Meliá Varadero

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    D

    NOT A 5 STAR Hotel - Best Western Equivalent

    Reviewed by DrNick on Apr 22, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We recently returned after 7 days at the Melia. In no way can it be compared to true 5 star resorts\hotels in Europe of North America. It is more equivalent to a Best Western one finds in the US. Shame on WestJet for ranking it as a 5 star. The rooms are average, quite run down and need renovation. The exterior of the property is in terrible shape (which most of the photos dont show). Cleaning of our room was hit and miss. We constantly ran out of items, which we had to ask to be replaced. The food - ah the food. We tried the Tex-Mex at night and the food was uneatable. The steak was the worst piece of meat I have ever seen. Hands down the worst restaurant we have ever been to. We ate nothing after arriving on a 6 hour flight. Next say we tried the Trinidad at lunch. The only thing we could find appetizing was the chicken. It was passable. Then we tried the Grill or whatever it is called by the pool. Again the worst steak we have ever seen. It was as tough as leather. We hardly touched the food. So we gave up on the al la carte restaurants and ate at the buffet. At least out of all the items (most were unappetizing) we could find something to eat. However the food is not kept clean and the items that need to be cold (raw fish) are not kept cold only in cups on the counter. So we had to be careful. At the desert buffet I watched a little girl about 6 years old pick up a piece of cake, lick the top and then return it to the counter. Horrifying. No one noticed. I had to take it off the counter and give it to the cook. Yes of course the beach is nice, but it is not heads and shoulders above other beaches we have been to in the Caribbean and Mexico, which have far superior all inclusives.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    I have been to cuba three times and this was the best overall experience.

    Reviewed by Derek on Nov 22, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    I went here with my girlfriend for our anniversary and we were very impressed. The hotel was beautiful and very modern and clean. The service staff was great, although the degree of service was sometimes relative to whether or not we left a good tip, buy overall I would say the service was excellent. The food was great and generous as were the drinks and cocktails. We went with Westjet and their representatives were extremely friendly and helpful, the excursions offered were also great with professional and friendly staff. I have been to cuba three times and this was the best overall experience. The only negative was that one of the life guards on the beach kept coming up to me to try and sell me cigars. Eventually after a couple of days I gave in because they looked extremely authentic, but it turned out too good to be true, so in the end I was conned. This would be one thing if I was on the streets of Havanna, but a life guard at the resort? I really felt taken advantage of, so be warned NEVER buy cigars from anyone other than an authentic cigar dealer in Cuba. It is always a con.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6813 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    By far the best holiday in Cuba

    Reviewed by Provenie() on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    8th July Just came back from Melia Varadero Hotel. Overall very impressed. I upgraded to a The Level Oceanview Room. Room was clean and generally good state of repair. The room made (one morning and one evening) both did a very good job. At the start it was hard to get the fridge topped up of pop, but after a few days it happened smoothly. Water supplied in bottles that were sealed: doesn't look like they refill plastic bottles with tap water so that was good. The room was on the 'quiet' side of the hotel, which was excellent for me. The view of the ocean was exceptional. The main restaurant. The food was okay, better than normal cuban food, but it was the TexMex that was exceptional. Lunch is available at the a-la-carte TexMex for The level customers. The food (fish, steak, etc) was top quality and very well cooked. The worst bit was finding these restaurants. you're given a vague map, but none of the buildings were labeled. I literally sat 20 ft from the TexMex and didn't know it was even there because there was absolutely no signage. The breakfast in the Level 'lounge' was okay. Mainly continental breakfast, with some warm food. I found the room had excellent air-con, but the service was either non-existent or very very slow. In the 10 times I was in there, I only got offered a drink twice. Can't say I was overly impressed with The level reception area either. Quite often the desks were unattended or there was just one person dealing with a line of people. Expected better to be honest. I did find the Guantanamera bar very good. Aldo David took wonderful care of me everytime I went there. The menu is basic, but generally very tasty and freshly made. They need to find more ketchup bottles through as there was never enough to go round. The resort is looking a bit worn down in places. The interior 'rivers' were all dry, the fountain was often not on. Some of the 'rocks' are fake and broken, which just looked bad. However, despite all that, this hotel is generally very well maintained. The grounds are exceptionally well looked after. Some of the worse though: They say there's renovations going on. It wasn't renovations, it was demolition and the area near the pool I round too noisy because of the hammering going on. That stopped me going to the pool most days. The 'shop' in the hotel is poor when it comes to snacks (like chips or cookies or candies). And the pop (Coke) was crazy expensive. In the end, I went to the store at the Plaza Americas (right next door). There the Coke could be bought for 1/3 of the price. Great options for snacks. In summary though it was an overall excellent hotel/holiday. Having upgraded to the Level I just expected it to be a better.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Wayne & Irene's Awesome Vacation

    Reviewed by waynet142() on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our visit to Cuba was a very enjoyable time and the staff and amenities at this hotel made it a most memorable vacation. We upgraded to The Level on our first day there and the upgrade was worth every penny! Mario and the entire staff at the Level were outstandingly friendly, courteous and professional. Special mention to Yanet of the housekeeping dept for the charming towel creations in our room on a daily basis. Her friendly and charming demeanor was a welcome treat for us every day! Also of special mention are buffet waitresses Laudet and Julia and bartender Louis. Because of these and the entire staff the Melia Veradera became our home away from home. Daily entertainment, awesome beach, great food, nearby shopping plaza, all the necessary amenities and so much more make this an awesome choice of hotels. Our only complaint was our stay of 7 nights was to short but the next time we will extend that for sure. Thank you for making our first visit to Cuba such a wonderful time!! From Canada with love from Wayne & Irene!!

    Hotel in very bad conditions. Miss classified as 5 star hotel. It's a 2 or 3 star hotel!!

    Reviewed by António M() on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Melia Varaedro Hotel is highly deteriorated. It is a 27 years old hotel with very little maintenance. Therefore everything is falling a part. There are no rooms in conditions. I visited arround 20 to try to find out a 5 star room. There isn't! Restaurant wihout sanity conditions. Holes in the floor, infiltrations in the ceiling, food dispensing area witout ventilation and faty walls. Constructions in the garden with noise and no safety conditions. This hotel should be closed for reburshing or downgraded to a 3 star hotel!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-1

    Very good hotel, tasteful food

    Reviewed by JoeriMaes(Tienen, Belgium) on Aug 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We ended our trip around Cuba in this beautiful all-inclusive resort. Rooms are clean, spacious and well maintained. Food is tasteful, varied and fresh. A la carte restaurants, to be reserved 1-2 days on beforehand, serve contenporarily presented dishes. Very friendly and efficient staff.

    Amazing experience

    Reviewed by Annbaxter60(Edinburgh, United Kingdom) on Aug 03, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Had an amazing stay for 11 nights. Couldn't fault the hotel in anyway. All locations were immaculately clean and welcoming. Especially appreciated the service on the Level from Luisito and the team. Loved the activities at the pool, evening entertainment and relaxing piano playing of Maria. Highly recommend this hotel.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX