Occidental at Xcaret Destination

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    E

    We had a great time but there aren't enough pool loungers!!! The river walk is lovely, especially at night.

    Reviewed by Ell on Feb 17, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    There are not enough beach chairs so vacationers hoard the chairs at the pools. There really is no beach, the lagoon isn't a "beach" and there was a ton of seaweed. Besides these two negatives, the resort was great, and the food was incredibly great. Our room was clean and updated. If you lose something, don't expect to get it back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    I

    Like the changes!

    Reviewed by Imarl on Jul 04, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    I stayed here several years ago and just wasn't impressed but have been pleasantly surprised with the changes! While the beach is still tiny, they have created an adult pool to one side of the beach that is ocean water. And there was no seaweed on the beach. A rarity these days. The grounds seem updated and nicely maintained. Totally new experience. Would love to go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    P

    Beautiful and great value!

    Reviewed by Pam W on Jul 02, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Pleasant surprise! Great to see that there have been some renovations completed. Hotel was taken over by a larger chain of hotels and the changes have really made a difference. I love the overall feel of the resort. Currently there is a lot of seaweed everywhere in the Mayan Riviera, however because the beach here is in a Cove on the resort, it limits the amount of seaweed that reaches the beach. Most would say the beach is too small, but in this case a small beach with no seaweed is heaven. You can also get to Xcaret park through your own entrance on site. Great access.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    Loved this Resort... will come back

    Reviewed by Noel N on Apr 26, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    Unbiassed review: Overall, This resort is perfect to those who love nature. Food I would say was very satisfying. Employees very accomodating, When it comes to emergency situations, very professional. Rooms on Bldg19 nice and clean.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    J

    WASTE OF MONEY

    Reviewed by Janine on Mar 29, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    ). We decided to try something different and, despite the many negative reviews, thought we would stay at the Occidental. First off, when we arrived we were told that of the seven pools on the resort we could only use three (the other four are for "time-share/Royal Club" guests only. The three pools available to us were essentially party pools - music blasting all day. Then, upon arriving to our building (number 22) we were hit with the strong smell of sewage and this smell stayed for the duration of our stay. The room appeared to be clean, but that night and every night thereafter we were greeted with cockroaches and spiders. The spiders appeared to be coming through a crack in our wall. I know we are in the jungle and I expect to see insects, but we have never had cockroaches or any other bugs when staying at the Sirinis. The food - horrible. Breakfast buffet was OK, but the food was never hot - lukewarm to cold at best. The beach club and snack shack had hotdogs and hamburgers every day and that was pretty much the selection. And, by 3:00 they appeared to run out of food. The dinner buffets are terrible. And please note that we are NOT fussy eaters, but there were literally nights where we walked in and walked back out. Pacos Tacos and the pizzeria were a god-send as this proved to be the only place to eat something decent. Unlike the Sirinis, you have to pay for the coffee bar at this place. You also pay a premium for Wi-Fi. Then there is the pushy staff that spend the day walking the pools hitting people up for the "orientation" - don't fall for this as it is the timeshare sales pitch. They also hit the guests up for the spa services. And, to top it off, they walk around with a monkey on a leash and collar and two parrots whose wings have been clipped and hound guests to have their photo taken with these poor animals for a minimum charge of $25.00 US. Let's not forget the sad deer enclosure that smells like manure. We saw one beautiful, wild

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    L

    Awesome family friendly resort.

    Reviewed by Letta on Oct 07, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    Great family resort. Small but lots to do with the kids. Older kids could be independent, not too big. The beach wasn't great but lots of chairs and shade. Great premium drinks. Lots of great a la carte restaurants. Nice pool with activities. Water park mostly for younger children but older kids loved games room, soccer on the beach, pool activities, and torch tour of the Mayan rooms. The girls went for half a day to participate in a recycled items fashion show which was really well done. Great time had by all, all 5 families we travelled said they would return again!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    E

    I did enjoy the unlimited package but not the Hotel itself!!

    Reviewed by Elizabeth Lazo on Jul 11, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: July 2016

    Trip Type: Honeymoon

    I was at this hotel for 7 days. First thing unless you get the royal club you will get a small standing bathroom in the entire hotel. There is no ocean view unless..again you get the most expensive package royal club room upgrade $$$ . I got the unlimited xcaret park access which to me was worth it if you like walking and explore but there are no shuttles to take you from one point to another. The Hotel is beautiful, the staff was amazing as long is not part of the front desk as they are not very useful or proactive. If there is an issue with the room they will bounce around between rooms even when sometimes rooms are not even ready. I think the hotel is way overpriced for the service and value. The food was amazing and the drinks were nice. Complaining at the staff managers is pointless as no-one will do anything for you for the exception of Mr. Espana whom was kind enough to give us a bottle of champaigne as a gesture of all we went through. This hotel does need renovations but above all BETTER CUSTOMER SERVICE. I dont think I will return

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Loved Mexico...gorgeous resort..but... lots of room for improvement with this vacation package.

    Reviewed by LPC on Feb 21, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    This is no doubt a beautiful resort, if you are a nature lover you would love it. If you are looking for a luxurious beach vacation this is not the place for you. There is a lot of walking because the resort is sprawled across a natural jungle area, the food was under-whelming although certainly plentiful. We did have a few problems, when we checked in we had requested a king size bed, when we went to our room we had 2 double beds and an overwhelming musty smell, after 2 nights in this room we were moved to a room in the same building which was better. The hotel is Eco-friendly which is wonderful, however, little conveniences that you could get in a 3 star are not available straws, hair conditioner? . The proximity to Xcaret is fantastic and being able to come and go over the course of our stay was great We purchased the all-exclusive Xcaret, grand concierge package. When you purchase this package you are supposed to get additional amenities, discounts and resort or Xcaret park credits. We really didn't get any of these things and when we inquired we were either told there is no discount, asked if we had a coupon but when we asked about these coupons we were told we didn't need them and to show a printout that we had and that should work . No one at Xcaret, the spa or shops seemed to know anything about these "resort or park" credits. The Grand concierge was supposed to include such items as robes, slippers, towels, turn down service, 10% off at the spa, etc. The first room we checked into did have the robe/slippers and towels but when we changed rooms all that was gone for some reason. Overall, we were kind of disappointed, we loved Mexico, the natural beauty, the people, the hard workers on the resort..but when you save for over 2 years to celebrate your 10th anniversary and run into all of these issues, we aren't pushy people so just stopped asking for the things that were supposed to be included and considered it a lesson learned.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    Great vacation spot to visit the Mayan Riviera from if you don't need a great beach

    Reviewed by Dan on Mar 28, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    45min - 1 hour south of Cancun airport. Staff were great. Had no trouble using english. Time Share: the concierge people are the ones that try to get you to the "Vacation Club" presentations. They have some info about the resort and surrounding areas, but your best bet for tours it to talk to the booking agents. We spent almost every day on some sort of day trip. When we wanted to book a tour, that was easy and we got a pick up calling our name at the lobby. When we wanted a taxi, that was easy to, the bellboy called one for us, fixed price to major tourist destinations. Westjet vacations did provide a hotel transfer which we missed so keep an eye out for that. The drinks were fine, the food was fine. The a la carte restaurants were better than the buffet. La Hacienda mexican was the best, seemed to match the mexican we got in Playa Del Carmen. The weather for us was sunny and 28 degrees every single day. There are three pools: party pool with swim up bar which is very large and some quieter sections, quiet pool, and adults only pool. The adults only pool is right by the coast and is fed by ocean water, so it has small fish sometimes, or bits of seaweed, but is similar to beach water. Go on the Coba villa tour, get Mayan food!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Absolutely perfect stay

    Reviewed by Dm2 on Feb 20, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Food was amazing, the resort was so incredibly clean and was constantly cleaned, the people were extremely nice and helpful, the rooms were beautiful and modern, the beach was clean and gorgeous, honestly I have no complaints! It was fantastic and I will be coming back again. All out excursions were planned with help from best day reps who were wonderful. We had the best experiance there! A beautiful resort

    What to expect (based on 16723 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Occidental Review

    Reviewed by CABrown50() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Occidental was beautiful. Absolutely breath taking. Staff was so friendly and great. Entertainment was amazing. Shows every night, kid friendly, games throughout the day to play. Food was great. So many options to choose from. Downsides: cigs smoke everywhere. If you wanted to be at the pool and relax, cigs were lit constantly and you’d get smoked out. Couldn’t enjoy it with cigs in my face. The beach sucked. It’s so tiny and just a cove. Over populated and miniature. Can’t enjoy flow of water as it is realistically standing water. You could reach 20,000 steps easily in one day there. It is a giant campus. Nothing wrong with it being that huge but you just had to make trips to just go to the beach or pool.

    Emiliano (the life guard) made my vacation Unforgettable

    Reviewed by Victoria R() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Xcaret Occidental is a really nice hotel, The food was delicious and most of the staff were very nice. Rooms were very clean as well as towels and bed sheets. My my most wonderful experience there was on my last day when the life guard came to me and my wife saying that the beach was opened for snorkeling. I have always been afraid of water because I dont know how to swim well, but Emiliano helped me faced my fear, He told me that I could not miss the opportunity of having a great and unforgettable time. He was very kind with me, He even gave a short class and practice,and also went in the water with me. Thank you Emiliano!!!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    2019 Family Vacation

    Reviewed by Venture34858035661(Stacy, Minnesota) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was a wonderful resort for our family vacation. Myself, husband, our theee boys and one’s girlfriend, and our niece and boyfriend. We had four rooms in all. All were great. We were given ribs & slippers, a fruit bowl & bottle a tequila. Rooms were beautiful & food was good. Our stay was a Friday through Friday. A perfect amount of time. I’d definitely recommend this resort.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Ugh -- Not impressed.

    Reviewed by ref0511() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    The resort is beautiful, however beware a couple of things. They immediately try to hit you up for a membership. Was not expecting that but I guess I should have. Restaurants are average with limited menus. Apparently they should expand because some turned us away. Yes the "all inclusive" resort where we could wherever we wanted? Well, not so much. We were turned away at 2 dinners out of a 5 night stay because they couldn't seat anymore. Lastly, I got food poisoning the next to last night and the hotel didn't as much as apologize. They tried to claim it wasn't their fault when yeah, it was because I had all my meals on site. After vomiting 4x over the course of the night I went to the resort doctor. His job seems to be to take your temperature, BP, charge you $150 then send you to the local hospital. Would NOT recommend.

    Adult Family Vacation At Occidental Xcaret

    Reviewed by Colleen T(Windsor, Ontario) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Had a great time at the Occidental Xcaret. Resort is just big enough to walk the entire thing, but has many different pools and lagoon location to make it seem like you are in a different spot everyday. Food was fantastic as each of the A la carte restaurants. Had fresh omelette or eggs every day for breakfast with a lot of fruit variety. Enjoyed the buffets at lunch and sat for dinner every night. First club was fantastic. Staff that stood out and went above and beyond (Jeff (who was stationed outside building 17 for our week (sorry Jeff can't remember your last name and who remembered us from last visit 2 years ago, and many of the details from that trip), Jose Jose Punt in first club bartender. and Jose in reception at FIrst club. Karen as well in first club. They all demonstrated great customer service to us. Any small issues were immediately rectified. We love the monkeys that visit the balcony and the jungle setting. A great trip all around.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX