Meliá Internacional

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 487 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    2 weeks stay - good but could do with improvement

    Reviewed by au175(England) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I’ve just returned from a 2 weeks stay. A good exp overall, fantastic resort but teething problems that need addressing. Some people have made similar comments and management give a general response to these but some of these issues persist with no action being taken. I could go on about the positives but I think the negatives will provide management with far more constructive feedback and encourage improvements in the right areas. Issues; - the reception area can get chaotic during busy times. Don’t know if it’s a South American thing but no one understands concept of queuing and people just jump queue and shout at reception staff to get attended to. I saw other European guests having a go at the South American contingent to queue up but they ignored them. Staff just shrugged shoulders. This could easily be addressed by having queuing up barriers and a clear notice that everyone has to queue to be seen to. - the 7000 reception line only speaks in Spanish. I had no idea what recorded message says and cannot go any further to talk to anyone if I wanted to speak to guest services. So everytime I needed guest services I had to go to reception.....and queue again! - I have written to via their Facebook messenger to ask about the guest services, tv services and use of the adult bar area - all these messages have been viewed but never answered. I could have asked at reception but that meant more waiting with people pushing in and the staff having a very limited grasp of English so it’s difficult to get staff to understand and answer anything other than standard questions. - very limited number of elevators and it takes an age waiting for these during busy hours. I would have thought that more than 4 elevators being necessary given there are 946 rooms. - I asked one member of staff at the buffet about a certain food that was on display. He answered my question and then asked for a tip 3 times! I’m not averse to giving a tip for good service but I thought this was a bit cheeky. Other than this one instance the rest of the staff were impeccable and provided excellent service. I would say the staff make the resort aside from the isolated instances mentioned. - I don’t know whether it’s a Cuban thing, but all food is served at a luke warm temp. So by the time u have visited several stations at buffet and get back to your table, the food is cold. - consistency of coffee making at the bars. I know Cubans are big on cortados and espressos but us Europeans are big on lattes. Not many knew what a latte was - I got various types of beverage when asking for one....hot milk, black coffee and americano. In the end I started drinking cortados for an easier life. I wouldn’t let the above detract from the fact that this is an excellent resort and that I would not be deterred in going back as I would not class these as issues that majorly affected my enjoyment of the resort overall.

    Promise and underdelivered... yet great staff

    Reviewed by Canadian_PAL(Montreal) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    For a five-star resort, it delivers the Cuba 5-star... so 3.5. The hotel, we were told, opened in February 2019. During our stay, last week of July, first week of August, the construction was not complete: beach-side, only one bar of two open, no grills open. The Japanese restaurant and the "gourmet" offering opened during our stay. The Adult section was not open -- a few rooms during our last two days. The business center "kind of opened" and the CADECA was still closed when we left -- have to go into town for CUC There is potential and promises, yet the team is still going through paces and the resort is not solid in delivering them: there is no consistency. If you are an adult couple looking for adult vacations, this is NOT the resort. The place is built for families in mind and even the Level area cannot deliver.Compared to our time in Havana, where the Level team did. For kudos, they go to Ariadne, hosting at the Hacienda, and Pedro at the Daiquiri bar. They made that area of the hotel great. Our maid, Claudia took good care of us. At the buffet restaurant, Yamil and Michel really worked their heart out -- and honestly, the better meals to be had were at the buffet. Criollo was cold and oversalted, Hacienda on our last night was good (out of three), and we walked out of Sasa mid-meal. I would chose the tappan section if I were to return next time. Doble Play worked well. As for bars, the Red Bar was home for many a morning to drink the best served coffee on-site and the attentive of its crew: Yoan Carlos, Yanieska and Adrian. Thank you for all of them for their attention and service. It is a pleasure. It was the right time to revisit Cuba -- but this is not the place for us at 946 rooms and a potential for 2000+ guests. The strains really showed on week-ends when the occupancy peaked. Still, we enjoyed the beach and our time... we can find better for our vacation time.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Best place in varadero

    Reviewed by gaetanoisi(Toronto, Canada) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is the best place in varadero hands down, brand new, everything works, food is actually good and the staff are amazing + the beach is SUPER nice...no worries at all and the maid, Norgia, worked so hard and cared so much about making our room amazing everyday

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Nice resort with wonderful staff!!!

    Reviewed by Simba-Begin(Ottawa, Canada) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We spent our first vacation in Cuba at Melia Internacional and had a very great time at this resort. We just want to share our experience here. *Hotel: this resort is brand new (the level adult only & the theater are still under construction but you won't realize if you don't wander there). The lobby, the bars, the restaurants, the pools and the rooms are beautiful and nicely decorated. The maid worked hard to keep our room clean and welcomed us every day with a surprise decor made with our comforter. The only hiccup we had was the hose in our toilet was leaking twice even unused and the left elevator in block H (room 6032) dropped down a few floors 3 times while going up during our stay. The mini bar with only 3 choices of drink is quite poor for a 5* hotel (see picture). *Beach: unquestionably it has the most beautiful beach as compared to others in Mexico or Dominican. Especially it's clear water without any seaweed. The entertainment staff at the beach was wonderful and worked hard. We especially had a lot of fun during the workout and dance lessons with Yadelin and Chabelys. It would be better if more activities were added. *Food: the food cannot compare to other resorts in Mexico but was the best in Cuba. The resort made an effort to increase the variety of cooked meals and the staff worked very hard to provide an excellent service (5* to Nestel and his partners in Mercado; Smiley and hers in Rumba). However, it lacked fresh vegetables and some cooking skill (uncooked bacon & rice, too much salted fish, no chocolate desert). We can confirmed some of other reviews regarding the water in the buffet did not taste the same like bottled water in hotel room: water in the buffet tasted like tap water. However, it won't give you diarrhea. *Restaurants: Aside from the buffets, we tried 4 restaurants à la carte : Criollo, Tex Mex, Hacienda & Italian. Our favorite is Criollo and the worst is Hacienda. The staff were wonderful. The white wines are all good. Do not take red wine since it was definitely diluted with water. We also paid to get lobster tails which were excellents. Everywhere the waiters were very dedicated and did a great job. *Bars: mostly the bars provided good drinks and good service. Especially Heidi who made the best Mojito. Twice they put a bar at the beach and it was wonderful. They should continue it. Besides, it would be better if they could increase the variety of drink (no variety of daiquiri or some of the popular drink in Cuba). *Entertainments: For us, they have the best entertainments with real and talented musicians. Every day, at 9am and 8pm, there was a musician with an instrument playing at the pool bar and they are really talented. Every night, they have a different activity (singers, dancers, musicians, performers...). Their theater is still under construction so they did the show at the pool and we like it much better since ppl can join and dance with them. 5* to Ricardo and his partners to create the entertainment program. *Water activities: activities such as kayak, pedalo, catamaran, trampoline in the ocean are complimentary. You can do snorkeling for $20 and it was wonderful. Ask for Ariel, he is the nicest guide there. *Tours: we did 2 tours : Buena Vista Social Club and Havana tours with Tropicana show. The BVSC was good. The Tropicana show was spectacular. Unfortunately the Havana tour guide was really bad (bad English & boring). The hotel where they left us for shower and change was a dump with dirty room & horrible food. And we were stuck there for 5 hours. In fact, if you want to visit Havana and the Tropicana tours, you should go by yourself (rent a car or stop by Havana first before you come to Varadero). Overall, we had a very good time there thanks to the wonderful staff. Hopefully the hotel management will make some change to make this resort the best of Varadero since it has a lot of potential.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Melia Internacional stay in early August 2019

    Reviewed by CYF1973(Oshawa, Canada) on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Review of Melia International Hotel in Varadaro Cuba We recently spent a week at the Melia International hotel in Varadero Cuba (August 2019). This is a very large and recently built hotel (Early 2019). It was advertised as 5 Star by the travel agency (Air Transat). Some of this review will be focused on Air Transat, and some will focus on the Melia hotel itself. We were slated to depart Toronto (YYZ) at 07:40 and the plane was actually departing on exact time (this is, in my experience very rare for the YYZ airport). We arrived in Cuba at approximately 11:20 (arriving early is always welcomed, so yay)! The Cuban customs process was decent and the wait wasn’t too bad. Please ensure you keep the customs cards you fill out for Cuban entry to return when you leave (this may have been instructed to us, but I missed this important bit of information). Luckily, we retained them, as you’ll need to return them upon departure when returning to Cuban Customs. We arrived at the Melia hotel shortly after a pleasant bus ride (approximately 25 minutes). When we arrived at the hotel, we were informed that we could check in; however our room(s) would not be available until after 15:00. Unfortunately, our rooms were not available until closer till 16:30. This is not fun as Cuba is extremely hot in August. I’d recommend bringing a bathing suit in your carry on luggage so you can go swimming while you wait for your room. We unfortunately just waited in the lobby (which is quite beautiful by the way) for our rooms as we didn’t like leaving our luggage out in the open (even though the luggage is somewhat monitored by some hotel employees). Our rooms were not as advertised by Air Transat, which was quite disappointing. We were told we’d have two double beds and a pull out sofa. We had to really finesse the check in staff to assist us in getting a room that suited our needs. Our first room provided didn’t have a sofa bed, so they moved us to a second room. The second room had a leaking bathtub, so we had to move again. The third and final room was great and had a double rain style showers and no bathtub, which was a nice upgrade. Something that was really odd and somewhat frustrating was the lack of beach towels provided in each room. Most rooms only have two towels, but our third room had three towels. The reason I mention the towels is that they seemed to be guarded like a precious resource by the hotel and their housekeeping staff. Same goes for bedding. My sister-in-law had to bribe the housekeeping staff with 5 CUC pesos in order to get bedding for her sofa bed. She resorted to paying them as they pretended to not understand her until she produced some money (Brutal). A big complaint of mine is that we noticed several times throughout our stay, that preferential treatment was given to Spanish speaking guests. There were several times where we were waiting to be served drinks etc. and while waiting to be served, Spanish speaking guests would approach the staff and order things and were given service before us (despite us waiting longer for service). I don’t want to paint the entire staff with a broad stroke, but this happened several times throughout the week. Being Canadian, I’m used to waiting my turn and believe in being courteous to others. Perhaps this is a cultural thing, but I’m a stickler for people being treated equally. I do want to say that we spoke with many very proud, and extremely friendly Cubans during our visit, and they were fantastic! The hotel itself is massive, so employing that many people is a huge undertaking. There were employees working all day and night, and they, for the most part were awesome. The hotel did have some issues though. First, there are several areas that have uneven surfaces, that a lot of us tripped over. These are potentially dangerous to elderly and young guests. I wouldn’t mention these things, but there were several places in the hotel that had uneven surfaces and these are things that could easily be remedied. Another issue is the lack of garbage receptacles around the resort. There are some, but are located in places that aren’t easily identified. Small gripe, but even the bathrooms in public areas didn’t have garbage receptacles. The internet service (for our booking) was included, but it came in the form of an email address and password that would give you 10 hours of service. This wouldn’t be an issue, except you would constantly have to re-enter that login info every time you needed to connect. It would kick you off the wifi quite frequently, and trying to enter this information so frequently is an inconvenience. The hotel has 3 large pools that are incredible. Unfortunately, the pools were extremely hot (warmer than a bath I would have at home). I know we were visiting in August, but considering there is a swim up bar in the middle pool, having some fresh water pumped into the pools would’ve been welcomed (especially since a lot of guests didn’t leave said pool despite drinking there for hours ?). There is a great pool area with slides and playground areas for children, which was a big hit. There’s also a day care service for parents that feel comfortable leaving their children. I noticed the children walking around with painted faces and having fun. This seems safe and a decent way for some parents to have some alone time, although we didn’t use this service. The night time entertainment was very mediocre as there was some singers/band performing around 21:30 some nights. There was also a setup on the beach with a band playing some local music and salsa dancing on Saturday night. During the day, the beach is where it’s at (IMHO). The sandy beaches are unquestionably amazing. The ocean water was also very warm and stunning! Each day, the staff would bring out a very large floating trampoline that guests can use to jump into the water. There are also kayaks, paddle boats with a slide in the middle (very fun) and a catamaran ride (Catamaran ride required signup and accompaniment by a staff member). The system for taking out the paddle boats could use improvement as there were a lot of people wanting to use them and no real system of taking them out other than first come, first serve. The restaurant options were decent for Cuba. There is an Italian and Chinese restaurant as well as a Tex Mex restaurant on the premises. These restaurants require a reservation, so ensure you sign up the first day for these restaurants as they book up quickly. The main restaurant is a massive buffet style establishment. They have employees that will cook fresh eggs and bacon etc in the morning and other types of meats and pasta during lunch and dinner. Again, the food was ok, but definitely not great. Far too much salt and grease for my liking, but I understand it’s not easy to cook for that many guests each day. The restaurant seriously lacked green salad options though. We also barely saw any tomatoes in the restaurants, which to me is quite odd as they should be able to be grown year round in Cuba (shrug). There’s a cigar bar that you could have a stogie and a nice beverage. Met some great people in there while some of my family members were enjoying cigars. This vacation was an all inclusive stay, however tipping seems to be low key expected. After learning how little the employees make per month (15-20 CUC Pesos!), I can totally understand why. It’s just a bit weird to have to tip so frequently. Again, it wasn’t an issue, but it seemed almost necessary. Speaking of CUC’s, this money in not usable outside of Cuba, so be prepared to take a beating on the exchange. You can exchange at the hotel, and the rate is comparable to ATM’s in Varadero etc. We paid 1.38 CAD for 1 CUC. You shouldn’t buy things at the hotel though, as they charge up to double what you’d pay elsewhere. With regards to buying duty free alcohol and cigars etc. I’d totally recommend buying them at the airport after you check in and pass through security. For example, we purchased chocolate rum at the hotel for 9 CUC and it was 4.4 CUC at the airport duty free! Same with Cigars. They were nearly double what the hotel was charging. Save yourself the grief of packing this in your suitcase and just get it upon departure! Don’t be afraid to take a taxi or guided tour of the area. The places look shanty, but the people were extremely friendly and helpful. Some of the cab drivers were very knowledgable of the surrounding areas and did a great job of guiding us around the area. You can negotiate better prices with them if you’re friendly etc. We were a family of 15 people and rented a few cabs to take us on a tour of Varadero and to a restaurant off the resort for dinner. The dinner was pretty pricey, but was a nice change from the resort. In closing, we had a really nice time at Melia International, but there are some things (like most) that could be improved. I know my review is long, but if I hope it can help you make an informed decision on visiting this resort.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX