Panama Jack Resorts Playa del Carmen

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Panama Jack Resorts Playa del Carmen
    6. Panama Jack Resorts Playa del Carmen review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    S

    Ripped Off

    Reviewed by Snb1979 on Apr 28, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    The only thing this resort has going for it, is it's location. There is NO BEACH, don't let the advertised pictures fool you! The snack hut is literally 5 steps from the pool bar, and if you take a step backwards you'll fall off the sand hill. Nothing but giant smelly sand bags. The buffet food is decent quality, but zero selection. We ate off the resort more than we ate on the resort, and when you pay what this place charges...that's just unacceptable. Their evening entertainment consists of a very amateur 30 minute "show" followed by much to loud music in the tiny lobby bar area. I was so excited to go to this resort, and now I feel like I was ripped off.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    We loved our stay, best staff!

    Reviewed by SK Traveller on Apr 28, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    By far, some of the best staff around. Resort is fantastic! Not large and location is so convenient to 5th Ave. shopping in Playa del Carmen. Not the place for you if the beach is your priority as some of it has been worn away by the waves and storms. Can't wait to go back though!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11814 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Bartenders

    Reviewed by Karengodinezbaez() on Jul 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Bartenders, David and Fonsi are awesome. The hotel really great service. Especially the hotel. AWESOME!!!????Everyone tr4ats you well. Fonsi awesome on making drinks. And also David. Everyone is awesome

    Fantastic!

    Reviewed by DaniML(Chattanooga, Tennessee) on Jul 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We loved everything that was within the control of this resort! Yes, the seaweed is bad, but obviously they have zero control over this. When we first got there the smell was overwhelming and we weren't sure we'd be able to handle a week of it. However, it turns out that a large batch of sargassum had arrived on July 12 (same day we did), making the problem worst. There were people working every single day and by our 3rd day, there were parts down the beach where we were able to get back into the water and enjoy the ocean and beach. By our last day, they had cleaned up a lot. We had an ocean front room on the 3rd floor and rarely had any smell on our balcony. - Service was FANTASTIC!!!! Each and every person we encountered was so genuinely nice! A few people to call out: Idelfonso at the pool bar, Oscar in the Mexican restaurant, Antonio in the Italian restaurant, the entire pool service staff and the lady at the coffee shop (didn't get her name unfortunately, but she seemed to be there all week). - Rooms are large, bright and updated! Very comfortable with great amenities. - Wifi works fantastic all over the resort. I think I dropped the connection twice in a week and was immediately able to reconnect. - Food was great. Great variety and delicious. Our favorite was the Italian restaurant, but really, they were all good. Loved the breakfast buffet which had the best crispy bacon!!! - The main pool is plenty big and kept pretty clean. This is the first resort we've been to where people actually did not save seats first thing in the morning and it was GREAT! I don't know if the resort just enforced their rule (signs posted everywhere) or if people actually followed the signs, but we never had a problem finding chairs - whether we came down at 9 - 10 a.m., noon or even in the afternoon after an excursion. - We did not find the Tranquil pool to be tranquil at all. Every time we walked by it was loud and wild. Didn't bother as we loved the main pool. - Location is great! Easy walking distance form 5th Ave where shops and restaurants are. As others have noted, we did get asked no less than 5 times if we wanted drugs. Just say no and they leave you alone. It took about 45 minutes to get here from the Cancun airport. - Spa is lovely. Great service and wonderful massages at a reasonable price. - We only saw parts of 2 of the evening entertainment shows (Mexican dance - awesome, and Disney theme - cute), so can't really speak to this. We would definitely come back here!

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great vacation. Some answers to some questions I had

    Reviewed by Candace3789(Macungie, Pennsylvania) on Jul 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The good the bad and the in-between The good- The location was amazing. Easy walk to 5the Avenue. The layout of the hotel was great. Not congested. The restaurant locations were spread out The food I can’t understand anyone complaining about the food. There were so many choices and the buffet constantly changing. They even moved the buffet out to the pool area for some of the shoes that was really cool. The Italian was my personal favorite. My kids loved the Brazilian steak house. Not as many meat choices as the ones at home. But still enough and all great quality The Mexican was good as well. But that’s expected. The drinks at the bars were very good. I loved the sangreia allegria. The service at all restaurants and bars were great. Wether we left a tip or not ( we always did. But several didn’t) everyone was taking care of in a fast and friendly manner. The pool was clean. And always inviting. Getting a chair by the pool could be tricky. But not impossible. The rooms were huge and clean. We had a balcony looking at the pool and sea. It was perfect. The roof pool never crowded. And was fun to be able to just pop out and eat some delicious sushi. Or just sip a drink sitting at the pool bar. Things that could be better : The beach. This is not to any fault of the resort. But there really is no beach. A little ways down you get sit in a chair on the beach. But not go in the water. The seaweed is REALLY bad. And the smell is horrible. The first day I was ready to leave because of it. But because everything else was so great. You kinda sadly get used to it. But trust me it’s BAD!!!! The entertainment. The show crew was so talented. The costumes incredible. We really enjoyed it but, it was the same show pretty much every night. We liked it. But there does need to be more variety. Do not miss the Disney themed show tho!!! The activities during the day. You never know what’s going on. There is no daily agenda. There’s so much going on but if you are not there you don’t know what happening. Fix this. Easy fix. Plan ahead and put an itinerary list out every morning. We almost missed the foam party. Thankfully we didn’t. It’s awesome!!!!! The ride from the airport is a good hour. We thought half hour but was an hour. Check in relatively easy. But had to wait for room to be ready. Not a big deal. We ate them it was ready. The spa. Not much going on in the spa itself. But the massage(s) were phenomenal. Very relaxing

    Bartender

    Reviewed by Caroljromero_5() on Jul 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    David and fonsi and bomb bartenders! Super funny making a good experience and memories! The fire shots are off the hook! The Lamborghini and the cucharacha were fire!!! One more flaming shot to go!!! #playadelcarmen #panamanajacks

    Awesome place for fun and drinks

    Reviewed by Grappler1234() on Jul 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Phenomenal place with great food and service. David and Fonsi are the best bartenders that make some of the best drinks around. This here is the Lamborghini shot for two. Seaweed is a problem but that’s the way it is. Other ways to have fun.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX