Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
    6. Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    K

    Beautiful beach, great room, wonderful housekeeping and waitstaff but nightmare with customer service regarding an offered upgrade.

    Reviewed by KM on Jan 14, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Honeymoon

    Our room was clean, cool, and well maintained. The outdoor shower was wonderful, and the room quiet! The food on the night of our arrival was amazing but we were a bit disappointed to find that the food was not like this every night. The food was okay at the buffets for the rest of our stay but repetitive and the same at all the restaurants. The a la carte restaurants are the real stars! The food was great and we found the waitstaff to be wonderful! We also used room service, which was included. It was fast and tasted good. The beach was clean, with fine, white sand, and the water was clear. The exclusives at the hotel for members of the TravelClub and the TRS resort are not clearly marked. There were areas on the opposite end of the resort from the TRS that were exclusive only for them but had no signs. There are also exclusive shuttles that would completely ignore you and drive off empty. Shuttles for non-club members were few and far between. We were also offered an upgrade by a letter left at our door. When we went to reception before noon the next day like the letter said, we were told it was first come, first serve and that we were out of luck. When we tried to plead our case, we were offered a cheap, free beach bag and a tour of the areas that we would not be allowed to use without the upgrade. No where did it say that it is first come, first serve or we would have gone to reception when we received the letter. The customer service was appalling considering that they offered us an upgrade and did not carry through, then did nothing to compensate. The attitude of the people we spoke to at reception and with the Travel Club was very dismissive and we felt that our concerns and frustrations were brushed off. As a 5 star resort, they should have customer service to reflect that rating. Had our experience with customer service been more positive, we would have no problems returning to the resort in the future

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    m

    not the best

    Reviewed by michels on Apr 30, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    This is our 3rd all inclusive resort. I would not give it 5 stars. We were a group of ten and every morning at 0800 went to line up to make reservations for restaurant dinners. We were always told that it was fully booked or you could have dinner at 1030 pm! We asked multiple times and received no answers as to why there was always empty tables in all of these places when we walked in to try and get in. We also were told to use the APP but it worked very seldom. Then we were told to leave a message on line for reservations which ended up with 2 different times chatting with 2 different people. The WIFI only works in the lobby and sometimes in the rooms so it was hard to find our group and make plans about excursions etc. Everytime we had a question about anything the staff all had different answers. We were told the shuttle between hotels was closed as it was late night so we walked only to find out the next day that is always running and we had been given the wrong info again! It kind of started to be a joke for us! The buffets were all pretty much the same and the food was always lukewarm. We did get to 4 of the restaurants and 3 were good. The bartenders , waiters, dining staff, and housekeeping were all very good and worked hard. I feel that the resort is so big that you dont get that 5 star feeling because there are so many guests. The beach and pools are beautiful but the open smoking everywhere was an annoyance.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6927 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    anniversary getaway

    Reviewed by NewJerseyBigdog1(Hamilton, New Jersey) on Jun 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    stayed at the grand palladium kantenah may 11th thru the 18th had a junior suite was ok,at check in they give you a booklet for the resorts did not use it had to spend an amount of money,at check in they were going to give us two double beds but changed it too king room the staff at the front desk was not that friendly and also a language barrier,had a problem with our junior suite bathroom suite ceiling was leaking almost changed the room,but they finally fixed it, had three resorts to choose from for eating, pool and beach, we liked the white sands pool the best was not as slimmy on the bottom as the kantenah also white sands has a free boat ride you can take around the property,best restaurant to eat dinner was the ribs and more, and you dont have to wear pants very casual. if you go to any of the beaches make sure you wear water shoes very rocky. For lunch at the white sands you have to eat at the poseidon great nachos and onion rings.

    Family vacation

    Reviewed by Fearless03693277312() on Jun 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Overall this was a really nice resort. We would’ve liked more variety in food and the shows at night, besides dancing. Although we did enjoy the dancers. When we first arrived our suitcase showed up to our room broken and unable to use anymore. The hotel staff had no explanation or solution to our damaged bag. That was dissatisfying since we now have a suitcase that is unable to be used and had to be thrown away. They broke the handle off so it is unable to be wheeled.

    Can't wait to go back!

    Reviewed by LaChofita() on Jun 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    If you are looking for relaxing, hassle free vacations this is it. I spent the second week of may in this resort with my husband to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we both had a great time. The moment you set foot in this resort, you feel welcomed and relaxed thanks to the super friendly and highly professional staff. From the person checking you in, to the bartending staff and guys driving the shuttles everybody was very helpful. A special thank you to Daniel, our housekeeper who did excellent and attentive work. Ground and entertainment: The grounds are beautifully kept, there is different running paths that take you around the resort. Many things to see if you like animals (lots of cute kitties) and plants (including orchids). There is also a lot of activities offered on the resorts during the day if you are looking for that (aerobic and spinning classes, waterpolo, beach volleyball, dancing and cooking lessons). The resort is equipped with sports facilities including tennis court, soccer and more and a small but well equipped gym if you want to do cardio and light weight training. The entertainment at night is also pretty cool (karaoke, dancing, shows with very talented professional performers). Food: I really enjoyed the fact that you have access to the lobbies, pools and buffets from the other sections (Colonial and White Sand) and also to most restaurants. And you dont need to make a reservation for the A la carte restaurants which is a plus. The food is delicious in buffets and restaurants. I like salads, seafood and mexican style food like chilaquiles and wow, I was delighted. I especially enjoyed the mexican restaurant La Adelina. They had an amazing dessert called creme de mole that I still think about. Beach: Seating around the beach is thoughtfully set up. Many lounging chairs whether you want full sun, shade or a bit of both. It is not the type of beach where you can jog, there is a lot of rocks. Water shoes are a must if you want to enjoy the sea without having to be super careful where you set food. Not a white sandy beach with clear water but great for snorkelling; we saw a bunch of colorful little fishes near the rocky parts.There was sea weed, some days more than others but nothing that keeps to from enjoying water. I attached a picture to give and idea. Bottom line, I highly recommend and cannot wait to come back!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-5

    My vacation

    Reviewed by Meander47445025588() on Jun 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Excellent vacation. Food, entertainment,beaches, employees, drinks, ocean, buffets, coffee, and hotel rooms were all amazing. Also really enjoyed all the different animals around the resort. The staff was always very amazing. Would recommend to family and friends

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Memorable family holiday

    Reviewed by plumontour(Swindon, United Kingdom) on Jun 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Good family holiday. Kids enjoyed pool complex. Waiters round pool very attentive. Good selection of food at buffets and freshly cooked items available at all buffets. Current Seaweed on beach an issue but not hotels fault and couldn’t eat at Poseidon as stank of fish. some areas are only for TRS guests. Other than that had an amazing time.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX