Meliá Varadero

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    D

    NOT A 5 STAR Hotel - Best Western Equivalent

    Reviewed by DrNick on Apr 22, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We recently returned after 7 days at the Melia. In no way can it be compared to true 5 star resorts\hotels in Europe of North America. It is more equivalent to a Best Western one finds in the US. Shame on WestJet for ranking it as a 5 star. The rooms are average, quite run down and need renovation. The exterior of the property is in terrible shape (which most of the photos dont show). Cleaning of our room was hit and miss. We constantly ran out of items, which we had to ask to be replaced. The food - ah the food. We tried the Tex-Mex at night and the food was uneatable. The steak was the worst piece of meat I have ever seen. Hands down the worst restaurant we have ever been to. We ate nothing after arriving on a 6 hour flight. Next say we tried the Trinidad at lunch. The only thing we could find appetizing was the chicken. It was passable. Then we tried the Grill or whatever it is called by the pool. Again the worst steak we have ever seen. It was as tough as leather. We hardly touched the food. So we gave up on the al la carte restaurants and ate at the buffet. At least out of all the items (most were unappetizing) we could find something to eat. However the food is not kept clean and the items that need to be cold (raw fish) are not kept cold only in cups on the counter. So we had to be careful. At the desert buffet I watched a little girl about 6 years old pick up a piece of cake, lick the top and then return it to the counter. Horrifying. No one noticed. I had to take it off the counter and give it to the cook. Yes of course the beach is nice, but it is not heads and shoulders above other beaches we have been to in the Caribbean and Mexico, which have far superior all inclusives.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    I have been to cuba three times and this was the best overall experience.

    Reviewed by Derek on Nov 22, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    I went here with my girlfriend for our anniversary and we were very impressed. The hotel was beautiful and very modern and clean. The service staff was great, although the degree of service was sometimes relative to whether or not we left a good tip, buy overall I would say the service was excellent. The food was great and generous as were the drinks and cocktails. We went with Westjet and their representatives were extremely friendly and helpful, the excursions offered were also great with professional and friendly staff. I have been to cuba three times and this was the best overall experience. The only negative was that one of the life guards on the beach kept coming up to me to try and sell me cigars. Eventually after a couple of days I gave in because they looked extremely authentic, but it turned out too good to be true, so in the end I was conned. This would be one thing if I was on the streets of Havanna, but a life guard at the resort? I really felt taken advantage of, so be warned NEVER buy cigars from anyone other than an authentic cigar dealer in Cuba. It is always a con.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6431 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Very good resort

    Reviewed by 319Customer53(Havre de Grace, Maryland) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Very good hotel, service and accommodation. Food and service was excellent. My only complaint was the amount of broken beer bottles that I found at the beach during my everyday walks. A lot of broken glass, and an everyday occurrence. There is a mall next door where they serve alcohol and people just walk up to the beach with them. There are no signs that says NO BOTTLES allowed at the beach. I even saw children throwing bottles at each other while playing in the water. And those were not tourists. I wish that there would be a policy put in place to forbid bottles at the beach.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Great Vacation

    Reviewed by Josie P(Vaughan, Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Had a great time for 10 days. Stayed at the Melia Marina Varadero Hotel in Cuba. Great Service, food not so good, fantastic beach. Im so tanned that I look like a Cuban now! Made friends everyday. Special thanks go out to Penelope (bar maid), Michelle (barhop), Edison (barhop), Leonardo (barhop), Rico (driver to-and-from beach). All these people made our vacation memorable. Penelope chased us down the morning we were leaving. She caught us just as we were to getting on our bus. Gave us all hugs and kisses and wished us a safe trip home. Will miss all of them.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Great hotel

    Reviewed by Ortrick() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I spend 3 night with my girl and all i get was great the food, service, the hotel was very clean and the beach is amazing, i recomended this hotel and my trip to cuba too, im thinking coming back next year

    Amazing Vacation and Resort

    Reviewed by OutsidetheCage(London, Ontario, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We just got back from a very relaxing vacation where we stayed at the Melia Varadero Level. This was our 3rd time to Cuba, 2nd time to Varadero but our very first time at the Melia. We were very pleased with this resort, the building when you drive up looked impressive. The check-in was good, could have been better though. When we told them we were booked in the Level, we had to wait about 5 minutes for our concierge to come down and show us around, then we went up to the 5th floor to fill out our paperwork. One suggestion would be to let all Level guests fill out the paperwork at the front desk while they wait for the Level concierge to show them around and to their rooms. We arrived at 9:40 PM but by the time we checked it, the Level Lounge food was put away, we were starving but luckily we were able to get a snack at the café. We aren’t huge fans of buffets so we ate all our meals at the Level Lounge for breakfast and at the Tex Mex for lunch. We did stop by a couple of times to have a salad at the buffet but found it too loud but the food and selection was great. The food at the Tex Mex and International was awesome! The service was excellent too. Everyone was soooo nice and helpful and they were always smiling. We always tip after a great experience and they really appreciated it and always gave us amazing service. Our room was very nice and was facing the ocean. Our cleaning lady, Yusleidy was super sweet and always created cool animals with our towels and left us fresh flowers and our fridge was always filled. She also left us notes each day too wishing us a nice day. The resort is very nice, the pictures are pretty accurate except there were no hammocks, the Japanese restaurant was closed which was a big disappointment because we love Japanese food and the gym was in bad shape. We workout 5-6 days a week and only ended up in their gym once because it was filthy. All of their equipment was dirty, there were men working out sweating all over the machines and equipment but there was nothing there for them to clean up. I was totally disgusted because I needed to use the bench and it was covered in sweat from the previous person. There was no one working in the gym so that image isn’t accurate. I strongly suggest they supply small towels, or paper towels and a spray bottle so the people using the equipment can clean up once they are done using the equipment. Also the flooring by the weights is bulging and very dangerous, I tripped on it and could have fallen on the weights and hurt myself, so that needs to be corrected. Also there was a weight that was broken with tape on it, it needs replacing. The beach is beautiful, and the Level area was great because Humberto Reyes, our server, was always there to setup our chairs, lay our towels out and get you a umbrella with shade. He was one of our favourite employees at the resort, he has a kind heart. Each day Humberto would take any food left over by the guests, whistle like a seagull and they would all come flying and wait patiently for him. Then he would feed the birds by throwing the food up in the air. He let kids try it and everyone would take pictures because it was very cool to watch. He was always ready to get us our drinks and fill up our Bubbas. We also really liked Papito for his pina coladas by the pool area. I believe his real name is Jose but not sure. He was super nice and always smiling and made the best blender drinks! The snorkeling was disappointing. We love to snorkel and have snorkeled all over the Caribbean, including Roatan, Belize, Bonaire, Grand Cayman and in Hawaii. We knew Varadero wasn’t known for good snorkeling but when the water activity people offered a 1 hour snorkeling trip for only 20 cuc I had to give it a try. The reef is nice but deep, at least 12 feet deep so the visibility isn’t great but its nice if you have never snorkeled before. The small catamarans take you out about 600 meters across from the resort. The issue for me is that there were about 8 boats all anchored directly above the reef area and their anchors were actually damaging it! Rather than stop the catamaran on the sandy areas and let the people swim to the reef area, they were all over top of it. It was also super dangerous because while swimming I almost got hit by the boats a on few occasions. It was very choppy too. It’s a shame because this is a money maker for them, and if this continues the reef will be beyond repair, and someone is going to get hurt too. I discussed this with our guide and he agreed but says, its hard to control because the catamarans are coming from all of the different resorts nearby, not just the Melia. The other issue I had was that my guide took a beautiful shell and gave it to me. It was alive and I saw him give a large live star fish to another person. I met another man snorkeling the beach collecting large shells, sand dollars and star fish too. These need to stay in the ocean, or there will be nothing left. There should be signs around the beach asking people to not take any shells from the water. I also noticed there were NO crabs on the beach. There was always a breeze when we were there which was so nice, I did not get one mosquito bite! All in all, this was a 5 star experience, the negatives regarding the snorkeling has nothing to do with the resort itself. We really enjoyed our vacation and would definitely go back! Thanks Melia Varadero

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Loved it, would definitely return.

    Reviewed by Dave B() on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Stay started off well by being greeted upon entry and brought to the Level area for quick check in. To note, even those who didn't upgrade appeared to be checked in quickly. Rooms were ready, even with an early arrival and were very clean and well kept. We ate almost everywhere on the property and the quality and selection did not disapoint anywhere we went. Staff were very friendly and helpful, especially those at the Level bar and beach (Humberto, aka, the seagull whisperer!). The pool was well kept and had no issues getting chairs in either place at any time of day. Hotel is in walking distance of plaza with bank machine, double decker bus and golf. Excellent time, would highly recommend the Level upgrade!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX