Viva Wyndham V Samana

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    P

    Dishonest and rude administrative staff

    Reviewed by Pops on Apr 10, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Great entertainement and bar staff. Horrible administrative staff. Rude and condescending to staff and guests. Will not return becaus of administrative staff.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1433 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great Week In Paradise

    Reviewed by yogalove1293() on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Loved the food at Fusion and Le Marche! The staff was always friendly and willing to accommodate. I especially loved the yoga classes taught by Landon Funk! Very relaxing atmosphere and beautiful scenery.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Mixed review

    Reviewed by Watchusnow() on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The staff were fantastic, the hotel» where do I start, one vendor spat into the shallow wading pool by the seating area, tables are not throughly cleaned after people eat, THE SMELL OF RAW SEWAGE was over whelming, garbage just behind the green box where the sewage smell comes from. The resort itself needs to improve its standards

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-5

    Amazing Hotel & Staff

    Reviewed by Yves T(Montreal, Canada) on Aug 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We just came back, for a second time this year, March and July, from the Viva Wyndham in Samana. We just love it. The hotel grounds, locations, the staff is perfect. If you are looking for an Adult only, this is the resort. The beach is beautiful and you can walk for hours on the beach. Special thanks to the front desk staff. They listen to our requests and are proactive in resolving any issues we had in no time. House keeping staff, they are amazing polite, happy to help. Thanks to Louis-Antonio and Victor for their excellent services at the dining room. Their smiles is priceless. We highly recommend this resort.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Great stay with a short "break"

    Reviewed by MartinB253(Vienna, Austria) on Aug 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The hotel is situated in Las Terrenas, about a 4-hour drive from Porto Plata airport but Samana (the hotel's region) has an airport too, which is used for international airlines too. As mentioned we stayed in one of the bungalows, which we enjoyed - spacious, private terrace and pool surrounded by a lot of green. We enjoyed the different restaurant offers, the beach bar, had a treatment in the spa, used the gym, spent time at the hotel pool as well as at the beach, used the shop and the cigar shop facilities and watched the different evening (music-) entertainment programs. Unfortunately mid-holiday my wife had an emergency surgery (all is well now) but we had to stay for 4 nights in one of the local hospitals. The hotel was very supportive, sent food, provided a free shuttle transfer for me from and to the clinic and even gave my wife a free upgrade for her last 4 nights. I want to thank the general manager and the staff of the hotel for their help and their kindness while we had to deal with this emergency. 2 minor negative issues we had: 1. The cleaning of the room did not work well, killed spiders and rotten fruits were left in the room and the minibar refill did not work properly. 2. The front desk and guest service staff were mostly unfriendly - you don't expect that from staff who are the main contact person for guests. All other staff members were great, especially the hotel's medical staff, they were helpful and patient and spoke english fluently.

    Amazing vacation!

    Reviewed by Gagenmiami(Miami, Florida) on Aug 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Just spent a week celebrating my birthday at the Viva Wyndham V Samana. My friends and I loved it. The hotel design, landscaping and the beach location was amazing. We spent many hours lounging by the pool and the beach. The staff was friendly, attentive and we knew many by their names by end of the stay. The same with the entertainers, whose shows were fun and they spent a lot of time interacting with the guest. We took long walks on the beach and liked how isolated it was. Las Terrenas and the surrounding areas also provided for nice excursions to shop and sightsee. The food was good but they could work to step it up a little considering how nice the resort is. Overall an excellent resort which I would highly recommend.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX