steak was to die for (and I lived in Calgary the home of some of the very best steak) and for me a treat was that even though it was an Italian restaurant there was very little garlic (love it, but it doesn?t love me) in the dishes. Lots of variety in restaurants, shops and entertainment There was an outstanding Saxophone player in the evening that you definitely have to see. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable. The rooms were lush and comfortable with plenty of room and nice amenties included. They also often have fabulous golf specials so definitely ask about them if you like the sport. There is a fun Pirate Ship Bar and Disco that I recommend you check out. Also if you stay at the Grand you also have access to the Iberostar Dominicana and the Iberostar Bavaro Suites. Will definitely be back for a stay here, plus walking through the sister resorts was nice as there were lots of cool places to stay when you want to get out of the sun for a while.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    T

    Great food in a stunning environment. Absolutely loved it.

    Reviewed by Theresa on Jun 12, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Absolutely gorgeous location. The day we arrived had a few clouds in the sky which totally made me compare this location to the inside of the Venetian Hotel in Las Vegas where the gondolas are. It was absolutely stunning with the 'lake' complete with a pirate ship. We had dinner at the fine dining French restaruant complete with sommelier which was fabulous. The service was excellent. I would definitely come back again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11861 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    best Caribbean vacation

    Reviewed by mncrizz12(Darien, Connecticut) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    excellent across the board..clean..friendly..excellent food...staff was extraordinary..spa was awesome..food was plentiful and excellent quality..beach was phenomenal...the staff was very helpful and professional

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Wonder trip, Disappointing Prestige Upgrade package

    Reviewed by dotterer() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Hotel, food, beach, service, people were all wonderful. Hotel beautiful, decor outstanding. An enjoyable trip. However we upgraded to the Prestige program which offered the following; Upgraded premium wines which were incredibly bad, so we paid for wines off the menu.. The Bali beds were lovely but we had to go to the beach at 6:30 a.m. to secure one. . On the days we did not get one we sat in the general area. We had to wait for 15 minutes while our porter went looking for our driver at the airport. At registration the system did not show us on the upgraded program so again had to wait 15-20 minutes before it was sorted out so we did not have the expedited check in advertised. Bottom line the Prestige program was not worth the considerable extra we paid. While we would consider returning to the hotel we would not upgrade.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Best All Inclusive

    Reviewed by Amanda P(Annapolis, Maryland) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed 4 nights at the Iberostar Grand Bavaro in April and absolutely loved our experience. The resort itself is absolutely beautiful and the staff are so unbelievable attentive and polite. We had the best time and will absolutely be considering Iberostar for any future trip. A few highlights: The beach was so clean and absolutely beautiful. The section of beach in front of the Iberostar Grand Bavaro (adults only) was significantly less crowded than the beach in front of the sister resorts (more family oriented). There was no seaweed problem while we were there and the water was so clear! The entire staff went above and beyond to make our trip amazing. Our butler (Silvestre) checked in on us every day to make sure we had everything we needed, gave us a special little surprise on our last day, and greeted us whenever he saw us anywhere on the resort. Ery shocked us when we asked if they had passion fruit juice and even though they didn't, he went and got fresh passion fruits from the kitchen and MADE US JUICE. We were floored and definitely didn't expect that when we simply asked if they had it. All of the bartenders were amazing and kept the alcohol flowing, especially when we asked for a "little extra" on our mixed drinks. A small $2-3 tip goes a long way here. We didn't tip every drink but if we were hanging out in the same place for a while (on the beach or in the pool bar) we made sure to show our appreciation. There were constantly people walking around trying to get you to participate in activities and games. They were a ton of fun. "Baby Face" Armando recognized me every time he passed me on the resort, these people remember your face and make sure you're having a great time. I've seriously never been cared for at a resort like I was at Iberostar. Top to bottom everyone was so attentive! We had amazing food at the buffet for breakfast and lunch. We ordered in for lunch one morning and decided we liked the buffet better. We also went there for dinner during "Gala Night" and the selection was incredible. Lots of variety and lots of options that are made to order. We had 8:15 pm reservations on 3 different nights: Casa De La Playa (Mediterranean). Le Tourbillion (Gourmet), and El Galeon (Surf & Turf). Absolutely amazing food in each restaurant. Seriously 5 star quality food from appetizers all the way through dessert. We ate very well on this trip! We e-mailed ghbrp2@iberostar.com about a week before our trip to make reservation requests and had no issues. Men must wear long pants and shirts with sleeves. We did see some men asked to change when they showed up in shorts. This was only for the restaurants (not the buffet). Overall we had an amazing trip and have absolutely no complaints. The food was exceptional, the staff was incredible, the beach was gorgeous, and our room (a swim-out suite) was relaxing, clean, and stocked with everything we could possibly need. We would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Punta Cana and recommend this chain to anyone travelling and looking for all inclusive.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Amazing Trip

    Reviewed by acmedic119(Clarksville) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I traveled back to Iberostar Grand April 11-16, 2019. I previously visited there with my husband in October of 2018. I cannot begin to describe how wonderful this resort and the staff are. They truly are my Dominican family and it shows. The driver at the airport from Iberostar Services who took wonderful care of us to the staff in the Prestige Lounge (Darlyn and Cyntia) and bellhops who got us checked in and made sure we had everything we needed. Our butler was Sylvestre and he was wonderful and made sure that my mom was having a great time. Carlos was our previous butler and I was so excited to learn of his promotion and he even sought us out to check on us and see how we were doing. The staff at all of the restaurants and also the housekeeping staff were amazing and took excellent care of us. The entertainment team is by far the best around. Mini-me, cutie pie, baby face and the rest of the entertainment team interact well with the guests and seem to truly love their jobs. the shows every night were amazing and the food was great. This was a trip I gave my mom for her birthday and Christmas as she has never traveled anywhere like this before and she was just amazed at the amazing stay we had at the resort and also the beautiful scenery surrounding the resort. My mom is now hooked on this resort and cannot wait to go back.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great Anniversary trip

    Reviewed by momBoston(Boston) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Just got back from the Grand. We really enjoyed our stay! Can't say enough good things about the staff. Very friendly and helpful! Beach - beautiful, plenty of loungers in the shade. Not crowded. Seaweed picked up on a daily basis. Staff delivering water and drinks to your seat. Star Friends - they made our stay special. They remember your name and get you to engage in fun activities like archery, dancing, silly games, bingo, water aerobics, etc. Shout out to Hot Chocolate, Cutie-Pie and Ariela! You are the best!! Restaurants - Breakfast was good, plenty of options at the buffet. Lunch - the worst meal of the day. Most of the food was not hot. Dinner- excellent. Staff at all meals did a great job. They are polite and friendly, especially Oscar. One problem, we had a confirmed reservation at Casa del la Playa but it was unexpectedly closed and nobody told us. Rooms - Very nice. Room cleaners did an excellent job. Love the rose petals and towel swans. Butler - We never got a butler. Asked the first day, no butler. Asked the second day, no butler. Third day we briefly met a butler. She never said how she could help us. Never saw her again. Toward the end of our trip we had to fill out evaluation cards on the resort. We mentioned our lack of butler. That night the supervisor had a bubble bath and champagne waiting for us in our room as an apology. Thank you. But still never had a butler the whole trip. Not great as they could have helped with transfers, the restaurant problem or tidbits of helpful information (e.g. you must always close your safe before you leave the room)! Thank you to the man filling our mini fridge. He immediately called security when he saw our safe was open. I wish I knew your name. I really appreciate your honesty and following procedure!! Overall we loved it. We would have given this review 5 stars, if we had a butler! FYI- I ate the fruit and salad and never got sick! Also, tip the staff. They work very hard, always with a smile on their face.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX